Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Spanish Language Cinema: O-Z

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012

Spanish Language Cinema

Titles available on DVD as of June 2012. 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

Los olvidados=The young and the damned. 89.  1 videocassette (88 min.). Bunuel's study of street gangs set in the outskirts of Mexico City; a good boy is contaminated by young thugs in the slums, and both he and his tormentor die violently. Film treats its characters as morally responsible human beings and resists conventional solutions to juvenile delinquency and poverty as it dramatizes the need for more radical solutions.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7008

Once upon a time in Mexico. 2004.  1 videodisc (102 min.). The saga of El Mariachi continues when a corrupt CIA agent forces him out of hiding to help sabotage an assassination attempt on the president of Mexico by an evil cartel kingpin. El Mariachi has his own reason for helping - he is doing it for revenge.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3851

El orfanato=The orphanage. 2008.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Laura decides to purchase her beloved childhood orphanage with dreams of restoring and reopening the long abandoned facility as a place for disabled children. The new environment awakens the imagination of Laura's son. His ongoing fantasy games played with an invisible friend quickly turn into something more disturbing. Upon seeing her family increasingly threatened by the strange occurrences in the house, Laura looks to a group of parapsychologists for help in unraveling the mystery that has taken over the place.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 639

La otra conquista=The other conquest. 2007.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Mexico, 1521. The Spanish army of Hernando Cortés has swept through the New World forcing their religious beliefs on the brave Aztec people. A skillful Aztec scribe, who survived the Massacre of the Temple in 1520, spends years trying to preserve the rites and customs of his people. The Spanish army would conquer their land, but not the soul of the Aztec people.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5755

El otro Francisco=The other Francisco. 198.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Pseudo-documentary film that contrasts the romantic conceptions of plantation life found in SuaÌrez Romero's novel with a realistic expose of the actual historical conditions of slavery throughout the Americas. Offers a critical analysis of the novel, showing how the author's social background led to his use of particular dramatic structures to convey his liberal, humanitarian viewpoint.  DVD 9510

El otro lado de la cama=The other side of the bed. 2004.  1 videodisc (114 min.). The story of two couples, along with a collection of their friends and co-workers, whose switching back and forth between their lovers leads to lies and heartache and lots of song and dance.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3308

Nuestros desaparecidos = Our disappeared. 2008.  1 videodisc  (99 min.). "Via a casual Google search, director Juan Mandelbaum discovered that Patricia, a long-lost ex-girlfriend from Argentina, was among the thousands kidnapped, tortured, and "disappeared" by Argentina's military dictatorship of 1976-83. Juan embarked on a journey to find out what happened to Patricia and others he knew that disappeared, re-examining his own choices along the way. Using rare archival footage, the film evokes the longing for a revolution that would transform Argentina. As he shares dramatic stories told by parents, siblings, friends, and children of the disappeared, Juan grieves their tragic losses"--Container.  DVD 8156

Le pacte des loups=Brotherhood of the wolf. 2008.  2 videodiscs (151 min.). When a mysterious beast ravages the countryside, two unlikely heroes are called in to fight the evil. The only way they can save the land from this unspeakable terror is to face their greatest fears, unearth a dark power, and reveal a deadly secret.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5490

Paraiso travel. 2009.  1 videodisc (110 min.). This is the story of Marlon Cruz, a young Columbian man who, motivated by his beautiful girlfriend Reina leaves his life in Columbia to illegally cross the border and find fortune in New York. Marlon's journey, which takes him to through seedy strip clubs, dance halls, homeless hostels, and the streets of Jackson Heights, ultimately takes him to a place he could have never predicted.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6845

La perdicion de los hombres=The ruination of men. 2006.  1 videodisc (106 min.). The title of the film references a Mexican folk song that declares "bad women are the ruination of men." A baseball player is murdered by two ranchers, but disposing of his corpse proves difficult when the two wives of the deceased arrive to claim the body. Cuenta un famoso corrido mexicano que "la perdicion de los hombres son las malditas mujeres..." La perdicion del protagonista de nuestra historia son, efectivamente, dos mujeres y el beisbol. Dos mujeres que se pelean por el cadaver del hombre que compartieron en vida y partido de consecuencias imprevisibles.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7216

La piel que habito=The skin I live in. 2012.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Since his wife was burned in a car crash, Dr. Robert Ledgard, an eminent plastic surgeon, has wanted to create a new skin with which he could have saved her. After twelve years, he cultivates a skin that is a real shield against every assault. Now, besides the years of study and experimentation, the unscrupulous doctor needs to find an accomplice, and a human guinea pig. Marrilia, the woman who looked after him from birth, is his most faithful accomplice. But where will they find the human pig?  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4319

Plata quemada=Burnt money. 2002.  1 videodisc (125 min.). When two gay thugs Angel (Eduardo Noriega) and El Nene (Leonardo Sharaglia) join a plan to hold up an armored truck with a group of seasoned gangsters, their love and loyalty to each other is tested. Angel is wounded by police gunfire during the robbery, forcing El Nene to kill them all in a fit of rage. Things become complicated when they escape to Uruguay and the police threaten to torture the driver's moll if she doesn't tell them where they are. With their pictures plastered on the cover of every paper, drowning in drugs and alcohol, the gang begins to bicker. Against his boss's wishes El Nene leaves the apartment and roams the streets where he meets a prostitute named Giselle (Leticia Bredice) in whom he begins to trust.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 599

Postales de Leningrado=Postcards from Leningrad. 2009?  1 videodisc (90 min.). A story of two children who reinvent the adventures of their parents who were part of a revolutionary group, The Fuerzas Armadas de Liberación Nacional (English: Armed Forces of National Liberation, FALN).  They construct a maze of superheroes and strategies of revolutionary warfare where you never know who is crazy and who is not, expecting them to return soon.  In reality they know that their parents probably will never return and they will only continue to receive the postcards that they send from Leningrad.  DVD 9110

Les poupées russes=Russian dolls. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 129 min.). We find Xavier back after L'Auberge Espagnole and he is 30 years old now. Xavier's life is one disappointment after another. A chance meeting could be the answer for both his career and love life, but will it end up in heartbreak?  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9985

Pretendiendo=Ugly me. 2009.  1 videodisc (ca. 118 min.). Disillusioned after learning of her boyfriend's infidelity and being fired from her job, Amanda, a beautiful and talented architect, decides to start a new life, transforming herself into someone "completely different" to escape from love. However, when she meets Marcelo, a womanizer, she decides to teach him a lesson as "Helena.". Después que Amanda, una guapa y talentosa arquitecta, es humilada por su novio y despedida de su trabajo, decide empezar una nueva vida, transformándose en otra mujer "muy diferente" para escapar del amor. Pero al conocer a Marcelo, quien ve a las mujeres como conquistas, decide darle una lección en el papel de "Helena.".  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10050

El prisionero=13 Prisoner 13. 2006.  Classic Mexican cinema: Revolution trilogy: Classic Mexican cinema.  1 videodisc (76 min.). "Two gripping stories are interwoven in Prisoner 13; a son pays for his father's faults, and a desperate mother tries to save her son's life at any cost. Destiny and corruption play a trick on Carrasco when he is bribed to free a revolutionary and arrest someone in his place. Unbeknownst to him he ends up arresting his own son"--Container.  DVD 7551

Punto y raya=Step forward. 2006.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Defying the odds, a young Colombian army recruit is befriended by one of his over-the-border Venezuelan adversaries while on patrol. Enmity and friendship spark in this comedy about two guys who really have more in common than they'd like to admit.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6896

Que hacer. 2005?  1 videodisc (92 min.). This spy story-musical feature is set during the years of the Popular Unity government and the CIA's efforts to overthrow Salvador Allende's socialist government.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2207

Qué he hecho yo para merecer esto!!=What have I done to deserve this? 2003.  1 videodisc (101 min.). An absurd black comedy that centers on Gloria, a very resourceful working class housewife and cleaning woman, who is hooked on amphetamines and must contend with her crazy family.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5585

Quemar las naves=Burn the bridges. 2008.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Sebastián and Helena are two teenagers who live with their dying mother. On the death of their mother and the arrival of Juan, a lower class teenager, a painful clash is unleashed between the brother and sister about life, love and family.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7223

Quinceañera. 2006.  1 videodisc (91 min.). Magdalena is 14 and anxiously awaiting her 15th birthday where she'll celebrate her quinceaänara. Her world starts to crumble when she discovers her pregnancy after not being able to fit in her gown for her quinceaänara. Soon, she's kicked out of her home, abandoned by her family, and abandoned by her baby's father. Magdalena is then taken in by her great-granduncle, Tomas and her gay, often-in-trouble cousin, Carlos. There she finds a new family and life.  DVD 2454

La ragazza del lago=The girl by the lake . 2010.  1 videodisc (96 min.). When a beautiful young girl is found murdered in an idyllic northern Italy village, Inspector Giovanni Sanzio is called in from the capital to investigate. In a small town where nobody is what they seem, anyone could be capable of homicide and everyone may be hiding a dark secret, including Inspector Sanzio.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7340

Ratas, ratones, rateros. 2001.  1 videodisc (107 min.). Salvador, a young delinquent gets mixed up in the affairs of his ex-convict cousin who is in search of easy money and a hideout. Dragging along his family and friends, Salvador ends up destroying the few things that made sense in his life.  DVD 1036

Real women have curves. 2003.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Should she leave home, go to college and experience life? Or stay home, get married, and keep working in her sister's struggling garment factory? It may seem an easy decision, but for 18-year-old Ana, every choice she makes this summer will change her life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 656

Retrato de Teresa=A portrait of Teresa. 200.  Clásicos del cine cubano: Cine de colección Zafra Video.  1 videodisc (98 min.). Teresa, a union delegate, becomes a promoter of culture. In the opinion of her husband, their tasks detract time from household occupations, and accuses her of negligence. She reacts in defense of her emancipation. Drama addressing the crisis on the values of gender and sexism. It reflects the changes within a Cuban family, as a result of the changes that unleashed the revolution at all levels of contemporary life. Teresa is a Cuban housewife, mother, and employee in a textile factory whose involvement in political and cultural groups incurs the displeasure of her husband.  DVD 4301

The revolution trilogy 3 films. 2007.  Classic Mexican cinema.  3 videodiscs (253 min.). A trilogy of dramas set during the Mexican Revolution. The 1st film tells the story of a son who pays for his father's faults and a desperate mother who tries to save her son. The 2nd examines the corrupted ideals of the Revolution by way of an opportunistic landowner who must choose between remaining loyal to a general in Zapata's army--and facing financial ruin--or saving his own skin. The 3rd follows the adventures of six young men who leave their rural homes to join Pancho Villa's army, enduring hardship, loss, and disillusionment over the Revolution in the process.  DVD 7551-7553

Robatierra=Stolen land. 2010.  1 videodisc (73 min.). "Caught between rebel guerrillas and the Colombian army, the indigenous Nasa people fight to reclaim the ancestral land that was stolen from them while also fending off new threats of violence encroaching on their community. In a country where the people have know little bur war, the Nasa leader Lucho Acosta knows that violence will only breed more of the same. He must fight for the rights of his people in a peaceful manner. Stolen Land is a sensitive and empathetic documentary that follows Acosta as he takes the Nasa's fight from the streets of their villages to the halls of government, giving us an intimate look inside this peaceful and caring traditional community. Facing nearly insurmountable odds, Acosta and his beliefs are tested to their core. The last time an agreement was reached, nearly 20 years ago, the result was a massacre. The stakes are high and the future of the Nasa hangs in the balance."--container.  DVD 8092

Robinson Crusoe. 2004.  1 videodisc (90 min.). The year is 1659 and after a shipwreck, the sole survivor, Robinson Crusoe, is washed ashore on a deserted tropical island. Suddenly faced with a hostile and unknown wilderness, he carves out a life for himself with his bare hands. Remarkably, he learns how to survive the maddening absence of human companionship and intense loneliness. An amazing story about the human spirit's ability to endure what seems like insurmountable challenges.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5570

Rodrigo D No futuro.  2004.  1 videodisc (91 min.). A shockingly accurate and timely portrayal of the reckless existence of youths in one of the most exciting and dangerous cities in Latin America - Medellín, Colombia, in 1988. Backed with a frenetic punk rock soundtrack, the film centers around Rodrigo, a would-be drummer, and his friends who are trapped in the violence and drugs which define their turbulent lifestyle.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5919

Rosario Tijeras. 2008.  1 videodisc (117 min.). Antonio and Emilio are two upperclass friends who one day meet the beautiful and sensual narcotics assassin of Medillâin, Rosario Tijeras, "The Scissors." Moved by hatred against all those who betrayed her and incapable of showing her true feelings, Rosario makes violence her very particular style of life. Nevertheless, the three friends soon lose themselves in a distressing love triangle where they confuse the pain of love with the pain of death.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6386

Salon Mexico. 2003.  Alter's collection: Vive Mâexico! cine en 35 mm.  1 videodisc (ca. 91 min.). Mercedes trabaja como cabaretera en el Salâon Mâexico, para sostener los estudios de su hermanita Beatriz en un exclusivo internado para seänoritas, Lupe Lâopez el encargado de seguridad del cabaret estâa enamorado de Mercedes y ha descubierto su doble vida.  Haciendo pareja con el rufiâan Paco, Mercedes gana un concurso de baile, pero Paco se niega a compartir el premio.  En un ataque de desesperaciâon, ella le roba el dinero del premio.  Paco harâa todo lo posible por vengarse, pero tendrâa que enfrentar el amor y la protecciâon incondicional que Lupe le ha jurado a Mercedes. Mercedes works as a Cabaret entertainer at the Salâon Mâexico in order to support her younger sister Beatrriz at an exclusive girls' school.  Lupe Lâopez, the head of security at the Cabaret, is in love with Mercedes and has discovered her double life. With her ruffian dance partner Paco, Mercedes wins a dance competition, but Paco refuses to share the prize money.  In an act of desperation, Mercedes steals the prize money.  Paco will do whatever is necessary to seek vengence, but he will have to deal with the unconditional love and protection sworn to Mercedes by Lupe.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1468

Sangre de mi sangre=Blood of my blood. 2008.  1 videodisc (111 min.). A young man travelling to New York City from Mexico to search for his father is robbed of his identity by another man that travelled with him, in the hopes of claiming the man's wealthy father as his own.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5568

Santa sangre. 2009.  2 videodiscs (118 min.). A sadistic circus master brutally disfigures his wife after she catches him with another woman. Witness to the horror is their young son, Fenix. Traumatized, he is committed to an asylum. Freed by his armless mother twelve years later, they forge an unholy alliance. He "gives" her his arms, she takes control of his mind. Together they feed a mounting obsession of desire and revenge.  DVD 3733

Santo and the monsters box set #1. 2003.  The Santo collection.  4 videodiscs (360 min.). This special set features the first three titles in The Santo Collection plus the never-before-released title Vengeance of the Mummy. Fans will cheer as Santo battles famous villains including Dr. Frankenstein, the Wolfman and Dracula.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3536-3539

Santo contra los jinetes del terror=Santo vs. the riders of terror. 2004.  Santo collection.  1 videodisc (91 min.). One of the townsmen convinces a group of escaped lepers to help his gang carry out a few robberies in exchange for his help. Sheriff Dario calls on El Santo to help him, as the townspeople prepare to take the law into their own hands.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3537

Santo en el tesoro de Dracula. 2003.  The Santo collection.  1 videodisc (90 min.). El Santo time-travels to 19th century Transylvania in search of the infamous vampire's lost treasure.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3536

Santo y blue demon contra Dracula y el hombre lobo=Santo and Blue Demon versus Dracula and the Wolfman. 2003.  The Santo collection.  1 videodisc (90 min.). "Despues de ser derrotado por el mago, Cristaldi, Dracula regresa para vengarse en Santo y Blue Demon Contra Dracula y el Hombre Lobo. Con la ayuda del Hombre Lobo y sus seguidores, las victoria es inminente. Un descendiente del mago Cristaldi es advertido de los planes de Dracula, y pide la ayuda de El Santo y Blue Demon"--Container. After facing defeat at the hands of Cristaldi the magician, Dracula is back to seek revenge and rule the world. With the help of the Wolfman and his legion of followers, victory seems eminent. Professor Cristaldi, a descendant of the magician, is warned about Dracula's plans and calls upon El Santo and Blue Demon in the hopes that they can put the infamous count and the werewolf down for good."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3538

Santo y Mantequilla Nâapoles en la venganza de la llorona=Santo and Mantequilla Napoles in the vengeance of the crying woman. 2003.  The Santo collection.  1 videodisc (90 min.). When Eugenia finds out that her lover, whom she has three children with, is going to marry someone else, she curses his family. She will come back from the dead and kill every first born child of her lover's descendants.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3539

Mar adentro = The sea inside. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 125 min.). "[Biography of] Spaniard Ramâon Sampedro, who fought a 30-year campaign to win the right to end his life"--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1507

Secuestro express. 2006.  1 videodisc (87 min.). Two wealthy young Venezuelans are kidnapped by small-time criminals from Caracas.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9414

Selena. 97.  1 videodisc (128 min.). Chronicles the rise to fame of Selena, the Grammy Award-winning South Texas singer, whose life tragically ended at age 23 just as she was taking Tejano music where it had never gone -- into mainstream America.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5764

Señorita extraviada=Missing young woman. 2001.  1 videodisc (76 min.). Over 250 young women were kidnapped, raped and murdered from the city of Juárez, Mexico. The perpetuators of these crimes have not been apprehended, even though these crimes  have been occurring regularly since 1993.  DVD 8198

Seres queridos=Only human. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 86 min.). When Leni comes home to introduce her fiance Rafi to her idiosyncratic Jewish family, everything goes smoothly until the lovers belatedly reveal that Rafi is Palestinian.  DVD 2588

El silencio de Neto=The silence of Neto. 2004.  1 videodisc (108 min.). "Filmed in the colonial city of Antigua, The Silence of Neto tells the politically-charged story of a young boy striving to follow his dreams while his country struggles to preserve democracy amidst CIA cold-war propaganda. Through the eyes of young Neto, we are given an authentic insider's look at the diverse people of Guatemala and the historical events that have shaped their destiny."--Container.  DVD 8549

Simón del desierto=Simon of the desert. 2008.  The criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  1 videodisc (45 min.). In order to prove he is devoted to God, a 4th century saint stays on the top of a pillar for over six years while he is tempted by the devil in the form of a beautiful woman.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5578

Sin nombre. 2009.  1 videodisc (96 min.). Sayra is a beautiful young Honduran woman who joins her father and uncle on an odyssey to cross the gauntlet of the Latin American countryside en route to the United States. Along the way she crosses paths with El Casper, a teenage Mexican gang member, who is maneuvering to outrun his violent past and elude his unforgiving former associates.  DVD 6188

Los sobrevivientes=The survivors. 90.  1 videocassette (125 min.). "A bourgeois Cuban family, of aristocratic origin, locks itself into its mansion when the Cuban Revolution comes to power to sit out the bad times and preserve its class values. As time passes, the family and its servants regress through the different social systems of humanity, ending in their total destruction."--Catalog.  VHS 7310

La soga. 2011.  1 videodisc (95 min.). Based on true events in the Dominican Republic, see the personal struggle of one brave cop who revolts against his country's unscrupulous government. He risks everything in order to find justice and avenge his father's death. A riveting, emotional story of redemption in the midst of inhumane brutality and political corruption.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9085

Soldados de Salamina. 2004?  1 videodisc (112 min.). A writer is assigned to write about the Spanish Civil War. After her article is published, she receives a letter which leads her to research the shooting of the poet Rafael Sánchez. She becomes intrigued by the identity of the mysterious soldier who spared Sanchez' life.  DVD 6391

Sólo con tu pareja. 2006.  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  1 videodisc (ca. 94 min.). Don Juan-ish yuppie Tomás Tomás spends his nights juggling so many beautiful women that he can't keep their names straight. That is until one spurned nurse gives him a taste of his own medicine.  DVD 2222

South of the border.  2010.  1 videodisc (78 min.). Director Oliver Stone visits seven presidents in five countries in South America to gain some understanding about the political and social ideas and the revolutions, and to clear up how people view them. Includes interviews with Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez, Argentinean president Cristina Kirchner, Cuban president Raul Castro.  DVD 7790

Soy Cuba=I am Cuba. 2007.  3 videodiscs (141 min.). Four vignettes in Batista's Cuba dramatize the need for revolution; long mobile shots tell almost wordless stories.  DVD 331

Tacones lejanos=High heels. 2005.  1 videodisc (110 min.). The husband of a TV anchorwoman, ex-lover of her long-estranged singer-actress mother, is mysteriously killed, and both mother and daughter come under suspicion in a frenzied investigation filled with romantic mix-ups and mistaken identities.  DVD 3127

También la lluvia=Even the rain. 2010.  1 videodisc (99 min.). Set in 2000, a director and his crew shoot a controversial film about Christopher Columbus in Cochabamba, Bolivia, while the local people rise up against plans to privatize the water supply.  DVD 9314

Temporada de patos. 2006.  1 videodisc (91 min.). This film takes you into one particular Sunday morning in the lives of two fourteen-year-old boys, Flama and Moko. With their neighbor Rita and pizza delivery boy Ulises, they create their own adventures to overcome their boredom.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2114

Tesis. 99.  1 videodisc (121 min.). "Why is death and violence so fascinating? Is it morally correct to show violence in movies? If so, is there a limit to what we should show? That's the subject of Ángela's examination paper. She is a young student at a film school in Madrid. Together with the student Chema (who is totally obsessed with violent movies) they find a snuff movie in which a young girl is tortured and killed. Soon they discover that the girl was a former student at their school." --taken from imdb.com summary.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3929

La teta asustada=The milk of sorrow. 2010.  1 videodisc (94 min.). Fausta suffers from 'The Milk of Sorrow, ' an illness transmitted through mother's milk by women who've been raped during Peru's civil wars. Stricken with the fear that she's contracted the illness from her mother's breast milk, Fausta goes to extreme lengths to protect her own sexuality and safety. After her mother's sudden death, she finds herself compelled to embark on a frightening journey for re-awakening, freedom, and wholeness.  DVD 8084

Tiempo de revancha=Time for revenge. 86.  Cinemataque collection.  1 videocassette (112 min.). A demolition worker at a remote copper mine rigs a dynamite accident to blackmail the corrupt company, by pretending to have been struck speechless in a shock from the blast. The ruthless boss will to anything to break him. To collect damages, he must maintain his silence despite unbearable temptations and pressures until the shattering climax. VHS 3387

Todo el poder. 2003.  Cinema latino.  1 videodisc (ca. 102 min.). A comedy about crime in Mexico City and its effects on the city's inhabitants. A filmmaker finds himself the victim of crime and violence as frequently as three times a day.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1216

Todo sobre mi madre=All about my mother. 2009.  1 videodisc (101 min.). A woman must come to terms with the death of her 17-year-old son and her past when she seeks out her son's father.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2446

El topo=The mole. 2007.  1 videodisc (124 min.). The first part of the film follows El Topo, a gunfighter and his seven year old son on their journey across the desert as they come upon a massacre and hunt down the killers. The second part shows the death of El Topo, and the birth of his new son.  DVD 3043

La tragedia de Macario. 2006.  1 videodisc (71 min.). A Mexican peasant finds himself drawn uncontrollably to thoughts of crossing the border to find work and a more dignified life for his wife. The struggles get harder and he decides to set out on this dangerous journey, guided by faith and determination.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7209

Trópico de sangre la pelea por la libertad les costo la vida. 2010.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Based on the true story of the Mirabal sisters, politically vocal activists assassinated in 1960 while fighting to topple Dominican dictator Rafael Trujillo's bloody and oppressive reign of power.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8368

The twelve chairs. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 93 min.). An ex-nobleman of the Czarist regime and the local priest find that family jewels were hidden in a chair, one in a set of twelve. They return separately to Moscow to find the rest of the fortune.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1793

La Ultima Cena=The last supper. 2008.  1 videodisc (110 min.). The film is a dazzling moral tale of a pious late-eighteenth-century slaveholder who decides to improve his soul and instruct his slaves in the glories of Christianity by inviting twelve of them to participate in a reenactment of the Last Supper.  DVD 2262

Un Hombre de âexito=A successful man. 2006.  The Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (103 min.). Cuba's history before the Revolution is chronicled through the story of two brothers, one a revolutionary man of action, the other an unscrupulous politician trying to steer a treacherous middle path between opposing political ideas.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4333

Un oso rojo. 2003.  1 videodisc (88 min.). After seven years in prison for murder and armed robbery, "Oso" is released on parole and returns to his hometown, a depressed suburb of Buenos Aires. He knows that his wife Natalia has moved on and is living with another man, but he's determined to establish a relationship with his young daughter Alicia and to collect the money owed to him by a local crime boss.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1182

Los viajes del viento=The wind journeys. 2010.  1 videodisc (120 min.). For most of his life, Ignacio Carrillo travelled the villages of northern Colombia, playing traditional songs on his accordion, a legendary instrument said to have once belonged to the devil. He eventually married and settled in a small town, leaving the nomadic life behind. But after the traumatic death of his wife, he vows to never play the accursed accordion again, and embarks on one last journey to return the instrument to its rightful owner. He is followed by a spirited teenager determined to become his apprentice, but Ignacio tries to discourage him from following in his footsteps.   HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8946

La vida es silbar=Life is to whistle. 2002.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Three characters in present-day Havana must choose between clinging to their self-restricting beliefs, or getting rid of them to live more freely. Ballerina Mariana has promised God celibacy if she gets the role of "Giselle"; social-worker Julia always faints after hearing a certain word; and pot-smoking percussionist Elpidio was abandoned by his mother, coincidentally named Cuba, some time ago and has not yet gotten over the loss.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3739

El violin. 2008.  Film Movement series.  1 videodisc (98 min.). In rural Mexico, during the peasant revolts of the 1970s, Plutarco, his son Genaro and grandson Lucio lead double lives. On the one hand, they are simple country musicians, and on the other they actively support the peasant guerrilla movement against the oppressor government. When the army occupies the village, the rebels are forced to flee and leave their ammunition behind. Making the most of the fact that he looks like an inoffensive violinist, Plutarco has a plan: to recover the munitions hidden in his cornfield. His music enraptures the captain, but he still has to get his hands on the ammunition.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4082

La virgen de los sicarios=Our lady of the assassins. 2002.  Widescreen DVD collection.  1 videodisc (100 min.). An older writer, Fernando, returns to his hometown, Medellin, Colombia. There he falls in love with 16-year-old assassin, Alexis. After Alexis is killed, Fernando hunts for his killer in the Medellin slums and falls in love with Wilmar, a boy who resembles Alexis.  DVD 342

Viridiana. 2006.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  1 videodisc (91 min.). A powerful film widely considered to one of Buñuel's most important works. Viridiana, about to take final religious vows, visits her uncle at his country estate. He drugs her and attempts rape, finds he cannot go through with it, and hangs himself, leaving the estate to Viridiana and his illegitimate son, Jorge. While Jorge pursues plans to modernize the estate, Viridiana attempts to convert it into a haven for derelicts. Left alone, the beggars take over the house for a feast which becomes an orgy; one of the beggars rapes Viridiana when she and Jorge return home.  After the beggars are dispersed by police, Viridiana assumes more modern dress and joins in a card game with Jorge and his mistress.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5159

Viva Cuba. 2007.  Film Movement series.  1 videodisc (80 min.). In a tale akin to "Romeo and Juliet," the friendship between two children is threatened by their parents' differences. Malú is from an upper-class family and her single mother does not want her to play with Jorgito, as she thinks his background coarse and commonplace. Jorgito's mother a poor socialist proud of her family's social standing, places similar restrictions on her son. What neither woman recognizes is the immense strength of the bond between Malú and Jorgito. When the children learn that Malú's mother is planning to leave Cuba, they decide to travel to the other side of the island to find Malú's father and persuade him against signing the forms that would allow it.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3055

Viva la muerte=Long live death. 2005.  1 videodisc (87 min.). Fando is a young boy whose father has been arrested for treason during the Spanish civil war. He struggles with his father's arrest, and in a shocking moment discovers a letter in which his mother admits to betraying his father. His mother convinces him that his father committed suicide in prison, but Fando doubts this and attempts to discover his father's true fate.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4280

Voces inocentes=Innocent voices. 2007.  1 videodisc (111 min.). In war torn 1980's El Salvador, Chava, an eleven-year-old boy, suddenly becomes the 'man of the house' in a time when the government's army is forcibly recruiting children for civil war. As his single mother fights to protect her children, their village becomes both playground and battlefield. This is about life, love, the hope of peace, and the ennobling power of the human spirit. Based on a true story.  DVD 4633

Volver. 2007.  1 videodisc (121 min.). Raimunda lives in Madrid with her daughter Paula and her drunk husband Paco. Her sister, Sole, is separated and works clandestinely as a hairstylist for women. Years ago, in the sisters birth village, they lost their parents in a fire in La Mancha. Their aunt, Paula, still lives in the village and continues to speak about her sister Irene, mother of the two sisters, as if she were still alive. When the old aunt dies the situation changes and the past returns(volver).  DVD 2656

Warnung vor einer heiligen Nutte=Beware of a holy whore. 2003.  1 videodisc (103 min.). In a Spanish coastal hotel, the cast and crew of a film wait for the director, the star and the production money. When the director finally arrives he makes life miserable for everyone. The group is left to petty bickering, attempts at amusement and desperate contacts to make it through the filming of the movie.  DVD 4719

XXY. 2008.  Film Movement series .  1 videodisc (90 min.). The pick-up artist: Olli only wants to have noncommittal sex, but that becomes difficult when he meets the 6-year-old daughter of his one-night stand. XXY: The dramatic story of a 15-year-old intersex adolescent born with what the doctors call 'ambiguous genitalia,' whose parents moved from Buenos Aires to an isolated cabin outside of Piriápolis, Uruguay, to protect their child from prejudice.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4085

Y tu mamá también=And your mother too. 2002.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Two teens set off on a wild cross-country trip with seductive, 28-year-old Luisa.  Lisa schools them in the finer points of passion, but will their mutual desire for her destroy their friendship forever?  DVD 454

Yo, la peor de todas=I, the worst of all . 2003.  1 videodisc (107 min.). This historical drama tells the story of Juana Inés de la Cruz, one of the greatest poets of the Spanish Siglo de Oro. In order to pursue her passion for writing, Juana enters the convent. There, she develops an intimate relationship with the vicereine, who inspires her poetry. But when the forces of the Inquisition invade the convent, the women have only each other to turn to.  DVD 1162