Skip to main content

Filmography - National Cinema, Sweden: Home

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011

National Cinema, Sweden

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

A film trilogy. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 4 videodiscs (410 min.). This four disc set features Swedish director Ingmar Bergman's work on three of his most powerful films presented as a trilogy. The films of the trilogy examine the necessity of religion and question the promise of faith. The last disc is a documentary film offering views on set construction, lighting, rehearsals, editing, as well as intimate conversations with Ingmar Bergman and members of his cast and crew. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3876-3879

Äideistä parhain = Mother of mine. Film movement series. 2007. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Uncle: Biography of a humble man, retold by an anonymous nephew, who strings together a collection of his uncle's passions, failings and beliefs. When nine-year-old Eero's father is killed at the beginning of World War II his mother, broken by grief, is unable to care for him. She sends Eero out of Finland to live with a family in Sweden, away from the conflict. Feeling abandoned by his biological Finnish mother, he cannot quite attach to his Swedish surrogate mother. When the war ends, and he returns to his mother in Finland, his confusion intensifies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3054

Det sjunde inseglet = The seventh seal. 1998. 1 videodisc (96 min.). A knight returning home from the Crusades encounters Death, who agrees to a chess game. In the balance hang the lives of the knight and a group of traveling players. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 47

Early Bergman: Torment, Crisis, Port of call, Thirst, To Joy. Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 5 videodiscs (474 min.). Crisis: Urban beauty-shop proprietress Mrs. Jenny arrives in an idyllic rural town one morning to whisk away her 18-year-old daughter, Nelly, whom she abandoned as a child, from the loving woman who raised her. Once in Stockholm, Nelly soon receives a crash course in adult corruption and wrenching heartbreak. Port of call: Berit, a suicidal young woman living in a working-class port town, unexpectedly falls for Gösta, a sailor on leave. Haunted by a troubled past and held in a vice grip by her domineering mother, Berit begins to hope that her relationship with Gösta might save her from self-destruction. Thirst: A couple traveling across war-ravaged Europe. A disintegrating marriage. A ballet dancer's scarred past. Elliptically told in flashbacks and multiple narrative threads, this film shows people enslaved to memory and united in isolation. To joy: An orchestra violinist's dreams of becoming a celebrated soloist and fears of his own mediocrity get in the way of his marriage to the patient, caring Marta. Played out to the music of Beethoven, this film is a heartbreaking tale of one man's inability to overcome the demons standing in the way of his happiness. Torment: A dark coming-of-age drama about a boarding-school senior, Widgren, terrorized by his sadistic Latin teacher. When Widgren falls for a troubled local girl, Bertha, he finds himself caught up even further in a web of emotional mind games. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4311 - 4315

Fanny och Alexander = Fanny & Alexander. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2004. 5 videodiscs (618 min.). Told through the eyes of Alexander and his sister Fanny, we see the exuberant and colorful Ekdahl household in a Swedish town early in the twentieth century. Their parents, Oscar and Emilie, are the director and the leading lady of the local theatre company. Oscar's mother and brother are its chief patrons. After Oscar's early death, his widow marries the bishop and moves with her children to his austere and forbidding chancery. The children are immediately miserable, but befriend a local Jewish merchant whose odd household becomes the children's refuge. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3888

Flickan = The girl. 2010. 1 videodisc (95 min.). In the summer of 1981, a 9-year-old girl is left behind in her aunt's care while the rest of her family goes to Africa as aid workers. The aunt is soon courted by a man and leaves the girl with the promise to return in a few days. The abandoned girl keeps this a secret from everyone and uses her freedom to discover the world around her as the summer passes by. With sharpening senses she gradually discovers the often absurd and careless world of adults. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8339

Flickan som lekte med elden = The girl who played with fire. 2010. 1 videodisc (129 min.). "In this second installment of Stieg Larsson's phenomenal 'Millennium' trilogy, Lisbeth Salander is a wanted woman. A researcher and a Millennium journalist about to expose the truth about the sex trade in Sweden are brutally murdered and Salander's prints are on the weapon. Her history of unpredictable and violent behavior makes her an official danger to society. Mikael Blomkvist, Salander's friend and Millennium's publisher, is alone in his belief of Salander's innocence. Digging deeper, Blomkvist unearths evidence implicating highly placed members of Swedish society--as well as shocking details about Salander's past. He is desperate to get to her before she is cornered--but no one can find her anywhere"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7892

Fucking Åmål: Show me love. 2000. 1 videodisc (89 min.). "Story of Agnes, Elin and their teenage friends growing up in the small town of Åmål. Nothing ever happens until Elin shows up at Agnes' birthday party and Elin's life takes an unexpected turn. Stuck in the middle of two love interests, Elin tries to come to terms with her real self, and the courage it takes to be different"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3839

Gladiatorerna = Les gladiateurs = The gladiators. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 91 min.). To maintain international and internal security and to divert mankind's natural aggression, the UN organizes a series of televised military games, which are often fought to the death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1982

Gycklarnas afton = Sawdust and tinsel. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2007. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A relationship between a turn-of-the-century traveling circus owner and his performer girlfriend suddenly changes, when they pull into the town where the owner's wife and children live, whom he hasn't seen in three years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5540

Hamnstad: Port of call. Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Berit, a suicidal young woman living in a working-class port town, unexpectedly falls for Gèosta, a sailor on leave. Haunted by a troubled past and held in a vice grip by her domineering mother, Berit begins to hope that her relationship with Gèosta might save her from self-destruction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4313

Haxan: Witchcraft through the ages. The criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2001. 1 videodisc (104 min.). In a series of dramatic vignettes to explore the scientific hypothesis that witches of the middle ages and turn-of-the-century psychiatric patients suffer from the same type of hysteria. Its a witches brew of the scary, the gross and the darkly humorous. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 323

Hets = Torment. Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 1 videodisc (101 min.). A dark coming-of-age drama about a boarding-school senior, Widgren, terrorized by his sadistic Latin teacher. When Widgren falls for a troubled local girl, Bertha, he finds himself caught up even further in a web of emotional mind games. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4311

Höstsonaten = Autumn sonata. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1999. 1 videodisc (92 min.). An international concert pianist visits her grown daughter after a seven-year absence. Aching with the memory of her mother's neglect, the introverted daughter explodes into a rage and the reunion turns into a shattering confrontation. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5015

Jungfrukällan = The virgin spring. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2006. 1 videodisc (89 min.). A peasant girl is raped and murdered in 14th century Sweden. When her killers seek shelter in her father's house, he kills them to avenge her death. Soon a spring appears from where the girl was killed and her father sees this as a sign from above. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4216

Kris = Crisis. Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Urban beauty-shop proprietress Mrs. Jenny arrives in an idyllic rural town one morning to whisk away her 18-year-old daughter, Nelly, whom she abandoned as a child, from the loving woman who raised her. Once in Stockholm, Nelly soon receives a crash course in adult corruption and wrenching heartbreak. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4312

Låt den rätte komma in = Let the right one in. 2009. 1 videodisc (115 min.). 12-year-old Oscar is a fragile and bullied boy who finds love and revenge when he meets Eli. Eli is a beautiful but peculiar girl he befriends. She has moved into his building. Oscar does not know that she and her father are vampires. When strange disappearances and murders start happening in the town, suspicions mount from her neighbors and police. Eli must move on to stay alive or stay to help Oscar the only way she knows how. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5522

Luftslottet som sprängdes = The girl who kicked the hornet's nest. 2011. 1 videodisc (148 min.). The final installment of Stieg Larsson's 'Millennium' trilogy. Lisbeth Salander is fighting for her life in more ways than one. In an intensive care unit and charged with three murders, she will have to not only prove her innocence, but also identify and denounce the same corruptgovernment institutions that nearly destroyed her life. Once upon a time, she was a victim. Now, Lisbeth Salander is fighting back. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7893

Män som hatar kvinnor = The girl with the dragon tattoo. 2010. 1 videodisc (152 min.). Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found and her beloved uncle is convinced she was murdered, and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family.  He employs disgraced investigative journalist Mickael Blomkvist and the tattooed and troubled yet resourceful computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate--with troubling results. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7891

Mitt liv som hund = My life as a dog. Criterion Collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Ingemar is a working-class 12-year old boy who is sent to live with his uncle after his mother falls ill. There, he takes refuge from his troubles with the help of the town's warmhearted eccentrics. A bittersweet evocation of the struggles and joys of childhood and the pains of coming-of-age. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 508

Nattvardsgèasterna = Winter light. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (80 min.). "In this stark depiction of spiritual crisis, small-town pastor Tomas Ericsson performs his duties mechanically before a dwindling congregation. When he is asked to assist a troubled parishioner with his debilitating fear of nuclear annihilation, Tomas is terrified to find that he can offer nothing but his own uncertainty."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3877

Offret = The sacrifice. 2000. 1 videodisc (145 min.). A dark and complex drama about redemption and the nuclear holocaust. When a middle aged intellectual in retirement on an island in the Baltic Seas witnesses signs of what he believes to be a nuclear holocaust, he offers to make the ultimate sacrifice in return for the salvation of mankind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5596

Persona. 1995. 1 videodisc (81 min.). A famous actress is stricken with psychosomatic dumbness and is placed under a nurse's care in an isolated house, where the two gradually assume each other's personalities. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1996

Salmer fra kjøkkenet = Kitchen stories. 2004. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A Swedish efficiency researcher is sent to improve a Norwegian farmer's kitchen habits. There is a rule that they must not speak to each other. This rule is ignored and the men become fast friends, passing afternoons sipping coffee and telling stories. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3410

Saraband. 2006. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Saraband is a revisitation to 1973's Scenes From a Marriage, as thirty-odd years have passed in the lives of former husband and wife Johan and Marianne. An inner prompting has sent Marianne to visit Johan in his ramshackle but finely appointed house in the middle of the forest, where she becomes a sounding board for the emotional wreckage she encounters there: Henrik (Johan's 61-year-old son) and Henrik's 19-year-old daughter, Karin. Henrik and Karin are musicians, both locked in grief over the death of wife and mother Anna two years earlier. Infused with the unsentimental, gentle humor of distanced perspective and thoughtful reflection, this is another of Bergman's provocative expositions into the most fundamental human need: connection. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6847

Sêasom i en spegel = Through a glass darkly . Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (89 min.). "While vacationing on a remote island retreat, a family's already fragile ties are tested when Karin discovers her father has been using her schizophrenia for his own literary means. As she drifts in and out of lucidity, her father, husband, and younger brother are unable to prevent Karin's harrowing descent into the abyss of mental illness."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3876

Smultronstallet = Wild strawberries. Criterion collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (ca. 180 min.). A distinguished professor emeritus who lives alone with his housekeeper can only come to terms with his egocentricity by traveling back in time to his earliest youth, finding there the seeds of his failure as husband, lover, father. This film deals with the phenomena of old age wherein childhood memories return with ever-increasing clarity while great stretches of the prime of life vanish into obscurity. In Swedish with English subtitles. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 651

Sommarnattens leende = Smiles of a summer night. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2004. 1 videodisc (108 min.). A sharp satire about eight Swedish aristocrats who become romantically and comically intertwined over a single weekend. Includes Director approved special edition features. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5497

Till glèadje = To joy.  Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 1 videodisc (99 min.). An orchestra violinist's dreams of becoming a celebrated soloist and fears of his own mediocrity get in the way of his marriage to the patient, caring Marta. Played out to the music of Beethoven, this film is a heartbreaking tale of one man's inability to overcome the demons standing in the way of his happiness. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4315

Tillsammans = Together. 2004. 1 videodisc (107 min.). A tale of the life in a commune in Sweden in the mid-70's. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3890

Törst = Thirst. Eclipse. Series 1, Early Bergman: Eclipse (Criterion Collection (Firm)). 2007. 1 videodisc (84 min.). A couple traveling across war-ravaged Europe. A disintegrating marriage. A ballet dancer's scarred past. Elliptically told in flashbacks and multiple narrative threads, this film shows people enslaved to memory and united in isolation. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4314

Tulitikkutehtaan tyttèo = The Match-factory girl. 2003. 1 videodisc (66 min.). The Match factory girl reveals the bleak existence of Iris, a young factory worker, who is cruelly ignored and used. Facing pregnancy and the scorn of family and friends, Iris commits suicide...only it's not what she planned. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4793

Tystnaden = The silence. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2003. 1 videodisc (95 min.). "Traveling home by train through a country seemingly on the brink of war, two sisters--the sickly, intellectual Ester and the sensual, pragmatic Anna--along with Anna's young son, Johan, are forced to disembark in an unknown city in order for Ester to rest. Attempting to cope with their alien surroundings, the sisters resort to their personal vices while vying for Johan's affection, and in so doing sabotage what little remains of their ambiguous relationship."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3878

Viskningar och rop = Cries and whispers. Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2001. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Exploration of the relationships among four women -- three sisters, one of whom is dying of cancer, and their devoutly loyal housekeeper -- as their facades are stripped away and their agonies and fears revealed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5160