Skip to Main Content

Filmography - War Movies: Vietnam War

Films on DVD as of June 2011. Includes films with combat and/or wartime settings

War Movies Filmography - Vietnam War

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011. 

Includes films with combat and/or wartime settings.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

Apocalypse now. 1999. 1 videodisc (153 min.). Coppola's vision of man's heart of darkness revealed through the madness of the Vietnam War. The odyssey of Capt. Willard (Martin Sheen) as he journeys up-river through the physical and emotional minefields of Vietnam to find and eliminate a fellow officer, Col. Kurtz (Marlon Brando), who has set himself up as a god in the jungles of Cambodia and is conducting the war in his way. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 27

Apocalypse now redux. 2001. 1 videodisc (202 min.). A United States Army officer/trained assassin is sent into the depths of a southeast Asian jungle to seek out a renegade colonel and terminate his command during the Vietnam War. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 27

Apocalypse now, the complete dossier. 2006. 2 videodiscs (355 min.). A United States Army officer/trained assassin is sent into the depths of a southeast Asian jungle to seek out a renegade colonel and terminate his command during the Vietnam War. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 27

Born on the fourth of July. 1990. 2 videodiscs (145 min.). "Based on a true story, the acclaimed film follows the young [Ron] Kovic from a zealous teen who eagerly volunteers for the Vietnam War, to an embittered veteran paralyzed from the mid-chest down. Deeply in love with his country, Kovic returned to an environment vastly different from the one he left, and struggled before emerging as a brave new voice for the disenchanted"--Container label. DVD 1159

Casualties of war. 2001. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Based on the true story of a squad of soldiers caught in the moral quagmire of wartime Vietnam. Witness to a vile crime, Private Ericksson (Michael J. Fox) is forced to stand alone against his fellow soldiers and commanding officer Sergeant Meserve (Sean Penn). Master filmmaker Brian DePalma creates a devastating and unforgettable tale of one man's quest for sanity and justice amidst the chaos of war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1745

The deer hunter. 2001. 1 videodisc (183 min.). Tracks a group of steelworker pals from a Pennsylvania blast furnace to the cool hunting grounds of the Alleghenies to the lethal cauldron of Vietnam. Shows what happens to friendship and courage under stress. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1706

Full metal jacket. Stanley Kubrick collection. 2001. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Vietnam war drama which begins with a depiction of the brutality of Marine Corps training and then shifts to Vietnam, focusing mainly on a group of Marines responding to the Tet Offensive of 1968. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1886

Gardens of stone. 2002. 1 videodisc (111 min.). This war-toughened sergeant who passionately longs to train soldiers for fighting in Vietnam is assigned to the elite Old Guard. His girlfriend, a Washington Post reporter, is against the war but respects his view. The sergeant takes a zealous soldier under his wing and tries to help train him for his tour in Vietnam, but the young soldier is killed three weeks before returning from Vietnam. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3174

Good morning, Vietnam. 2000? 1 videodisc (121 min.). Imported by the Army for an early morning radio show in Vietnam, disc jockey Adrian Cronauer blasts the formerly staid, sanitized airwaves with a constant barrage of rapid-fire humor and the hottest hits from back home.  The G.I.'s love him, but the brass is up in arms. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1741

The Green Berets. 1997. 1 videodisc (142 min.). John Wayne leads his Special Forces troops against a deadly and determined enemy. The film combines rugged action with spectacular special effects. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 503

Hamburger Hill. 1998. 1 videodisc (110 min.). For ten days, the American soldiers of Bravo Company fight in Vietnam to take over Hill 937, also known as Hamburger Hill. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5848

Heaven & earth. Oliver Stone collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (140 min.). The true story of a man who fought, a woman who endured, and a love caught up in the war in Vietnam. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1160

In country. 1999. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Dramatic portrayal of a reclusive war vet and his 17 year old niece as they struggle to heal the wounds of Vietnam. HOME USE COLLETION DVD 1743

Jacob's ladder. 1998. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Jacob is a man living in a nightmare.  Having survived Vietnam, he's back home in New York City.  But memories of both his wartime demons and the accidental death of his son haunt and terrorize him.  Jacob's grip on reality begins to slip and only his friend can save him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 112

Journey from the fall. 2007. 2 videodiscs (135 min.). Despite his allegiance to the toppled South Vietnamese government, Long Nguyen decides to remain in Vietnam. Imprisoned in a Communist re-education camp, he urges his family to make the escape by boat without him. His wife, son, and mother embark on the arduous ocean voyage in the hope of reaching the U.S. and freedom. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6352

Platoon. 2006. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). An idealistic new recruit arrives in Vietnam and quickly discovers that his enemy is not just the Viet Cong, but also gnawing fear, physical exhaustion and the anger growing within himself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1158

Rambo: first blood part II. 1998. 1 videodisc (95 min.). John Rambo (Stallone) is recruited for a highly secret and dangerous mission in the jungles of Vietnam to locate missing American POW's, Unbeknownst to Rambo, his mission has been compromised before it begins. Deserted by his own team, Rambo is left as a lone survivor in the hostile jungle with only his knife, bow and arrows. With the help of a Vietnamese girl, he struggles against deadly odds to find and free the prisoners. Triumphant, yet betrayed, he vows to bring his own brand of revenge to all who have become his enemies. DVD 1781

Rescue dawn. 2007. 1 videodisc (126 min.). When U.S. fighter pilot Dieter Dengler escapes death after being shot down over one of the most intense front lines in the Vietnam War, his troubles were just beginning. He is taken captive by the Vietnamese Army and is forced to endure a harrowing stint in a Vietnamese prison camp. Dengler and a small band of his fellow captives stage a death-defying escape. Based on a true story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3419

Streamers. 2010. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Four young recruits and two veterans in an army barracks await the orders that will send them to Vietnam.  Threatened and altered by forces beyond their control, herded, confined and stripped of all protective armor, they are driven into a confrontation as violent and psychologically devastating as war itself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6769

Tigerland. 2001. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Just released from the base stockade, recruit Roland Bozz joins a platoon of young soldiers preparing to ship out to Vietnam. His independence and outright defiance draw fire from his own men as well as commanding officers. But when the platoon is sent to Tigerland, a hellish training ground, Bozz's leadership and loyalty bring his men together, triggering extraordinary consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6600

We were soldiers. Widescreen DVD Collection. 2002. 1 videodisc (138 min.). Lt. Col. Hal Moore is the commander of the First Battalion, Seventh Cavalry. As part of the Pleiku Campaign of late 1965, Moore is assigned to action at Landing Zone X-Ray in the Ia Drang Valley, an area known to be overrun by North Vietnamese troops and nicknamed "The Valley of Death." Moore soon finds himself and his men contained to an area about the size of a football field, surrounded by more than 2,000 enemy troops and engaged in the first major battle of the war. Heroism becomes the order of the day as the men refuse to yield, in spite of heavy losses of life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 635