Skip to main content

Filmography - Graphic Novel Adaptations: Home

Titles available on DVD as of July 2011

Filmography - Graphic Novel Adaptations

Titles available on DVD as of July 2011. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library . Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 


28 weeks later. 2007.  1 videodisc (99 min.). Almost seven months after the Rage virus has annihilated the inhabitants of the London and the British Isles, the U.S. Army declares that the war against infection has been won, and that the reconstruction of the country can begin. In the first wave of returning refugees, a family is reunited, but one of them unwillingly carries a terrible secret. The virus is not yet dead, and this time, it is more dangerous than ever.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7248

300. 2007.  1 videodisc (116 min.). In the Battle of Thermopylae of 480 BC, an alliance of Greek city-states fought the invading Persian army in the mountain pass of Thermopylae. Vastly outnumbered, the Greeks held back the enemy in one of the most famous last stands of history. Persian King Xerxes lead an Army of well over 100,000 men to Greece and was confronted by 300 Spartans, 700 Thespians and other Slave soldiers. Xerxes waited many days for King Leonidas to surrender or withdraw. When the Greeks did not leave, Xerxes was left with no option and he moved forward. The battle lasted for about 3 days and after which all 300 Spartans were killed. The Spartan defeat would not have happened if not for a local shepherd, named Ephialtes, who defected to the Persians and informed Xerxes of a separate path through Thermopylae, which the Persians could use to outflank the Greeks.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2788

Akira. 2001.  2 videodiscs (124 min.). A powerful psychic force known only as Akira resurfaces in Neo-Tokyo in the 21st century. Tetsuo, a young, inexperienced motorcycle biker driven beyond the boundaries of sanity by the power of Akira, is forced to conjure up demons laying dormant within his subconscious.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 433

American splendor. 2004.  1 videodisc (101 min.). Pekar is a frustrated file clerk working at the local V.A. Hospital. He is also a comic book fan who befriends the young illustrator Robert Crumb and is soon inspired to create comic books based on his own life. Along his bumpy journey he meets, marries and falls in love with Joyce, an admiring comic book seller.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 847

The crow. 2001.  2 videodiscs (101 min.). Exactly one year after a young rock guitarist and his fiancée are brutally murdered by a ruthless gang of criminals, he returns, watched over by a hypnotic crow, to seek revenge.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11

Frank Miller's Sin City. 2005.  2 videodiscs (ca. 124 min. ; ca. 147 min.). Welcome to Sin City, the town that beckons to the tough, the corrupt, and the brokenhearted. A universe of unlikely and reluctant heroes still try to do the right thing in a city that refuses to care.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1959

Ghost world. 2002.  1 videodisc (111 min.). Two recent high school graduates wreak havoc on all who cross their path, until an oddball loner looking for Miss Right comes into their lives. These social misfits learn the hard way that life after high school gets even weirder than they thought it would.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 362

Hellboy. 2004.  3 videodiscs (132 min.). A demon conjured from hell by the Nazis grows up to defend the world against evil of the paranormal sort and creatures from the underworld.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5311

Hellboy II the golden army. 2008.  1 videodisc (120 min.). The fate of mankind hangs in the balance when a ruthless prince awakens an unstoppable army of creatures and wages war with the human world. It's up to Hellboy and his team of paranormal outcasts to face off with the forces of darkness.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5312

A history of violence. 2006.  1 videodisc (95 min.). Tom is a loving, well-respected family man from a small Indiana town. When two criminals show up at his diner, Tom is forced to take action and thwart the robbery attempt. Suddenly heralded as a local hero who took the courage to stand up to crime, people look up to Tom as a man of high moral regard. But all the media attention attracts the likes of the mob, who show up at Tom's doorstep. Is it a case of mistaken identity or does Tom have a history that no one knows about?  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1864

Metoroporisu = Metropolis. 2002.  1 videodisc (109 min.). "In the industrial, tri-level world of Metropolis, Duke Red is a powerful leader with plans to unveil a highly advanced robot named Tima. But Duke Red's violent son Rock distrusts robots, and intends to find and destroy Tima. Lost in the confusing labyrinth beneath Metropolis, Tima is beginning a friendship with the young nephew of a Japanese detective. But when Duke Red separates the two innocents, Tima's life-- and the fate of the universe-- is dangerously at stake."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2429

Persepolis. 2008.  1 videodisc (95 min.). In 1970s Iran, Marjane 'Marji' Statrapi watches events through her young eyes and her idealistic family. Their long dream is realized when the hated Shah is defeated in the Iranian Revolution of 1979. Now ruled by Islamic fundamentalists, Marji grows up to witnesses first hand how the new Iran has become a repressive tyranny on its own. With Marji dangerously refusing to remain silent at this injustice, her parents send her abroad to Vienna to study. This change proves an equally difficult trial for Marji and finds herself in a different culture loaded with abrasive characters and profound disappointments that deeply trouble her. Even when she returns home, Marji finds that both she and her homeland have changed too much and the young woman and her loving family must decide where she truly belongs.  DVD 4498

Scott Pilgrim vs. the world. 2010.  1 videodisc (113 min.). Meet charming and jobless Scott Pilgrim. A bass guitarist for garage band Sex Bob-omb, the 22-year-old has just met the girl of his dreams, literally. The only catch to winning Ramona Flowers? Her seven evil exes are coming to kill him. As Scott gets closer to Ramona, he must face an increasingly vicious rogues' gallery from her past, from infamous skateboarders to vegan rock stars and fearsome identical twins. If he hopes to win his true love, he must vanquish them all.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5070

V for vendetta. 2006.  2 videodiscs (132 min.). Set against the futuristic landscape of totalitarian Britain, the story of a young working-class woman, Evey, who is rescued from a life-and-death situation by a masked man known only as 'V.' Incomparably charismatic and ferociously skilled in the art of combat and deception, 'V' ignites a revolution when he urges his fellow citizens to rise up against tyranny and oppression. As Evey uncovers the truth about 'V's' mysterious background, she also discovers the truth about herself. She becomes his ally in his plan to bring freedom and justice to a cruel and corrupt society.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5558

Vals Im Bashir = Waltz with Bashir. 2009.  1 videodisc (87 min.). After not being able to recall the time he spent on an Israeli Army mission during the Lebanon War, Ari attempts to unravel the mystery by traveling around the world to interview old friends and comrades. As the pieces of the puzzle begin to come together, his memory begins to return in illustrations that are surreal.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6000

Watchmen. 2009.  2 videodiscs (186 min.). In the United States, costumed superheroes are part of the fabric of everyday society. But, when one of his former colleagues is murdered, the washed-up, but no less determined, masked vigilante Rorschach sets out to uncover the plot to kill and discredit all past and present superheroes. As he reconnects with his former crime-fighting legion, a ragtag group of retired superheroes, only one of whom has true powers, Rorschach glimpses a wide-ranging and disturbing conspiracy with links to their shared past and catastrophic consequences for the future.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6080