Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Film Studies Genre, Horror: Home

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011

Film Studies Genre, Horror Part 1

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2011. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the Library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the Library catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

28 days later. 2003. 1 videodisc (113 min.). An infirmary patient wakes up from a coma to an empty room ... in a vacant hospital ... in a deserted city. A powerful virus, which locks victims into a permanent state of murderous rage, has transformed the world around him into a seemingly desolate wasteland. Now a handful of survivors must fight to stay alive, unaware that the worst is yet to come. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 952

28 weeks later. 2007. 1 videodisc (99 min.). Almost seven months after the Rage virus has annihilated the inhabitants of the London and the British Isles, the U.S. Army declares that the war against infection has been won, and that the reconstruction of the country can begin. In the first wave of returning refugees, a family is reunited, but one of them unwillingly carries a terrible secret. The virus is not yet dead, and this time, it is more dangerous than ever. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7248

The 7th victim; Shadows in the dark. The Val Lewton horror collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (146 min.). Six people have broken a secret group's code of silence and all have died as a result. Now another member of the group has gone missing, has she met the same fate? Includes documentary 'Shadows in the dark : the Val Lewton legacy'. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4595

Acción mutante = Mutant action. 2002. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Dystopic science fiction film set in the year 2012 in a world ruled by bodybuilders, designers and the ultra-chic. Accion Mutante, an underground group of mentally and physically disabled are the sole resistance to the cult of beauty and wealth. Ramon, the leader of the group devises plots to kidnap Patricia, daughter of a wealthy industrialist, but the plot does not work out as planned. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5488

Alien. 1979. 2 videodiscs (116 min.). A mindless, savage, and merciless alien is attacking the crew of an intergalactic freighter and it must be stopped before they are all killed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 885

Alien 3.1992. 1 videodisc (115 min.). Lt. Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) is the lone survivor when her crippled spaceship crash lands on Fiorina 161, a bleak wasteland inhabited by former inmates of the planet's maximum security prison. Ripley's fears that an Alien was aboard her craft are confirmed when the mutilated bodies of ex-cons begin to mount. Without weapons or modern technology of any kind, Ripley must lead the men into battle against the terrifying creature. She soon discovers a horrifying fact about her link with the Alien, a realization that may compel Ripley to try destroying not only the horrific creature, but herself as well. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 887

Aliens. 1986. 2 videodiscs (137 min.). Ripley awakens to discover that 57 years have passed since the destruction of her spaceship and crew. She returns to earth but is soon sent back to the space colony with a contingent of Marines who ignore her warnings about the horrible creatures even though the space colony shows signs of destruction and there is only one survivor. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 886

Alligator. 2007. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A pet baby alligator is flushed into the sewers, where he survives by feeding off experimental lab animals and becomes a 32-foot monster that devours humans and animals alike. Now it's up to one detective to prove it exists, before it's too late! HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7988

Altered states. 1998. 1 videodisc (102 min.). The incredible terrifying tale of a research scientist experimenting with altered states of consciousness, and the horrors he finds in secret landscapes of the mind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6510

The American nightmare. 2003. 1 videodisc (71 min.). Knife-wielding murderers, buxom teens fleeing for their lives, the undead limping across streets. These images are synonymous with horror movies. Go behind-the-scenes with filmmaker greats as they reveal their inspirations for some of the most disturbingly gruesome films that have emerged on screen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 998

American psycho. 2000. 1 videodisc (103 min.). A young, handsome man with a Harvard education and success on Wall Street has terrible urges that take him in pursuit of women, greed, and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 418

American silent horror collection. 2001-2007. 5 videodiscs (432 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3681 - 3685

At midnight I'll take your soul. The Coffin Joe trilogy. 2002. 1 videodisc (81 min.). Joe terrorizes a small religious community in his search for the perfect woman to bear him a child. Frightening, atmospheric, and startlingly graphic for it's time. Almost forty years later, at midnight I'll take your soul is now a classic of world horror. Unholy undertaker, evil philosopher, denizen of dreams and hallucinations Ö Coffin Joe, with his trademark top hat, black cape and long talon-like fingernails, is a horror icon in his native Brazil. Revered as the national bogeyman, Coffin Joe has been immortalized in films, TV shows, radio programs, comic books and popular songs. He is the creation of writer/director/star Jose Mojica Marins whose perversely original and strangely personal filmmaking style has been compared to an unholy blend of Mario Bava, Luis Buruel and Russ Meyer. The film debut of Coffin Joe was also the first true horror film made in Brazil. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 497

Awakening of the beast.  The Coffin Joe trilogy. 2002. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Awakening of the beast is a deliriously psychedelic nightmare about the rise of drug use and perversion among the youth of the nation. In a series of increasingly bizarre vignettes we see all manner of depravity, from a group of finger-sniffing hippies to a lecherous movie producer seducing a young starlet. From this group, four drug addicts are chosen to take part in an LSD experiment. What follows is the closest thing to a real acid trip ever put on film, but are they under the influence of LSD or Coffin Joe?  Banned by Brazil's military dictatorship for nearly 20 years, it is now considered by many to be Mojica's masterpiece. Unholy undertaker, evil philosopher, denizen of dreams and hallucinations ... Coffin Joe, with his trademark top hat, black cape and long talon-like fingernails, is a horror icon in his native Brazil. Revered as the national bogeyman, Coffin Joe has been immortalized in films, TV shows, radio programs, comic books and popular songs. He is the creation of writer/director/star Jose Mojica Marins whose perversely original and strangely personal filmmaking style has been compared to an unholy blend of Mario Bava, Luis Buruel and Russ Meyer. The film debut of Coffin Joe was also the first true horror film made in Brazil. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 499

The bad seed. 2004. 1 videodisc (129 min.). A mother makes the tortuous discovery that her cherubic eight year old daughter harbors an innate desire to kill. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4910

The bat whispers. Milestone collection. 1999. 1 videodisc (170 min.). In this thriller that helped inspire Batman's creation, a gothic mansion is the setting for mystery and terror as a wealthy spinster tries to learn a mysterious thief's identity. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 692

Batman. 2005. 2 videodiscs (259 min.). Watch as mild-mannered Bruce Wayne becomes Batman, the classic superhero who, with Robin, protects Gotham City from the evil schemes of Dr. Tito Daka. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4288

Begotten. 2001. 1 videodisc (78 min.). "In this nightmare classic by Edmund Elias Merhige, a godlike thing dies giving birth to a quivering messiah thing; then the local villager things ravage and bury them, and the earth renews itself on their corpses. It is as if a druidical cult had re-enacted, for real, three Bible stories-creation, the Nativity and Jesus' torture and death on Golgotha- and some demented genius were there to film it."--Container. DVD 2493

Benny's video. 2006. 1 videodisc (105 min.). A boy becomes obsessed with a home-made video of a pig being slaughtered, ultimately murdering a girl and filming it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5142

The birds. The Alfred Hitchcock collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (120 min.). When Melanie Daniels rolls into Bodega Bay in pursuit of eligible bachelor Mitch Brenner, the small California town is inexplicably attacked by thousands of birds. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1053

Blade II. 2004. 1 videodiscs (117 min.). The legendary "daywalker" Blade must join forces with a high-powered team of vampires to take on a fearsom threat more deadly than either has seen before. These unlikely allies must stop a race of super-vampires intent on destroying everyone in their path - human or vampire. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5266

Blade trinity. New Line platinum series. 2005. 2 videodiscs (113 min.). A group of vampires resurrect "Drake" the all-powerful Count Dracula. Teaming up with the Nightstalkers, a group of similar-minded hunters, Blade is ready for battle. A scientist creates a potion that can kill Drake and the entire bloodsucking race. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1972

The Blair Witch project. 1999. 1 videodisc (ca. 87 min.). Three student filmmakers set out into the forest to film a documentary on a legend known as The Blair Witch.  As they become lost in the woods, an unseen evil begins to stalk and harass them.  They soon realize that what they are filming is not a legend, but their own descent into a horrifying encounter with the supernatural. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 24

Blood feast. 2000. 1 videodisc (67 min.). Set in Miami, police are baffled by a series of grisly murders that involve ritualistic dismemberment. A deranged Egyptian caterer name Fuad Ramses goes around hacking up beautiful young gals and brings their body parts back to his temple as an offering to the goddess Ishtar. Blood feast's detective also appears in an educational short as a husband who is taught to carve various cuts of meat by Swift Premium's home economist Martha Logan. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5631

Bram Stoker's Dracula. 1997. 1 videodisc (ca. 130 min.). The tortured journey of the devastatingly seductive Transylvanian Prince as he moves from Eastern Europe to 19th century London in search of his reincarnated long-lost love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5067

The brood. 2003. 1 videodisc (92 min.). Frank Carveth finds himself faced with a terrible predicament. His wife is in an institution suffering from mental illness, yet her therapy does not seem to be working. The institute's director refuses to reveal the nature of the therapy he is using to treat her. Before Frank can learn more, a series of bizarre murders rock the city-- victims of vengeful, murderous creatures that destroy anything that gets in their way. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1400

Bug. 2007. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Agnes has finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Goss, who has recently been released from state prison. Agnes is a lonely waitress with a tragic past who moves into a sleazy, run-down Oklahoma motel room with her lesbian co-worker R.C. She, in turn, introduces Agnes to Gulf War veteran, Peter, a peculiar, paranoiac drifter and they begin a tentative romance. However, things don't always seem as they appear and Agnes is about to experience a claustrophobic nightmare reality as the bugs begin to arrive. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6119

C.H.U.D. 2001. 1 videodisc (96 min.). John Heard and Daniel Stern accidently learn of the government's covert subterranean dumping site of radioactive waste that is mutating the underground vagrants, turning them into C.H.U.D.-cannibalistic humanoid underground dwellers. There's something coming out of the city sewers - They're Cannibalistic Humanoid Underground Dwellers - street people turned into icky monstrosities by some toxic waste. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2115

Candyman. 1992. 1 videodisc (98 min.). A thriller about a graduate student whose research into modern folklore summons the spirit of Candyman, a slave with a hook hand, and ignites a string of slayings. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 924

Carrie. 2001. 1 videodisc (98 min.). Carrie is a high school misfit with a religious fanatic for a mother who must endure continual torture and harassment from her classmates while she tries to deal with a mysterious powers of telekinesis that she doesn't understand. But when a group of mean-spirited teens make her the victim of a vicious prank at the senior prom, Carrie finally wreaks her revenge causing all hell to break loose in a frenzy of blood, fire and brimstone. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5805

Cat people; The curse of the cat people. The Val Lewton horror collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (143 min.). Cat People : Irena Dubrovna, a beautiful and mysterious Serbian-born fashion artist living in New York City, falls in love with and marries average-Joe American Oliver Reed. Their marriage suffers though, as Irena believes that she suffers from an ancient curse- whenever emotionally aroused, she will turn into a panther and kill. Includes commentary by Greg Mank with Simone Simon, and theatrical trailer. The Curse of the Cat People: Amy is a very imaginative child who has trouble differentiating fantasy from reality, and has no friends her own age as a result. She makes an imaginary friend though, her father's dead first wife Irena. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4591

The cell. New Line platinum series. 2000. 1 videodisc (ca. 107 min.). Using an experimental technique, a therapist enters the mind of a serial killer to save a child's life. Her experience becomes a nightmare when she cannot find her way out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4646

Color me blood red. 2000. 1 videodisc (79 min.). Features a mad artist who murders to obtain materials for his gruesome paintings--just the right shade of red pigment. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5633

The company of wolves. 2002. 1 videodisc (92 min.). "Once upon a time," Granny begins, as she weaves vivid tales, full of folklore and fantasy, wherein fantastic beasts lurk within men and young girls who stray from the path despite all warnings may encounter a hairy demon with glowing eyes.  Rosaleen believes her, but she still puts on her red hood and walks through the woods to grandmother's house, and is surprised by what big teeth Granny has.  The forest is always misty, the trees are proudly sinister, and the rural cottages all sit cozy and gingerbread style, but this is a stylishly twisted fairytale. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6310

Cronos. 2003. 1 videodisc (92 min.). An aging antique dealer, Jesus Gris, happens upon an elegant mechanized scarab. When opened, it painfully stabs whomever is holding it, but the wound brings youthful vigor and a vampire's need for blood. The device is relentlessly pursued by a dying tycoon, Dieter de la Guardia, whose nephew Angel, reluctant to see his uncle live a moment longer, must still do the old man's bidding. Meanwhile, Gris's desires endanger his own granddaughter, Aurora. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 856

Cube zero. 2005. 1 videodisc (97 min.). A new group of unwilling participants frantically move through an ominous construct of cube-shaped rooms. Each room holds the threat of hideously inventive and painful death. Finding the real exit, however, may not offer the the freedom one seeks. Prequel to Cube (1997). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6103

Cult classics. AMC monsterfest collection. 2003. 2 videodiscs (318 min.). Dementia 13: Francis Ford Coppola's directorial debut about an axe murderer running amok in Ireland. A death on a lake prefigures a famous scene in The Godfather Part III (1974); Frozen alive: A scientists experiments with suspended animation and becomes the prime suspect when his wife is murdered; The screaming skull: A newly married couple finds screaming skulls around their house. The horror mounts as the ghost of the husband's first wife appears; Jessie James meets Frankenstein's daughter: Sci-fi western finds the famous bank robber in the midst of experiments by a descendent of Dr. Frankenstein's. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5387

Curse of the demon; Night of the demon. 2002. 1 videodisc (82 min.). When a psychologist's colleague is murdered, he denies that it is the work of the devil, until he himself becomes the next target. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4597

Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari = The cabinet of Dr. Caligari: a film in six acts. 2002. 1 videodisc (74 min.). In the film The cabinet of Dr. Caligari, a somnambulist commits murders under a hypnotist's influence. Also featured is a lengthy excerpt of Genuine. Both films are examples of the German Expressionist movement. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3942

Dawn of the dead. 2004. 1 videodisc (101 min.). When a mysterious virus turns people into mindless, flesh-eating zombies, a handful of survivors wage a desperate, last-stand battle to stay alive ... and human! The last remaining humans escape to a Milwaukee shopping mall, where they decide that the only way to truly elude the approaching throng of undead is to somehow make their way to an island that is supposedly zombie-free. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7280

De vierde man = The fourth man. Paul Verhoeven collection. 2001. 1 videodisc (102 min.). An alcoholic novelist meets a widowed hairdresser. He begins to wonder if she murdered her former husbands and if he'll be next. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2525

Dead ringers. Criterion collection. 1998. 1 videodisc (115 min.). The story of identical twin gynecologists -- suave Elliot and sensitive Beverly, opposite sides of one personality -- who share the same practice, the same apartment, and the same women. Then one special woman enters their lives. The twins, their bizarre bond threatened for the first time, descend into a whirlpool of sexual confusion, drugs and madness. DVD 65

Der golem: wie er in die Welt kam = The Golem: how he came into the world. 2002. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Based on the legend of the golem, a popular figure in Jewish tradition. In medieval Prague, the Rabbi Loew gives life to the golem, a clay monster. The golem falls in love with the Rabbi's daughter and brings fear to the emperor's court, but is eventually destroyed by an innocent child. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4650

The descent. 2006. 1 videodisc (99 min.). On an annual extreme outdoor adventure, six women friends meet in a remote part of the Appalachians to explore a cave hidden deep in the woods. Far below the surface of the earth, disaster strikes when a rock fall blocks their exit and there is no way out. The women push on, praying for another exit, but there is something else lurking under the earth. The friends are now prey, forced to unleash their most primal instincts in an all-out war against an unspeakable horror that attacks without warning. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3850

Die 1000 augen des Dr. Mabuse = The thousand eyes of Dr. Mabuse. Diabolical cinema of Dr. Mabuse. 2000. 1 videodisc (99 min.). "The swanky Hotel Luxor is the locus of a ten-year crime spree. Every room is watched from a surveillance headquarters in the basement of the hotel, and a gang of criminals taking their orders from a mysterious leader's recorded voice plan crimes, including the theft of military secrets and the explosion of a nuclear weapons plant. Police commissioner Kras and his men relentlessly search for clues, while hotel guests Marion, a suicidal young woman, and Travers, a millionaire planning to buy the nuclear weapons plant, spark up a romance"--Rotten Tomatoes (Internet database). DVD 1790

Die Unheimlichen Hände des Doktor Orlac = The hands of Orlac. 2007. 1 videodisc (113 min.). Charts the mental disintegration of a concert pianist whose hands are amputated after a train crash, and replaced with the hands of an executed murderer. When Orlac's father is murdered by the dead man's hands, Orlac begins a descent toward madness. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3941

Dnevnoy dozor = Day watch. 2007. 1 videodisc (146 min.). Anton fights the forces of Darkness while trying to find and save his son, but when vampires from the Dark side mysteriously get killed, he is framed for their murders and must now try to escape the Day Watch who is looking for his blood. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4212

Død snø = Dead snow. 2010. 2 videodiscs (92 min.). A group of medical students take a sex-and-booze-fueled ski vacation to a remote cabin in the Norwegian Alps, where they uncover a dark secret from WWII. This discovery results in the resurrection of a battalion of uncontrollable, unstoppable and extremely undead Nazis. What follows is a blitzkrieg of bloodshed, body parts and action-packed zombie carnage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7972

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. 2001. 1 videodisc (79 min.). Dr. Jekyll, an idealistic London doctor, has a weakness for experiments which take him to the boundaries of human consciousness and experience. When Sir George Carew, father of the girl Jekyll loves, accuses him of being afraid of temptation, he finds a drug which allows him to separate the evil side of his personality from the good; as Edward Hyde, he embarks upon a career of crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3682

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. 2004. 1 videodisc (211 min.). Two classic Hollywood versions of the story about a doctor who transforms into a murderer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2163

Dracula: Pages from a virgin's diary. 2004. 1 videodisc (75 min.). A melodrama, with some dancing, based on the Dracula story. Color film done as if black and white, with some purple or sepia tints. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 901

Dracula: The legacy collection. 2004. 2 videodiscs (ca. 397 min.). Dracula: The vampire Count Dracula arrives in England and begins to prey upon the young and virtuous Mina. Dracula's daughter: A hypnotic woman steals the body of Count Dracula and bloodless corpses start appearing in London again. Son of Dracula: Carpathian Count Alucard is invited to the United States by a young and morbid heiress. House of Dracula: Dracula arrives at Dr. Edelman's office asking for a cure to his vampirism. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 862

The driller killer. 2004. 2 videodiscs (96 min.). An artist is driven mad and begins murdering derelicts with a power drill. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6689

Eegah:  Mystery science theater 3000. Mystery science theater 3000. 1997. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Joel Hodgson and the crew of the Satellite of Love must suffer through another B movie in which a caveman wanders around Palm Springs looking for food and girls. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5099

El Barón del terror = The Brainiac. 2000. 1 videodisc (76 min.). A Mexican sorcerer, burned at the stake in 1661, returns after 300 years to take revenge on the descendents of his executioners. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3650

El espinazo del diablo = The devil's backbone. 2004. 1 videodisc (108 min.). "Twelve-year-old Carlos is the latest arrival to Santa Lucia School, an imposing stone building that shelters the orphans of the Republican militia and politicians during the last days of the Spanish Civil War. Carlos gradually uncovers the dark ties that bind the inhabitants of the school: hidden riches, sexual intrigue and the restless ghost of a murdered student"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 441

El espíritu de la colmena = The spirit of the beehive. The criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2006. 2 videodiscs (99 min.). Shortly after the Spanish civil war, a six-year-old girl attends a traveling movie show of Frankenstein and becomes haunted by her memory of it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3868

El orfanato = The orphanage. 2008. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Laura decides to purchase her beloved childhood orphanage with dreams of restoring and reopening the long abandoned facility as a place for disabled children. The new environment awakens the imagination of Laura's son. His ongoing fantasy games played with an invisible friend quickly turn into something more disturbing. Upon seeing her family increasingly threatened by the strange occurrences in the house, Laura looks to a group of parapsychologists for help in unraveling the mystery that has taken over the place. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 639

Epidemic. 2004. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Tells the bizarre story of a director (played by von Trier himself) and a writer who create a script about a mysterious plague that engulfs Europe, only to find their horrific scenario coming true in real life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4145

The evil dead. Anchor Bay collection. 2007. 3 videodiscs (255 min.). The evil dead lie in wait for the one ancient incantation that will give them license to attack the living. Five vacationing college students unwittingly resurrect these demons. One by one, the students are transformed into monsters whose own thirst for revenge becomes insatiable. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8141

Evil dead II. 2000. 1 videodisc (84 min.). The sole survivor of the evil dead returns to the same cabin in the woods and again unleashes the forces of the dead. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8142

Fando y Lis. 2007. 1 videodisc (20 min.). Fando and his paraplegic sweetheart Lis search for the enchanted city of Tar where spiritual ecstasy resides. The road trip takes them through urban rubble, scalding deserts, treacherous mountains, their own pasts, and close encounters of the weirdest kind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3042

The fearless vampire killers, or, pardon me, but your teeth are in my neck. 2004. 1 videodisc (107 min.). A spoof of old vampire films finds a young maiden kidnapped by a Jewish vampire and his gay son. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6513

The fog. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). An eerie, supernatural vengeance is let loose upon a town whose past is steeped in greed and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2564

Frank Miller's Sin City. 2005. 2 videodiscs (ca. 124 min. ; ca. 147 min.). Welcome to Sin City, the town that beckons to the tough, the corrupt, and the brokenhearted. A universe of unlikely and reluctant heroes still try to do the right thing in a city that refuses to care. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1959

Frankenstein. 1999. 1 videodisc (71 min.). Dr. Frankenstein dares to tamper with life and death by creating a human monster in his laboratory; but his dreams of perfection are thwarted when the monster becomes an uncontrollable beast. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 860

Frankenstein: The legacy collection. 2004. 2 videodiscs (ca. 384 min.). Frankenstein: Dr. Frankenstein creates a true monster from dead human parts, but it gets out of control and into trouble. Bride of Frankenstein: Dr. Frankenstein agrees to help create a new creature, a woman, to be the companion of the monster. Son of Frankenstein: Wolf Frankenstein, the doctor's son, returns with his wife, to claim his inheritance. Ghost of Frankenstein: Ygor resurrects Frankenstein's monster and brings him to the original doctor's son, Ludwig, for help. House of Frankenstein: Dracula, the Wolf Man and the Frankenstein monster extract revenge upon their many enemies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 860

Frenzy. The Alfred Hitchcock collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (116 min.). In modern-day London, a sex criminal known as the Necktie Murderer has the police on alert; and in typical Hitchcock fashion, their trail is leading to an innocent man who must now elude the law and prove his innocence by finding the real murderer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3533

Friday the 13th. Paramount DVD widescreen collection: Widescreen DVD collection. 1999. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Camp Crystal Lake has been closed for over twenty years due to several vicious and unsolved murders. New owners reopen the camp, only to have each counselor stalked by a violent killer. This 24-hour nightmare of blood unfolds into a film which is widely acclaimed for its horrifying and creative murder sequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 859

Funny games. 2006. 1 videodisc (104 min.). "Michael Haneke's controversial thriller watches an affluent couple, their child and dog as they arrive at their lakeside vacation home. Settling into their holiday routine, the family is visited by a pair of clean-cut young men in tennis whites and gloves, who inexplicably turn ruthless and brutal, forcing the family into playing their 'funny games.'"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5145

The giant gila monster/The killer shrews. 2000. 1 videodisc (144 min.). A double-header by director Ray Kellogg. The giant gila monster and The killer shrews are separate tales of two smallish animal species that have inexplicably grown large and begun to create havoc for anyone who encroaches on their territory. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2716

The gift. 2001. 1 videodisc (110 min.). "Annie has 'the Gift'. Some fear her, others claim she's a witch. But now, a murder has ben committed and only she can solve it. On a twisted trail of open infidelity and jealous rage, she sees visions that will haunt her and discovers a truth that will tear the town apart"--Promotional materials. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 897

Ginger snaps back: The beginning. 2004. 1 videodisc (94 min.). In the 19th century the Fitzgerald sisters, Ginger and Brigitte, take refuge at Fort Bailey, home of the Northern Legion Trading Company. But the ground is cursed, and no one leaves for fear of the monstrous beasts lurking in the area. Now Ginger and Brigitte's vow to stay "together forever" gets tested as one of the sisters slowly slips into a darkening fate. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6113

Godzilla: King of the monsters! Toho master collection. 2006. 1 videodisc (78 min.). As reported by an American TV newscaster, a Tyrannosaurus Rex dinosaur awakens from undersea hibernation off the coast of Japan during atomic bomb testing, and begins to destroy Tokyo. Film echoes the destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the monster becomes a metaphor for the Atomic Age. Godzilla, king of the monsters!: When American reporter Steve Martin investigates a series of mysterious disasters off the coast of Japan, he comes face to face with Godzilla, an ancient creature so powerful and so terrifying, it can reduce Tokyo to a smoldering graveyard. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6182

Gojira = Godzilla. Toho master collection. 2006. 1 videodisc (98 min.). Gojira: A prehistoric monster, Godzilla, ravages metropolitan Tokyo. Scientists suspect that H-bomb tests awakened it from a two-million year sleep and they try to develop techniques to stop the monster. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6181

Gokudô kyôfu dai-gekijô: Gozu. 2009. 2 videodiscs (129 min.). Young Yakuza is ordered to kill his closest friend, who is also his own superior. When his target disappears, his search leads him to a strange town filled with oddballs, lowlifes, and a cow-headed demon. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7318

The grudge. 2005. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Karen is an American nurse living and working in Tokyo who agrees to cover the shift of another nurse. When she enters the assigned home, she discovers an elderly woman who is lost in a catatonic state. As she tends the woman, Karen hears scratching sounds upstairs and goes to investigate. Within this house is a chain of terror more terrifying than she could ever imagine, resulting from a terrifying evil that was born years before. As more people die, Karen is pulled into the cycle of horror and learns the secret of the vengeful curse. Now she must stop it before it's too late. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7779

Gwoemul = The host. 2007. 2 videodiscs (119 min.). "A creature plunges from a bridge into the Han River emerging on its shores for a feeding frenzy upon onlookers. When a young girl is snatched in the melee, her family sets off to recover her from the monster that the government claims to be a host of an identified virus"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7652

H.P. Lovecraft's Re-animator. Anchor Bay collection. 2007. 2 videodiscs (86 min.). Herbert West is obsessed with the idea of bringing the dead back to life. Experimenting with a glowing green fluid, he successfully reanimates dead tissue. However, the dead are uncontrollable and difficult to subdue. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6549

Halloween. 1978. 1 videodisc (92 min.). On Halloween night years ago, little Michael Meyers brutally slaughtered his sister in cold blood. But for the last fifteen years, town residents have rested easy, knowing that he was safely locked away in a mental hospital ... until tonight. Tonight, Michael returns to the same quiet neighborhood to relive his grisly murder again ... and again ... and again.  Tonight is Halloween! HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 419

Hannibal. 2001. 2 videodiscs (131 min.). After escaping from the asylum in Baltimore, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, moves to Florence, Italy where he has become one of the curators of the Palazzo Vecchio. His cover is broken when a cop, for money, turns Dr. Lecter over to his old patient, Mason Verger. FBI agent Clarice Starling finds out about Mason's evil plot to feed Dr. Lecter to a bunch of man-eating hogs and will do anything to make sure that Mason doesn't succeed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5375

Hausu = House. The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2010. 1 videodisc (88 min.). After learning that she will be sharing the summer with her father's new girlfriend, a young girl invites some friends to join her at her aunt's house instead. With a sick aunt, a bloodthirsty cat, and evil spirits lurking around, the girls find that it might have been better to stay at home. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7846

Haxan: Witchcraft through the ages. The criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2001. 1 videodisc (104 min.). In a series of dramatic vignettes to explore the scientific hypothesis that witches of the middle ages and turn-of-the-century psychiatric patients suffer from the same type of hysteria. Its a witches brew of the scary, the gross and the darkly humorous. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 323

Hellboy. 2004. 3 videodiscs (132 min.). A demon conjured from hell by the Nazis grows up to defend the world against evil of the paranormal sort and creatures from the underworld. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5311

Hellboy II: The golden army. 2008. 1 videodisc (120 min.). The fate of mankind hangs in the balance when a ruthless prince awakens an unstoppable army of creatures and wages war with the human world. It's up to Hellboy and his team of paranormal outcasts to face off with the forces of darkness. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5312

Histoires extraordinaires = Spirits of the dead. Classic collection: Classic collection (Chicago, Ill.). 2001. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Metzengerstein is the tale of a young woman who believes the spirit of the cousin she loved, killed in a stable fire she started, is in a horse that escaped. William Wilson is the story of a mean-spirited Austrian officer who kills his doppelgänger in a duel. Toby Dammit is about a film star who takes off on a drunken spree after his film is completed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7559

I am legend. 2008. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Robert Neville is the last human survivor in what is left of New York City. A pandemic has left only 1% of the population alive and most of those who survived are no longer human. The infected, now lurking in the shadows, watch Neville's every move. Perhaps mankind's last, best hope, Neville is driven by the only one remaining mission: to find a way to reverse the effects of the virus using his own immune blood. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4113

I walked with a zombie; The body snatcher. The Val Lewton horror collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (146 min.). I walked with a zombie: A young Canadian nurse comes to the West Indies to care for the wife of a plantation manager, who suffers from a strange catatonic condition, and learns about local voodoo practices in her search for a cure. Robert Louis Stevenson's The body snatcher: A surgeon and teacher of anatomy needs fresh cadavers for classroom demonstrations and pays a sinister cabman to supply them. When the cemeteries become more closely guarded, the cabman turns to other means to provide the bodies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4592

Inferno. Dario Argento collection. 2000. 1 videodisc (106 min.). "A young woman stumbles upon a mysterious diary that reveals the secrets of 'The three mothers' and unleashes a nightmare world of demonic evil. As the unstoppable horror spreads from Rome to New York City, this unholy trinity must be stopped before the world is submerged in the blood of the innocent.". HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2135

Interview with the vampire: The vampire chronicles. 2000. 1 videodisc (122 min.). A vampire with a conscience, Lestat (Cruise), tells the story of how he lured a young aristocrat (Pitt) into the immortality of the damned. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1366

Invasion of the body snatchers. 1999? 1 videodisc (80 min.). Plant-like extraterrestrials have invaded Santa Mira, a small town in California, replicating the villagers in giant seed "pods" and taking possession of their souls while they sleep. In a terrifying race, for his life, Dr. Bennell escapes to warn the world of the deadly invasion of the pod people. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3120

Invasion of the body snatchers. 2007. 2 videodiscs (117 min.). When filmy spores fall from space and take root in San Francisco, the city is beautifully transformed by spectacular and exotic flowers. But these lovely extraterrestrial blossoms have gruesome plans for their earthly admirers. These blossoms are going to slowly clone human bodies and then dispose of the originals. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4911

The invisible man. 2004. 2 videodiscs (386 min.). A scientist discovers how to make himself invisible but can't reverse the process. He realizes with terror that he has become a prisoner of his unseen self, and this unbearable state drives him to madness and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 863

Isle of the dead; Bedlam. The Val Lewton horror collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (151 min.). Bedlam (79 min.): Karloff plays the doomed overseer of St. Mary's of Bethlehem Asylum in 1761 London. Isle of the dead (72 min.): Boris Karloff shares a quarantined house with other strangers on a plague-infested (and perhaps spirit-haunted) island. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4593

Jacob's ladder. 1998. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Jacob is a man living in a nightmare.  Having survived Vietnam, he's back home in New York City.  But memories of both his wartime demons and the accidental death of his son haunt and terrorize him.  Jacob's grip on reality begins to slip and only his friend can save him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 112

Jean Renoir collection. 2007. 3 videodiscs (580 min.). Charleston parade: shows the journey of a man in blackface to a post-Apocalyptic Paris, where he meets a girl who teaches him the Charleston, and they leave together in his spaceship. La Marseillaise: a dramatization of the French Revolution, from the period immediately preceding it in 1789 up to the first bloody confrontation. Nana: A women rises from poverty to become a dance hall queen and courtesan in 1860s Paris, destroying the lives of the men who fall in love with her. The doctor's horrible experiment: experimental fantasy about a Jekyll/Hyde-type psychiatrist/lunatic creating havoc in 1950s Paris. The elusive corporal: set in a German P.O.W. camp in 1940, this is the story of a French corporal who is determined to escape to return to Paris and fight once more. The little match girl: the visions seen by a poor match seller as she lights her matches one by one to keep from freezing to death. Whirlpool of fate: after the suspicious death of her father a young girl runs away from her brutal uncle and joins a gypsy camp. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4441 - 4443

Jekyll + Hyde. 2006. 1 videodisc (90 min.). In this terrifying, contemporary new version of Robert Louis Stevenson's renowned tale of good and evil, two medical students, Jay and Mary, take their desire to be different to a frightening new level. They begin experimenting with a strange drug similar to ecstasy, and their personalities quickly start to unravel in ways they can't control. Even though tragedy unexpectedly strikes, Jay keeps altering the drug, unaware of how it is taking over every aspect of his life and the essence of who he is. His terrifying descent is chronicled in bizarre video diaries that ultimately reveal to everyone the maddening game they dared to play. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3384

King Kong. 2010. 1 videodisc (100 min.). The original 1933 classic in glorious black and white, newly restored, and digitally remastered. A moviemaking expedition to a fantastic island is filled with dinosaurs and other prehistoric creatures. A gaint simian becomes lovestruck with the film's blonde starlet. King Kong is captured and is brought to Manhattan, where he goes on a rampage, culminating in the fateful finale atop the Empire State Building where he cradles his beloved and swats at machine-gunning airplanes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1601 and HOME USE COLLECTION BLU-RAY DVD 1601

Kirikou et les bêtes sauvages = Kirikou and the wild beasts. Kimstim collection: KimStim collection. 2008. 1 videodisc (72 min.). This animated film recounts the tale of tiny Kirikou, born in an African village on which Karaba the Sorceress has placed a terrible curse. In this second short story we are told, Kirikou must cope with a menacing savage beast that penetrates the village at night and harshly devastates its vital crops. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3463