Filmography - Sports

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections. 

Ali. 2002. 1 videodisc (157 min.). Dramatic biography of boxing great Muhammad Ali, which focuses on the ten-year period of 1964-1974. In that time, the brash, motor-mouthed athlete quickly dominates his sport, meets and marries his first wife, converts to Islam (changing his name from Cassius Clay), and defies the United States government by refusing to submit to military conscription for duty in Vietnam. His world heavyweight champion title thus stripped from him entirely for political reasons, the champ sets about to win back his crown, culminating in a legendary unification bout against George Foreman in Zaire, dubbed the "Rumble in the Jungle.". Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3883

Body and soul. 1999. 1 videodisc (104 min.). Charley has become the middleweight champion of the world by winning a "fixed" fight. In his devious climb to the top, Charley has become hard and arrogant, and has estranged both his mother and the girl he loves. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 210

Champion. 1999. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Midge Kelly is a fun-loving former navy man whose life is made complex by his sudden rise to fame in professional boxing. He becomes popular after months of training and a series of fixed fights. But the champion falls from the top when he beats Johnny Dunne, a prize fighter, into the ground when he has been instructed by the syndicate to lose the fight. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 211

Decisión dividida = Split decision. 2002. 1 videodisc (58 min.). Chronicles the rise of Jesus "El Matador" Chavez through the professional boxing ranks to number one contender for the World Championship when the U.S. government enacted two tough immigration laws that ordered the immediate deportation of all non-U.S. citizens with a criminal conviction. Despite his clear rehabilitation Jesus, with a prior conviction for armed robbery, was deported to Mexico. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1530

Gentleman Jim. Errol Flynn signature collection. 2007. 1 videodisc (104 min.). Boxer James J. Corbett, the bank clerk turned World Champion who elevated boxing from bare-knuckled brawling to the sport of skill it is today.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4979

Girlfight. 2001. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Diana Guzman is always fighting, whether at home in the housing projects with her abusive dad or at high school. She finds a new outlet for her anger at her brother's boxing gym. With hard-core training from veteran boxing coach Hector, Diana learns she has the guts and talent to be a contender. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 204

Golden gloves. 1961. (28 min.). The Golden Gloves boxing tournament is the Canadian amateur's hope for success in the boxing world. This film shows three Montreal boxers in training. In behind-the-scenes interviews they talk about their ambitions and what prompted them to take up boxing. Streaming Video
http://www.nfb.ca/film/golden_gloves/

In training. 2008. 1 videodisc (28 min.). An amateur boxer once in trouble with the law has turned his life around. This film follows his journey   to an amateur boxing tournament. DVD 6050

Million dollar baby. 2005. 2 videodiscs (132 min.). Frankie is a former boxing manager, who initially refuses to train Maggie due to her gender and age. With her talent and his coaching the spirited young fighter rises through the ranks of women's boxing, the pair form a touching bond in the process. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1374

On the ropes. 2000. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A documentary on aspiring boxers training at Bed-Stuy Boxing Center in Brooklyn, New York. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 154

Raging bull. The Martin Scorsese film collection. 2005. 2 videodiscs (ca. 129 min.). Jake La Motta is a boxer whose psychological and sexual complexities erupt into violence both in and out of the ring. His brother Joey falls prey to Jake's mounting paranoia and jealousy, while fifteen-year-old Vickie, becomes Jake's wife and most prized trophy. The same anger that drives Jake in the ring, ultimately drives him to beat his wife and brother, and sends Jake down a self-destructive spiral of paranoia and rage. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1876

Redbelt. 2008. 1 videodisc (99 min.). A jujitsu master becomes corrupted by the glitz and glamour of Hollywood. When a respected jujitsu master eschews a lucrative prizefighting career in favor of opening a self-defense dojo, it appears that he has chosen a peaceful path in life. The dedicated master's fate takes an unanticipated turn, however, when he is manipulated into participating in ultimate fighting championships by a group of unscrupulous actors and fight promoters. Later, as the master is being relentlessly beaten in a dirty street fight, he connects with a high-profile action star with serious marital problems. Realizing that the only way to regain his honor is to step into the ring, he reluctantly prepares for the fight of his life. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5107

Rocky. 2001. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Rocky Balboa, the underdog, gets his million-to-one shot at love, self-respect and the world heavyweight boxing crown and comes out a winner. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 951

The boxer. 1998. 1 videodisc (114 min.). When Danny Flynn returns to his Belfast neighborhood after 14 years in prison, all he wants is to find peace, resume his career, and reclaim the love of the woman who has remained etched in his mind. As they slowly embrace the possibilities of renewed romance, they realize cultural taboos stand in the way and fighting for love could cost them their lives. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4007

The fight. 2004. 1 videodisc (90 min.). This documentary captures the anticipation that the bout between African American heavyweight Joe Louis and his German opponent Max Schmeling generated, the events leading up to it, the impact Louis's victory had on Blacks and its significance for Jews. DVD 1181

The fighter. 2010. 1 videodisc (115 min.). Once upon a time, Dicky Eklund was known as the pride of Lowell, Massachusetts. There isn't a person in Lowell who doesn't know about the time that Dicky knocked down the great Sugar Ray Leonard. By the early 1990s, Dicky's crack addiction has soured everything, although he dreams of making a comeback. The real contender is his half-brother Micky Ward. 31-year-old Micky is an unassuming nice guy, long regarded as little more than a stepping-stone for rising fighters, but with undeniable potential. Between his controlling mom Alice, who manages his career, his crack head trainer brother, and a Greek chorus of seven sisters, Micky doesn't have a chance. Until his tough-chick bartender girlfriend Charlene gives him the confidence and support to consider a different course. But his success comes at a cost--as he must leave his family behind in the process. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8360

The hurricane. 2000. 1 videodisc (146 min.). Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, in the prime of his boxing career, finds himself wrongfully convicted of murder. Sentenced to life in prison, Carter's published memoir, The Sixteenth Round, inspires a teenager from Brooklyn and three Canadian activists who believe in the truth, to join forces with Carter to prove his innocence. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 491

The wrestler. 2009. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Back in the late '80s, Randy 'The Ram' Robinson was a headlining professional wrestler. Now, decades past his prime, he barely gets by working small wrestling shows in VFW halls and as a part-time grocery store employee. He faces health problems that may end his wrestling career and is attempting to come to terms with his life outside the ring. He wants to reconcile with the daughter he abandoned in childhood and begins a relationship with a stripper. He struggles with his new life and an offer of a high-profile rematch with his 1980s arch-nemesis, 'The Ayatollah,' which might just be his ticket back to stardom. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5680

Tyson. 2009. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Mike Tyson, one of the most controversial and misunderstood boxers to ever step inside the ring, reveals insights into his life through interviews, archival footage, and photographs.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6739

Unforgivable blackness: The rise and fall of Jack Johnson. 2005. 2 videodiscs (220 min.). The in-depth and intimate story of one of the most important African Americans to live in the first half of the 20th century. Tells the story of Jack Johnson, who was the first African American boxer to win the most coveted title in all of sports - Heavyweight Campion of the World. Includes his struggles in and out of the ring and his desire to live his life as a free man.  DVD 1254

When we were kings: The untold story of the Rumble in the Jungle. 2005. 1 videodisc (94 min.). A documentary on Mohammad Ali at the time of the famous 1974 "Rumble in the Jungle" match with George Forman in Zaire. Includes a music festival featuring America's top African American performers, James Brown and B.B. King. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5802