Skip to main content

Filmography - National Cinema, Denmark: Home

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011

National Cinema, Denmark

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

Adams æbler = Adam's apples. Film movement series: Film Movement series. 2007. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Ivan, optimistic preacher, took in convicts to help around the remote rural church he ministers. One of his helps is a vicious neo-Nazi Adam. Grasping the extent of Ivan's preternatutal determination to look on the bright side of everything, Adam decides to shake Ivan out of his rose-colored world. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3060

Carl Th. Dreyer - my metier. Criterion collection. 2001. videodisc (94 min.). An elegant documentary of Carl Th. Dreyer that is a collage of memories and reflection of one of cinema's greatest directors. Director of photography, Harald Paalgard ; editor, Ghita Beckendorff ; music, Anders Koppel. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 387

Day of wrath. Criterion collection. 2001. videodisc (97 min.). Anna, the young wife of a much older paster, falls in love with her stepson. Also stars, Sigrid Neiiendan ; director of photography, Karl Andersson. Based on the novel "Anne Pedersdotter" by Hans Wiers-Jenssens. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 388

De fem benspænd = The five obstructions. 2004. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Lars von Trier enters the world of documentary filmmaking and challenges his idol Jørgen Leth to remake his 1967 film The Perfect Human five times, each time with a new obstruction, hoping each time that he will fail! DVD 2250

Direktøren for det hele = The boss of it all. 2007. 1 videodisc (96 min.). When decisions needed to be made at the office, the owner invented a nonexistent company president to hide behind. Now, forced to bring the "Boss" face-to-face with potential purchasers and employees, he hires a failed actor to play the part. Much to everyone's surprise, the unmasked boss plays the ultimate part by becoming a hero. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4148

Epidemic. 2004. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Tells the bizarre story of a director (played by director Lars von Trier himself) and a writer who create a script about a mysterious plague that engulfs Europe, only to find their horrific scenario coming true in real life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4145

Europa = Zentropa. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2008. 2 videodiscs (107 min.). Leo Kessler, an American of German descent, visits Germany in 1945. He works as a night conductor on the Zentropa Railway Line, owned by a Nazi sympathizer. Leo attempts to remain neutral to the ongoing purguing of loyalists by the Allied forces, but he falls in love with the railway magnate's daughter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5149

Festen = The celebration.  Dogme: Dogme (Universal Studios Home Video (Firm)). 2004. 1 videodisc (106 min.). The family and friends of prominent Danish patriarch Helge Klingenfeldt gather at his country estate to celebrate his sixtieth birthday. Two months prior to this event, Helge's daughter committed suicide. Her twin brother, Christian, makes a birthday toast that brings a barrage of family secrets out into the open. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 888

Flammen & Citronen = Flame and Citron. 2010. 1 videodisc (136 min.). Copenhagen, 1944. A young idealist codenamed Flame and tense family man Citron are two Resistance fighters who become the underground's most proficient killers of collaborators and sympathizers. The Nazi SS is hunting them. They trust only each other. But in a time where fear and mercy must live in the shadows, a mysterious woman and a new assignment to assassinate the head of the Gestapo may lead them to the deadliest place of all. Based on the Holder Danske's most famous agents. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7828

Forbrydelsens element = The element of crime. Classic collection: The Criterion collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.): Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2000. 1 videodisc (104 min.). The story of an exiled ex-cop who returns to his old beat to catch a serial killer preying on young girls.  Set in Germany, the film is shot in sepia tones with brilliant blue flashes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 159

Gertrud. Criterion collection. 2001. videodisc (116 min.). A woman leaves her unfulfilling marriage and embarks on a search for ideal love - but neither a passionate affair nor the return to an old romance can provide the answer she seeks. Also stars, Ebbe Rode, Baard Owe ; director of photography, Henning Bendtsen ; music, Jørgen Jersild ; costume designer, Berit Nykjær ; production designer, Kai Rasch. Adapted from a play by Hjalmar Söderberg. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 390

Idioterne = The Idiots. 2004. 1 videodisc (109 min.). "This strikingly original and thought-provoking film [is] about a group of people who confront and subvert the norms and conventions of middle-class society by exploring and releasing their 'inner idiot'. Following her encounter with the group, a lonely drifter accidentally finds herself involved with 'the idiots'" -- taken from the container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3960

Italiensk for begyndere = Italian for beginners. 2002. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Several students of an Italian language class find romance in their studies of the language of love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 484

Mifune. 2000. 1 videodisc (98 min.). Kresten is enjoying life as a successful businessman and a newlywed (he's just married the boss' daughter).  But when he receives a phone call informing him of his father's untimely passing, his comfortable new life is thrown into turmoil.  He's kept his poor, small-town past a secret from his new wife and her family and must sneak away to settle family business before his cover is blown. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 474

Nicolas Winding Refn's Pusher trilogy. 2006. 3 videodiscs (318 min.). A "brutal and strangely affecting portrayal of the dredge of Danish society and the criminal conscience"--All Movie Guide. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3867

Ordet. Criterion collection. 2001. videodisc (125 min.). A farmers family is torn apart by faith, sanctity, and love. A challenge to simple facts and dogmatic orthodoxy. Also stars, Preben Lerdoff Rye, Cay Kristiansen ; director of photography, Henning Bendtsen, John Carlsen, Erik Wittrup Willumsen ; music, Poul Schierbeck. From the play by Kaj Munk. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 389

Reconstruction. 2005. 1 videodisc (93 min.). This story follows Alex, a photographer, and beautiful Aimee who meet by chance and fall in love in the course of one intense day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2087