Filmography - Sports

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections. 

A league of their own. 1992 1 videodisc (127 min.). In 1943, a washed-up ballplayer is hired to coach in the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League while the male pros are at war. Reluctant at first, he finds himself drawn back into the game by the heart and heroics of his team. Based on a true story. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1384

Bang the drum slowly. Widescreen DVD collection. 2003. 1 videodisc (97 min.). An unlikely friendship ignites between two baseball players. One is the team's ace pitcher and social charmer; the other is the catcher, a farm boy from Georgia who lacks sophistication. During their last season together, the two men grow in manhood and respect for themselves and each other. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2180

Baseball. 2004. 10 videodiscs (1140 min.). It is an epic overflowing with heroes and hopefuls, scoundrels and screwballs. It is a saga spanning the quest for racial justice, the clash of labor and management, the transformation of popular culture, and the unfolding of the national pastime. Here is the story of a nation at work and play. Experience it in ten thrilling "innings" from master storyteller and award-winning filmmaker Ken Burns. DVD 6310-6320

Bull Durham. 2008. 1 videodisc (108 min.). The baseball season gets off to a rocky start when the Durham Bulls' new catcher "Crash" Davis punches out the cocky young pitcher, "Nuke" LaLoosh, he's just been hired to train. Matters get even more complicated when sexy Annie Savoy informs both men that each season she chooses one player to share her bed-- and Nuke and Crash are this year's "draft picks!". Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5922

Damn Yankees. 2004. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Starring the original Broadway cast, this is the musical adaptation of the novel 'The Year The Yankees Won The Pennant'. A Washington Senators fan sells his soul to the devil to become a great baseball player and to help his favorite team win the pennant.  Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2706

Eastbound & down. 2009. 2 videodiscs (180 min.). Kenny Powers is a former Major League pitcher who used to have it all: fame, endorsements, and a lucrative contract. Now, after hard living has taken its toll on his fastball, Kenny finds himself crashing with his brother's family and teaching gym class at the same North Carolina middle school where he once attended. Wherever he goes, Kenny wreaks havoc with his boorish behavior, all while plotting his triumphant return to the big leagues. TV series. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7041

Eight men out. MGM contemporary classics: Contemporary classics (Santa Monica, Calif.) . 2001. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Based on the real-life scandal of 1919, the film tells the story of eight baseball players who plan to throw games for money, and the scorn and anger the scheme earned them. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 704

Field of dreams. 2004. 2 videodiscs (106 min.). Inspired by a mysterious voice, Iowa farmer Ray Kinsella constructs a baseball diamond in the middle of his cornfield. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7776

Sugar. 2009. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Miguel 'Sugar' Santos is a talented Dominican baseball player who longs to break into the American big league and earn the money needed to support his impoverished family. He is a talented pitcher who might just have what it takes to earn a prized spot on a Major League Baseball team. Before that happens he'll have to prove his worth in the minor leagues. Advancing in baseball's minor league system at the tender age of 19, Miguel is warmly welcomed into the small-town Iowa home of his host family. He struggles with language and cultural barriers despite the kindness of strangers. Subsequently forced to reevaluate his life's ambition after his once-trusty arm becomes unreliable. The previously single-minded pitcher gradually begins to question both the world he lives in and the role he has chosen to play in it. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7247

The Jackie Robinson story. 198?. (ca. 83 min.) An autobiographical account of Robinson's journey through the Jim Crow sports establishment to baseball's major leagues. Robinson plays himself in a film that frames vignettes of racial prejudice against the personal courage of the first baseball player to break the color barrier in the Major Leagues. Feature film. Streaming Video

The life and times of Hank Greenberg. 2001. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Biography of Hank Greenberg, the first Jewish baseball star. DVD 267

The natural. 2001. 1 videodisc (138 min.). Nothing was going to stop Roy Hobbs from fulfilling his boyhood dream of baseball stardom. As a 14-year old he fashions a baseball bat from an oak tree. He soon impresses major league scouts with his ability. His talent also catches the eye of a sportswriter who eventually becomes instrumental in Hobbs' career. The appearance of a mysterious woman, however, shatters his dream. Years later Hobbs reappears as a rookie for the New York Knights and has an opportunity to share in their race for the pennant. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2095