To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Titles available on DVD as of June 2011.
Includes films with combat and/or wartime settings.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. F For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)
Generation kill. 2008. 3 videodiscs (362 min.). Presents a uniquely epic and intimate portrait of the first 40 days of the Iraq war from the perspective of the Marines of the First Recon Battalion - a new breed of American soldiers. Based on the national best selling book by Evan Wright. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5081 - 5083
Green zone. 2010. 1 videodisc (115 min.). During the U.S.-led occupation of Baghdad in 2003, Chief Warrant Officer Roy Miller and his team of Army inspectors were dispatched to find weapons of mass destruction believed to be stockpiled in the Iraqi desert. Rocketing from one booby-trapped and treacherous site to the next, the men search for deadly chemical agents but stumble instead upon an elaborate cover-up that inverts the purpose of their mission. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1629
The hurt locker. 2010. 1 videodisc (131 min.). US Army Staff Sergeant Will James, Sergeant J.T. Sanborn and Specialist Owen Eldridge comprise the Bravo Company's bomb disposal unit stationed in Baghdad. James is the tech team leader. When James arrives on the scene, Bravo Company has thirty-nine days left on its current deployment. It will be a long thirty-nine days for Sanborn and Eldridge whose styles do not mesh with their new leader. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6762
Jarhead. 2006. 1 videodisc (123 min.). Follows "Swoff," a third-generation Marine enlistee, from a sobering stint in boot camp to active duty, sporting a sniper's rifle and a hundred-pound ruck on his back through the Middle East deserts during Operation Desert Shield. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2708
The messenger. 2010. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Partnered with hard-line officer Tony Stone, Sgt. Will Montgomery is a battle-scarred war hero home from Iraq and newly assigned to the Army's Casualty Notification service. He faces this formidable mission while seeking comfort and healing back on the home front when he falls for the wife of a fallen soldier. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7728
Rules of engagement. Widescreen collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (127 min.). Colonel Terry Childers is a patriot and war hero. But when a peacekeeping mission he leads in Yemen goes terribly wrong, he finds himself facing a court martial. Accused of breaking the rules of engagement by killing unarmed civilians, Childers' only hope of vindication rests with comrade-in-arms Hays Hodges, a military lawyer of questionable abilities. Together, they face the battle of their lives.--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 299
Stop-loss. 2008. 1 videodisc (111 min.). Decorated Iraq war hero Sgt. Brandon King makes a celebrated return to his small Texas hometown following his tour of duty. He tries to resume the life he left behind with the help and support of his family and his best friend, Steve Shriver, who served with him in Iraq. Along with their other war buddies, Brandon and Steve try to make peace with civilian life. Then, against Brandon's will the Army orders him back to duty in Iraq, upending his new life. The conflict tests everything he believes in - the bond of family, the loyalty of friendship, the limits of love and the value of honor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4714