Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - National Cinema, Brazil: Home

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011

National Cinema, Brazil

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

 

Antonia. 2007. 1 videodisc (88 min.). A soulful look into the lives of four women living on the outskirts of Sao Paulo, Brazil. Detrmined to escape their poverty-stricken lives, they learn that out of struggle comes strength and the courage to continue on. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1985

At midnight I'll take your soul. The Coffin Joe trilogy. 2002. 1 videodisc (81 min.). Joe terrorizes a small religious community in his search for the perfect woman to bear him a child. Frightening, atmospheric, and startlingly graphic for it's time. Almost forty years later, at midnight I'll take your soul is now a classic of world horror. Unholy undertaker, evil philosopher, denizen of dreams and hallucinations Ö Coffin Joe, with his trademark top hat, black cape and long talon-like fingernails, is a horror icon in his native Brazil. Revered as the national bogeyman, Coffin Joe has been immortalized in films, TV shows, radio programs, comic books and popular songs. He is the creation of writer/director/star Jose Mojica Marins whose perversely original and strangely personal filmmaking style has been compared to an unholy blend of Mario Bava, Luis Buruel and Russ Meyer. The film debut of Coffin Joe was also the first true horror film made in Brazil. HOME USE COLLECTIN DVD 497

Awakening of the beast.  The Coffin Joe trilogy. 2002. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Awakening of the beast is a deliriously psychedelic nightmare about the rise of drug use and perversion among the youth of the nation. In a series of increasingly bizarre vignettes we see all manner of depravity, from a group of finger-sniffing hippies to a lecherous movie producer seducing a young starlet. From this group, four drug addicts are chosen to take part in an LSD experiment. What follows is the closest thing to a real acid trip ever put on film, but are they under the influence of LSD or Coffin Joe?  Banned by Brazil's military dictatorship for nearly 20 years, it is now considered by many to be Mojica's masterpiece. Unholy undertaker, evil philosopher, denizen of dreams and hallucinations ... Coffin Joe, with his trademark top hat, black cape and long talon-like fingernails, is a horror icon in his native Brazil. Revered as the national bogeyman, Coffin Joe has been immortalized in films, TV shows, radio programs, comic books and popular songs. He is the creation of writer/director/star Jose Mojica Marins whose perversely original and strangely personal filmmaking style has been compared to an unholy blend of Mario Bava, Luis Buruel and Russ Meyer. The film debut of Coffin Joe was also the first true horror film made in Brazil. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 499

La terra degli uomini rossi = Birdwatchers. 2009. 1 videodisc (99 min.). A drama focusing on conflicts between the farmers and the Guarani-Kaiowá people of Mato Grosso do Sul, Brazil. DVD 7943

Bus 174. 2004. 1 videodisc (133 min.). A powerful, award-winning examination of the tragic series of events that followed a desperate bus hijacking in Rio de Janeiro in 2000 that turned deadly when a SWAT team took evasive action against the drug-addled hijacker. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 896

Bye bye Brasil = Bye bye Brazil. CinemaDisc collection. 1990. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Film follows a troupe of carnival-type entertainers in a land caught up in an avalanche of social change. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2937

Carandiru. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 145 min.). Set in Sao Paulo's House of Detention. An oncologist arrives at the jail to test patients for HIV infection. Seeing the disease, overcrowding, and rampant circulation of drugs, the doctor comes to realize the internal power structure among the prisoners. Narratives develop, including the attempted murder of Dagger, the solitary confinement of Chico, and the romance between Lady Di and Too Bad. The doctor eventually sees the prisoners as survivors, leading up to the violent conclusion: a reconstruction of the October 2, 1992, prison riot known as the Carandiru Massacre. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 987

Casa de areia = The house of sand. 2006. 1 videodisc (103 min.). A woman and her mother are sent to an island and spend almost 60 years trying to leave it. Follow three generations of the woman's family as they all try and find happiness on a lagoon surrounded by shifting dunes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2514

Central do Brasil = Central Station. 1999. 1 videodisc (106 min.). When a young boy witnesses his mother's accidental death, a lonely retired school-teacher who now writes letters for the illiterate reluctantly takes the child under her wing and helps him search for the father he has never known. Although initially distrustful of each other, the two form an uncommon bond as they venture from Rio to Brazil's barren and remote northeast region in their search for the boy's father. Together they embark on a journey that restores the woman's spirit and teaches the boy precious life lessons. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 70

Cidade de Deus = City of God. 2003. 1 videodisc (130 min.). The world's most notorious slum, Rio de Janeiro's City of God, where combat photographers and police rarely go. The true story of a young man who grew up on these streets and whose ambition as a photographer is our window in and his only way out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 849

Cidade dos homens = City of men. 2008. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Growing up in a culture of violence, Acerola and Laranjinha have become as close as brothers. When they find themselves on opposite sides of a gang war, the lifelong friends are forced to confront a shocking secret from their shared past. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4980

Deus É Brasileiro = God is Brazilian. 2004. 1 videodisc (110 min.). God decides to take a vacation - but, first, He has to find a saint who can rule the universe while He's away. For that, he goes to Brazil's northeast, where He believes there's a very good man for the job - during his mission, he becomes friend of a very smart young man, Taoca. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6269

Deus e o diabo na terra do sol = Black god, white devil. Coleção Glauber Rocha. 2003? 2 videodiscs (125 min.). Set in the sertâo of Brazil in 1938, an impoverished couple, Manuel and Rosa, join a religious cult which is pursued by a hired killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1474

Eu, tu, eles = Me, you, them. 2000. 1 videodisc (107 min.). In a poor, dusty corner of Northeastern Brazil, pregnant Darlene says good-bye to her aged mother, her dusty settlement town, and sets off to be married. The wedding doesn't happen; she returns home years later with a son, in time to bury her mother. Darlene isn't especially young or gorgeous, but she is radiant with a full-bodied, earthy eroticism that proves irresistible to first one, then two, and finally three men. If Darlene needs all three to make one complete husband, well, they believe she has enough love to go around. The film weds the humor and magic of a folk tale to a very modern feel for the psychological dynamics between men and women, and for the subtle politics of male rivalry in a macho culture. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6228

A hora da estrela = Hour of the star. 2005. 1 videodisc (96 min.). This striking adaptation of the canonical novel by Clarice Lispector tracks the tragicomic ordeals of Macabea during her first days in the megalopolis of Sao Paulo--after emigration from the impoverished north of Brazil. DVD 1479

Kiss of the spider woman. 2008. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). Luis, a homosexual, and Valentin, a political prisoner are mismatched cell mates in a South American prison. To escape reality Luis invents romantic movies, while Valentin tries to keep his mind on the situation he's in. Eventually, the two men come to understand and respect one another. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5187

Leon Hirszman 01-02. 199. 2 videodiscs (207 min.). Eles não usam black-tie -- The story of a Säao Paulo working-class family that becomes deeply divided over a strike at the factory in which both father and son, along with the son's fiancâee, work. DVD 4218

Madame Satã. 2004. 1 videodisc (105 + 28 min.). Born to slaves in Northern Brazil and sold at the age of 7 by his mother for the price of a mule, João Francisco dos Santos battled all stereotypes on the mean streets of Lapa, Rio de Janeíro. Jailed for 27 of his 76 years, dos Santos was an explosive figure prone to excessive bouts of violence and moments of extreme tenderness the next. His world was filled with violence and raw desire, while desperate dreams spring from poverty and squalor. João Francisco dos Santos, also known as Madame Satã, is one of the most famous drag queen of 1930s. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 966

Manda bala = Send a bullet. 2008. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Brazil is known for its beautiful beaches and vibrant culture. However, in recent years, the country has developed more of a reputation for corrupt politicians, kidnapping, and plastic surgery. Artfully connects these seemingly disparate elements and conducts a dazzling, yet harrowing, examination of the tragic domino effect that has reshaped the face of the country and created an entire industry built on corruption. Illustrates how corruption and kidnapping represent two sides of the same violent crime. DVD 4368

O ano em que meus pais saíram de férias = The year my parents went on vacation. 2008. 1 videodisc (103 min.). Mauro is a 12-year-old boy, who is left to fend for himself when his parents 'go on vacation' during the military dictatorship in 1970's Brazil. The culturally diverse community of São Paulo unites to watch Péle lead his country in winning the World Cup of soccer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6230

O ceu de Suely = Love for sale. 2008. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Hermila takes her newborn son and returns to her village in northeastern Brazil. Realizing she has been abandoned by her husband, she is determined to raise enough money to escape her stifling home town. She raffles off her body as a way to raise money. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5752

O Dragão da Maldade contra o Santo Guerreiro. 2010. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Many years ago, Antônio das mortes killed Lampião, the last known Brazilian cangaceiro, a paid killer of rebels and bandits. A rich landowner brings Antônio out of retirement, however, when he discovers a stray cangaceiro still living in the sertão, Antônio pursues the cangaceiro. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7630

O homem que copiava = The man who copied. 2005. 1 videodisc (125 min.). Photocopier operator André is attracted to Silvia, his neighbor, whom he likes to watch with a telescope. Following her, he discovers that Sylvia works at an expensive shop. When André falls in love with Sylvia he puts his photocopier to another use and prints money for himself so he can afford to go and shop at her store. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6271

O homen do ano = The man of the year. Film Movement series. 2005. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Maiquel has lost a bet and dyed his hair blond. This little event triggers a head-on collision with destiny in which Maiquel goes from nobody to hero to outlaw - all in 24 hours. DVD 6285

Orfeu negro = Black Orpheus. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1999. 1 videodisc (107 min.). The classical legend of Orpheus and Eurydice unfolds in an updated version against the riotously colorful background of the Carnival in Rio de Janeiro. In the black section of the city, Orpheus is a street-car conductor and Eurydice a pretty country girl fleeing from a mysterious man sworn to kill her, a man who in the story represents Fate or Death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1503

Terra em transe = Entranced earth. 2008. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Paulo Martins (Jardel Filho) is a young poet and journalist who is persuaded by his lover Sara (Glauce Rocha) to become involved in the politics of his country, the hypothetical Eldorado. He fights against two corrupt politicians, a populist governor (Josâe Lewgoy) and a conservative president (Paulo Autran), both who were at one time his friends. HOME USE COLLETION DVD 8067

Terra estrangeira. 2000. 1 videodisc (100 min.). "After the unexpected death of his mother, Paco, an aspiring actor from Sao Paulo, longs to leave his native Brazil. Tired of living in suqalior, he accepts a 'delivery job' from a shady antique dealer and travels to Lisbon carrying a violin filled with uncut diamonds. But when the exchange goes bad, he finds himself on the run from an underworld thug and in the arms of Alex, a beautiful woman caught up in the Portuguese black market."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4116

This night I'll possess your corpse. The Coffin Joe trilogy. 2002. 1 videodisc (107 min.). This sequel to at midnight I'll take your soul is bigger, bolder and more insane that it's predecessor. Coffin Joe returns to continue his quest for the perfect bride. Aided by a hunchback assistant, he embarks on an even more brutal campaign of terror. For his sins, Joe is dragged headfirst into the underworld. As imagined by Mojica, it's as unique a vision of hell as you'll ever see. Unholy undertaker, evil philosopher, denizen of dreams and hallucinations ... Coffin Joe, with his trademark top hat, black cape and long talon-like fingernails, is a horror icon in his native Brazil. Revered as the national bogeyman, Coffin Joe has been immortalized in films, TV shows, radio programs, comic books and popular songs. He is the creation of writer/director/star Jose Mojica Marins whose perversely original and strangely personal filmmaking style has been compared to an unholy blend of Mario Bava, Luis Buruel and Russ Meyer. The film debut of Coffin Joe was also the first true horror film made in Brazil. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 498

Tropa de elite = Elite squad. 2008. 1 videodisc (115 min.). "Thunderous gun battles and powerhouse performances anchor the groundbreaking story of the BOPE, a SWAT-like team at war with the drug lords of Rio de Janeiro.  Racing against time, its hard-driving captain puts a pair of rookies through hell in an effort to shape a worthy successor and clear out a drug-infested slum before his imminent retirement" -- Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6270

Veias e vinhos = Blood & wine. 2006. 1 videodisc (100 min.). A Brazilian family living during the political turmoil during the 1950s and the two decades that followed, from the suicide of the president to the establishment of martial law, tries to find hope in the tragedy of everyday life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6272