Skip to main content

Filmography - Film Studies Genre, Comedy: Home

Titles available on DVD as of September 2012

Film Studies Genre: Comedy A - E

Titles available on DVD as of June 2011. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

Due to the high number of titles on this list, the citations are limited to title, year of DVD release, length and call number. Fuller descriptions including the names of the production personnel and actors as well as a summary of the content can be located by searching the title in the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

10 things I hate about you. 2010.  1 videodisc (97 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 195

3 hommes et un couffin = Three men and a cradle. 2005.  1 videodisc (106 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5836

3 idiots. 2010.  1 videodisc (107 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7996

35 shots of rum. 2010.  1 videodisc (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7040

The 40-year-old virgin. 2007.  2 videodiscs (133 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6837

50 first dates. 2004.  1 videodisc (99 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7518

(500) days of Summer. 2009.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6579

9 to 5. 2006.  1 videodisc (109 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5010

ABCD. 2004.  1 videodisc (103 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 832

Absurdistan. 2009.  1 videodisc (90 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6146

Adam's rib. 2000.  1 videodisc (101 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4906

Adaptation. 2003.  1 videodisc (114 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 699

Adventureland. 2009.  1 videodisc (107 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6464

The adventures of Priscilla, queen of the desert. 2007.  1 videodisc (103 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 243

After hours. 2004.  1 videodisc (97 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5307

After the thin man. 2005.  1 videodisc (112 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4972

Airplane! 2007.  Paramount double feature.  1 videodisc (177 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6241

Alfie. 2000.  Widescreen DVD collection.  1 videodisc (113 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 366

All about Eve. 2002.  1 videodisc (138 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3081

Alles auf Zucker! = Go for Zucker. 2006.  1 videodisc (91 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5617

Almost famous. 2001.  1 videodisc (124 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4902

Along came Polly. 2004.  1 videodisc (90 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7064

The American president. 2008.  1 videodisc (115 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7800

American splendor. 2004.  1 videodisc (101 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 847

Anchors aweigh. 2000.  1 videodisc (140 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4905

And now for something completely different. 1999.  1 videodisc (89 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8001

Animal crackers. 1985.  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1126

Annie Hall. 1998.  1 videodisc (93 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 126

Another thin man. 2005.  1 videodisc (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4973

The apartment. 2006.  1 videodisc (125 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2761

Arbuckle & Keaton, Pt. 1. 2001.  1 videodisc (125 min.). DVD 3789

Arbuckle & Keaton, Pt. 2. 2001.  1 videodisc (121 min.). DVD 3790

Arizona dream. 2010.  1 videodisc (119 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7825

Art school confidential. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2463

L'Auberge espagnole.  2003.  1 videodisc (122 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1311

Austin Powers in Goldmember. 2002.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7053

Austin Powers, international man of mystery. 1997.  1 videodisc (90 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7051

Austin Powers: the spy who shagged me. 1999.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7052

Babe. 2003.  1 videodisc (92 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7221

Babe: Pig in the City. 1999.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7222

Bacheha-Ye aseman = Children of heaven. 99.  1 videodisc (88 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 676

Back to the future. 2009.  2 videodiscs (116 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7840

Bad Santa. 2004.  1 videodisc (92 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4355

Ball of fire. 2007.   1 videodisc (112 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2994

Bananas. 2000.  1 videodisc (82 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 122

The band wagon. 2005.  1 videodisc (112 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1271

The bank dick. 2004.  1 videodisc (72 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3379

Barbarians at the gate. 2001.  1 videodisc (107 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 748

Barcelona. 2002.  1 videodisc (101 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1420

Barfuss = Barefoot. 2005.  1 videodisc (110 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5347

Be kind rewind. 2008.  1 videodisc (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4462

Becoming Jane. 2008.  1 videodisc (120 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3953

Bedazzled. 2001.  1 videodisc (93 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5222

Bedazzled. 2007.  1 videodisc (104 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5221

Being John Malkovich. 2000.  1 videodisc (ca. 113 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 91

Being there. 2001.  1 videodisc (130 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 655

Bend it like Beckham. 2003.  1 videodisc (112 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 672

Better than chocolate. 1999.  1 videodisc (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4346

Between the lines. 2010.  Universal fault series.  1 videodisc (122 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2960

Beyond the valley of the dolls. 2006.  2 videodiscs (109 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6507

Bhaji on the beach. 2004.  1 videodisc (100 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4958

Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis = Welcome to the sticks. 2007.  1 videodisc (106 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6197

The big Lebowski. 1998.  1 videodisc (117 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 25

Big night. 2001.  1 videodisc (videodisc) (109 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1970

Big trouble in Little China. 2002.  1 videodisc (99 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6518

Bikur ha-Tizmoret = The band's visit. 2008.  1 videodisc (87 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2755

Billy Liar. 2001.  1 videodisc (98 min.). DVD 4270

The birdcage. 2005.  1 videodisc (119 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 667

Blazing saddles. 1997.  1 videodisc (93 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 673

Bolivar soy yo = Bolivar I am. 2003.  1 videodisc (112 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1811

Bollywood Hollywood.  2005.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7506

Bolt. 2009.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6109

Bombay talkie. 2003.  The Merchant Ivory collection.  1 videodisc (111 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 661

Borat : Cultural learnings of America for make benefit glorious nation of Kazakhstan. 2007.  1 videodisc (86 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2633

Born in East L.A. 2002.  1 videodisc (84 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5757

Bottle rocket. 2008.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  2 videodiscs (91 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1449

Boudu saved from drowning = Boudu sauvé des eaux. 2002.  1 videodisc (87 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1381

Le bourgeois gentilhomme = The would be gentleman. 1981.  1 videodisc (95 min.). DVD 7393

Breakfast at Tiffany's. 1999.  1 videodisc (114 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 501

The breakfast club. 2003.  1 videodisc (97 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2179

Breakfast on Pluto. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 129 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2277

Breaking away. 2001.  1 videodisc (100 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5172

Brief interviews with hideous men. 2010.  1 videodisc (80 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8111

Bringing up Baby. 2005.  2 videodiscs (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1143

Broadway Danny Rose.  2001.  1 videodisc (84 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5357

Broken English. 2007.  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3949

The brothers Bloom. 2009.  1 videodisc (113 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7061

The brothers McMullen. 2000.  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6550

Brüno. 2009.  1 videodisc (82 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6594

Bull Durham. 2008.  1 videodisc (108 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5922

Bulletproof salesman. 2010.  1 videodisc (70 min.). DVD 7150

Bunny chow: Know thyself. 2009?  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8048

Burn after reading. 2008.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5377

Bus stop. 2001.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1725

C'est arrivé près de chez vous = Man bites dog. 2002.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1526

C.R.A.Z.Y. 2007.  1 videodisc (127 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4599

Caddyshack. 2000.  1 videodisc (99 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5038

La cage aux folles. 2001.  1 videodisc (97 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1603

California split. 2004.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2818

Canadian bacon. 2001.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 867

Careful. 2000.  1 videodisc (160 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 206

Carolina. 2004.  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5276

Casanova. 2006.  1 videodisc (111 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4075

Catch-22. 2001.  1 videodisc (121 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5844

Catch me if you can.  2003.  2 videodiscs (141 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 698

Cemetery Junction. 2010.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8292

Cha no aji = The taste of tea. 2007.  1 videodisc (143 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7780

Chaplin at Keystone.  2010.  4 videodiscs (590 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8041 - 8044

The Chaplin collection. 2003.  8 videodiscs (491 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3795 - 3798

The Chaplin collection. 2004.  12 videodiscs (949 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3799 - 3805

The Chaplin Mutual comedies. 2006.  4 videodiscs (450 min.). DVD 3791 - 3794

Charlie Chan at the circus. 2006.  1 videodisc (72 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4001

The Charlie Chaplin collection. 2005.  5 videodiscs (911 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2112

Le charme discret de la bourgeoisie = The discreet charm of the bourgeoisie. 2000.  2 videodiscs (101, 98 min.). DVD 214

Chasing Amy. 2000.   1 videodisc (113 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2151

La chinoise. 2008.  1 videodisc (93 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4444

Christmas in July. 2006.  1 videodisc (67 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2502

A Christmas story. 1999.  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1939

Citizen Ruth. 1997.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 617

Clerks. 2004.  3 videodiscs (92 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1423

Clerks II. 2006.  2 videodiscs (97 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5335

College. 1999.  The art of Buster Keaton.  1 videodisc (132 min.). DVD 3788

College swing: The big broadcast of 1938. 2002.  1 videodisc (177 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3466

Colma: the musical. 2006.  1 videodisc (100 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4500

Colour me Kubrick: a true...ish story. 2007.  1 videodisc (86 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1594

Comedy, spectacle and new horizons. 2002.  Movies begin : a treasury of early cinema, 1894-1914.  1 videodisc (85 min.). DVD 555

Coming soon. 2007.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6536

Comment je me suis disputé... ("ma vie sexuelle") =  How I got into an argument... ("my sex life"). 2000.  1 videodisc (178 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 155

Comment ma máere accoucha de moi durant sa mâenopause = How my mother gave birth to me during menopause. 2003.  1 videodisc (99 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2191

The commitments. 2003.  2 videodiscs (117 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6902

The complete thin man collection. 2005.  7 videodiscs (666 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4971 - 4977

Conversations with other women. 2006.  1 videodisc (84 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3607

Cool runnings. 1999?  1 videodisc (98 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7973

The cowboy and the lady. 2007.  1 videodisc (92 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7501

Crimes and misdemeanors. 2001.  1 videodisc (104 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1648

Crimes of the heart.  2003.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2078

Crna macka, beli macor = Black cat, white cat. 2004.  1 videodisc (135 min.). DVD 8168

The curse of the jade scorpion. 2002.  1 videodisc (102 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5372

Dames. 2006.  1 videodisc (90 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2071

The Darjeeling Limited. 2008.  1 videodisc (91 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3945

A day at the races. 2004.  1 videodisc (109 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3415

Dazed and confused. 1998.  1 videodisc (103 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 97

Death at a funeral. 2008.  1 videodisc (91 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4798

Death becomes her. 1998.  1 videodisc (103 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1721

Deathtrap. 1999.  1 videodisc (116 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 713

Deconstructing Harry. 1998.  1 videodisc (ca. 96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 148

Defending your life.  2001.  1 videodisc (111 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6519

Delicatessen. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 99 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2121

Delirious. 2008.  1 videodisc (107 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8343

Deus É Brasileiro = God is Brazilian. 2004.  1 videodisc (110 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6269

The devil wears Prada. 2006.  1 videodisc (109 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4669

Dick. 1999.  1 videodisc (94 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4094

Die Austernprinzessin = The oyster princess: a grotesque comedy in 4 acts. 2007.  Lubitsch in Berlin.  1 videodisc (105 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2897

Die Bergkatze = The wildcat: a grotesque in four acts. 2007.  Lubitsch in Berlin.  1 videodisc (82 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2900

Die Finanzen des Grossherzogs = The finances of the grand duke. 2009.  1 videodisc (78 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5816

Dim sum: A little bit of heart. 2006.  1 videodisc (87 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5180

Diner. 1982.  1 videodisc (110 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2156

Le dîner de cons = The dinner game. 2000.  1 videodisc (81 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 87

Dinner at eight. 2005.  1 videodisc (111 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7520

Direktøren for det hele = The boss of it all. 2007.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4148

Divorzio all'italiana = Divorce Italian style. 2005.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  2 videodiscs (104 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4266

Do the right thing. 2001.  2 videodiscs (120 min.). DVD 38

Død snø = Dead snow. 2010.  2 videodiscs (92 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7972

Donnie Darko. 2004.  2 videodiscs (133 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2173 and HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2174

The doom generation.  2007.  1 videodisc (83 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4351

The Doris Day and Rock Hudson comedy collection. 2007.  2 videodiscs (310 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4071

Double happiness. 2007.  1 videodisc (87 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5787

Down Argentine way. 2006.  1 videodisc (88 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6094

Down by law. 2002.  2 videodiscs (107 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 974

Dr. Horrible's sing-along blog. 2008.  1 videodisc (43 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6007

Dr. Strangelove or, How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb. 2001.  1 videodisc (90 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 37

Drowning by numbers.  2004.  1 videodisc (118 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8034

Dumb and dumber. 1 videodisc (106 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6290

E la nave va = And the ship sails on. 1999.  Criterion collection.  1 videodisc (127 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 69

East is east. 2000.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3691

Eat a bowl of tea. 2003.  1 videodisc (ca. 102 min.). DVD 1868

Eating Raoul. 2004.  1 videodisc (83 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 891

Educating Rita. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 111 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5807

El lado oscuro del corazón = The dark side of the heart. 2003.  1 videodisc (125 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5835

El otro lado de la cama = The other side of the bed. 2004.  1 videodisc (114 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3308

Election. 1999.  1 videodisc (103 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3307

Elena and her men = Elena et les hommes. 2004.  1 videodisc (95 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1276

Entre tinieblas = Dark habits. 2003.  1 videodisc (115 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5584

Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. 2005.  2 videodiscs (108 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1020

Eugene Ionesco's rhinoceros. 2003.  1 videodisc (104 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 658

Eurotrip. 2004.  1 videodisc (93 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7131

Even cowgirls get the blues. 2004.  1 videodisc (96 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5268

Everyone says I love you. 1999.  1 videodisc (101 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 142

Everything you always wanted to know about sex, but were afraid to ask. 2000.  1 videodisc (88 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 123

Ex-mas Eve.  2006.  1 videodisc (61 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8019