Skip to main content

Filmography - Films on Filmmaking and Filmmakers: Home

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011

Films on Filmmaking and Filmmakers

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of March 2011. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. To find titles acquired after this filmography was last updated, use keyword searching in ALADIN (catalog.wrlc.org).

 

 

Afrocentricity. 2000. 1 videodisc (160 min.). A complation of seven short films, in-depth interviews and commentary by emerging African American film directors. "Meet here the next generation ... unadulterated by the Hollywood filmmaking process." DVD 166

American movie :the making of Northwestern. Sony Pictures classics. 2000. 1 videodisc (104 min.). Documentary of the two-year effort by Mark Borchardt to finish his "no-budget horror film, Coven.". DVD 131

The American nightmare. 2003. 1 videodisc (71 min.). Knife-wielding murderers, buxom teens fleeing for their lives, the undead limping across streets. These images are synonymous with horror movies. Go behind-the-scenes with filmmaker greats as they reveal their inspirations for some of the most disturbingly gruesome films that have emerged on screen. DVD 998

Around the world with Orson Welles. 1999. 1 videodisc  (134 min.). Short films (ST. Germain Des Pres, Chelsea Pensioners, Madrid Bullfight, Pays Basque I and Pays Basque II) that provide a tour of Europe and a cinematic essay. DVD 174

Baadasssss! 2004. 1 videodisc (109 min.). A candid portrait of Melvin Van Peeble's struggles as a young, black director during the society-shifting 70's. Determined to make a film that matters, Melvin deals with two-faced backers, a rag-tag crew, threatening creditors, and various shades of Hollywood hypocrisy. With everything on the line, his only choice is to stick to his guns and do whatever it takes to get his neo-blaxploitation epic to the audience for which it was envisioned. DVD 2941

Babbleonia: A documentary. 2005. 1 videodisc (54 min.). The unique retrospective of Al Pacino's remarkable, lengthy, and well-rounded career in his own words. Follow Pacino through his years as an actor, sense his love of the stage and join him on his foray into directing. DVD 4984

The beaches of Agnès: Les plages d'Agnès. The Agnes Varda collection. 2010. 1 videodisc (110 min.). An autobiographical reflection on art, life and the movies from director Agnès Varda. DVD 6936

Becoming John Ford. Ford at Fox collection. 2007. 1 videodisc (93 min.). "Becoming John Ford takes a look at the enduring impression Ford made on film and filmmaking"--Container. DVD 3491

Bill Moyers journal. Bill Moyers journal: Moyers collection. 2009. 1 videodisc (58 min.). "Oliver Stone came back from Vietnam a changed man, and his experiences of war have influenced his filmmaking. He talks with Bill Moyers about how being a veteran has affected his life, his work and his vision of the world."--Container. DVD 1087

Brakhage. 2004. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Stan Brakhage, possibly the most important filmmaker of the avant-garde, has consistantly redefined the shape of film art. Using excerpts from Brakhage's films, interviews with Brakhage, his friends, family, colleagues and critics, and archival footage of Brakhage spanning the past thirty-five years, this film explores the depth and breadth of the filmmaker's genius  and the influence his work has had on generations of other creators. DVD 7528

The BRD trilogy the supplements. BRD trilogy: The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (202 min.). This supplemental disc chronicles the career of international film director Rainer Fassbinder. DVD 5264

Burden of dreams. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2004. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Goes behind the scenes in the making of Werner Herzog's Fitzcarraldo, the story of one man's attempt to build an opera house deep in the Amazon jungle. Filmmaker Les Blank captured the production, made perilous by Herzog's determination not to use models or special effects. DVD 1766

Carl Th. Dreyer - my metier. Criterion collection. 2001. videodisc (94 min.). An elegant documentary of Carl Th. Dreyer that is a collage of memories and reflection of one of cinema's greatest directors. Director of photography, Harald Paalgard ; editor, Ghita Beckendorff ; music, Anders Koppel. DVD 387

Chop socky Cinema Hong Kong. 2005. 1 videodisc (55 min.). This offers an in-depth look at Hong Kong's wu xia film legacy and its influence on global cinema. From its earliest roots in Beijing Opera to Quentin Tarantino's tribute to Hong Kong martial arts action in Kill Bill, Vol. 2. All of the bases are covered, from Hong Kong cinema's first martial-arts hero, Wong Fei Hung, to the balletic choreography of Chang Che. Includes the "one-punch" impact of Bruce Lee and the evolution of kung-fu comedy as epitomized by Jackie Chan. The Hong Kong technique of editing-in-camera is thoroughly demonstrated in a multi-screen sequence, and abundant film clips provide tantalizing samples of the genre's classic films. DVD 1207

Cinema verite: Defining the moment. 1999. 1 videodisc (102 min., 45 sec.). "The cinâema vâeritâe (or direct cinema) movement of the '50s and '60s was driven by a group of rebel filmmakers tired of stilted documentaries. They wanted to show life as it really is: raw, gritty, dramatic. Rich in excerpts from vâeritâe classics ... this is the first film to capture all the excitement of a revolution that changed movie-making forever"--Container. Includes commentary by filmmakers, and explores vâeritâe's influence in everything from TV news to music videos to Webcams. DVD 4041

Cinematographer style. 2008. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Pays homage to the artists who transform ideas into images. A visually striking film that creates a collective narrative about the process and progress of filmmaking. Includes interviews with award-winning filmmakers Vittorio Storaro and Gordon Willis. DVD 5233

Colour me Kubrick a true...ish story. 2007. 1 videodisc (86 min.). The true story of a man living in London who posed as Stanley Kubrick for the last decade or so of Kubrick's life, despite knowing very little about his work and looking nothing like him. DVD 1594

A constant forge. John Cassavetes: five films: The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2004. 1 videodisc (202 min.). A look at the life and work of John Cassavetes assembled from candid interviews, rare photos, archival footage, and the director himself. The narration is created from Cassavettes' own words. The actors discuss their own performances and those of their colleagues, give insights into Cassavetes's theater work, and into his handling of music in his films. DVD 1395

Conversations with Jean Rouch. Ethnographic video online. 2004. 1 streaming video (36 min.). "This intimate revealing video of conversations between Jean Rouch and a number of filmmakers and friends, including John Marshall and Colin Young, is unlike any past films on Rouch's life and work. It was shot over a three year period from 1978-1980 by his friend, Ann McIntosh, who taught video under Ricky Leacock at MIT."--Case. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;764157

Derek. 2008. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Cinematic commemoration of the life, times, and work of UK filmmaker amd artist Derek Jarman. DVD 6104

Directed by John Ford. 2009. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Reviews the achievements of director John Ford in a series of reminiscences by Ford's actors. DVD 7705

Director Alan Clarke. The Alan Clarke collection. 2004. 1 videodisc (54 min.). Posthumous documentary which explores Clarke's legacy in interviews and behind-the-scenes footage. DVD 2324

Divine trash. 2000. 1 videodisc (95 min.). An in-depth look at the early career of cult filmmaker John Waters and focusing on the making of Pink Flamingos. DVD 177

Ed Wood. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 127 min.). A biographical feature film. A stranger-than-fiction true story of the early career of Edward D. Wood, Jr., the undisputed worst movie director of all time.  Wood was the auteur behind Glen or Glenda? and Plan 9 from outer space, and it is during the making of these two no-budget flicks that Wood is profiled. DVD 1006

Edison: The invention of the movies. 2005. 4 videodiscs (ca. 840 min.). Commercial motion pictures were invented at the Edison Laboratory between 1888 and 1893. Perhaps none of the component parts were strictly new, but the ability of Edison and his staff to reorganize them for a specific purpose was an extraordinary cultural achievement. In 1894, Edison was the sole producer of motion pictures in the world. Many Edison films continue to be impressive as the company employed such accomplished early directors as John Collins and Alan Crosland. DVD 1139

Encountering Jean Rouch. Ethnographic video online. 2003. 1 streaming video file (11 min.). Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;764192

Fabulous! the story of queer cinema. 2006. 1 videodisc (82 min.). An overview of the recent history of gay and lesbian cinema, from Kenneth Anger's pioneering Fireworks (1947) to Ang Lee's Brokeback mountain (2005). Where documentaries about earlier times looked at the closeted world, "Fabulous!" celebrates films featuring gay characters and those made by out directors on homosexual themes. DVD 3999

The Fanny trilogy special features. The Fanny trilogy. 2004. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Special features disc includes 74-minute documentary, About the trilogy (2003), theatrical trailers for Marius, Fanny, and Cesar, audio commentary by Marcel Pagnol for Marius (60 min.), Fanny (18 min.), and Cesar (10 min.), promotional material gallery, Marcel Pagnol biography, posters gallery, stills gallery, and filmographies. DVD 7004

Federico Fellini sono un gran bugiardo = I'm a born liar. 2003. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Laced with interviews and classic clips, the film literally retraces Fellini's footsteps dramatizing Fellini's vision and the same world minus that vision. What results is no mere portrait, but an energetic, philosophical inquiry. DVD 734

A film trilogy. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 4 videodiscs (410 min.). This four disc set features Swedish director Ingmar Bergman's work on three of his most powerful films presented as a trilogy. The films of the trilogy examine the necessity of religion and question the promise of faith. The last disc is a documentary film offering views on set construction, lighting, rehearsals, editing, as well as intimate conversations with Ingmar Bergman and members of his cast and crew. DVD 3876-3879

Forbidden Hollywood collection. 2009. 1 videodisc (152 min.). Wild Bill: Explores the life and directorial times of William A. Wellman. The men who made the movies: Wellman shares many stories and speaks bluntly of the producers with who he has worked and describes his remarkable star-making and star-spotting abilities. He was responsible for helping actors win Oscars and discovered such notable actors as James Cagney and Gary Cooper. DVD 5794

From vérité to virtual: Conversations on the frontier of film and anthropology. Ethnographic video online. 2007. 1 streaming video (58 min.). Recorded at Temple University in April 2006, presents a panel and roundtables discussing the future of visual anthropology. Raises questions on collaboration, aesthetics, uses of new media, and cross-disciplinary bridges between the social sciences, humanities and the fine arts. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;764224

Hearts of darkness a filmmaker's apocalypse. 2007. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Made by the director's wife, Eleanor Coppola, film is a documentary about the filming of the motion picture, Apocalypse Now. It is the history of a film beset by physical and personal troubles, such as the destruction of the sets by a hurricane and the heart attack that almost cost the life of one of the stars, Martin Sheen. Includes recent interviews with cast and crew. DVD 2427

How to eat your watermelon in white company (and enjoy it). 2007. 1 videodisc (85 min.). A tale of how a young black kid from Chicago, Melvin Van Peebles, ended up making one of the most controversial movies in American history, Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song, the film that sparked the Blaxploitation era in Hollywood. DVD 5129

In the mirror of Maya Deren. 2004. 1 videodisc (103 min.). Interweaves excerpts from some of Maya Deren's films with archival footage and commentary by acolytes and contemporaries, such as Stan Brakhage and Jonas Mekas. Includes excerpts from the films: At land, Ritual in transfigured time, and Meshes of the afternoon. DVD 1269

Independent's day. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 54 min.). Critically acclaimed documentary that goes behind the scenes of the Sundance Film Festival and into the lives of the maverick filmmakers who launched their careers there. DVD 873

Indiana Jones bonus material. 2003. 1 videodisc (187 min.). Over three hours of material documenting the making of the Indiana Jones trilogy. DVD 3254

Ingmar Bergman gor en film = Ingmar Bergman makes a movie. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (146 min.). The year is 1961 and Ingmar Bergman is making a movie - Winter Light. This documentary film offers views on set construction and lighting, rehearsals and editing, as well as intimate conversations with Bergman and members of his cast and crew. DVD 3879

It came from Kuchar. 2010. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Long before YouTube, there were the brilliantly insane, no-budget movies of underground filmmaking twins George and Mike Kuchar. Creating stars out of their friends and family with just consumer-grade cameras, the teenage Kuchar brothers went from the 1960s New York City underground film scene of Andy Warhol and Kenneth Anger to become the twin maestros of B-movie glamour and sleaze. DVD 7600

Jack Smith and the destruction of Atlantis. 2008. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A collection of interviews and clips by and about the revolutionary American artist Jack Smith. Filmmaker, actor, and pioneer of underground cinema, he is generally acclaimed as a founding father of American Performance Art, and has been critically recognized as a master photographer. The film also delves into Smith's tenuous relationship with Andy Warhol -- who adopted Smith's ideas in his own work. Pays homage to New York's ultimate anti-hero and the original King of the Underground. DVD 4694

Jacquot de Nantes. The Agnes Varda collection: Agnes Varda collection. 2010. 1 videodisc (118 min.). Set at the end of the 1930s, Jacquot is a boy who is so fascinated with movies that he trades his toys for his first movie camera at the age of seven. Based on the life of filmmaker Jacques Demy, portions of his motion pictures are used to narrate his early interest in the cinema. DVD 7532

Jean Rouch and his camera in the heart of Africa. Ethnographic video online. 1986. 1 streaming video (74 min.). This program provides an in-depth look at the film work of Jean Rouch and his associates from Niger who participated in production of many of Rouch's Niger-based films. Rouch, Philo Bregstein and Niger cameramen discuss filmmaking and filmmakers who have had historical influence in the field. Segments from several of Rouch's earlier film works are interspersed with the filming in Niger and interviews. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;764281

Jean Rouch Premier film : 1947-1991. Ethnographic video online. 2005. 1 streaming video (27 min.). Filmmaker Jean Rouch improvises a new commentary for his first film made in 1947, "In the land of the Black Magi" (Au pays des mages noirs). He explains the sacrifices he made due to the producer ; his footage was re-edited with a new ending, new titles, stock footage, "tropical muzak," and a newsreel-style narration heavy on drama and highlighting the exotic. Here the insight of Rouch emerges as he "finishes" and restores the film, improvising a new commentary and transforming it into a new form in which the film's true meaning is illuminated and the humanity of the subjects restored. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;764282

JLG in USA Jean-Luc Godard's travels in America. 2009. 1 videodisc (158 min.). A visual anthology of short film/video works documenting Jean-Luc Godard's travels in America. It consists of 5 titles. Two American audiences: Jean-Luc Godard speaking with graduate students and Serge Losique at New York University in Apr. 1968. The film is intercut with scenes from Godard's La chinoise. Godard in America: Documents Godard and Jean-Pierre Gorin's Spring 1970 road trip visiting American colleges, speaking with Andrew Sarris, and explaining their newest Dziga Vertov Group project, a film on Palestine. A weekend at the beach with Jean-Luc Godard: Casual footage from Del Mar Beach, San Diego, of Godard and others swimming, eating, and smoking, with filmmaker Ira Schneider's narration. The Dick Cavett show: On the occasion of the release of Godard's film, Sauve qui peut (la vie), Godard appeared on two thirty-minute episodes of The Dick Cavett show. Godard in Oakland: A slideshow of Jeffrey Blankfort's photographs of Godard's visit to the Bay Area during Huey Newton's trial in Oakland, Calif. Includes comments by Blankfort. DVD 3729

Kid stays in the picture. 2003. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Legendary Hollywood producer Robert Evans, the man behind such films as Rosemary's baby, Love story, Chinatown, and The Godfather - tells it like it is and was in Hollywood. Includes his appeal to the Board of Directors short film that saved Paramount Pictures in 1970. Also, includes archival interviews about Evans with stars and filmmakers. Includes an Evans gag reel. DVD 714

Kurosawa. 2002. 1 videodisc (215 min.). A documentary of Japanese director Akira Kurosawa featuring his family, colleagues and critics from Japan and America commenting on the man and his films. Includes excerpts from many of his famous works. DVD 392

A letter to Elia. 2010. 1 videodisc (82 min.). Martin Scorsese directs and narrates this look at director Elia Kazan. From his triumphs with films such as On the Waterfront to his controversial naming of names during the McCarthy hearings, Kazan is shown in all his complexity. DVD 7741

Lightning over water. The Wim Wenders collection. 2003. 1 videodisc (90 min.). In 1979, Wim Wenders traveled to New York City to make a film with legendary director Nicholas Ray. As Ray lays dying of cancer, he reflects on his life and career. The resulting film tells a moving story both about friendship and a life in cinema.  DVD 6351

Looking for Richard. 2005. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Richard III, Shakespeare's gripping play about a deformed, devious man whose lust for power knows no bounds, is illuminated in this film that marks Pacino's directorial debut. DVD 4982

Lost in La Mancha. 2003. 2 videodiscs (91 min.). Tracks maverick filmmaker Terry Gilliam's madcap mission to film "The man who killed Don Quixote". He struggles to complete his masterpiece, all the while beset by obstacles of such epic proportions that not even Hollywood could have concocted them. Capturing the mayhem on camera, filmmakers Keith Fulton and Louis Pepe are granted unlimited, behind-the-scenes access to Gilliam's frantic but inspired creation. DVD 234

Lynch (One). New York Times Critics' Pick: New York Times Critics' Pick. 2007. 1 videodisc (82 mins). Lynch is a rare glimpse into the fascinating mind of one of cinema's greatest directors. Footage was gathered over a two year period and documents David Lynch's many creative interests as well as his passion for filmmaking.--Container. DVD 5128

Murnau, Borzage and Fox. 2008. 1 videodisc (106 min.). "Think of three men... an obsessed Jewish businessman (William Fox), a visionary German artist (F.W. Murnau), and an idealistic American Catholic (Frank Borzage). For a few short years their fates were intertwined and together these three men, the mogul, the artist, and the romantic would change the face of cinema" (from film introduction). Includes commentary by film critics and historians with extensive archival film footage. DVD 5332

My voyage to Italy. 2003. 2 videodiscs (ca. 246 min.). Martin Scorsese directs and narrates this remarkable in-depth look at the careers of great Italian filmmakers such as De Sica, Fellini, Visconti, and Antonioni, and their art's profound influence on him. DVD 1023

The mythology of Star wars with George Lucas and Bill Moyers. 2004. 1 videodisc. Bill Moyers conducts an interview with George Lucas in which he discusses his efforts to tell old myths in new ways, the role of faith in his own life, and the influence of his mentor, Joseph Campbell. DVD 1480

Nanook revisited. 2005. 1 videodisc (55 min.). The filmmakers revisit Inukjuak, the Inuit village where Flaherty filmed Nanook of the North. Examines the realities behind the ground-breaking documentary and the changes since it was made almost 70 years ago. Shows the reactions of the Inuit living in the village, to the film, and also looks at the inaccuracies and staged scenes in the original. DVD 6795

Overnight. 2005. 1 videodisc (82 min.). Chronicles one man's extraordinary misadventures in making a Hollywood movie Alternately hilarious and horrifying, it starts out as a rags to riches story as Troy Duffy, a Boston-bred bartender, sells his first screenplay. DVD 2054

Peter Greenaway a documentary. 2004. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Peter Greenaway: a documentary (1992): Searching for the roots of Greenaway in his work, this documentary begins with a discussion of his film career, as well as the inspirations for his films. DVD 8039

Project Greenlight. 2002. 4 videodiscs (453 min.). Documentary series about the making of a feature film. An Internet competition was held to determine which script would get produced. Out of more than 10,000 entries, former insurance salesman Pete Jones was selected as the winner for his script "Stolen Summer." Jones not only got to direct the film, but was also given a $1 million budget from Miramax Films and a guaranteed theatrical release. The series chronicled how Jones, a first-time director, had to manage the difficulties involved in making his movie. DVD 8039

Roman Polanski: Wanted and desired. 2009. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Intensely examines Polanski's conviction for having unlawful sexual intercourse with a minor, and the chaos that followed. A startling indictment of our legal system and its paradoxical relationship with celebrity culture in contemporary America. DVD 5287

Schlock! the secret history of American movies. 2003. 1 videodisc (89 min.). The wild no-holds barred independent American filmmakers of the '50s and '60s tell their own story in this critically acclaimed survey of exploitation and sexploitation filmmaking. DVD 3958

The sci-fi boys. 2006. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Legendary sci-fi directors Peter Jackson, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg and others started out as kids making amateur movies inspired by Famous Monsters magazine. They grew up to take Hollywood by storm, inventing the art and technology for filming anything the mind can dream. DVD 2161

Sidney Lumet. The directors. 2002. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Profile of director Sidney Lumet, featuring extensive film clips and interviews with actors who have worked with him. DVD 570

Stanley Kubrick: A life in pictures. Stanley Kubrick collection. 2001. 1 videodisc (143 min.). Documentary about the career of director Stanley Kubrick, drawing on Kubrick archives and offering an intimate portrait of his life among family and friends. DVD 2787

Symbiopsychotaxiplasm two takes by William Greaves. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2006. 2 videodiscs (174 min.). A fiction/documentary hybrid that blurs the line between reality and fiction, yet remains a tightly focused movie about making movies. DVD 2391

L'univers de Jacques Demy = the world of Jacques Demy. 2003. 1 videodisc (90 min.). In an homage to her late husband Jacques Demy, Agnes Varda explores his universe, his films, and his influences. Includes clips from his films, interviews with colleagues, and home video footage. DVD 4254

Universal Newsreels Suspense Story -- National Press Club Hears Hitchcock (03/18/1963). 1963. 1 streaming video file (2 min.). This Universal newsreel focuses on Alfred Hitchcock, master of suspense, and his film The Birds. At the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., Hitchcock speaks humorously about his 50th movie and receives a citation to mark his 30 years of contributions to the world of entertainment. Universal Studios. (2 minutes). Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=41905

Val Lewton: The man in the shadows. 2008. 1 videodisc (87 min.). A portrait of Val Lewton, the Hollywood genius who fused light and dark, the bizarre and the everyday into hypnotic gems that transcended the horror genre. Features insightful analysis, on-screen interviews with Lewton collaborators and clips from his films. DVD 4596

Weather diary 3. 2005. 1 videodisc (25 min.). George Kuchar goes to Oklahoma, but there's a lull in storm activity. It's spring, and though there's romance in the air, the lightning just doesn't strike; so George makes his own rain of sorts. Despite the drought, the videos must go on. DVD 2465

The wonderful, horrible life of Leni Riefenstahl. 1998. 1 videodisc (188 min.). Interviews with Leni Riefenstahl, now in her nineties, flash- backs and modern film sequences tell the story of the most famous woman film director of all time.  Known for her films made during the Third Reich, Riefenstahl's story is a controversial one.  Best known for her film Triumph of the will, the film made of the 1934 Nazi Party Congress, it proved to be her undoing. DVD 731

Working with Orson Welles. 1999. 1 videodisc (94 min.). The story of the Welle's project, the never finished "The other side of the wind," with clips of Welles and interviews with his friends and associates, including many technicians and actors who were eager to be in any project that was attached to Welles. DVD 71