Skip to main content

Filmography - Documentaries, 500 Essential: Home

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017

Filmography - 500 Essential Documentaries (and Mockumentaries) to Watch Before You Graduate

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017.

See also: Films for Teaching School of Communication Topics

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentication by AUID#.

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete video holdings search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

12 O'Clock Boys. 2013. 1 videodisc (76 min.).  The 12 O'Clock Boys are a notorious urban dirt bike pack in Baltimore that pops wheelies, weaves at excessive speeds through traffic, and impressively evades the hamstrung police. Their antics are viewed through the eyes of adolescent Taekwon Ford, known as Pug, a bright kid from the Westside obsessed with the riders and willing to do anything to join their ranks. DVD 11778

The 3 rooms of melancholia. 2004.  1 videodisc (104 min.). Reveals the psychological devastation the Chechen conflict has inflicted on children. Focuses on three rooms: a military academy near St. Petersburg; Crozny, Chechnya where families struggle to survive in barely habitable buildings; and, the nearby republic of Ingushetia where refugee camps are set up. Using minimal dialogue and evocative music, the film depicts the emotional state of children affected by war.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6139

30 for 30. 2009 -2017.  Series of documentaries, originally 30 though since then many more have been added, produced by ESPN focusing on captivating sports stories from the past 30+ years. Essential viewing. The band that wouldn’t die; Small potatoes: Who killed the USFL?; The U; Run Ricky run; The two Escobars; Little big Ben; Once brothers; The best that never was.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7901-7914 - check catalog for later additions

4 little girls. 1997.  1 videodisc (102 min.). When a bomb tears through the basement of a black Baptist church on a peaceful fall morning, it takes the lives of four young girls; Denise McNair, Carole Robertson, Cynthia Wesley and Addie Mae Collins. This racially motivated crime, taking place at a time when the civil rights movement is burning with a new flame, could have doused that flame forever. Instead it fuels a nation's outrage and brings Birmingham, Alabama to the forefront of America's concern.  DVD 1888

The act of killing. 2012. 2 videodiscs (122 min. ; 166 min.).   Cinedigm. The filmmakers examine a country where death squad leaders are celebrated as heroes, challenging them to reenact their real-life mass-killings in the style of the American movies they love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12262

An African election.  2011, 1 videodisc (89 min.).  In 2008, director Jarreth Merz returns to his boyhood home of Ghana to find himself. That all changes when he discovers a country churning with political, social and economic turmoil. Ghana is on the cusp of its presidential election and Merz pulls us with him into the political machine. Following key candidates for three months, he provides an insider's view into the lives of the Ghanaian people and the larger-than-life politicians who will do anything to win. The film beautifully captures the enduring pride of the Ghanaian people, and presents a window into the range of challenges they face. An African election is a powerful and suspenseful documentary, offering a unique story about the struggles of a third world democracy in the global eye. DVD 10089

Afrique, je te plumerai = Africa, I'm going to fleece you. 1992.  The library of African cinema: Library of African cinema.  1 video file (89 min.). Examines how Cameroon's French colonizers have been replaced by a dictatorial indigenous regime which still plunders the land and silences the authentic expression of its people. A case study of the devastation of traditional African societies by imposed colonial cultures.  Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=534851

After Tiller. 2013. 1 videodisc (88 min.).  "After Tiller intimately explores the highly controversial subject of third-trimester abortions in the wake of the 2009 assassination of practitioner Dr. George Tiller. The procedure is now performed by only four doctors in the United States, all former colleagues of Dr. Tiller, who risk their lives every day in the name of their unwavering commitment toward their patients. Directors Martha Shane and Lana Wilson have created a moving and unique exploration of one of the most incendiary topics of our time, and they've done so in an informative, thought-provoking, and compassionate way." - from Oscilloscope Laboratories website. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11785

The agronomist. 2003.  1 videodisc (91 min.). Tells the story of Haitian national hero, journalist, and freedom fighter Jean Dominique, whom Demme first met and filmed in 1986. As owner and operator of his nation's oldest and only free radio station, Dominique was frequently at odds with his country's various repressive governments and spent much of the 80's and early 90's in exile in New York, where Demme continued to interview him over the years. Dominique fought tirelessly against his country's overwhelming injustice, oppression, and poverty, but it was his shocking and still-unsolved assassination in April of 2000 that gave the director the impetus to assemble more than a decade's worth of material into a celebration of this dynamic man's life and legacy.  DVD 2186

Ai Weiwei: Never sorry. 2012, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  This is a documentary that chronicles artist and activist Ai Weiwei as he prepares for a series of exhibitions and gets into an increasing number of clashes with the Chinese government . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10873

Aileen: Life and death of a serial killer. 2003.  1 videodisc (89 min.). Nick Broomfield explores the life of Aileen Wuornos, the prostitute executed in Florida for killing six men. Includes examinations of her childhood, testimony at her trial by Broomfield, and a chilling speech by Wuornos herself.  DVD 1025

Air guitar nation. 2006.  1 videodisc (81 min.). A battle of naked ambition played out on the national and, ultimately, world stage, this film chronicles the birth of the US Air Guitar Championships as legions of aspiring rock stars compete to become the greatest air guitarist in the world. Samurai warrior C. Diddy emerges as an early favorite, but Bjorn Tèuroque is not far behind. Will Bjorn’s technical prowess, attitude, and "airness" be enough to take him to the top-- or will C. Diddy conquer all to become America's first supreme being of air guitar?  DVD 3806

Amandla! a revolution in four part harmony. 2002.  1 videodisc (103 min.). Tells the story of black South African freedom music and the central role it played against apartheid. Specifically considers the music that sustained and galvanized blacks for more than 40 years. Focuses on the struggle's spiritual dimension named for the Xhosa word for "power". An uplifting story of human courage, resolve and triumph.  DVD 1326

American dream. 1990.  1 videodisc (102 min.). American dream: True story of a workers 1985-1986 strike against Geo. A. Hormel & Company in Austin, Minnesota. When the company made $2 million in profits and then cut their worker's salary by $2 an hour, the workers had only one option: strike. Children of the night: "More than a million Jewish children died in the Holocaust. This brief film is the result of a world-wide search for archival material showing some of these children. The footage we discovered - in the U.S.A., Israel, Britain, France and Germany - was often in extremely poor condition and always silent. It reveals the barest trace of what was lost."--Title screen. 18 min.  DVD 6051

An American family. 1973.  1 videodisc (120 min.). On January 11, 1973, Americans stepped into the home of the Loud family of Santa Barbara, California. Chronicling the lives of its family members, the series made them household names. During the seven months that they lived in front of the camera, viewers watched dramatic life events unfold, including Pat asking for a separation from her husband Bill, and the bohemian New York lifestyle of their gay son, Lance. A 2-hour compilation of the most memorable and compelling moments of the series.  DVD 9057

American hardcore The history of American punk rock 1980-1986. 2006.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Set against the conservative early 80s political landscape, this film chronicles the homegrown hardcore scene that was a swift kick in the head to corporate rock and mainstream complacency, as disaffected teens adopted the same collective credo--harder, faster, louder. Features live concert footage and interviews with people involved in the scene.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9141

American movie: The making of Northwestern. 1999.  Sony Pictures classics.  1 videodisc (104 min.). Documentary of the two-year effort by Mark Borchardt to finish his "no-budget horror film, Coven.".  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 131

L'amour fou. 2010, 1 videodisc (103 min.).  "Few, if any, changed fashion like Yves Saint Laurent did in the 20th century.  ...follows the indelible icon through the eyes of lifetime love and business partner Pierre Bergé--from his early days as a design prodigy for Christian Dior through his decades as the face of a fashion empire. ...captures the complete man behind the monogram, whose private struggles with depression and substance abuse often underscored his triumphs and innovations"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11841

Amy. 2015. 1 videodisc (approximately 128 min.).  The incredible story of six-time Grammy winner Amy Winehouse - in her own words. Featuring extensive unseen archival footage and previously unheard tracks, this strikingly modern, moving, and vital film shines a light on our culture and the world we live in today. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1287

Anvil! The story of Anvil! 2008.  1 videodisc (82 min.). "At 14, two Toronto schoolmates -- Steve 'Lips' Kudlow and Robb Reiner -- made a pact to rock together forever... Forming the band Anvil, the duo released one of the heaviest albums of all time -- 'Metal on Metal' -- influencing some of the biggest names in rock, including Metallica, Slayer and Anthrax. But while those bands went on to sell millions of albums and achieve international fame, Anvil's career took a different path - straight to obscurity. Until now..." -- Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3461

Architecture of doom. 1991.  1 videodisc (119 min.). Looks at the rise of the Nazi Party in Germany from the perspective of Hitler's use of the arts in Nazi policy and propaganda.  DVD 1148

The Armstrong lie. 2013. 1 videodisc (124 min.).  In 2009 Alex Gibney was hired to make a film about Lance Armstrong's comeback to cycling. The project was shelved when the doping scandal erupted, and re-opened after Armstrong's confession. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11249

Art & copy. 2009.  1 videodisc (89 min.). A powerful film about advertising and inspiration. It reveals the work and wisdom of some of the most influential advertising creatives of our time, people who've profoundly impacted our culture. Their work grabbed the attention of millions and truly moved them. The social and cultural impact of their ads are brought to light in this dynamic exploration of art, commerce, and human emotion.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3119

The art of the steal. 2013.  1 videodisc (101 min.). "Founded in 1922 by wealthy American drug developer and art collector Albert C. Barnes, the Barnes Foundation became the finest collection of paintings by Renoir, Cezanne, Matisse, Van Gogh and other masters. Housed in Lower Merion, Pennsylvania, the Barnes Foundation was envisioned by Barnes as an art school, not a public museum, but ever since Barnes death in 1951, the fight over its future has been underway. On one side are the artists, historians and lawyers defending Barnes wish that the entire collection (valued at over $25 billion) never be moved, loaned or sold; and on the other side, the politicians, huge charitable trusts, tourism boards and rich socialites pushing to relocate it to downtown Philadelphia." --taken from container.  DVD 7698

At the death house door. 2008.  1 videodisc (98 min.). An intimate look at the death penalty in the state of Texas through the eyes of Pastor Carroll Pickett, who served 15 years as the death house chaplain to the infamous 'Walls' prison unit in Huntsville. During Pickett's remarkable career he presided over 95 executions, including the world's first lethal injection. After each execution, Pickett recorded an audiotape account of his trip to the death chamber.  DVD 6031

The atomic cafe. 1982.  1 videodisc (ca. 88 min.). A documentary exploration of the United States government's propaganda promoting the atomic bomb. Relies on film clips of the 1940's and 1950's, including bits and pieces of propoganda films, newsreels, popular songs, and defense training films.  DVD 536

The ax fight. 1975.  1 videodisc (30 min.). A four-part analysis of a fight in a Yanomamo Indian village between local descent groups. Includes an unedited record of the event; a slow-motion replay of the fight; a discussion of the kinship structure of the fight; and an edited version.  DVD 2579

A band called Death.  2012, 1 videodisc (96 min.).  Equal parts electrifying rockumentary and epic family love story, A BAND CALLED DEATH chronicles the incredible fairy-tale journey of what happened almost three decades later, when a dusty 1974 demo tape made its way out of the attic and found an audience several generations younger. Playing music impossibly ahead of its time, Death is now being credited as the first black punk band (hell...the first punk band!), and are finally receiving their long overdue recognition as true rock pioneers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4397

Baraka. 1992.  2 videodiscs (97 min.). Shot in 24 countries on six continents, this film, without narration or dialogue, presents a visual spectacle emphasizing religious ritual as well as addressing the human condition and the idea of humanity vis-à-vis nature.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4925

Baseball. 1994-2010. 10 videodiscs (1140 min.). It is an epic overflowing with heroes and hopefuls, scoundrels and screwballs. It is a saga spanning the quest for racial justice, the clash of labor and management, the transformation of popular culture, and the unfolding of the national pastime. Here is the story of a nation at work and play. Experience it in ten thrilling "innings" from master storyteller and award-winning filmmaker Ken Burns.  DVD 6310-6320

The battle of Algiers. 1966.  3 videodiscs (125 min.). Focuses on the harrowing events of 1957, a key year in Algeria's struggle for independence from France. Recreates the tumultuous Algerian uprising against the occupying French in the 1950s. As violence escalates on both sides, the French torture prisoners for information and the Algerians resort to terrorism in their quest for independence. Children shoot soldiers at point-blank range, women plant bombs in cafés. The French win the battle, but ultimately lose the war as the Algerian people demonstrate that they will no longer be suppressed.  DVD 950

The battle of Chile: The struggle of an unarmed people. 1975-1979. 4 videodiscs (263 min). "On September 11, 1973, President Salvador Allende's democratically-elected Chilean government was overthrown in a bloody coup by General Augusto Pinochet's army. Patricio Guzmán and five colleagues had been filming the political developments in Chile throughout the nine months leading up to that day. The bombing of the Presidential Palace, during which Allende died, would now become the ending for Guzmán's seminal documentary The Battle of Chile, an epic chronicle of that country's open and peaceful socialist revolution, and of the violent counter revolution against it."--Container.  DVD 6791-6794

The beaches of Agnès. 2008.  1 videodisc (107 min.). An autobiographical reflection on art, life and the movies from director Agnès Varda. Varda takes beaches as her point of departure, and weaves photographs, vintage footage, film clips, and present-day sequences into a memorable voyage through her life, during which she confronts the joy of creation and the pain of personal loss, death and aging. It is a singular trip played out against the exciting context of the postwar explosion of cultural expression in France. She knew everyone: her colleagues in the French New Wave, the Black Panthers in California and even Jim Morrison, who would visit when in Paris.  DVD 6936

Beetle queen conquers Tokyo. 2009.  1 videodisc (90 min.). This documentary explores Japan's fascination and love affair with insects. The film intertwines their love for something so mundane, be it a beetle or butterfly, with their cultural values and traditions. In the end, it challenges viewers to not only alter their view of insects but also our lives.  DVD 9432

Berkeley in the sixties. 1990.  1 videodisc (118 min.). Through interviews with participants and archival footage, presents a history of the student protests in Berkeley, California in the 1960s.  DVD 5238

Berlin, symphony of a great city. 1927.  1 videodisc (62 min.). A cross section of life in Berlin from dawn to midnight on a late spring day. Uses montage, cutting, and editing to capture the pulse and tempo of this city.  DVD 3437

Best boy / Best man. 1979.  2 videodiscs (191 min.). Best boy: "follows Philly Wohl, a cheerful and lovable 52 year old who's been mentally handicapped since birth and still lives with his parents. When his cousin, filmmaker Ira Wohl, questions what will happen to Philly once his elderly parents can no longer care for him, the family embarks on a mission to help Philly become more independent"--Container. Best man: follow-up to Best boy which revisits Philly 20 years later.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2772

Best of enemies. 2015. 1 videodisc (88 min.).  Dead last in the ratings in 1968, ABC hired two towering public intellectuals to debate each other during the Democratic and Republican national conventions. William F. Buckley Jr. was a leading light of the new conservative movement. A Democrat and cousin to Jackie Onassis, Gore Vidal was a leftist novelist and polemicist. Armed with deep-seated distrust and enmity, Vidal and Buckley believed each other's political ideologies were dangerous for America. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12748

Best worst movie. 2009.  1 videodisc (93 min.). In 1989, a group of unknown Utah actors starred in what would be crowned the worst movie of all time: Troll 2. Now, after two decades of running from this cinematic disaster, the cast can no longer hide from the legion of followers who celebrate them for their ineptitude.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7880

Bigger, stronger, faster*. 2008.  1 videodisc (106 min.). A look at how Americans see themselves as having to be the best in the world, and what some people will do in order to achieve that title.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4867

Biggie & Tupac. 2002.  1 videodisc (103 min.). Nick Broomfield looks into the murders of Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur. Talks with their family, friends, business associates and the police. Investigates the rumors of police corruption and music industry betrayals that turned these teenage friends into enemies.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1000

Bill Cunningham New York. 2010.  1 videodisc (84 min.). For decades, Bill Cunningham "has been obsessively and inventively chronicling fashion trends and high society charity soirées for the New York Times Style section in his columns 'On the Street' and 'Evening Hours.'" Presented "is a delicate, funny and often poignant portrait of a dedicated artist whose only wealth is his own humanity and unassuming grace"--Container.  DVD 9117

The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the revolution. 2015. 1 videodisc (approximately 120 min.). "The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution is the first feature length documentary to explore the Black Panther Party, its significance to the broader American culture, its cultural and political awakening for black people, and the painful lessons wrought when a movement derails. Master documentarian Stanley Nelson goes straight to the source, weaving a treasure trove of rare archival footage with the voices of the people who were there: police, FBI informants, journalists, white supporters and detractors, and Black Panthers who remained loyal to the party and those who left it. Featuring Kathleen Cleaver, Elaine Brown, Emory Douglas, Jamal Joseph, and many others, it’s an essential history and a vibrant chronicle of this pivotal movement that birthed a new revolutionary culture in America."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13025

Black power mixtape 1967-1975. 2011.  1 videodisc (100 min.). "THE BLACK POWER MIXTAPE 1967-1975 mobilizes a treasure trove of 16mm material shot by Swedish journalists who came to the US drawn by stories of urban unrest and revolution. Gaining access to many of the leaders of the Black Power Movement Stokely Carmichael, Bobby Seale, Angela Davis and Eldridge Cleaver among them the filmmakers captured them in intimate moments and remarkably unguarded interviews. Thirty years later, this lush collection was found languishing in the basement of Swedish Television." Description from mrqe.com.  DVD 9430

Blackfish. 2013. 1 videodisc (83 min.).  A discussion on the keeping of intelligent creatures in captivity. Employs the story of Tilikum, the notorious performing whale who, unlike orcas in the wild, has taken the lives of several people while in captivity. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8893

Blood in the face. 1991.  1 videodisc (78 mins.). A closeup view of today's far right movement that reveals the workings of the Ku Klux Klan, the American Nazi Party, the Aryan Nations, and David Duke.  DVD 3267

Blue vinyl. 2002.  1 videodisc (97 min.). An investigation of vinyl siding and its effects on people and the environment. Filmmakers Judith Helfand and Daniel B. Gold set out in search of the truth about polyvinyl chloride (PVC), America's most popular plastic. From Long Island to Louisiana to Italy, they unearth the facts about PVC and its effects on human health and the environment. Back at the starter ranch, Helfand coaxes her terribly patient parents into replacing their vinyl siding on the condition that she can find a healthy, affordable alternative.  DVD 2188

Bobby Fischer against the world. 2011, 1 videodisc (ca. 93 min.).  In the '70s, Chess was a Cold War sport. Since the end of WWII, the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. had been locked in mortal combat for supremacy of just about everything, and Bobby Fischer was America's hope. Chess prodigies aren't that rare, but Bobby Fischer made chess sexy, an almost impossible task. He captured the world's imagination, and he proved that the U.S. could produce a champion in a game where the winners always seemed to be Russians. Chess would seem to make a terrible spectator sport, but somehow this man ratcheted all of it up to new heights. Chess fans will find it short on details on what made his game unique, but most will find this a great portrait of a man who was so brilliant that it made him intensely unhappy. He couldn't handle his own genius, and in the end, that was what destroyed him. He wasn't a man against the world, but rather a man against himself. That was the one opponent he could never best. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5162

The bombing of Osage Avenue. 2006.  1 videodisc (58 min.). Documents the military-style eviction of the Philadelphia-based project M.O.V.E., which turned an American neighborhood into a war zone.  DVD 1942

Born into brothels. 2004.  1 videodisc (83 min.). Two documentary filmmakers chronicle their time in Sonagchi, Calcutta and the relationships they developed with children of prostitutes who work the city's notorious red light district. While living in the red light district of Calcutta, documenting life in the brothels, New York-based photographer Zana Briski embarked on a project by which she gave cameras to the children of prostitutes and taught them photography, awakening within them hidden talent and creativity and giving them a means to transform their lives.  DVD 1518

Bowling for Columbine. 2002.  2 videodiscs. The United States of America is notorious for its astronomical number of people killed by firearms for a developed nation without a civil war. With his signature sense of angry humor, activist filmmaker Michael Moore sets out to explore the roots of this bloodshed.  DVD 616

The boys of Baraka. 2005.  1 videodisc (84 min.). Follows a group of 12-year-old boys from the most violent ghettos of Baltimore to the Baraka School, an experimental boarding school in rural Kenya, where children live by strict guidelines, yet are given the freedom to grow.  DVD 8126

Brooklyn castle 2012. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Brooklyn Castle tells the stories of five members of the chess team at a below-the-poverty-line inner city junior high school that has won more national championships than any other in the country. The I.S. 318 team’s victories go beyond a room full of trophies-through chess they learn patience and long-term planning, and the importance of analyzing the wrong or right decisions they make after the game. Chess provides skills that will serve them well for the rest of their lives, regardless of what profession they choose. The film follows the challenges these kids face in their personal lives as well as on the chessboard and demonstrates remarkable and improbable achievements of this dedicated team. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2826 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=65961

Brother's keeper. 2013.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Delbert Ward "confessed" to suffocating his ailing brother as an act of mercy, but the residents of the village of Munsville, where the Ward brothers lived, believed he had been framed. Film examines the real-life murder mystery of whether Delbert Ward, an uneducated hermit with a low IQ murdered his brother or was the victim of police abuse.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5597

Buena Vista Social Club. 1999.  1 videodisc (105 min.). In 1996, music legend Ry Cooder went to Cuba to search for buried treasure. He found gold. Looking for lost songs and forgotten singers, Cooder discovered an exotic land of passion, sensuality and music.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 265

Bukowski: Born into this. 2003.  1 videodisc (ca. 113 min.). Comprehensive documentary of Charles Bukowski (1920-1994) - international celebrity, poet, novelist and underground cult icon.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1952

Bully. 2011, 1 videodisc (99 min.).  This is a character-driven documentary following five kids and families over the course of a school year.  Offering insight into different facets of America's bullying crisis, the stories include two families who have lost children to suicide and a mother awaiting the fate of her 14-year-old daughter, who has been incarcerated after bringing a gun on her school bus. Documentary provides an intimate and often shocking glimpse into homes, classrooms, cafeterias and principals' offices. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10989

Burden of dreams. 1982. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Goes behind the scenes in the making of Werner Herzog's Fitzcarraldo, the story of one man's attempt to build an opera house deep in the Amazon jungle. Filmmaker Les Blank captured the production, made perilous by Herzog's determination not to use models or special effects.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1766

Burma VJ: Reporting from a closed country . 2008.  1 videodisc (84 min.). Acclaimed filmmaker, Anders Østergaard, brings us close to the video journalists who deliver the footage. Though risking torture and life in jail, courageous young citizens of Burma live the essence of journalism as they insist on keeping up the flow of news from their closed country. Armed with small handycams the Burma VJs stop at nothing to make their reportages from the streets of Rangoon. Their material is smuggled out of the country and broadcast back into Burma via satellite and offered as free usage for international media. The whole world has witnessed single event clips made by the VJs, but for the very first time, their individual images have been carefully put together and at once, they tell a much bigger story. The film offers a unique insight into high-risk journalism and dissidence in a police state, while at the same time providing a thorough documentation of the historical and dramatic days of September 2007, when the Buddhist monks started marching.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7325

Bus 174. 2002.  1 videodisc (133 min.). A powerful, award-winning examination of the tragic series of events that followed a desperate bus hijacking in Rio de Janeiro in 2000 that turned deadly when a SWAT team took evasive action against the drug-addled hijacker.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 896