Skip to main content

Filmography - Jewish Studies: Home

Titles available on DVD, VHS and streaming video as of November 2011

Filmography - Jewish Studies Documentaries part one

Titles available on DVD, VHS and streaming video as of November 2011.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org).

2000 years of freedom and honor the Cochin Jews of India. 1997.  1 videodisc (80 min.). Jews arrived in India over 1900 years ago. Throughout the years, though deeply loyal to India, they prayed for their return to Zion. Film captures the conflicting emotions of two generations of Cochini Jews. The elderly, heartbroken by the mass emigration of the younger generation to Israel, and their children, who as young parents could only envision a bright future as Jews in Israel. Explores the religious, cultural and economic life of the Cochini Jews in the native India and also follows the younger generation to a new life as Israelis.  DVD 5907

Al Nakba: the Palestinian catastrophe, 1948. 1997.  1 videodisc (56 min.). Looks at the events surrounding the creation of the Palestinian refugee problem. Tells how and why 750,000 Palestinian Arabs became refugees by the end of the first Arab-Israeli war of 1948. Includes interviews with Palestinians and Israelis.  DVD 4846

America and the Holocaust deceit and indifference. 2005.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Uses interviews, official photos, home movies, and archival footage to explore the factors that shaped America's response to the Holocaust and asks the question "Why didn't America do more?" Looks at America's inaction through the experiences of a Jewish refugee trying to save his parents, and through documented evidence of official policy of the U.S. government.  DVD 5679

American radical: the trials of Norman Finkelstein. 2009.  1 videodisc (89 min.). A definitive documentary about American academic Norman Finkelstein, a devoted son of holocaust survivors, ardent critic of U.S. and Israeli Mid-East policy, and author of five provocative books, including The Holocaust Industry. Finkelstein has been steadfastly at the center of many intractable controversies, including the recent denial of his tenure at DePaul University. He's called a lunatic and a self-hating Jew by some and an inspirational street-fighting revolutionary by others.  DVD 7882

Among the righteous: lost stories from the holocaust in Arab lands. 2010.  1 videodisc (60 min.). "Among the Righteous recounts Robert Satloff's eight-year effort to provide a hopeful response to the problems of Holocaust ignorance and denial in the Arab world by asking a question no one had ever before posed: Did any Arabs save any Jews during the Holocaust?"  DVD 7693

Another side of peace. 2005.  1 videodisc [58 min.]. Another Side of Peace follows an Israeli man's efforts to reach reconciliation and to come to terms with the deaths of his sons. He works with his Palestinian partners to connect with other bereaved families in Israel and the Palestinian Territories.  Provides a provocative and intimate look at the human side of the conflict, and the healing power of communication and reconciliation.  DVD 2333

Anti-semitism in the 21st century: The resurgence. 2007.  1 videodisc (60 minutes). Today, parts of the world are experiencing a dramatic resurgence of anti-Semitism--from hate propaganda to vandalism to attacks on Jews themselves.  Reports from research groups indicate a major increase in  anti-Semitic incidents since the year 2000, with the worldwide annual average number of major violent incidents nearly doubling from 1990s levels.  It is particularly severe in Western Europe, where research shows that since the year 2000, Muslim and Arab youths were increasingly responsbile for attacks against Jews and Jewish properties.  Meanwhile outside of Europe, in more and more Arab and Islamic communities around the world, there is an alarming increase in anti-Semitic rhetoric in the political and public arenas, espceially in the mainstream media.  What is fueling the rise in anti-Semitism in the Islamc and Arab worlds today?  What real threats does it pose?  And how can history help us better understand what is happening?   DVD 3153 and Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=37555

Arab & Jew: return to the promised land. 2009.  1 videodisc (60 min.). "Illustrates both unchanging views and an evolution of attitudes by Israelis and Palestinians from before and after the Oslo peace process. This program is a journey through the psychological landscape where Arabs and Jews meet. By allowing both Palestinians and Israelis to explore their own attitudes, the film searches throught their minds and emotions for the points of conflict and the regions of accord." .  DVD 8217

Architecture of doom: Architektur des Untergangs. 1991.  1 videodisc (119 min.). Looks at the rise of the Nazi Party in Germany from the perspective of Hitler's use of the arts in Nazi policy and propaganda.  DVD 1148

Auschwitz: inside the Nazi state. 2005.  BBC history of World War II.  2 videodiscs (ca. 300 min.). "'Auschwitz: inside the Nazi state' is the result of three years of research, drawing on the close involvement of world experts, recently discovered documents and nearly 100 interviews with camp survivors and perpetrators, many of whom are speaking on the record for the first time. Their stories are brought to life through the innovative use of archive footage, dramatic recreations of key ... moments, and their ... testimony"--Container label.  DVD 1359

Beautiful music: In search of peace. 2007.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (112 min.). Beautiful music (38 min.): The remarkable story of Devorah Schramm, an American-born, Orthodox Jewish pianist and composer who, after relocating to Israel, taught piano to a 9-year old blind and autistic Palestinian girl, Rasha Hamid, in the worst days of the Intifada. In search of peace (74 min.): Chronicles the first two decades of Israel's existence, offering new insights on the origins of the Middle East conflict. The film weaves together historical narrative, anecdotes and dramatic personal stories, drawing on interviews with the leaders who helped make that history.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5778

Before Hollywood there was Fort Lee, N.J . 2003.  1 videodisc (146 min.). Describes the formative years of the silent screen in Fort Lee, New Jersey film production using actual silent films made in Fort Lee. Includes still photographs, film productions from 1907-1917, and footage from 1935 of the studios in ruins to show the rise and fall of silent filmaking in Fort Lee.  DVD 3776
Blacks & Jews. 1997.  1 video file (85 min.). Early in the 20th century black and Jewish Americans joined forces against bigotry and for civil rights but in the late 1960's each group turned inward and the coalition fell apart. This film examines the history of this collaboration and recent racial conflicts between Afro-Americans and Jews and attempts at understanding and reconciliation, with particular emphasis on events in New York City and Oakland, California.  DVD 5698 and Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=7656769

Blessed is the match: the life and death of Hannah Senesh. 2010.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Narrates the remarkable journey of Hannah Senesh, a young Hungarian poet and diarist, paratrooper and resistance fighter. Told through Hannah's letters, diaries, poems, and the recollections of those who knew her, the film traces Hannah's life from childhood in Palestine to her daring WWII mission to rescue Jews in her native Hungary. Narrated by Joan Allen.  DVD 8657

A bridge of books: the story of the National Yiddish Book Center. 2001.  1 videodisc (13 min.). Aaron Lansky tells the story of how he requested donations and started to collect Yiddish books. This led to the organisation of a network of volunteers to assist in collecting, and ultimately to the establishment of the National Yiddish Book Center, a book repository and cultural centre.  DVD 1635

Bubot niyar = Paper dolls. 2006.  1 videodisc (80 min.). After closing the border to Palestinian workers, Israeli authorities enticed foreigners to fill gaps in the job market. Filipinos in various stages of gender transition came as caregivers to elderly, orthodox Jewish men, but are still outsiders. DVD 4336

Budrus. 2011.  1 videodisc (82 min.). They not only save the village, but the Barrier is pushed back behind the Green Line into No Man's Land. In the process, Ayed and Iltezam unleash an inspiring, yet little-known, movement in the Occupied Palestinian Territories that is still gaining ground today. In an action-filled documentary featuring archival footage of this movement from its infancy, Budrus will inspire and challenge audiences worldwide.  DVD 8309

Chicken soup. 1973. 1 videodisc (14 min.). "This video traces an elderly Polish Jewish couple, step-by-step, through the painstaking preparation as well as the more enjoyable part - the eating - of this true delicacy"--Container.  DVD 6965

The children of Chabannes. 2005.  1 videodisc (93 min.). During World War II many Jewish children were sent out of occupied countries in search of safety. Chabannes, France housed about 400 such refugees in a local chateau used as a school. This documentary presents the accounts of some of the students, teachers and townspeople of the efforts to protect the children in 1942 when the war came to Chabannes.  DVD 4454

Cities of light: the rise and fall of Islamic Spain. 2007?  1 videodisc (116 min.). Traces the history of Islamic Spain. Tells how in Southern Spain the Muslims, Christians and Jews lived together and thrived, and the seeds of the Renaissance were sown, but within a few centuries the fragile union of these people dissipated and the time of tolerance was lost forever.  DVD 4760

Clara Lemlich a strike leader's diary. 2004.  1 videodisc (51 min.). "On November 22, 1909, New York City garment workers gathered at Cooper Union to discuss pay cuts, unsafe working conditions and other grievances. After two hours of indecisive speeches by male union leaders, a young Jewish woman strode down the aisle and demanded the floor.  Speaking in Jiddish, she passionately urged her coworkers to go out on strike.  Clara Lemlich, a flegling union organizer, thus launched the "Uprising of the 20,000," when, two days later, garment workers walked out of shops all over the city."--Container.  DVD 7890

Client 9: the rise and fall of Eliot Spitzer. 2011.  1 videodisc (117 min.). When he was NY's Attorney General, Eliot Spitzer prosecuted crimes by America's largest financial institutions and some of the most powerful executives in the country. After his election as governor, with the largest margin in the state's history, many believed Spitzer was on his way to becoming the nation's first Jewish president. Then, shockingly, Spitzer's meteoric rise turned into a precipitous fall when the New York Times revealed that Spitzer had been caught seeing prostitutes.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8011

A Common Heritage. 2000.  1 streaming video file (33 min.). What can the Dead Sea Scrolls tell modern theologians about 1st-century Judaism and the roots of Christianity? Drawing on the experiences of Frank Moore Cross, of Harvard University; Emanuel Tov, chief editor of the Dead Sea Scrolls Publication Project; James Charlesworth, of Princeton Theological Seminary; and other experts, this program describes the battle for open access to the scrolls while exploring the common heritage that links both faiths. In addition, Barbara Thiering airs her radical hypothesis. Footage of the Pope in Jerusalem and readings from the Dead Sea Scrolls Beatitudes and the Thanksgiving Scroll are included.  Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=11389  

A conversation with Richard Schifter. 1991.  Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project).  1 videodisc (21 min.). Richard Schifter describes the conditions in Vienna following the Anschluss in March, 1938, when he was 14. Due to U.S. immigration quotas he, considered German, was admitted to the U.S., but his parents, of Polish origin, were not and they were killed by the Nazis. The arrest of all Polish-born Jews and the deportation of many of them led to Kristallnacht.  DVD 7535

Crusades. 2001.  1 videodisc (100 min.). The first episode chronicles the improbable orgins of the Crusades, from Pope Urban II's hunger for military power to the success of one of history's greatest mass communication and recruitment campaigns. The second episode chronicles the Crusaders' trail of carnage across the Middle East. Two-thirds of them would not even survive the beginning of their journey.  DVD 4261

The crusades: crescent & the cross. 2005.  2 videodiscs (180 min.). Using CGI-enhanced visuals and dramatic reenactments, The History Channel brings the key battles of the Crusades to life. See rare locations, including a vast chain of Crusader castles and get a feel of what day-to-day life was like.  DVD 2989 and Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=43045

The Crypto-Jews of Portugal: The eternal Jew of Majorca. 2006.  1 videodisc (135 min.). Out of Spain was produced by the Israel Broadcasting Authority (IBA) to mark the 500th anniversary of the Jewish expulsion from Spain. This spectacular journey through Spain is guided by Yitzhak Navon, fifth president of the State of Israel, and former Minister of Education. Navon and the IBA team take the viewer deep into the heart of Spain - to places such as Toledo, Cordoba - to visit historical sites and recent discoveries that tell the story of the Jews in Spain, Portugal and Majorca.  Accompanying this moving journey is a soundtrack of authentic Ladino music.  DVD 8623

Das tagebuch einer Verlorenen = Diary of a lost girl. 2001.  1 videodisc (116 min.). A pharmacist's daughter seduced by her father's assistant has a child and is banished to a repressive reform school. Escaping, she makes her way penniless to a brothel where she lives for the moment.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2920

Delta Jews. 1998. Jewish heritage video collection.  1 videodisc (57 min.). For over a century, the Mississippi Delta has been home to a thriving Jewish community. Through the eyes of the few who remain, this video traces the history of the community and its relationship to its white Christian and black neighbors. We meet families who as merchants and farmers have taken on many characteristic speech patterns and social attitudes, yet maintained their traditions, even if it took importing rabbis and travelling miles for services or seders.  DVD 6026 and Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?FLON;1630980

Der ewige Jude = The eternal jew : ein dokumentarischer Film. 2004.  1 videodisc (67 min.). An anti-Semitic propaganda film recorded by German cameramen from a visit to the Lodz Ghetto in Nazi-occupied Poland with the naive co-operation of the Jewish community. Uses rare archival clips from international newsreels and excerpts from related cultural films to portray the world's Jews as swindlers and parasites.  DVD 8186

Dreamers and builders. 2006.  1 videodisc (60 min.). "The early builders of the Zionist vision, pioneers of the Third Aliyah and the Fourth Aliyah of the 1920s, have been captured on film for time in memoriam by the father of Hebrew film, Ya'akov Ben Dov. Based on three films - Return to Zion, Rebirth of a New Palestine, Romance of Palestine - which were considered lost for more than 70 years"--Container.  DVD 7146

Drew Pearson's Washington merry-go-round [no. 2]. Neel archive. [orig. 1957]  1 videodisc (13 min.). This documentary focuses on Drew Pearson's view of the future success of Israel and the strained relations with the Egyptians and Arabs regarding this new country.  Pearson comments that despite constant border raids and continued aggression with the Arabs outside of Israel's border, inside the country the cities are prospering and Arabs and Jews live rather peacefully together. Pearson shows images of the landscape, Jordan river, and Tel Aviv.  He describes the new nation's army.  He comments that Israel is replete with a strong, determined pride in their ability to overcome challenges they face, despite the knowledge that Egypt is heavily stocked in ammunitions provided by the Russians.  Pearson also discusses his meeting with Prime-Minister David Ben-Gurion (visual image included).  DVD 7402

Dreyfus revisited a current affair. 2006.  1 videodisc (17 min.). This film looks at the life of Alfred Dreyfus who was wrongfully convicted of treason and imprisoned on Devil's Island off the coast of French Guyana in 1894. Over the next 11 years, he would be tried and found guilty a second time before his eventual exoneration.    The Dreyfus Affair, one of history's most notorious cases of criminal injustice and anti-semitism, split French public opinion and set off an international uproar that resulted in anti-Jewish riots in every major city in France, violence that served as a prelude to the Holocaust and as a catalyst to the development of modern Zionism.  DVD 6778

Echoes that remain. 2007.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (62 min.). A study of Jewish shtetl (small village) life before the Holocaust. Combines hundreds of rare archival photos and previously unseen film footage with live action sequences shot on location at the sites of former Jewish communities in Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, and Romania.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5772

Elie Wiesel: Dead Stars, Dead Eyes. 2002.  1 streaming video file (58 min.). In this powerful program narrated by William Hurt, Elie Wiesel shares his innermost beliefs as he talks about his commitment to Holocaust awareness, his ongoing fight against anti-Semitism, and his tireless efforts to help the weak. From his birthplace in the town of Sighet and back again via Auschwitz, postwar Paris, Jerusalem, and New York City, the iconic humanitarian talks about the things that matter most to him: family, Judaism, human rights, and, most of all, the duty to remember. Footage of Wiesel at Boston University captures the Nobel Laureate in a teaching moment, while passages from his acclaimed memoir Night, read by Hurt, articulate the surreal horror of living in a death camp. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=35633

Encounter point. 2007.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Created by a Palestinian, Israeli, North and South American team, this film tells the story of an Israeli settler, a Palestinian ex-prisoner, a bereaved Israeli mother and a wounded Palestinian bereaved brother who risk their safety and public standing to press for an end to the conflict. They are at the vanguard of a movement to push Palestinian and Israeli societies to a tipping point, forging a new consensus for nonviolence and peace. Perhaps years from now, their actions will be recognized as a catalyst for constructive change in the region.  DVD 6859

Ever again. 2007.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (74 min.). Examines the resurgence of violent anti-Semitism in Europe and its connection to international terrorism currently threatening the entire world. Exposes the dangerous Islamic extremism and culture of death being preached from mosques of Europe's major cities and the new neo Nazism spreading from Germany across the continent. It documents the anti-Semitic roots of recent terrorist attacks in Madrid and London which left hundreds dead and thousands wounded. It examines the shift from the traditional anti-Semitism of the right to the new anti-Semitism of the extreme left.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5777

Exodus 1947: the ship that launched a nation. 96.  1 videodisc (60 min.). After WWII, a group of private American citizens banded together in a clandestine effort to transport Holocaust survivors to Palestine. The British, who governed Palestine at the time, were determined to keep them out.  DVD 7331

The fence. 2004.  1 videodisc (46 min.). A documentary of families on opposing sides of the security barrier in the Jenin-Afula area. Israel claims that the security barrier was erected to protect civilians on the periphery of the West Bank - communities that have been regularly targeted by suicide bombers. But the fence follows a controversial route - often well within the boundaries of the occupied Palestinian territories - and forms a one-sided border, unilaterally policed by Israeli soldiers. The Palestinians perceive the fence as prison walls that have come to symbolize the greatest obstacle yet in their pursuit of freedom and self-determination under Israeli occupation.  DVD 1567

The fight. 2004.  1 videodisc (90 min.). This documentary captures the anticipation that the bout between African American heavyweight Joe Louis and his German opponent Max Schmeling generated, the events leading up to it, the impact Louis's victory had on Blacks and its significance for Jews.  DVD 1181

The fight for democracy. 1992.  The Pacific century.  1 videodisc (58 min.). Documents the struggle for democracy in South Korea. Discusses South Korea's economic development and the government's policies, including loans to companies such as Hyundai, where the lifting of the government ban on unions led to conflict with workers. Examines Korea's political history from its beginnings through the Japanese occupation, the Korean War, the uprising in Kwangju in 1980, and the massive protests of 1987, to the present. Analyzes historical Anti-American attitudes and today's grassroots political movements.  DVD 2538

Fighter. 2001.  1 videodisc (86 min.). Documentary film that follows friends Jan Wiener and Arnost Lustig on a trip to Europe in 1998. Holocaust survivors, Wiener and Lustig met in the United States, where both had fled from communist Czechoslovakia. The trip recreates the journey made by Wiener as he escaped from Nazi occupied Prague, through Slovenia and Italy, on his way to joining the British Royal Air Force before his return to Prague after World War II.  DVD 493

A film unfinished. 2011.  1 videodisc (90 min.). At the end of WWII, 60 minutes of raw film in an East German archive was discovered. Shot by the Nazis in Warsaw in May of 1942, the film became a resource for historians seeking an authentic record of the Warsaw Ghetto. The later discovery of a long-missing reel, including multiple takes and cameramen staging scenes, complicated earlier readings of the footage. Presented is the raw footage in its entirety, falsely showing the 'good life' of Jewish urbanites. Included is an interview, and more. Death Mills: "Directed by...Billy Wilder for the U.S. War Department in 1945, [this film] was originally intended for screening in occupied Germany and Austria and featured a German language soundtrack...[T]he first documentary to show what the Allies found when they liberated the Nazi extermination camps: the survivors, the conditions, and the evidence of mass murder." -- Onscreen menu.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8319

Forget Baghdad: Jews and Arabs: the Iraqi connection. 2003.  1 videodisc (112 min.). The forgotten story of four Baghdadi-Jews, all former members of the Iraqi communist party who were forced to emigrate at Israel's founding.  DVD 8068

Forgiving Dr. Mengele. 2007  1 videodisc (80 min.). "Eva Kor and her twin sister Miriam were victims of the infamous Nazi doctor Josef Mengele, who conducted sadistic experiments on human beings at Auschwitz concentration camp.  Haunted ever since by these cruel acts, something even more shocking occurs: Eva finds the power to forgive him.  Having finally liberated herself from her feelings of rage and victimhood, she becomes a tireless advocate of this new way of healing - but not everyone is ready to forgive the unforgivable" -- Container. DVD 5676

From genocide to justice women's bodies as a legal writing pad. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 48 min.). Videorecording of the 46th Annual Bishop Hurst Lecture presented by Debra B. Bergoffen, Professor of Philosophy at George Mason University on March 23, 2005.  DVD 5676

Führer schenkt den Juden eine Stadt = The Fuhrer gives a city to the Jews. 2005 .  1 videodisc (25 min.). "This is the only film known to be made by the Nazis inside an operating concentration camp. Germany's Ministry of Propaganda produced this 1944 film about Theresienstadt, the "model" ghetto established by the Nazis in 1941 in Terezin, a town in the former Czechoslovakia. Goebbles intended to use the film to prove to the International Red cross and the world that Jews were being well-treated in the camps. The film, however, is an elaborately staged hoax presenting a completely false picture of camp life. Upon completion, the director and most of the cast of prisoners were shipped to Auschwitz. Only a few survived to attest to the falsity of the film.".  DVD 6298

Gefilte fish. 2005.  1 videodisc (15 min.). A light-hearted look at the way three different generations of women prepare the traditional delicacy. Provides cooking instructions and chuckles, as well as a short examination of the ways people reconcile tradition with modern life.  DVD 6967

Genocide. 2007.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (83 min.). The heart-wrenching, yet often heroic story of the millions of men, women and children who fell victim to Hitler's Final Solution.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5773

Growing up hunted: the life of a Jewish child in Nazi-occupied Belgium. 91.  Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project).  1 videodisc (28 min.). Following an introduction that describes the phases and causes of the Holocaust, Flora Singer describes the arrival of the Germans in Belgium and the early stages of the Holocaust in Antwerp.  She and her mother and two sisters hid from the Nazis with the help of Christians, including a Belgian priest and a German officer who was a friend of her father's before the war.  Her talk was a presentation to the Washington Hebrew Congregation's Prime Timers.  DVD 7532

Hashmatsa = Defamation. 2010.  1 videodisc (91 min.). Israeli director Yoav Shamir embarks on a provocative and at times irreverent quest to answer the question: What is anti-Semitism today? Does it remain a dangerous and immediate threat? Or is it a scare tactic used by right-wing Zionists to discredit their critics? Speaking with an array of people from across the political spectrum and traveling to places like Auschwitz and Brooklyn, Shamir discovers the realities of anti-Semitism today.  DVD 7546

Heaven will protect the working girl. 2006.  Who built America?: Who built America?  1 videodisc (28 min.). "The dramatic story of the "Uprising of the 20,000," the 1909 shirtwaist strike, is told through vignettes that explore immigrant women's lives in turn-of-the-century New York. The experiences of young Jewish and Italian working women address subjects including immigration, intergenerational conflict, "romance," ethnic tensions, industrial conflict, and the creation of a new consumer and entertainment culture"--Container.  DVD 7499

Henry Greenbaum: a survivor's account. 1989.  Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project).  1 videodisc (52 min.). Henry Greenbaum was born "Chuna Grynbaum" in Starachowitz, Poland. Following the Nazi invasion he survived in the Starachowitz ghetto and then in a labor camp until he was transported by cattle car to Auschwitz. His description of the trip and of his labor assignment at the IG Farben plant at Buna is graphic. He was evacuated from Auschwitz in a death march. His talk is followed by a question and answer session.  DVD 7539

Heritage civilization and the Jews. 2001.  3 videodiscs (540 min.). Five millennia of Jewish history is brought to life in a celebration of Jewish humanistic and moral heritage. Follow the Jewish people from the heights of Sinai to the shores of the Dead Sea, from a Greek amphitheater in Delphi to the Forum of ancient Rome, out of the ashes of concentration camps to the rebuilt cities and villages of Israel.  DVD 307

Hiding and seeking: faith and tolerance after the Holocaust. 2004.  1 videodisc (85 min.). The dramatic and emotional story of a Jewish father who journeys with his two ultra-Orthodox sons back to Poland to try to find the Christian farmers who hid their family from the Nazis.  DVD 1303

Hitler and the Nazis. 2004.  3 videodiscs (338 min.). Features never-before-seen footage of Adolph Hiter and the Nazi Regime. This documentary captures the inner workings of the Third Reich and reveals the Nazi philosophy.  DVD 1148 - 1150

Hollywood: an empire of their own. 2005.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Tells several stories, including the rise of American film, the personal sagas of the people who shaped it, and the origins of so-called Hollywood values. Using never-before seen home movies, extensive clips, and interviews, this film presents a groundbreaking portrait of Hollywood.  DVD 7330

Hot bagels: the hole story. 1982.  The American Jewish experience.  1 videodisc (12 min.). Illuminates the history of the bagel through archival footage and stills, and demonstrates both the modern method of mass producing bagels by specialized machinery and the more traditional hand method.  DVD 6966

Hôtel Terminus: the life and times of Klaus Barbie. 2010.  2 videodiscs (267 min.). A brilliant examination of Klaus Barbie, the infamous Nazi 'Butcher of Lyon' and Gestapo chief implicated in 4000 deaths and the deportation of 7000 Jews, during the Nazi occupation of France. Tracing the 40-year hunt for the war criminal, it exposes a complex web of political intrigue, collaboration and deceit. Weaves together historical footage and interviews with former Nazis, American intelligence officers, South American government officials, victims of Nazi atrocities and witnesses.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7830

I have never forgotten you: the life and legacy of Simon Wiesenthal. 2007.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (ca. 105 min.). Holocaust survivor Simon Wiesenthal lost 89 family members and helped track down over 1,100 Nazi war criminals. He spent six decades fighting anti-semitism and prejudice against all people. Watching the early efforts of the U.S. government to prosecute Nazi war criminals he realized that without justice, there is no freedom, and initially decided to dedicate a few years to that quest. A few years turned into the rest of his life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5771

Image before my eyes: a history of Jewish life in Poland before the Holocaust. 2006.  1 videodisc (88 min.). Jewish Poland before the Holocaust was the largest and most important center of Jewish culture in the world. Film recreates life there prior to Germany's 1939 invasion, in particular the 1920s and 1930s. Includes still photographs, news footage, home movies, and even paintings by a survivor. Historical narration is juxtaposed with interviews, as the great variety in ideology, social class, and lifestyle of this now-vanished culture of 3 1/2 million people is explored.  DVD 1936

Imaginary witness: Hollywood and the Holocaust. 2009.  1 videodisc (92 min.). This documentary examines the American film and television industry's response to the rise of Adolph Hitler and the Nazi persecution of the Jews before, during, and after World War II. Uses film clips, newsreel footage and interviews of filmmakers and Holocaust survivors.  DVD 8070

Impact Of Terror. 2004.  1 videodisc (ca. 52 min.). "On August 9, 2001, a young man walked into a busy downtown Pizzeria in Jerusalem with a guitar slung on his back. The guitar was packed with explosives, nails, and bolts. He blew himself up killing 15 people and injuring over 100. The victims were Jews and Arabs, young and old. 'Impact of Terror' revisits this suicide bombing two years later. Through personal stories, we witness how this horrifying event has had a lasting and profound impact on the lives of people connected to the bombing." -- from container.  DVD 1195

In search of peace. 2003.  1 videodisc (112 min.). Chronicles the first two decades of Israel's existence, offering new insights on the origins of the Middle Eastconflict. The film weaves together historical narrative, anecdotes and dramatic personal stories, drawing on interviews with the leaders who helped make that history.  DVD 1525

In the shadow of the Reich: Nazi medicine ; The cross and the star. 2003?  1 videodisc (109 min.).  "'Nazi medicine' studies the step-by-step process that led the German medical profession down an unethical road to genocide. It graphically documents the racial theories and eugenics principles that set the stage for the doctors' participation in sterilization and euthanasia, the selections at the death camps, as well as inhuman and unethical human experimentation. 'The cross and the star' finds disturbing echoes of anti-Semitism in the ... Gospel of St. John, the sermons of St. Augustine, the writings of Martin Luther and in the voices of the Crusaders and the Spanish Inquisitors--all of which may have helped the ideological seeds that developed into Nazism."--Container.  DVD 1149

Intimate stranger. 2009.  Alan Berliner collection.  1 videodisc (60 min.). " You've probably never heard of Joseph Cassuto, but by the end of this film you may think that he was the most elusive, fascinating and baffling man to have ever lived. Cassuto is filmmaker Alan Berliner's maternal grandfather, a Palestinian Jew who was a cotton buyer for the Japanese in Egypt prior to World War II. With Hitler's armies just miles away from Alexandria, Cassuto's family is split in half. They reunite in New York after the war, but Cassuto is restless there. He moves to Japan to spend eleven months of the year, virtually abandoning his wife and children in the U.S. while he pursues his business interests and a life-long love affair with Japanese culture. Seventeen years after his death, his grandson has constructed a poetic and emotional jigsaw puzzle out of the voluminous memorabilia of his grandfather's life story. What emerges is a curious legacy -- admiration and love from Cassuto's Japanese business associates; resentment from his family. Depending on who you ask, Cassuto was either a romantic adventurer or a shirker of family responsibility; a man at the center of historic events or a nobody." -- Director's Website.  DVD 7837

Into the arms of strangers: stories of the Kindertransport. 2001.  1 videodisc (117 min.). The life-affirming tale of 10,000 children saved from Hitler's grasp and placed with foster parents and hostels in Great Britain at the outbreak of World War II. Includes archival footage and decades-later remembrances of both the rescuers and the rescued.  DVD 305

Islam vs. Islamists: Muslims against Jihad. 2008.  2 videodiscs (105 min.). Tells the stories of courageous anti-Islamist Muslims in Western Europe, Canada, and the United States, and the challenges they face for their ideas. Offers insight into the dangers that both they and non-Muslims are facing.  DVD 6069

Israel's next war? 2005.  1 videodisc (60 min.). A look at the small group of Israelis who have vowed to derail any peace settlement between Ariel Sharon's government and the Palestinian Authority.  Israel is concerned that extremists among Jewish settlers could start a civil war or a wider conflict with the Muslim world, once the Gaza Strip falls under Palestinian jurisdiction.  DVD 3287 and Streaming video
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/israel/view/