Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Documentaries, 500 Essential: C-D

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017

Filmography - 500 Essential Documentaries (and Mockumentaries) to Watch Before You Graduate

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017.

See also: Films for Teaching School of Communication Topics

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentication by AUID#.

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete video holdings search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

Call me Kuchu. 2012, 1 videodisc (86 min.).  In Uganda, a new bill threatens to make homosexuality punishable by death. David Kato, Uganda's first openly gay man, and retired Anglican Bishop Christopher Senyonjo work against the clock to defeat state-sanctioned homophobia. But one year into filming and just three weeks after a landmark legal victory, David is brutally murdered. This depicts the last year in the life of a courageous man whose wisdom, achievements and memory has inspired a new generation of human rights advocates. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9019

Cameraperson. 2016. 2 videodiscs (103 min.). A boxing match in Brooklyn; life in postwar Bosnia and Herzegovina; the daily routine of a Nigerian midwife; an intimate family moment at home with the director: Kirsten Johnson weaves these scenes and others into her film, a tapestry of footage captured over her twenty-five-year career as a documentary cinematographer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13957

Cane toads: An unnatural history. 1988.  1 videodisc (65 min.). Documents the history of the Cane toad in Australia. The cane toad - Bufo marinus - was imported to Australia in 1935 in an attempt to rid the country of the greyback beetle, which was devouring the sugarcane crop. Problem was, the beetle could fly, and the cane toad couldn't. What the cane toad was unusually proficient at, however, was making more cane toads. A humorous look at a serious problem.  DVD 3247

Capitalism: A love story. 2009.  1 videodisc (127 min.). Filmmaker Moore examines the history of free-market capitalism in post-Reagan America and questions its efficacy as the basis for the nation's economy.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7175

Capturing the Friedmans. 2003.  2 videodiscs (108 min.). The Friedman's seem to be a typical family from affluent Great Neck, Long Island. One Thanksgiving, as the family gathers for a quiet holiday dinner, a police battering ram splinters the front door and officers rush inside. The police charge Arnold and his son Jesse with hundreds of shocking crimes. As police investigate, and the community reacts, the fabric of the family begins to disintegrate, revealing questions about justice, family and finally the truth.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 725

Cartel land. 2015. 1 videodisc (101 min.).  In the Mexican state of Michoacán Dr. José Mireles, a small-town physician known as "El Doctor," leads the Autodefensas, a citizen uprising against the violent Knights Templar drug cartel. Meanwhile, in Arizona's Altar Valley, Tim "Nailer" Foley, an American veteran, heads a small paramilitary group called Arizona Border Recon, whose goal is to stop Mexico's drug wars from seeping across our border.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13133

The case of the grinning cat. 2004.  1 videodisc (58 min.). In November 2001, Chris Marker became intrigued by the sudden appearance of grinning yellow cat paintings on Paris buildings and began to document them , as well as other incidents and protests in the city of Paris while he filmed. The creator is eventually revealed to be an art collective known as Mr. Chat.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4927

Catfish. 2010, 1 videodisc (88 min.).  In late 2007, filmmakers Ariel Schulman and Henry Joost sensed a story unfolding as they began to film the life of Ariel's brother, Yaniv (Nev). They had no idea that their project would lead to the most exhilarating and unsettling months of their lives. A reality thriller that is a shocking product of our times, Catfish is a riveting story of love, deception and grace within a labyrinth of online intrigue . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9273

Cave of forgotten dreams. 2010.  1 videodisc (90 min.). A breathtaking new documentary from the incomparable Werner Herzog, follows an exclusive expedition into the nearly inaccessible Chauvet Cave in France, home to the most ancient visual art known to have been created by man. An unforgettable cinematic experience that provides an unique glimpse of pristine artwork dating back to human hands over 30,000 years ago, almost twice as old as any previous discovery.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9275

CBS reports: The homosexuals. 1967.  1 videodisc (58 min.). Mike Wallace hosts a social documentary on homosexuality in the United States. The program investigates some of the medical, legal, and social aspects of homosexuality in the 1960s. Includes interviews with several homosexual men who describe their experiences as well as interviews with people in Boise, Idaho where a newspaper editorial sparked a one-year investigation, ruining many lives in the process. Also included is an interchange between author Gore Vidal and Columbia University professor Albert Goldman on the effects of homosexuality on society in general.  DVD 3770

The celluloid closet. 1995. 1 videodisc (101 min.). Assembles footage from over 120 films showing the changing face of cinema homosexuality from cruel stereotypes to covert love to the activist cinema of the 1990s. Many actors, writers and commentators provide anecdotes regarding the history of the role of gay men and lesbians on the silver screen.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5696

The Central Park five. 2012. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Chronicles America’s complicated perceptions of race and crime through the story of the "Central Park 5" -- a group of minority teenagers wrongfully convicted and jailed for brutally raping a white woman in New York. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6371

Century of self. 2002.  2 videodiscs (236 min.). Four programs describing the psycho/social issues affecting 20th century consumerism against the backdrop of the development of Freudian psychology.  DVD 4438

Chang a drama of the wilderness. 1927.  1 videodisc (69 min.). "Shot entirely in Siam, the film tells the story of a farmer and his family who have settled a small patch of land on the edge of the jungle. Their existence is a constant struggle against the many wild animals around, "--Container.  DVD 4438

Chasing ice. 2012, 1 videodisc (75 min).  Chronicles the efforts of nature photographer James Balog to document the receding of the Solheim glacier in Iceland, a consequence of climate change and global warming, in which strategically placed cameras would take one picture every hour for three years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3912

Checkpoint. 2003.  1 videodisc (79 min.). Over three million Palestinians live in The West Bank and Gaza Strip, which has been under Israeli military authority since 1967. This documents the impact of the enforced boundaries known as "checkpoints" on the Israeli border, the border guards drafted to monitor them and the Palestinian citizens who must pass through them daily.  DVD 3376

Chile, obstinate memory. 1997.  1 videodisc (57 min.). The director Patricio Guzman returns to Chile to show his original documentary, Battle of Chile, a film banned from the country until that point.  DVD 6794

Chronicle of a summer. 2013, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  The result of collaboration between filmmaker-anthropologist Jean Rouch and sociologist Edgar Morin, this work of what Morin would term cinema verite is a sociopolitical diagnosis of the early sixties in France. By interviewing a group of Paris residents in the summer of 1960, Rouch and Morin reveal the hopes and dreams of a wide array of people and give us a document of a time and place with extraordinary depth. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11005

Citizenfour. 2014. 2 videodiscs (113 min.).  With unprecedented access, this gripping behind-the-scenes chronicle follows award winning director Laura Poitras and journalist Glenn Greenwald's remarkable encounters with whistle-blower Edward Snowden in a hotel room in Hong Kong, as he hands over classified documents that provide evidence of mass indiscriminate and illegal invasions of privacy by the NSA. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12484

The city. 1939.  1 videodisc (131 min.). Made for the 1939 New York World's Fair ("The World of Tomorrow"), 'The City' is a seminal documentary film distinguished for the organic integration of narration (scripted by city planner Lewis Mumford), cinematography (Ralph Steiner and Willard Van Dyke) and music (Aaron Copland). The score, arguably Copland's highest achievement in film, was also his ticket to Hollywood; it has been called "an astonishing missing link not only in the genesis of Copland's Americana style but in American music and cinema" (Mark Swed, 'The Los Angeles Times'). As the film contains no dialogue, it is possible to create a fresh soundtrack and discover musical riches inaudible on the original monaural recording. As Copland created no suite from 'The City', the present DVD at the same time marks the world premiere recording of this music in its entirety.  DVD 5895

The Civil War. 1990.  5 videodiscs (660 min.). An epic documentary bringing life to America's most destructive - and defining - conflict. Here is the saga of celebrated generals and the ordinary soldiers. A heroic and transcendent president and a country that had to divide itself in two in order to become one again.  DVD 4731-4735

Client 9: The rise and fall of Eliot Spitzer. 2010.  1 videodisc (117 min.). When he was NY's Attorney General, Eliot Spitzer prosecuted crimes by America's largest financial institutions and some of the most powerful executives in the country. After his election as governor, with the largest margin in the state's history, many believed Spitzer was on his way to becoming the nation's first Jewish president. Then, shockingly, Spitzer's meteoric rise turned into a precipitous fall when the New York Times revealed that Spitzer had been caught seeing prostitutes.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8011

Close-up. 1990. 2 videodiscs (98 min.).  The Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). Close-Up is the true story of Hossain Sabzian, a poor, underemployed, divorced, father of two. He is obsessed with the cinema. In 1989, Sabzian convinced the Ahankhah family that he was Iranian filmmaker Moshen Makhmalbaf (The Silence) and that he would cast them in his next film. Eventually, the family caught on to the ruse and contacted the authorities, leading to Sabzian's arrest. A journalist wrote a column about the incident that Kiarostami read. The director quickly put together a crew and set about to film the trial as well as restage previous events, but with a twist: Sabzian, the Ahankhahs, and the others involved played themselves. Thus, the film is an amalgamation of documentary and drama that questions the very nature and purpose of film, forces audiences to contemplate the basic experience of moviegoing, and in the process redefined how Iranian cinema saw itself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1344

Color adjustment. 1991.  1 video file (80 min.). An analysis of the portrayal of African-Americans on American television from 1948-1988. Argues that earlier images were outright racist, and that later images have been overly biased towards prosperous blacks. Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=7656763

Common threads: Stories from the quilt. 1989.  1 videodisc (79 min.). The story of the AIDS Memorial Quilt established by the San Francisco NAMES Project Foundation in 1987 to commemorate the lives lost to AIDS. From the thousands memorialized in the quilt, profiles five individuals--including a recovered IV drug user, a former Olympic decathlon star and a boy with hemophilia--whose stories reflect the diversity and common tragedy of those who have died from AIDS. Celebrates their unique personalities and achievements, interweaving these personal histories with a chronology of the epidemic's development and the negligence of the government.  DVD 5209

The complete Monterey Pop festival. 1968.  3 videodiscs (320 min.). "On a beautiful June weekend in 1967, at the height of the Summer of Love, the first and only Monterey International Pop Festival roared forward - capturing a decade's spirit and ushering in a new era of rock and roll. Monterey would launch the careers of Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, and Otis Redding, but they were just a few among a wildly diverse cast including Simon and Garfunkel, The Mamas and the Papas, The Who, Hugh Masekela, and the extraordinary Ravi Shankar." --from container.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 141-143

Concerning violence: Nine scenes from the anti-imperialistic self-defense. 2014, 1 videodisc (89 minutes).  In this potent, arresting, and surprisingly emotional film, Olsson artfully elucidates Fanon's psychiatric and psychological analysis of dehumanizing effects of colonization on the individual and the nation. Fanon's theory is that the violence of colonialism must be met with greater violence to be defeated, as well as his vision and plea to reject the lust for colonial power and instead embrace a more creative and human society. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12188

Connected. 2008. 1 videodisc (80 min.).  Have you ever faked a restroom trip to check your email? Slept with your laptop? Or become so overwhelmed that you just unplugged from it all? In this funny, eye-opening, and inspiring film, Director Tiffany Shlain takes audiences on an exhilarating rollercoaster ride to discover what it means to be connected in the 21st century. From founding The Webby Awards to being a passionate advocate for The National Day of Unplugging, Her love/hate relationship with technology serves as the springboard for a thrilling exploration of modern life, and our interconnected future. Equal parts documentary and memoir, the film unfolds during a year in which technology and science literally become a matter of life and death for the director. As Shlain's father, Leonard Shlain, battles brain cancer and she confronts a high-risk pregnancy, her very understanding of connection is challenged. Using a brilliant mix of animation, archival footage, and home movies, Shlain reveals the surprising ties that link us not only to the people we love but also to the world at large. A personal film with universal relevance, Connected explores how, after centuries of declaring our independence, it may be time for us to declare our interdependence instead. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11279

Control room. 2004.  1 videodisc (86 min.). A chronicle which provides a rare window into the international perception of the Iraq War, courtesy of Al Jazeera, the Arab world's most popular news outlet. Criticized by Cabinet members and Pentagon officials for reporting with a pro-Iraqi bias, and strongly condemned for frequently airing civilian casualties as well as footage of American POW's, the station has revealed (and continues to show the world) everything about the Iraq War that the Bush administration does not want the public to see.  DVD 962

The corporation: A documentary. 2003.  2 videodiscs (145 min.). The Corporation charts the spectacular rise of the corporation as a dramatic, pervasive presence in our everyday lives. With a deft mix of humor, visual panache and seriousness, this documentary is a timely, entertaining critique of global conglomerates.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1260

Cosmos. 1980.  1 videodisc (120 min.). In a 13 part series Carl Sagan discusses the relationship between man and the universe. Part 8: A voyage to see how star patterns change over millions of years is followed by a journey to the planets of other stars, and a look at the possibility of time travel-- which takes the viewer to Italy, where the youthful Einstein first wondered what it would be like to ride on a beam of light. Part 9: Using computer animation, shows how stars are born, live and die and sometimes collapse to form black holes. Viewers then journey to the future to witness "the last perfect day on Earth," 5 billion years from now when the sun will engulf the earth.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4271-4277

The cove. 2009.  1 videodisc (96 min.). In a sleepy lagoon off the coast of Japan is a highly guarded secret. During the night, Taiji fishermen engage in an unseen hunt for thousands of dolphins. The work is so horrifying, the fishermen will stop at nothing to keep it hidden from the outside world. When a team of elite activists, filmmakers, and free-divers embark on a secret mission to penetrate their cover, the shocking discoveries they find there are just the tip of the iceberg. Includes commentary, deleted scenes, and more.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6763

Coverup: Behind the Iran Contra Affair. 1988.  1 videodisc (72 min.). An account of the first arms sale to Iran and the Reagan/Bush campaign's secret deal to torpedo Jimmy Carter in 1980. Discusses the shadow government of former CIA operatives, drug smugglers, top U.S. military personnel and others, and how their actions have impacted the course of history.  Includes evidence of the history of CIA involvement in drug running from the Vietnam heroin era to the Central American cocaine epidemic. First- hand accounts of the bombing of the press conference in La Penca, Nicaragua, discussing who the assassins were and why American journalists were the real targets. Oliver North's plan to suspend the U.S. constitution and how it became a Reagan/Bush tool to protect an unpopular foreign policy.  DVD 6949

The crash reel: The ride of a lifetime. 2013. 1 videodisc (109 min.).  The epic rivalry between half-pipe legends Kevin Pearce and Shaun White is documented in this exhilarating ride into the world of extreme snowboarding. With both practicing more and more breathtaking and dangerous tricks leading up to the Vancouver Winter Olympics, everything suddenly changes for Kevin when a horrific crash leaves him fighting for his life. When he recovers, all he wants to do is get on his snowboard again, even though medics and family fear it could kill him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11317

Crisis: Behind a presidential commitment. 1963.  The Robert Drew collection.  1 videodisc (53 min.). In June 1963, President John F. Kennedy and his brother, U.S. Attorney General, Robert Kennedy, forced one of the gravest racial confrontations of the 20th century. Despite a federal court order, Alabama Governor George Wallace vowed he would prevent 2 black students from entering the all-white University of Alabama. Watch as the crisis unfolds, capturing the story from all sides up until the dramatic end.  DVD 664

Crude. 2009.  1 videodisc (104 min.). "[T]ells the epic story of one of the largest and most controversial legal cases on the planet: the infamous $27 billion 'Amazon Chernobyl' lawsuit pitting 30,000 rainforest dwellers in Ecuador against the U.S. oil giant Chevron." -- Container.  DVD 7080

The cruise. 1998.  1 videodisc (76 min.). Take an unforgettable ride through the concrete canyons of Manhattan with Timothy "Speed" Levitch as your guide in this acclaimed documentary. Both an adventure and a voyage, this film is ultimately about the search for worthwhile possibilities.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4764

Crumb. 1994.  2 videodiscs (119 min.). An intimate portrait of the underground artist Robert Crumb and the workings of a single family. "A hilarious and mysterious journey through artistic genius and sexual obsession, Crumb is a wild ride through the mind of ... R. Crumb, creator of Zap Comix, Mr. Natural and Fritz the Cat."--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 999

Dancing outlaw. 1991.  1 videodisc (100 min.). A picturesque portrait of the nearly extinct mountain culture of Boone County, West Virginia, focusing on the unique character of Jesco White: mountain dancer, petty criminal, Elvis Presley aficionado.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8106

Dark days. 2000.  1 videodisc (ca. 84 min.). Documentary about a community of homeless people living in a train tunnel beneath Manhattan. Depicts a way of life that is unimaginable to most of those who walk the streets above: in the pitch black of the tunnel, rats swarm through piles of garbage as high-speed trains leaving Penn station tear through the darkness. For some of those who have gone underground, it has been home for as long as 25 years.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 487

Darwin's nightmare. 2004.  1 videodisc (107 min.). Documentary film that exposes the poverty and misery of the people living on the shores of Lake Victoria in Tanzania who are dependent upon fishing the Nile perch from the lake for their meager earnings. The fish are exported by air to Europe to be sold cheaply and the planes that arrive to transport the fish at first seem to arrive empty, but turn out to carry weapons to Africa and fish away.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2136

Daughter from Danang. 2002.  1 videodisc (83 min.). Heidi seems the proverbial "all-American girl" from small-town Pulaski, Tennessee. But she was born Mai Thi Hiep in Danang, Vietnam, the daughter of an American serviceman and a Vietnamese woman. At the war's end, her mother, hearing rumors that racially mixed children would be persecuted, place the 7-year-old girl on an "Operation Babylift" plane to the United States. Twenty-two years later mother and daughter are miraculously reunited in Danang. But what seems like the cue for a happy ending is anything but as Heidi and her Vietnamese relatives are caught in a heart-wrenching clash of cultures.  DVD 5857

The deadly deception. 1993, 1 videodisc (57 min.).  This program investigates the "Tuskegee Study of Untreated Syphilis in the Negro Male," a medical experiment conducted in Alabama from 1932-1972 in which Afro-American men believed they were receiving free treatment for syphilis, but were given worthless medicines by government physicians. The experiment was periodically written up in mainstream medical journals. The program outlines the history of the study, offers testimony from survivors and from doctors who administered it, and looks at what many consider the perversion of medical ethics and the doctor/patient relationship involved in carrying out such an experiment. DVD 9541

Dear America: Letters home from Vietnam. 1987.  1 videodisc (86 min.). An authentic account of the Vietnam War from the actual letters of the men and women who served there. The harsh realities of life and death, friendships made and lost - these letters home tell it all, with newsreel and home-movie footage shot by the servicemen themselves. These are the authentic voices of war, some who survived, many who never made it home.  DVD 4836

Dear Zachary: A letter to a son about his father. 2008.  1 videodisc (95 min.). Filmmaker Kurt Kuenne begins making a film for Zachary, son of his oldest friend who was murdered by Zachary's mother. The film's focus shifts to Zachary's grandparents as they fight to win custody of Zachary from the woman who took their son's life.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5455

The decline of western civilization collection. 1981. 4 videodiscs (279 min.).  Penelope Spheeris' Decline of Western Civilization was perceived as shocking and outrageous at the time of its original release in 1981. Parts II and III were no less extraordinary and unprecedented. Today, museums and educational institutions around the world present them as historically significant works of art. Featuring some of the most influential and innovative musicians and groups-- Germs, Black Flag, X, Fear, Circle Jerks, Alice Cooper, Lemmy, Poison and members of Aerosmith and KISS-- these riveting, unflinching, hard-core films adeptly captured the spirit of a major cultural phenomenon. Part I documents punk rock musicians' deliberate reaction to the mass commercialism of music. Part II takes a fast-paced look at the Heavy Metal scene of the late 80's. Part III profiles hard-core gutterpunks living homeless in Los Angeles and their music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12500

Deep water. 2006.  1 videodisc (93 min.). True story of the first solo, non-stop, round-the-world boat race, and the psychological toll it took on its competitors. Sponsored by the Sunday Times of London, the much-ballyhooed event attracted a field of nine, including amateur sailor Donald Crowhurst, who set out to circumnavigate the globe in late 1968. Battling treacherous seas and his own demons, Crowhurst almost immediately comes apart as he faces the isolation of nine months on the high seas.  DVD 5088

Deliver us from evil. 2006.  1 videodisc (103 min.). A documentary on confessed pedophile priest Oliver O'Grady and attempts by the Catholic Church to cover up his actions. Includes interviews with O'Grady and his victims.  DVD 1602

Le dernier des injustes = The last of the unjust. 2013. 2 videodiscs (235 min.).  In 1975 Rome, Claude Lanzmann filmed a series of interviews with Benjamin Murmelstein, the last President of the Jewish Council in the Theresienstadt ghetto in Czechoslovakia, the only 'Elder of the Jews' not to have been killed during the war. From Nisko in Poland to Theresienstadt, and from Vienna to Rome, the film provides an unprecedented insight into the genesis of the Final Solution. It reveals the true face of Eichmann. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11505

Detropia. 2012, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  Detroit's story has encapsulated the iconic narrative of America over the last century: the Great Migration of African Americans escaping Jim Crow; the rise of manufacturing and the middle class; the love affair with automobiles; the flowering of the American dream; and now, the collapse of the economy and the fading American mythos. With its vivid, painterly palette and haunting score, sculpts a dreamlike collage of a grand city teetering on the brink of dissolution.  Streaming: http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/zW7

The devil and Daniel Johnston. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 110 min.). The turbulent life of a genius musician battling manic depression. A favorite with artists such as Sonic Youth, Nirvana, Beck, and many others, view the singer-songwriter-artist through his art and interviews, and in the eyes of his fans.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9987

The devil came on horseback. 2007.  1 videodisc (85 min.). This powerful and original film exposes the tragedy taking place in Darfur as seen through the eyes of an American witness, former U.S. Marine Captain Brian Steidle, who has since returned to the U.S. to take action to stop it.  DVD 3448

Devil's playground. 2002.  1 videodisc (77 min.). Looks at the Pennsylvania Dutch tradition of rumspringa which is a period in a teenager's life during which they are set free to explore the world outside the Amish life. This is so that they can make an informed decision before they make a commitment to join the church at adulthood. Follows four teenagers in their time of discovery.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3669

Dig! 2004.  2 videodiscs (107 min.). Dig! plunges into the underbelly of rock 'n' roll, unearthing an amazing true tale of success, self-destruction, friendship, and the ultimate rivalry between two up-and-coming bands: Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Dandy Warhols.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1862

Dogtown and z-boys. 2001.  1 videodisc (91 min.). The story of a gang of discarded kids who virtually revolutionized skateboarding with an aggressive style, awe-inspiring moves and street smarts, and in the process, transforming youth culture forever. Captures the rise of the Zephyr skateboarding team from Venice's Dogtown, a tough "locals only" beach with a legacy of outlaw surfing, who used abandoned swimming pools to sharpen their skills.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 407

Don’t look back. 1967.  1 videodisc (96 min.). Documentary filmed during Bob Dylan's 1965 English concert tour. Includes portions of performances.  DVD 2281

Drowned out. 2002.  1 videodisc (75 min.). The people of Jalsindhi in central India must make a decision fast. In the next few weeks, their village will disappear underwater as the giant Narmada Dam fills. Author Arundhati Roy joins the fight against the dam and asks difficult questions: will the water go to poor farmers or to rich industrialists? What happened to the 16 million people displaced by fifty years of dam building? Follows the Jalsindhi villagers through hunger strikes, rallies, police brutality and a six year Supreme Court case. It stays with them as the dam fills and the river starts to rise.  DVD 9646