To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.
Jerusalem center of the world. 2009. 1 videodisc (120 min.). The story of the world's most incredible city, capturing the rich mosaic of the city's Christian, Jewish and Muslim communities. Covering a history of over 4,000 years, the film explores the founding of the city, and the birth and convergence of the world's three major monotheistic religions, and the key events in Jerusalem's history as described in the Hebrew and Christian Bibles, the Talmud, the Hagaddah, the Koran, and the Hadith. Highlights include: Mount Moriah, the site of the First and Second Temples; the Church of the Holy Sepulcher; the Dome of the Rock; and the Western Wall. DVD 6267 and Streaming video
Jerusalem cuts. 2008. 1 videodisc (54 min.). "One war, ten days, three stories: the Old City of Jerusalem, at the dawn of a new Middle East. For the Brits, it's the shameful end of 30 years Mandate. For the Jews, it's the birthday of their State. And for the Palestinians, it's a catastrophe. Only now, 60 years later, images can be shown from three opposing points of view, telling a whole new story." -- website. DVD 5900
A Jew among the Germans. 2005. 1 videodisc (60 min.). Marian Marzynski, Polish Holocaust survivor, sets out on a personal quest to find out how Germans are going to design a memorial to the murder of six million Jews, to be unveiled on the 60th anniversary of the end of World War II. Over three years he meets artists, architects and planners who struggle with questions of guilt, responsibility and memory. He struggles with his own relationship to the German people and meets a young "third generation" of Germans who declare their distance from their parents and grandparents. DVD 2663 /
The Jewish Americans. 2008. 2 videodiscs (360 min.). Chronicles the 350 year saga of immigrants who gradually wove themselves into the fabric of American life without abandoning their cherished traditions. DVD 3812 and Streaming video
part 1
part 2
part 3
A Jewish partisan: the story of Brenda Senders. 1991. Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (30 min.). Following an introduction about the stages and causes of the Holocaust, Brenda Senders (nee Bronia Szyr) describes the course of the Holocaust in her little town in the Ukraine (then a part of Poland) to a B'nai B'rith youth group. Following the Nazi-Soviet Pact in 1939, the Soviets occupied her town and deported many of the leading citizens to Siberia. Most of them survived the war. In 1941 the Germans came. Some people were murdered immediately; others perished in the ghetto the Germans and Ukrainians created; still others died in a concentration camp outside the town. Mrs. Senders reminiscences about many of the murdered people while showing their pictures in a book of remembrance. She herself escaped from the concentration camp and survived the war as a partisan. DVD 7534
Jewish warriors. 2007. 1 videodisc (120 min.). God's Warriors is a three-part CNN documentary produced by Christiane Amanpour in which she compares the rise of religious fundamentalism as a political force in the world. This part describes Jews who have forcefully pushed settlements into Israeli-occupied Palestine and the fund-raising in the United States that supports them. DVD 3089
Jewish women in American sport: settlement houses to the olympics. 2006. 1 videodisc (27 min.). From the 1880s into the 21st Century, Jewish women have played a vital role as athletes, administrators, and activists, confronting ethnic and gender constraints in American society. DVD 7759
Jews and baseball: an American love story . 2011. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Traces the Jewish involvement in the history of the sport from the game's earliest days, through the tumultuous war years to today's All-Star games. By analyzing various stages in this history, including how the legendary Sandy Koufax pioneered rights for players and Hank Greenberg's support of Jackie Robinson, the film demonstrates how Jews shaped baseball, and baseball shaped them. DVD 8665
The land of promise: the first Palestine sound picture. 2008. 1 videodisc (57 min.). Features the Jewish refugees from Europe who settled in Palestine during the 1920's and early 1930's; highlights the revival of agriculture, commerce and industry initiated by the Jewish community. DVD 8240
The last days. 2003. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Traces the experiences of five Hungarian Holocaust survivors who fell victim to Hitler's brutal war against the Jews during the final days of World War II, and later returned from the United States to their hometowns and ghettos and the concentration camps in which they were imprisoned. DVD 2169
Leon Senders' war. 199? Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (23 min.). The film shows Leon Senders addressing an adult group at the Washington Hebrew Congregation. Born Lazar Sendarovich in Vilna Lithuania, then a part of Poland, he fled to the forests following the Nazi invasion. His family stayed behind and died in Polnar. He was trained in guerrilla warfare in Moscow and spent the war as a partisan radio operator, often miles behind enemy lines, including several months in Königsberg. DVD 7537
Liberation. 2007. The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Using archival footage, contemporary radio broadcasts and enthralling first-person accounts, Liberation recreates the heady atmosphere of Europe emerging from Nazi domination. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5775
A life apart: Hasidism in America. 2001? 1 videodisc (95 min.). A life apart relates the story of the creation of the Hasidic post-Holocaust communities in the United States. Seven years in the making, this documentary explores Hasidic homes, schools, and ceremonies. DVD 188
Living for tomorrow: untold stories by the pioneering women of Israel. 2007. 1 videodisc (54 min.). Interviews with women who abandoned their familiar lives in Europe to settle in the Israel Kibbutz in the early 20th century. Interviews tell of the hardships encountered along the way. DVD 6248
The long way home. 2007. The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection. 1 videodisc (120 min.). This documentary traces the stories of courage in the years between the end of World War II and the formation of the state of Israel. Includes archival footage, original broadcasts and personal testimonies from survivors of the Holocaust. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5776
The longest hatred: a revealing history of anti-semitism. 2004. 1 videodisc (150 min.). Drawing on interviews with Semites, anti-Semites, and scholars, the program traces anti-Semitism from its earliest manifestations in antiquity to the recent ominous outbreaks in Germany, Russia, and elsewhere. DVD 5976
Making trouble. 2009. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Profiles six female comic entertainers of the last century and explores "what it means to be Jewish, female and funny"--Container. DVD 7566
The Marranos and the inquisition: 1492. 2006. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Out of Spain was produced by the Israel Broadcasting Authority (IBA) to mark the 500th anniversary of the Jewish expulsion from Spain. This spectacular journey through Spain is guided by Yitzhak Navon, fifth president of the State of Israel, and former Minister of Education. Navon and the IBA team take the viewer deep into the heart of Spain - to places such as Toledo, Cordoba - to visit historical sites and recent discoveries that tell the story of the Jews in Spain, Portugal and Majorca. Accompanying this moving journey is a soundtrack of authentic Ladino music. DVD 8622
Moguls & movie stars: a history of Hollywood. 2011. 3 videodiscs (419 min.). The American movie business started as peepshows and grew into a near-mythical art form that used an exciting new technology to create drama, laughter and adventure literally bigger than life. Here is the whole story -- the glamour and the sweat, the collaborations and the conflicts, the careers that skyrocketed and the dreams that crashed -- in the biggest production ever from Turner Classic Movies, the leading authority on classic movies and film history. Seven enthralling hours of movie clips, rare footage, interviews and keen insight from Hollywood insiders and historians trace moviemaking from its humble beginnings through the Golden Age to the New Hollywood of the '60s. It's a saga as exciting as any that ever appeared on the silver screen.--Container. DVD 8381-8383
Nesse Godin remembers. 1991. Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (31 min.). Following an introduction about the stages and causes of the Holocaust, Nesse Godin addresses a class at the Herbert Hoover Junior High School. Born Anessa Galperin, she was 13 when the Nazis invaded her hometown of Shaulia, Lithuania, and forced the Jews into a ghetto where life consisted of hunger and fear. When the Germans were forced to retreat, the Jews were shipped to concentration camps in cattle cars. Nesse Godin wound up in a labor camp at Stuthof until it was evacuated. She survived the death march and makeshift camp, although 8 of 10 died. DVD 7533
The night of broken glass: the November 1938 pogroms. 2008. 1 videodisc (50 min.). After seizing power, the Nazis began their crusade against Jews with discriminatory laws and the looting of property; they turned to violence openly in what has come to be known as Kristallnacht, the night of broken glass. In November of 1938, German soldiers set on fire some 400 synagogues and destroyed 7,000 Jewish stores and businesses. Through rare footage, photographs and documents, reveals the background to this orgy of anti-Semitic violence. DVD 7180
Nuit et brouillard = Night and fog. 2003. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 1 videodisc (31 min.). Ten years after the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps, this piece documents the abandoned grounds of Auschwitz and Majdanek. One of the first cinematic reflections on the horrors of the Holocaust and contrasts the stillness of the abandoned camps' quiet, empty buildings with haunting wartime footage. DVD 948
Number our days. 2007. 1 videodisc (29 min.). Portrait of a community of elderly Eastern European Jews living in Venice, California. Based on fieldwork interviews conducted by anthropologist Barbara Myerhoff, interspersed with scenes of Israel Levin Senior Adult Center activities. DVD 1834
l'Oeil de Vichy = Eye of Vichy. 2003? 1 videodisc (110 min.). A compilation of long forgotten film footage and newsreels, produced by the Nazis and French collaborators during World War II. From the small town of Vichy in Central France, Field Marshall Petain's puppet government worked with their Nazi overlords in creating pro-Nazi propaganda. They skillfully produced a strange alternative history of the war years in order to turn public emotion against the Allies and the Jews. DVD 1150
Off and running: an American coming of age story. 2010. 1 videodisc (76 min.). Documentary about a Brooklyn teen-aged girl, raised by two Jewish mothers and with two adopted brothers, who searches for information about her African-American birth mother. Her complex exploration of race, identity, and family begins to lead the teen into trouble in her personal life, threatening a promising career as a track and field athlete. She eventually picks up the pieces of her life, leading to inspiring results. DVD 7554
One survivor remembers. 1996. 1 videodisc (39 min.). Through a series of interviews, photographs and footage shot in the actual locations of her memories, Gerda Weissmann Klein takes us on her journey of survival of the Holocaust. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2372
Out of Spain Jerusalem which was in Sepharad ; scriptwriter and director, Yigal Lossin. 2006. 3 videodiscs (416 min.). Out of Spain was produced by the Israel Broadcasting Authority (IBA) to mark the 500th anniversary of the Jewish expulsion from Spain. This spectacular journey through Spain is guided by Yitzhak Navon, fifth president of the State of Israel, and former Minister of Education. Navon and the IBA team take the viewer deep into the heart of Spain - to places such as Toledo, Cordoba - to visit historical sites and recent discoveries that tell the story of the Jews in Spain, Portugal and Majorca. Accompanying this moving journey is a soundtrack of authentic Ladino music. DVD 8621 - 8623
Paper clips. 2006. 2 videodiscs (84 min.). Struggling to grasp the concept of 6 million Holocaust victims, the students at Whitwell Middle School in rural Tennessee decide to collect 6 million paper clips to better understand the extent of this crime against humanity. Because Norwegians invented the paper clip and used it as a symbol of solidarity against the Nazis, students started collecting them to help visualize such vast numbers of victims. As word spread online and in the media, paper clips poured in from around the world, 11 million of which are enshrined in an authentic German railcar standing in the schoolyard. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1528
Partisans of Vilna: the untold story of Jewish resistance during World War II. 2005. 1 videodisc (130 min.). Skillfully blended songs, newsreels, and archival footage with interviews of over forty Holocaust survivors to paint an eye-opening portrait of the courageous Jewish resistance who staged a sabotage offensive against the Nazis in the Polish city of Vilna. DVD 5864
Peace, propaganda, & the promised land: U.S. media & the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. 2004. 2 videodiscs (78 min.). This documentary contends that the foreign policy interests of American political elites, working in combination with Israeli public relations strategies, exercise a powerful influence over news reporting about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Combines U.S. and British television news footage with observations from analysts, journalists, and political activists. Examines the factors that have distorted the United States' media coverage and, in turn, American public opinion. DVD 1928
Promised lands. 2011. KimStim collection. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Famed writer and critic Susan Sontag's sole documentary project, shot in Israel on the fly in the final days and immediate aftermath of the 1973 Yom Kippur War. Not only does the film scrutinize the ongoing Arab-Israeli conflict, it also brilliantly underscores the deepening divisions within the Jewish thought over the very question of Palestinian sovereignty. Banned by Israeli authorities upon its initial release, it's a visually visceral portrait of a land torn apart. DVD 8375
Promises and betrayals: Britain and the struggle for the Holy Land. 2002? 1 videodisc (53 min.). "Recounts the complicated history that led to the ongoing conflict between Israel and the Palestinians ... a story of intrigue among rival empires and of misguided strategies"--Container. DVD 2615
Protocols of Zion. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 65 min.). Examines the rise of anti-Semitism in the USA after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. DVD 2074
The Quran, the Bible, and the Torah. 2004. 1 streaming video file (34 min.). Islam, Christianity, and Judaism possess a rich body of writings that are authoritative and normative for the life and faith of their respective communities. In this program, Timothy George, author of Is the Father of Jesus the God of Muhammad?; Amina Wadud, author of the groundbreaking Qur'an and Woman; and Ibrahim Kalin, author of many articles on Islam and Islamic thought, present their perspectives on the revelatory and inspirational texts of the three religions of the Book. In the process, they compare the illiteracy of Muhammad to the virginity of the Virgin Mary as essential conditions for the untainted transmissions of the Word and contrast views on the validity of sacred works in translation. Streaming video
Route 181: fragments of a journey to Palestine - Israel. 2003. 4 videodiscs (402 min.). In 2002 Khleifi and Sivan embark on a journey. They film along the partition line drawn up by UN resolution 181 that was to separate the Jews and Arabs of Palestine. DVD 5281 - 5824
Sacred space, secular states?: Oil and water ; Strength to overcome ; Developing countries. 2006. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Program 17. pt. 1: Jerusalem: capital of two states? Can the historical and political geography of this holy city provide clues to a peaceful resolution between Jews and Palestinians? pt. 2: Turkey: fundamental change. At the edge of Europe, Turkey hopes to take economic advantage of its proximity to the western world. Program 18. pt. 1: Egypt: gift of the Nile. This program investigates Egypt's limited natural resources, focusing on that nation's dependence on the Nile River. pt. 2: Oman: looking beyond oil. Having benefited greatly from its relatively modest oil reserves, Oman looks to diversify its economy for future growth. Program 19. pt. 1: South Africa: this land is my land. South Africa continues to face many challenges in redressing the land inequities under apartheid. pt. 2: Kenya: medical geography. AIDS has become one of the biggest killers in Kenya. How can geography help understand disease? Program 20. pt. 1: Cote d'Ivoire: cocoa and change. Cote d'Ivoire has long been the world's largest producer of cocoa, but has recently faced economic downturns and loss of its historically stable government. pt. 2: Gabon: sustainable resources? In one of Africa's wealthiest countries, oil revenues have declined, putting new pressure on the country's timber resources. DVD 8545
Secret lives: hidden children and their rescuers during WWII. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 72 min.). This emotionally stirring documentary tells the stories of Jewish children hidden from the Nazis in extraordinary acts of kindness by non-Jews. DVD 1847
Shanghai ghetto. 2005. 1 videodisc (95 min.). The incredible story of thousands of Jews and their dramatic escape from the Nazis during World War II to Japanese-controlled Shanghai. Fleeing for their lives, these Jewish refugees journeyed to form a settlement in the exotic city, penniless and unprepared for their new life in the Far East. Shot at the site of the original Shanghai Ghetto, unchanged since WWII, along with interviews of survivors and historians, rare letters, stock footage and still photos, the film depicts an incredibly moving portrayal of a rich cultural life, bravely constructed under enormous hardship. DVD 4250
Shoah. 2003. 4 videodiscs (566 min.). The Nazi extermination of Jews is examined through interviews of survivors, witnesses and perpetrators and through footage of the sites of the death camps and environs as they appear today. Those interviewed include Jewish survivors of the death camps and the Warsaw ghetto uprising, Polish farmers and villagers who lived near the camps and Nazis who worked in the camps and the ghettos. DVD 275
Shtetl. 2009. 1 videodisc (180 min.). Tells the homecoming story of two elderly Polish-American Jews who return to their families' small village from which most of the Jews had been sent to Treblinka's gas chambers. Captures these pilgrims as they face old neighbors, some betrayers, some saviors. Interviews Polish Jews in America and Israel who were holocaust survivors or emigrated in the late 1930's. DVD 5865
The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection. 2007. 8 videodiscs (816 min.). Experience the extraordinary spectrum of Jewish life and the Holocaust legacy with nine of the most acclaimed documentaries of our time. DVD 5771 - 5778
Sister Rose's passion. 2006. 1 videodisc (39 min.). Chronicles the life story of Sister Rose Thering, a Dominican nun who has devoted her life to battling anti-Semitism within the Catholic Church. In addition to teaching and lecturing for over fifty years, her writings contributed to the drafting of "Nostra Aetate," the revolutionary document that changed the Church's position on Jews from negative to positive. DVD 4249
The Spanish connection: The golden age -- The balance of terror. 2006. 1 videodisc (135 min.). Out of Spain was produced by the Israel Broadcasting Authority (IBA) to mark the 500th anniversary of the Jewish expulsion from Spain. This spectacular journey through Spain is guided by Yitzhak Navon, fifth president of the State of Israel, and former Minister of Education. Navon and the IBA team take the viewer deep into the heart of Spain - to places such as Toledo, Cordoba - to visit historical sites and recent discoveries that tell the story of the Jews in Spain, Portugal and Majorca. Accompanying this moving journey is a soundtrack of authentic Ladino music. DVD 8621
Spell your name. 2006. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A feature-length documentary about the Holocaust in Ukraine, assembled from Ukrainian and Russian-language testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation Institute archive (shot between 1994-1998) and new footage shot on location in Ukraine. DVD 5655
Steal a pencil for me. 2008. 1 videodisc (94 min.). A compelling documentary feature film about the power of love and the ability of humankind to rise above unimaginable suffering. In 1943, Holland is under total Nazi occupation. When the Jews are being deported, Jack, his wife Manja, and his new love, Ina, find themselves living in the same barracks in a concentration camp. When Jack's wife objects to the relationship in spite of their unhappy marriage, Jack and Ina resort to writing secret love letters, which gives them the strength to survive the war. DVD 5239
Stranger in my home - Jerusalem. 2009. 1 videodisc (37 min.). The film relates the stories of eight Palestinian Jerusalemite families that have been turned refugees in their own city. They recall the events that occurred in the Moghrabi Quarter of Jerusalem during the 1967 war. Each family goes to see its house which was occupied in 1948. The houses are located in the Baqa'a, Talbiyeh, Qatamon and Mosrarah neighbourhoods of what is now West Jerusalem. Some of the families enter their former homes and have a discussion with the Israeli tenants currently occupying their homes. DVD 6985
Sugihara conspiracy: of kindness. 2005. 1 videodisc (85 min.). This documentary tells the story of Japanese diplomat Chiune Sugihara, consul to Lithuania during World War II. Sugihara defied Tokyo authorities and wrote transit visas that allowed hundreds of Jewish families to flee Europe through Russia to Japan and other countries. Includes home movies, photographs, film footage, and interviews with Holocaust survivors who owe their lives to Chiune Sugihara. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1323
A survivor's account the story of Paula Dash. 1991. Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (40 min.). Following an introduction describing the stages and causes of the Holocaust, Paula Dash speaks to a class at the University of Maryland. She describes the increasing repression against the Jews in Lód z, the horror of Auschwitz and Bergen-Belsen where she was imprisoned, and the final death march as Allied troops approached the camps. DVD 7531
Talmud. 2007. 1 videodisc (55 min.). Originally passed down orally from master to student, the Talmud is the hidden face of the Torah, or Old Testament. It is a vast body of legal, mythic, and philosophical texts, and a mixture of religious commentary and debate, of history and science, and of anecdote and humor. No other text has had such and influence on Jewish life as it details the principles, ethical codes, and laws that serve as a guide for conduct. DVD 5240
Tel-Aviv-Yafo: Tel-Aviv-Jaffa. 2009. 2 videodiscs (88 min.). "Produced in celebration of the 100th anniversary of Tel Aviv, the two-part film Tel-Aviv-Jaffa explores the rich and complex history of Tel-Aviv and Jaffa. Israeli TV celebrity Modi Bar-On hosts this fast-paced and lively film which intercuts a treasure trove of archival film and photos with those of contemporary Tel-Aviv"--Container. DVD 8078
Temple in Jerusalem. 1996. 1 videodisc (30 min.). Tells the story of one of the wonders of the ancient world; the magnificent first Temple built by King Solomon and later destroyed by King Nebuchadnezzer of Babylon, and the fantastic second Temple built by King Herod and laid to waste by the Romans. DVD 7512
They came for good: a history of Jews in the United States. 2001. 1 videodisc (57 min.). Tells the story of the first Jews to immigrate to America, their problems gaining acceptance and attempting to assimilate into the new culture, while maintaining their own group identity. DVD 7381
They looked away. 2004. 1 videodisc (53 min.). The evidence of what the Allies knew about the existence of Auschwitz and their reasons not to bomb the camp are examined through archival footage and interviews with camp survivors, historians, and military pilots, bombardiers, and photo interpreters directly involved in Allied missions over the Auschwitz region. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1156
To die in Jerusalem. 2007. 1 videodisc (75 min.). "Recounts the heart-wrenching story of two teenage girls: 17-year-old Israeli student Rachel Levy and her killer, 18-year-old Palestinian suicide bomber Ayat al-Akhras, who died together at a Jerusalem market in 2002. The horrific incident ignited international outrage and set in motion one mother's journey to meet the mother of her daughter's killer. More than four years later, they finally meet in an emotionally charged encounter that underscore the deep roots of the Israel-Palestinian conflict" -- Container. DVD 4865
Tragedy in the Holy Land: the second uprising. 2002. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Using rarely seen archival footage and interviews, this documentary addresses the core issues of land and identity through the lens of the Palestinians. It offers vital information about the roots of the current conflict and the ongoing struggle. DVD 2433
Trembling before G-d. 2003. 2 videodiscs (84 min.). "An unprecedented feature documentary that shatters assumptions about faith, sexuality, and religious fundamentalism. Built around intimately told personal stories of Hasidic and Orthodox Jews who are gay or lesbian, the film portrays people who face a profound dilemma"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 735
Unlikely heroes. 2005. The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Contrary to the view of some that Jews caught in the terror Hitler's Europe were passive, this film highlights previously unknown stories of extraordinary men and women who exemplified courage and human dignity during the Holocaust. Features archival film and photos and new sequences shot on location. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5774
La Virgen y el toro. 2006. El espejo enterrado : reflexiones sobre Espaäna y el Nuevo Mundo / Carlos Fuentes: Espejo enterrado. 1 videodisc (59 min.). Carlos Fuentes looks for his forebears in the mix of people that created Latin America: Spanish, Arab, Jewish, Indian, and African. He asks what is unique in their culture that is cause for celebration in the 500th anniversary year of Columbus. His quest takes him from the quayside at Vera Cruz back to Spain. DVD 7456
Voices of the Shoah: remembrances of the Holocaust. 2000. 4 sound discs. Audio documentary of the Holocaust as told by survivors and witnesses. Drawn from more than 180 interviews recorded between 1988 and 1998, the stories gathered here testify to the horrors of the Shoah as well as to the immeasurable strength of the human spirit. KIT 97
Waiting for Armageddon. 2010. 1 videodisc (74 min.). America's 50-million-strong Evangelical community is convinced that the world's future is foretold in Biblical prophecy, from the Rapture to the Battle of Armageddon. Explore this apocalyptic worldview, from the homefront in America to the future battlefield of Israel. By weaving Christian, Zionist, and Jewish perspectives along with telling archival materials, this eye-opening film also proves the potentially explosive alliance between Evangelical Christians and Israel. DVD 7335
Walking the Bible. 2006. 2 videodiscs (ca. 168 min.). One man's journey by foot, jeep, rowboat and camel through the greatest stories ever told: The five books of Moses. From crossing the Red Sea to climbing Mount Sinai, this will change the view of history's most legendary events. DVD 2119
The Wannsee Conference: 11 million sentenced to death. 2003? 1 videodisc (52 min.). Examines the political and social forces that fueled anti-Semitism in Germany in the 1930s and led to the Wannsee Conference in 1942 where Nazi leaders formulated their plans for the world-wide eradication of the Jewish people. Includes interviews with scholars Eberhard Jäckel and Yehuda Bauer. DVD 7887
Watermarks. 2005. 1 videodisc (77 min.). The story of the surviving members of the Viennese Hakoah sports club women's swim team, a world-dominating competitor in the 1930s. The club was eventually shut down during Hitler's reign, though all the women managed to escape capture. Combines historical footage and contemporary interviews to reconnect the women's lives and memories. DVD 5003
Who shall live and who shall die? 2007. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Documents the United States' knowledge of the Holocaust during World War II through interviews, rare newsreel footage, and previously classified information. DVD 4245
The will to live: Abe Malnick. 199? Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (31 min.). The film shows Abe Malnik speaking to a class at Woodrow Wilson High School. When he was 13, in June, 1941, the Lithuanian collaborators followed a week later by Nazis invaded his hometown of Kovno, Lithuania. He succeeded in hiding for a time, but was eventually forced into the ghetto, where many people died or were sent to concentration camps. When the ghetto was liquidated, he was shipped by cattle car to Stuthof. He survived five concentration camps, including Dachau and an underground cement mine, but weighed only 75 pounds at the end of the war. All of the other members of his family except his father were killed. DVD 7538
The Yidishe gauchos. 2006. 1 videodisc (28 min.). This documentary tells of Jews escaping persecution and pogroms in Eastern Europe in the late nineteenthcentury to settle the Pampas of Argentina. Includes oral histories, archival footage and interviews with scholars. DVD 6250
Yoo-hoo, Mrs. Goldberg. 2010. 2 videodiscs (92 min.). "Before Oprah, and before Lucy, there was the beloved Gertrude Berg, the entertainment genius who wrote, starred in and produced the first successful domestic sitcom and charmed a beleaguered nation. Animated through a dazzling collage of vintage clips and interviews, behind-the-scenes footage and intimate conversations with friends, colleagues and family members, the box-office smash-hit Yoo-hoo, Mrs. Goldberg traces Berg's rise to stardom from her childhood in New York to her early radio days in The rise of the Goldbergs (1929-46) to her enormously influential sitcom, The Goldbergs (1949-56), which brought Berg the first Best Actress Emmy in history."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7620
A young girl in Hitler's Berlin the story of Marion F. Wolff. 1991. Video portraits (Holocaust Eyewitness Project). 1 videodisc (35 min.). Following an introduction describing the stages and causes of the Holocaust, Marion Wolf addresses a class at Langley High School. She describes the increasing restrictions against the Jews of Berlin from 1933 to 1938, when she was a school child, the indifference of the world during the Evian Conference, the horror of Kristallnacht, and the growing number of arrest, disappearances and murders after Kristallnacht. She points out that U.S. immigration policy made it impossible to save large numbers of Jews. DVD 7536