All materials are located in Bender Library in Stacks (2nd and 3rd floors), the Lower Level Arts collection (lower level) or Media Services Reference (lower level). Most of these titles are circulating though some are cataloged for reference and must be used in the library. Film directors Lambray, Maureen. The American Film Directors. New York: Collier Books, 1977-. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 L328 Allon, Yoram, Del Cullen, and Hannah Patterson. Contemporary North American Film Directors: A Wallflower Critical Guide. 2nd ed. ed. London, New York: Wallflower, 2002. Stacks Call Number: PN 1998.2 .C68 2002 Walker, Elsie M, and David T Johnson. Conversations With Directors: An Anthology of Interviews From Literature/Film Quarterly. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2008. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .C685 2008 Sullivan, Kaye. Films for, by, and About Women. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1985. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 S95 1985 Waldman, Harry, and Anthony Slide. Hollywood and the Foreign Touch: A Dictionary of Foreign Filmmakers and Their Films From America, 1910-1995. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 1996. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .W38 1996 Barson, Michael. The Illustrated Who's Who of Hollywood Directors. 1st ed. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1995-. Elert, Nicolet V, Aruna Vasudevan, and Leanda Shrimpton. International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers . 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997. Lyon, Christopher, and Susan Doll. The Macmillan Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. London: Macmillan, 1984-. Stacks Call Number: PN 1997.8 .I58 Phillips, Gene D. Major Film Directors of the American and British Cinema. Bethlehem, London: Lehigh University Press. Associated University Presses, 1990. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .P55
Sarris, Andrew. The American Cinema: Directors and Directions, 1929-1968. 1st Da Capo Press ed. New York: Da Capo Press, 1996.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S3 1996
Coursodon, Jean Pierre, and Pierre Sauvage. American Directors. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1983. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 C657
Friedland, Ronald. American Film Directors: The World As They See It. New York: New Viewpoints, 1976. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 F76
Hochman, Stanley. American Film Directors With Filmographies and Index of Critics and Films. A Library of Film Criticism. New York: Ungar, 1974.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 H57
Singer, Michael. A Cut Above 50 Film Directors Talk About Their Craft. Los Angeles, CA: Lone Eagle, 1998. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 S56 1998
Sherman, Eric, and American Film Institute. Directing the Film: Film Directors on Their Art. 1st ed. American Film Institute. The American Film Institute Series. Boston: Little, Brown, 1976. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 S49
Tibbetts, John C, James Michael Welsh, and Gene D Phillips. The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers. Great Filmmakers: Great Filmmakers Series. New York: Facts on File, 2002. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .T53 2002
Parish, James Robert, and Michael R Pitts. Film Directors: A Guide to Their American Films. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1974.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998 .P24
Braudy, Leo, and Morris Dickstein. Great Film Directors: A Critical Anthology. New York: Oxford University Press, 1978.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 F38
Langman, Larry. A Guide to American Film Directors: The Sound Era, 1929-1979. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 L34
Hollywood.com. The Hollywood.Com Guide to Film Directors Baseline Hollywood Film Director Directory. 1st Carroll & Graf ed. New York: Carroll & Graf, 2004. Stacks Call Number: PN 1998.2 .H65 2004
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .B368 1995
Stacks Call Number: PN1997.8 .I58 1997
Sarris, Andrew. Interviews With Film Directors. Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1967. Stacks Call Number: PN 1995.9 .P7 S2 1967
Foster, Gwendolyn Audrey, Katrien Jacobs, and Amy L Unterburger. Women Filmmakers & Their Films. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .W66 1998
Filmmaking and film industry Levitan, Eli L. An Alphabetical Guide to Motion Picture, Television, and Videotape Production. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1970. Slide, Anthony, et al. The American Film Industry: A Historical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Brown, Kimberley. Chamberlain Bros. International Student Film Festival. New York: Chamberlain Bros./Penguin Group, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.4 .B76 Nowlan, Robert A, and Gwendolyn Wright Nowlan. An Encyclopedia of Film Festivals. Foundations in Library and Information Science: Foundations in Library and Information Science v. 23. Greenwich, Conn: JAI Press, 1988. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.4 .N69 1988 Argentini, Paul. Elements of Style for Screenwriters. 1st ed. ed. Los Angeles: Lone Eagle Pub, 1998. Silver, Alain, and Elizabeth Ward. The Film Director's Team. 1st Silman-James ed. Los Angeles, Hollywood, CA: Silman-James Press. Distributed by Samuel French Trade, 1992. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 W36 1992 Simon, Deke, and Michael Wiese. Film & Video Budgets. 4th updated ed. Studio City, CA: Michael Wiese Productions, 2006. Film Writers Directory. Westwood, CA: Lone Eagle, 2000-. Stacks Call Number: PN 1996 .F447 2001-2 edition. Alberstat, Philip. The Insider's Guide to Film Finance. Oxford, Boston: Elsevier Focal Press, 2004. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 A44 2004 Slide, Anthony. The International Film Industry: A Historical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Slide, Anthony, and Anthony Slide. The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 1998. Gaydos, Steven. The Variety Guide to Film Festivals: The Ultimate Insider's Guide to Film Festivals Around the World. 1st ed. New York: Berkley Pub, 1998. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.4 .V33 1998 Genres Solomon, Stanley J. Beyond Formula: American Film Genres. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1976. López, Daniel. Films by Genre 775 Categories, Styles, Trends, and Movements Defined, With a Filmography for Each. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 1993. Stacks C all Number: PN1998 .L63 Browne, Nick. Refiguring American Film Genres History and Theory. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1998. African American Leonard, David J. Screens Fade to Black: Contemporary African American Cinema. Westport, Conn: Praeger Publishers, 2006.
Cones, John W. 43 Ways to Finance Your Feature Film: A Comprehensive Analysis of Film Finance. 3rd ed. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2008. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 C64 2008
Stacks Call Number: TR847 .L47
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S539
Harmon, Renee. The Beginning Filmmaker's Business Guide Financial, Legal, Marketing, and Distribution Basics of Making Movies. New York: Walker and Co, 1994. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.M29 H37 1994
Jarecki, Nicholas. Breaking in: How 20 Film Directors Got Their Start. 1st ed. New York: Broadway Books, 2001.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 B646 2001
Stacks Call Number: PN1996 .A73 1998
Langer, Adam. The Film Festival Guide for Filmmakers, Film Buffs, and Industry Professionals. 1st ed ed. Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 1998.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.4 .L36 1998
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 W4915 2006
Footage: The Worldwide Moving Image Sourcebook. New York, N.Y: Second Line Search Inc, 1997. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.4 .F66 1997
Stolberg, Shael. International Film Festival Guide. 3rd ed. Toronto: Festival Products, 2000. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.4 .I5745 2000
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.45 .S57 1989
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S539 1998
Bension, Shmuel, ed. The Producer's Masterguide. New York, N.Y: S. Bension, 1982-. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U77 B46a
Zaza, Tony. Script Planning: Positioning and Developing Scripts for TV and Film. Boston: Focal Press, 1993.
Stacks Call Number: PN1996.Z38
Van Nostran, William, and William Van Nostran. The Scriptwriter's Handbook. Boston: Focal Press, 1996.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.7 .V36 1996
Corliss, Richard. Talking Pictures: Screenwriters in the American Cinema, 1927-1973. Woodstock, N.Y: Overlook Press, 1974.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 C644
Gore, Chris. The Ultimate Film Festival Survival Guide. Los Angeles, CA: Lone Eagle Publishing, 1999.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.4 .G67 1999
Adelman, Kim. The Ultimate Filmmaker's Guide to Short Films: Making It Big in Shorts. Studio City, CA: M. Wiese Productions, 2004.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 A35 2004
General
Kaminsky, Stuart M. American Film Genres. 2nd ed. Chicago,IL: Nelson-Hall, 1985. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 K34 1985
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S57
Armstrong, Richard B, Mary Willems Armstrong, and Richard B Armstrong. Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 2001. Stacks Call Number: PN 1997.8 .A76 2001
Gehring, Wes D. Handbook of American Film Genres. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 H335
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 R443 1998
Berry, Torriano, and Venise T Berry. Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema. Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts: Historical Dictionaries of Literature and the Arts no. 12. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2007. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 B433 2007
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 L46 2006
Comedy Film Noir and Gangster Films Smith, Jim. Gangster Films. Virgin Film. London: Virgin Books, 2004. Gay and Lesbian Keith Howes. Broadcasting it : An encyclopaedia of homosexuality on film, radio and TV in the UK, 1923-1993. London ; New York : Cassell, 1993. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 H7 1993 Russo, Vito. The celluloid closet : Homosexuality in the movies. New York : Harper & Row, c1987. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 R8 1987 Facets Multimedia (Chicago, Ill. Facets Gay & Lesbian Video Guide. Rev. & Exp. ed. Chicago: Facets Multimedia, Inc./Academy Chicago Publishers, 1997. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 F33 1997 James Robert Parish. Gays and lesbians in mainstream cinema : Plots, critiques, casts and credits for 272 theatrical and made-for-television Hollywood releases. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c1993. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 P37 1993 Horror Senn, Bryan. Golden Horrors an Illustrated Critical Filmography of Terror Cinema, 1931-1939. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1996. Willis, Donald C. Horror and Science Fiction Films a Checklist. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1972. Paul, Louis. Italian Horror Film Directors. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 P34 2005 Soister, John T. Of Gods and Monsters a Critical Guide to Universal Studios' Science Fiction, Horror, and Mystery Films, 1929-1939. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1999. Literary Adaptation Hatchuel, Sarah. Shakespeare From Stage to Screen. Cambridge, U.K, New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004. Musicals Hirschhorn, Clive. The Hollywood musical. New York : Crown, 1981. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 H5 1983 Taylor, John Russell and Jackson, Arthur. The Hollywood musical. New York, McGraw-Hill Book Co. [1971]. Stacks Call Number: ML207.4 .T4 Sennett, Ted. Hollywood musicals. New York : H. N. Abrams, 1981. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 S4 Everett, William A. The musical : a research and information guide. New York : Routledge, c2004. Stacks Call Number: ML128.M78 E84 2004 Sandahl, Linda J. Rock films : A viewer's guide to three decades of musicals, concerts, documentaries and soundtracks 1955-1986. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File Publications, c1987. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.M86 S26 Science Fiction and fantasy Shapiro, Jerome Franklin. Atomic Bomb Cinema: The Apocalyptic Imagination on Film. New York: Routledge, 2002. Sobchack, Vivian Carol. The Limits of Infinity: The American Science Fiction Film, 1950-75. South Brunswick, N.J: A. S. Barnes, 1980. Holston, Kim R, and Tom Winchester. Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Film Sequels, Series, and Remakes an Illustrated Filmography, With Plot Synopses and Critical Commentary. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 1997. Saleh, Dennis. Science Fiction Gold Film Classics of the 50s. 1st ed. Comma Books: McGraw-Hill Paperbacks. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1979. Lentz, Harris M. Science Fiction, Horror & Fantasy Film and Television Credits Over 10,000 Actors, Actresses, Directors. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1983. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 L46 Schwartz, Carol A. Videohound's Sci-Fi Experience: Your Quantum Guide to the Video Universe. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1997. Benson, Michael. Vintage Science Fiction Films, 1896-1949. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1985. Westerns Hughes, Howard. Once Upon a Time in the Italian West the Filmgoers' Guide to Spaghetti Westerns. London, New York, New York: I.B. Tauris. In the United States distributed by Palgrave Macmillan, 2004. Pilkington, William T, and Don Graham. Western Movies. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1979.
Siegel, Scott, and Barbara Siegel. American Film Comedy. 1st ed. New York: Prentice Hall General Reference, 1994.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.C55 S48
Stephens, Michael L. Film Noir: A Comprehensive, Illustrated Reference to Movies, Terms and Persons. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1995.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.F54 S74 1995
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.G3 S65 2004
Stephens, Michael L. Gangster Films a Comprehensive, Illustrated Reference to People, Films, and Terms. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1996.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.G3 S84 1996
Lisa Daniel & Claire Jackson. The bent lens : A world guide to gay & lesbian film. Los Angeles : Alyson Books, 2003. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H55 B45 2003
Maxford, Howard. The A-Z of Horror Films. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1997.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 M3245 1997
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 S44 1996
StacksCall Number: PN1995.9.H6 W5
---. Horror and Science Fiction Films II. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1982.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 W53
---. Horror and Science Fiction Films III. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1984.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 W54
Kinnard, Roy. Horror in Silent Films a Filmography, 1896-1929. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1995.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 K46 1995
Weisser, Thomas, and Yuko Mihara Weisser. Japanese Cinema Encyclopedia: The Horror, Fantasy, and Scifi Films. Reprint ed. Miami, Fla: Vital Books. Asian Cult Cinema Publications, 1998. Stacks Call Number: PN 1995.9 .H6 W42 1998
Stacks Call Number: PN1999.U57 S65 1999
Mayo, Mike. VideoHound's Horror Show: 999 Hair-Raising, Hellish, and Humorous Movies. Detroit, MI: Visible Ink Press, 1998.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.H6 M3247 1998
Geraghty, Christine. Now a Major Motion Picture: Film Adaptations of Literature and Drama. Genre and Beyond. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2008. Stacks Call Number: PN1997.85 .G47 2008
Stacks Call Number: PR3093 .H37 2004
Burton, Jack. The blue book of Hollywood musicals; songs from the sound tracks and the stars who sang them since the birth of the talkies a quarter-century ago. Watkins Glen, N.Y., Century House [1953]. Stacks Call Number: ML128.M7 B8
Newman, Kim. Apocalypse Movies: End of the World Cinema. 1st St. Martin's Griffin ed. New York: St. Martin's Griffin, 2000.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 N49 2000
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W3 S53 2002
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S57
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 H59 1997
Wingrove, David. The Science Fiction Film Source Book. Harlow, Essex, England: Longman, 1985.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S18
Atkins, Thomas R. Science Fiction Films. Monarch Film Studies. New York: Monarch Press, 1976.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S3
Anderson, Craig W. Science Fiction Films of the Seventies. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1985.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 A82
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S2
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 S263 1997
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 B4
Buscombe, Edward, and British Film Institute. The BFI Companion to the Western. New York: Atheneum, 1988.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W4 B45 1988
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W4 H84 2004
Weisser, Thomas. Spaghetti Westerns the Good, the Bad, and the Violent : a Comprehensive, Illustrated Filmography of 558 Eurowesterns and Their Personnel, 1961-1977. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1992. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W4 W32 1992
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W4 W38
