Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Spanish Language Cinema: E-N

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012

Spanish Language Cinema

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

Eclipse. 97.  1 videocassette (96 min.). Ten Toronto residents are drawn into an interrelated series of sexual encounters as they experience the primeval effects of an anticipated total solar eclipse.  VHS 6201

La edad de la peseta=The silly age. 2008.  1 videodisc (90 min.). In 1950's Havana, before the Revolution, Samuel is brought to Havana by his mother Alicia, a newly divorced woman, to live with her long-ignored mother Violeta. At first, Violeta teases and commands Samuel. She tries to intimidate him a little and threatens him with being sent away to school. But, rather suddenly he becomes Violeta's protégé. She's a portrait photographer and Samuel becomes her assistant. Gradually a nice relationship between Violeta and Samuel develops. Alicia meets Ramon, the plump and proper owner of a shoe store. Alicia goes to work at Ramon's shop, and eventually they marry. Meanwhile, Samuel receives some advanced kissing lessons. Samuel meets a beautiful woman delivering photo portraits. She is Violeta's most beautiful model, a movie star named film star Nuria. She turns out to be the girlfriend of one of the most famous heroes of the Cuban Revolution .  DVD 6882

El. 200.  Grandes de nuestro cine: Grandes de nuestro cine.  1 videodisc (92 min.). The story of a middle aged man, a wealthy pillar of local society, whose fascination with an attractive young woman turns into obsession. Although he wins her hand and they marry, he becomes convinced beyond all reason that she is being unfaithful. His paranoia eventually leads him to attempted murder and insanity.  DVD 8991

Enamorada. 2003.  Cozumel classic films: Cozumel classic films.  1 videodisc (93 min.). A revolutionary general and his troops seize the conservative town of Cholula where the general falls for the wild and beautiful Beatriz, the daughter of one of the town's richest men.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9036

Entre tinieblas=Dark habits. 2003.  1 videodisc (115 min.). A nightclub singer hides out in a convent after her lover dies of an overdose. The nuns, who welcome her with open arms, have problems of their own.  DVD 5584

Eréndira la indomable. 2009.  1 videodisc (107 min.). The legend of Erendira tells of a brave young Indian woman who took up arms against the Spanish conquistadors during their 16th century invasion of Latin America. DVD 5208

Eréndira. 85.  Cinematheque collection.  1 videodisc (103 min.). While Erendira, a beautiful teenage girl, has a surreal mystical vision, her grandmother's house catches on fire and burns to the ground. Her grandmother holds Erendira responsible and, in order to extract restitution from the girl, forces her into prostitution. Erendira's surreal mystical experiences continue while her grandmother grows rich from exploiting her.  DVD 9457

Ernesto "Che" Guevara Le journal de Bolivie = The Bolivian diary. 2009.  1 videodisc (94 min.). Over 40 years ago, on October 9, 1967, Che Guevara was executed by the Bolivian army, aided by the CIA. Guevara's diary, a detailed, personal account of his futile 11-month attempt to foment revolution in Bolivia, is the basis of this moving portrait. Che's relationship with the mysterious Tania, his betrayal by local peasants, his constant battle with asthma, and his distress at the death of his comrades is recounted.  DVD 10063

El espinazo del Diablo=The devil's backbone. 2004.  1 videodisc (108 min.). "Twelve-year-old Carlos is the latest arrival to Santa Lucia School, an imposing stone building that shelters the orphans of the Republican militia and politicians during the last days of the Spanish Civil War. Carlos gradually uncovers the dark ties that bind the inhabitants of the school: hidden riches, sexual intrigue and the restless ghost of a murdered student"--Container.  DVD 441

El espíritu de la colmena=The spirit of the beehive. 199-.  1 videocassette (93 min.). In the 1940s, a Spanish family lives in retreat in the countryside. When a traveling cinema truck comes to their village, two little sisters are profoundly affected by viewing the old film, "Frankenstein." The younger girl becomes so obsessed with its images and story that she tries to recreate it in reality. The hypnotic mood of the driven child permeates the film itself, building a sense of dread not unlike that of a horror film, but based on the poetry of a child's imagination.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3868

L'espoir Sierra de Teruel. 198?  Les grands films classiques.  1 videocassette (75 min.). Set in 1937 at Teruel during the Spanish Civil War. Malraux, a volunteer in Spain, contrasts the horrors of war with the beauties of nature and the simple pleasures of life. He uses the struggle against Spanish dictatorship as a statement of the universal hope that war will produce a better life for all and overcome the evils of fascism.  VHS 3241

Eugenia Grandet. 2003.  1 videodisc (106 min.). A young woman grows old as a spinster after her rich and cruel father stops her from marrying.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6764

Fando and Lis. 2007.  4 videodiscs (ca. 353 min.). Fando and his partially paralyzed lover Lis search for the mythical city of Tar; el Topo searches the desert to defeat four master gunmen and to find enlightenment; an alchemist assembles a group of people from all walks of life to prepare them for the trip to Lotus Island where they will ascend the holy mountain to displace the gods who rule the universe.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3042

Los inundados = The flooded. 61.  1 videocassette (87 min.). The Flooded (Los inundados) was Birri's first feature film. It was shot during the flooding devastation of an underdeveloped area in Argentina. A satirical tone is used to depict the hypocrisy of politicians, and a different one to show the main character's resilience and ingenuity for surviving.  VHS 7883

Flores de otro mundo=Flowers from another world. 2005.  1 videodisc (100 min.). A group of women take a bus trip to a remote Spanish village overwhelmingly populated by men. The women dream of a better life while the men ache with more romantic yearnings.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3731

Fresa y chocolate=Strawberry and chocolate. 2003.  1 videodisc (104 min.). "La historia de David y Diego es la historia de dos seres humanos en busca de un ámbito en el cual ser. El primero estudiante de ciencias sociales en la Universidad de la Habana, el segundo, un homosexual que vive por y para exaltar la Cultura Cubana"--Container. David, a student at Havana University, is devastated when his girlfriend marries someone else. When he meets a gay artist, Diego, he is drawn to his cultured lifestyle and a friendship forms between them. With the help of two new friends, a young man learns everything there is to know about things not taught in school.  DVD 1163

Frida, naturaleza viva. 2003.  1 videodisc (108 min.). On her deathbed, artist Frida Kahlo conjures up images and memories of her life as a painter, revolutionary and woman of the world.  DVD 1090

Garage Olimpo desaparecidos. 2001.  1 videodisc (96 min.). Maria is a middle-class teacher living in a deteriorating mansion in Buenos Aires with her Italian mother. They've rented out rooms for extra money and one of the tenants is Felix, a secret officer assigned to watch her. One day Maria is kidnapped and taken to Garage Olimpo, one of the many undercover detention places at the time, where she is brutally interrogated. Her only hope is through Felix who is in love with her and is willing to do anything to win her approval, even if it means lying.  DVD 7387

The garden. 2008.  1 videodisc (80 min.). The fourteen-acre community garden at 41st and Alameda in South Central Los Angeles is the largest of its kind in the United States. Started as a form of healing after the devastating L.A. riots in 1992, the South Central Farmers have since created a miracle in one of the country's most blighted neighborhoods. Growing their own food. Feeding their families. Creating a community. But now, bulldozers are poised to level their 14-acre oasis.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6475

La gran final=The great match. 2006.  Own the Film Movement series: Film Movement series.  1 videodisc (88 min.). Three soccer fans, living in the farthest-flung corners of the planets: Mongolia, Niger and Brazil, determined to watch the TV broadcast of the 2002 World Cup final.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3051

Guantanamera. 2000.  1 videodisc (104 min.). In this romantic comedy, Yoyita, a world-famous diva, returns to her home town of Guantanamo for an elegant reception and a surprise reunion with her once beloved, Candido. Overjoyed with the rekindled memories of her first love, Yoyita's elated heart fizzles while in Candido's embrace. Joining Yoyita's funeral procession back to Havana are her sexy niece Gina, a former professor blacklisted for political nonconformity, and her husband Adolfo, a tasteless government official in charge of the funeral proceedings. As the cortege wends westward across Cuba, its path keeps crossing that of Mariano, a gallant truck driver who once had a crush on Gina and whose recurring presence crystallizes her doubts about her marriage.  DVD 4809

Hable con ella=Talk to her. 2003.  1 videodisc (114 min.). In a private clinic Barco and Benigno strike up a friendship while caring for comatose women.  DVD 2447

Hasta cierto punto=Up to a point. 200.  Cine de colección Zafra Video: Clásicos del cine Cubano: Cine de colección Zafra Video: Clásicos del cine cubano.  1 videodisc (80 min.). This clever self-reflexive satire about the battle of the sexes in contemporary Cuba tells the story of an educated, liberal filmmaker who, in doing research for a film about the social problem of machismo in Cuban society, finds himself falling in love with the sexy, liberated Lina, a pioneering female dockworker.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3587

Herencia=Inheritance. 2006.  1 videodisc (94 min.). Orlinda is an Italian immigrant who arrived in Argentina after World War II searching for the lost love of her life. Hardened by years of loss and loneliness she is taken aback when a young German man enters her restaurant looking for a job and the love of his life.  DVD 9575

Hermanas=Sisters. 2006.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Two sisters torn apart by military dictatorship in Argentina meet in Texas after a 9 year separation.  DVD 9494

El hijo de la novia=Son of the bride. 2002.  1 videodisc (125 min.). Rafael is a 42-year-old divorced father and restaurant owner who is overwhelmed with life. He feels guilty that he doesn't visit his mother, who is stricken with Alzheimer's disease; he lives in his father's shadow; he doesn't spend enough time with his daughter and he can't commit to his girlfriend. When a series of unexpected events happen, Rafael re-evaluates his life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 564

La historia official=The official story. 2004.  1 videodisc (114 min.). An Argentine teacher lives in blissful ignorance of the evils perpetrated by her country's government. Over time, she begins to suspect that her adopted daughter may have been the child of a murdered political prisoner. When she attempts to unearth the truth, her investigation reveals levels of political corruption so abhorrent that the illusions of her past life are irrevocably shattered.  DVD 44

La hora de los hornos notas y testimonios sobre el neocolonialismo la violencia y la liberación. 2008.  2 videodiscs (248 min.). A 1960s filmic manifesto on the liberation struggle being waged throughout Latin America, using Argentina as a historical model.  DVD 3118

Historias mínimas=Intimate stories. 2006.  1 videodisc (94 min.). Nothing will stop three neighbors from reaching San Julian, where they have been promised either fame, love, or redemption. Although they encounter detours along the way, they ultimately get what they wanted, but it will come in unexpected ways.  DVD 2510

Ilona llega con la lluvia Ilona arrives with the rain. 2003.  Cinemateca literaria: Cinemateca literaria.  1 videodisc (111 min.).  Maqroll, Ilona and Abdul are three friends tied by a shared history of smuggling, whose collective adventures have taken them all over the world. After being separated for many years, Maqroll finds himself stranded in Panama City, where he is unexpectedly reunited with Ilona. Meanwhile, Abdul has just been released from prison in Ceuta, where he's trying to buy a steamship so that the three of them can resume their former life of travel and criminal capers together. Ilona and Maqroll open a brothel in Panama to help Abdul buy the ship. The profits begin to roll in and it seems as if everything is going according to plan until a mad young woman named Larissa comes to work at the brothel.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9136

Iluminados por el fuego=Blessed by fire. 2007.  1 videodisc (100 min.). After learning of a former infantry mate's attempted suicide, journalist Esteban returns to the Falkland Islands (or in Argentina, known as the Malvinas) to confront the horrors he experienced as an eighteen-year-old soldier. Presents the harrowing story of a group of young men sent to fight an un-winnable war and left to bear its emotional scars.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9522

Inconscientes=Unconscious. 2007.  1 videodisc (109 min.). Set in Barcelona in the early 1900s. A very pregnant Alma searches for her missing psychiatrist husband. Along the way she recruits her love-struck brother-in-law Salvador and discovers a world where gender bending psychoanalysis turns the roles of sex and sexuality inside out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4460

El inmigrante. 2007.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Examines the Mexican and American border crisis through the story of Eusebio de Haro, a young Mexican migrant who was shot and killed during one of his journeys north.  DVD 3325

El inmortal. 2005?  1 videodisc (77 min.). This film ventures into Nicaraguan territory to extract the story of two brothers who led the war to fight on opposite sides without having chosen it. When they try to confront the memory of the war, the wounds, deaths that load into memory.  DVD 6870

Japâon. 2002.  1 videodisc (126 min.). Mexican director Carlos Reygadas' first film is a poetic, existential drama that explores life, death, truth and redemption on a journey through the rugged and unforgiving Mexican landscape.  The film follows an unnamed, middle-aged artist (Alejandro Ferretis), who is tired and disillusioned with life in Mexico City. He travels to the countryside where he plans to kill himself. Here, he meets Ascen (Magdalena Flores), an old widow who lives by herself in the mountains, and he takes up lodging with her. Ascen is uneducated, but has a profound understanding of life's problems. Her ability to transcend them is far superior to that of the intellectual Ferretis; her limitless generosity and kindness help him find the will to live.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3819

El jardín del Edén=The garden of Eden. 2001.  1 videodisc (104 min.). Three border-crossing stories are intertwined on the contemporary U.S.-Mexican border at Tijuana: those of a young Mexican mother with three children, seeking to start a new life after her husband's death; of a gringa adventurer looking for her whale-watching brother and for a Chicana friend in search of her roots; and of a campesino seeking to cross the border for better living conditions.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 416

Juan Moreira. 2001.  Clásicos del cine argentino: Clásicos del cine argentino.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Tells the legend of Juan Moreira, an Argentine folk hero. Although actual police records of the 1860s depict him as a criminal, this film depicts him as a decent man who became an outlaw after he was wrongly sent to prison, and was then used by warring political elements until his murder.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7134

Kamchatka. 2003.  1 videodisc (103 min.). In 1976, during the time of the "disappeared ones" in Argentina, two boys are moved to the countryside by their parents in an effort to keep the family together as long as possible.  DVD 4689

La kermesse héroïque=Carnival in Flanders. 94.  1 videocassette (90 min.). Set in Spanish-occupied Belgium in 1616, the film is noted for its subtle humor, witty acting and magnificent decor. Tongue-in-cheek from start to finish, the story satirizes a favorite wartime theme, the daring and resourcefulness of citizens threatened by invaders. When the Spaniards invade Flanders, the men of the town make themselves scarce and the women find other ways of conquering.  VHS 6030

Km. 0. 2004.  International film festival: International film festival (Series).  1 videodisc (105 min.). Kilometer 0 is the very center of Madrid. It is also a meeting place as 14 lives that intersect for sex, romance, chance meetings, missed connections and mistaken identities.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1538

Laberinto de pasiones = Labyrinth of passion. 90.  1 videodisc (98 min.). "A camp melodrama/comedy about Sexilia (a nymphomaniac), Sadec (a gay Islamic terrorist), Riza Niro (the son of the emperor of Tiran), and Queti (the daughter of a dry-cleaner). When Riza Niro discovers that Sadec and his colleagues are after him, he disguises himself as a punk rocker, and falls in love with the stunning Sexilia, his first straight relationship. Meanwhile Queti, Sexilia's "biggest fan", helps Sexilia come to terms with her new life-style." -taken from imdb.com.  DVD 9622

El laberinto del fauno=Pan's labyrinth. 2007.  1 videodisc (119 min.). When young Ofelia and her mother go to live with her new stepfather on a rural military outpost, she finds herself in a world of unimaginable cruelty. Soon Ofelia finds the creatures of her imagination in which she used to escape have become a reality and she must battle them to save both her mother and herself. In the terrifying battle that ensues, Ofelia soon learns that innocence has a power that evil cannot imagine.  DVD 2770

El lado oscuro del corazón=The dark side of the heart. 2003.  1 videodisc (125 min.). Oliverio is a narcissistic young poet in search of the perfect woman, claiming he will not "tolerate a woman who cannot fly." He meets a prostitute who can fly but prefers to keep their relationship a business arrangement.  DVD 5835

La lengua de las mariposas=Butterfly. 2000.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A shy young boy is brought out of his cocoon by a wise teacher who shows him the wonder of the natural world around him, amidst the growing tensions and chaos of the Spanish Civil War in Galicia.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 202

Leonera=Lion's den. 2009.  1 videodisc (113 min.). Julia gives birth to a son after she is sent to the penitentiary for the murder of her lover. Fellow inmate Marta becomes her ally, while her mother Sofia is her opponent. As Marta attempts to teach Julia how to be a mother in the least appropriate place, her mother attempts to gain custody so the child can grow up outside of prison. The duel between Julia and her mother expresses the dilemma of what is better for the child, life with his mother in prison, or without her, but in freedom.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8447

Libertarias. 2004.  1 videodisc (125 min.). Spain, July 19, 1936. The Spanish Civil War has just begun and women as always play their part in this human tragedy. Maria, an innocent young nun, is forced to leave the convent after the arrival of the revolutionary troops in Barcelona. She takes refuge in a brothel where she meets a group of "Libertarias," women "drafted" as freedom fighters.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7124

Love in the time of cholera. 2008.  1 videodisc (139 min.). Florentino is a poetry-writing telegraph operator who lives in a Central American city. He spots the graceful Fermina while making his rounds, and finds himself in love. While Florentino's mother encourages the courtship, Fermina's father absolutely forbids it. Years pass, and the well-born Dr. Urbino treats Fermina for a case of cholera. When Urbino proposes, Fermina accepts. A distraught Florentino decides to wait. With the help of his uncle, he amasses wealth of his own. All the while, he drifts from woman to woman, never really finding what he is looking for in a woman. After five decades of waiting, he gets a second chance to win Fermina's heart.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4114

Lucia. 2005.  Clásicos del cine cubano.  1 videodisc (160 min.). Three part film covers three periods (1895, 1932, 1960s) in Cuban history as it portrays episodes in the lives of three different women named Lucia, emphasizing each Lucia's role as a woman in the social milieu of the period. Each episode is filmed in a distinctive visual style to reflect the spirit of each historical era, with the themes of love, death and war.  DVD 6268

El lugar sin limites=Place without limits. 2001.  1 videodisc (110 min.). La Manuela, a transvestite, lives in a brothel run by his daughter. When his daughter is threatened, La Manuela steps in to protect her with tragic consequences.  DVD 6033

Luis Buñuel. 2007.  2 videodiscs (187 min.). Includes: Gran Casino (An ambitious employee takes over the management of oil well when the owner mysteriously disappears); and La Joven (Only two inhabitants are on an isolated island, until Traver arrives, on the run from a lynch mob).  DVD 3180-3181

Los lunes al sol=Mondays in the sun. 2008.  Meridian collection: Meridian collection.  1 videodisc (113 min.). Follows five unemployed shipyard workers on the coast of Spain. Led by the cocky Santa, the men may be down on their luck but still encourage each other to search for work, love and the strength to hope for better days.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8618

El lute camina o revienta. 2005.  1 videodisc (123 min.). Tells the story of Eleuterio Sánchez, a thief who refused to identify his fellow criminals during Franco's reign, and became a folk hero.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5495

Machuca. 2006.  1 videodisc (116 min.). In 1973, the Chilean military, under the direction of General Augusto Pinochet and backed by the CIA, overthrew the shaky socialist government of democratically elected President Salvador Allende. The coup led to the murder of 3,000 leftist Allende supporters and the detention of an estimated 250,000 political prisoners. Set against the background of the political instability that led to the crisis, Andrés Wood's Machuca is the moving story of the friendship between two boys from different sides of the social spectrum.  DVD 2932

Madeinusa. 2007.  Film Movement series.  1 videodisc (108 min.). Madeinusa is a girl aged 14 with a sweet Indian face who lives in an isolated village in the Cordillera Blanca Mountain range of Peru. This strange place is characterized by its religious fervor. From Good Friday at three o'clock in the afternoon  to Easter Sunday, the whole village can do whatever it feels like. During the two holy days sin does not exist: God is dead and can't see what is happening. Everything is accepted and allowed, without remorse. Year after year, Madeinusa and her sister Chale, and her father Don Cayo, the Mayor and local big shot, maintain this tradition without questioning it. However, everything changes with the arrival in the village of Salvador, a young geologist from Lima, who will unknowingly change the destiny of the girl.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3052

La mala educaciâon=Bad education. 2005.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Traces the effects of sexual abuse and religious schooling on the lives of two lifelong friends.  DVD 2448

Cóndores no entierran todos los dias =Man of principle. 84.  1 videocassette (90 min.). The story of Leon Maria Lozano, a modest bookstore employee, fervent Catholic, and good citizen, who becomes a political assassin as a result of partisan conflicts.  The bitter political struggle between conservative and liberal political parties in Colombia in 1948 provides the context for this drama about a simple man's transformation.  VHS 7245

Máncora. 2009.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Santiago is a 21-year-old from Lima who is haunted by his father's recent and unexpected suicide. Santiago decides to take refuge in Máncora, a beach resort town in the north of the country. He is accompanied by his stepsister Ximena and her husband Inigo, a brash art collector from New York. The tranquility of their getaway is quickly shattered by a powerful act of boundary-crossing and betrayal, which threatens to turn Máncora into a paradise lost.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7228

Maria Candelaria. 198?  1 videocassette (99 min.). Maria is an outcast in her small Mexican village because of her late mother's immoral behavior.  Shunned and outcast, forbidden to earn a living, she lives a solitary life.  Her only friends are the town priest and a peasant whom she loves and wants to marry.  Their poverty and misery are exploited by the local farm lord and a well-to-do city artist who sees in her face the perfect woman whom he wishes to paint.  This leads everyone into tragedy.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1467

Maria full of grace.  2004.  1 videodisc (101 min.). Maria, a poor Columbian teenager, is desperate to leave a soul-crushing job. She accepts an offer to transport packets of heroin - which she swallows - to the United States. The ruthless world of drug trafficking proves to be more than she bargained for.  DVD 1007

Matador. 2007.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Centers on two Spanish stereotypes; one, a macho, retired bullfighter representing the old Spain, the other, a smart woman lawyer, the new.  What emerges is, that both these archetypes are secret sex murderers who kill their victims at the moment of orgasm. But what about the young bullfighting student whose confessions to a string of murders bring the two lovers together? Is he guilty, crazy, or just a romantic?  DVD 2441

Medellin sumas y restas. 2007.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Medellín, Colombia, 1984. Former cocaine-user Santiago is now a prosperous engineer and family man. Trying to raise money for a building project, he is introduced to Gerardo, a parking lot owner who invests in his business. Gerardo is also a dealer, with dreams of expanding his drug business to Miami, a dream that will tread on the toes of his brother-in-law, the notorious El Duende.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6890

Memorias del subdesarrollo=Memories of underdevelopment. 2008.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A bourgeois property owner decides to stay in Cuba after the revolution and must examine his life and values in a new social and policital milieu .  DVD 429

Men with guns=Los hombres armados. 2003.  1 videodisc (128 min.). An elderly physician that trains young people to provide health care to the poor people of a agricultural country finds out that many of his former students are being killed. He goes there to find out why these men with guns are killing anyone they want.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1314

La misma luna=Under the same moon. 2008.  1 videodisc (110 min.). Tells the parallel stories of nine-year-old Carlitos and his mother, Rosario. In the hopes of providing a better life for her son, Rosario works illegally in the U.S. while Rosario's mother cares for Carlitos in Mexico. Mother and son face daunting challenges and obstacles to reunite, but are sustained by their constant hope of finally being together again.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6388

La montaña sagrada=The Holy Mountain. 2007.  1 videodisc (113 min.). " ... the Alchemist assembles together a group of people from all walks of life to represent the planets in the solar system. The occult adept's intention is to put his recruits through strange mystical rites and divest them of their worldly baggage before embarking on a trip to Lotus Island. There they ascend the Holy Mountain to displace the immortal gods who secretly rule the universe"--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3044

La mort en ce jardin=Death in the garden . 2009.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Amid a revolution in a South American mining outpost, a band of fugitives are forced to flee for their lives into the jungle. Starving, exhausted, and stripped of their old identities, they wander desperately, lured by one deceptive promise of salvation after another.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9329

La muerte de un burocrata=The death of a bureaucrat. 91.  Cuban cinema.  1 videodisc (87 min.). A hilarious account of the tyranny of red tape in Cuba. The comedy begins with a sculptor who is buried with his union card. The widow needs his card to get her pension. A nephew is sent to get permission to exhume the body. A social satire.  DVD 9559

Muerte de un ciclista=Death of a cyclist . 2008.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  1 videodisc (88 min.). Upper-class geometry professor Juan and his wealthy, married mistress María José, driving back from a late-night rendezvous, accidentally hit a cyclist and run. The resulting tale of guilt, infidelity, and blackmail reveals the wide gap between the rich and the poor in Spain and surveys the corrept ethics of a society seduced by decadence.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4206

La mujer sin cabeza=The headless woman. 2009.  1 videodisc (87 min.). A bourgeois woman is driving alone on a dirt road when she becomes distracted and runs over something. In the days following this jarring incident, she becomes dazed and emotionally disconnected from the people and events in her life. She becomes obsessed with the possibility that she may have killed someone. The police confirm that there were no accidents reported in the area and everything returns to normal. That is until a gruesome discovery is made.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7140

Mujeres al borde de un ataque de nervios=Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown. 97.  MGM World Films.  1 videodisc (88 min.).  Pepa is recently jilted by her lover Ivan, who left the message that he's leaving her on an answering machine. Things are further complicated by Ivan's son Carlos who wants to sublet Pepa's apartment, and by Lucia, Ivan's former lover, who has decided that the only way to forget about Ivan is to kill him.  DVD 2443

La nana=The maid. 2010.  1 videodisc (94 min.). Raquel has worked as a housemaid for an upper-class Santiago, Chile, family for 23 years. On Raquel's 41st birthday, Pilar Valdez and family force the sullen, withdrawn maid to emerge from her kitchen sanctum and join the family for a celebration, but her discomfort is as strong as the family's need to acknowledge their awkward dependence on her. Raquel becomes unable to care for the house alone and new help is hired, which throws her into a jealous frenzy. The home soon becomes the stage for Raquel's darkly comedic tricks as she drives away anyone trying to take her place.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7717

Nazarín. 2004.  Vive México! cine en 35 mm: Alter's collection: Vive México! cine en 35 mm: Alter's collection.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A humble priest is forced to leave the priesthood because of his relationship with women.  DVD 9111

La niña santa=The holy girl. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). The Holy Girl poignantly captures the lives of two teenager girls, Amalia, daughter to the owner of the hotel, and the girl's best friend Josefina, as they adjust to their growing sexuality and religious passion.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1624

No se lo digas a nadie=Don't tell anyone . 2000.  1 videodisc (114 min.). Based on the alleged autobiography of gay Peruvian talk show host Jaime Bayly, this is the story of Joaquin, a troubled youth from a well-to-do family in Peru, who must overcome the domineering influences of his macho, racist father and obsessively religious mother to discover his true sexual nature.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 782

No te engañes, corazón. 2002.  Clásicos del cine mexicano: Colección de oro.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Don Boni is diagnosed with a deadly disease, decides to spend his last days doing good. Along the way he gets drunk, buys a lottery ticket and falls asleep. When he wakes, he realizes he's won a large sum of money and his doctor is in jail for fraud.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 628

El norte. 2009.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  2 videodiscs (140 min.). Mayan Indian peasants are tired of being thought of as nothing more than manual laborers. They organize an effort to improve their lot in life, but are discovered by the Guatemalan army. After the army destroys their village and family, Enrique and Rosa, a teenage brother and sister, who barely escaped the massacre, decide they must flee to United States. After receiving clandestine help from friends and humorous advice from a veteran immigrant on strategies for traveling, they make their way by truck, bus and other means to Los Angeles, where they try to make a new life as young, uneducated, and illegal immigrants.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5225

Nostalgia de la luz=Nostalgia for the light. 2011.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Director Patricio Guzman travels to the driest place on earth, Chile's Atacama Desert, where astronomers examine distant galaxies, archaeologists uncover traces of ancient civilizations, and women dig for the remains of disappeared relatives.  DVD 9119

Novia que te vea=Like a bride. 2004.  Latin cinema collection.  1 videodisc (115 min.). A delightful depiction of the adventures, suffering, love affairs and difficulties of two Mexican Jewish girls in the early 1960s. They follow their separate paths toward marriage in defiance of tradition and their families' expectations.  DVD 9750

Nueba Yol 1 & 3. 2006.  2 videodiscs (117 min.). "Nueba yol 3" Balbuena returns to New York, and continues its struggle to achieve the American dream. To be legally in New York, Balbuena need to marry a U.S. citizen, he does, and thus adds more complications to their already unraveling life. "Nueba yol" Balbuena travels to New York in search of the American dream. While facing the fun way with a new culture and with the typical obstacles of an illegal immigrant. A good nature immigrant struggles for the American dream in the Big Apple.  DVD 6928