Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Documentaries, 500 Essential: I-M

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017

Filmography - 500 Essential Documentaries (and Mockumentaries) to Watch Before You Graduate

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017.

See also: Films for Teaching School of Communication Topics

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentication by AUID#.

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete video holdings search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

I am not your negro. 2016. 1 videodisc (94 min.).  Using James Baldwin's unfinished final manuscript, Remember This House, this documentary follows the lives and successive assassinations of three of the author's friends, Medgar Evers, Malcolm X and Martin Luther King Jr., delving into the legacy of these iconic figures and narrating historic events using Baldwin's original words and a flood of rich archival material. An up-to-the-minute examination of race in America, this film is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13955 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/542401

I am a promise: The children of Stanton Elementary School. 1993.  1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Paints a poignantly captivating, unflinching, and relevant portrait of the children of Stanton Elementary School in North Philadelphia, an inner-city neighborhood where 90% of the students live below the poverty line. As seen through the devoted and determined viewpoint of principal Deanna Burney, this shows Stanton as grossly underfunded, understaffed, and filled with children struggling to overcome their difficulties. However, for these at-risk kids growing up outside the American dream, the only hope for their future survives in the success of their education.  DVD 1157

If a tree falls: A story of the Earth Liberation Front. 2011, 1 videodisc (85 min.).  The remarkable story of the rise and fall of the Earth Liberation Front, a radical environmental group that the FBI calls America's 'number one domestic terrorist threat,' told through the transformation and radicalization of one of its members, Daniel McGowan. Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Marshall Curry weaves a chronicle of McGowan facing life in prison with a dramatic investigation of the events that led to his involvement with the ELF.  DVD 9427   and Streaming video:
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/Ub

In the land of the war canoes: A drama of Kwakiutl Indian life on the Northwest Coast. 1914.  1 videodisc (43 min.). Presents an epic saga of Kwakiutl Indian life on the northwest coast of America as filmed in the summer of 1914 at Kwakiutl villages on Vancouver Island, Canada, by Edward S. Curtis who spent three years with the Kwakiutl to meticulously recreate their way of life before the white man came. In addition to magnificent painted war canoes, the film features native costumes, dancing and rituals -- including a powerful scene of vision quest. Edited and restored with the addition of an authentic sound track of music and chants recorded by the Kwakiutls in 1972.  DVD 2343

In the realms of the unreal : the mystery of Henry Darger. 2004.  A haunting portrait of Henry Darger, a reclusive janitor by day and a visionary artist by night.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1308

In the shadow of the Moon: Remember when the whole world looked up. 2007. 1 videodisc (110 min.).  Between 1968 and 1972, the world watched in awe each time an American spacecraft voyaged to the Moon. Only 12 American men have walked upon its surface and they remain the only human beings to have stood on another world. Now for the first time, a combination of archival material from the original NASA film footage, much of it never before seen and interviews with the surviving astronauts tells the story of the Apollo space program.  DVD 3990

In the year of the pig. 1968.  1 videodisc (103 min.). Produced at the height of Vietnam War, Emile de Antonio's Oscar nominated 1968 documentary chronicles the war's historical roots. The savage and horrific images speak for themselves in perhaps the most controversial film of de Antonio's career.  DVD 2751

Incident at Oglala: The Leonard Peltier story. 1992.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Examines the 1975 incident where armed FBI agents illegally entered the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, resulting in the deaths of a Native American and two FBI agents. Explores the controversy and potential abuse of justice surrounding the case of Leonard Peltier, who was the sole person in the incident convicted of murder and sentenced to life in prison.  DVD 5858

An inconvenient truth. 2006.  1 videodisc (96 min.). Former Vice President Al Gore explains the facts of global warming, presents arguments that the dangers of global warning have reached the level of crisis, and addresses the efforts of certain interests to discredit the anti-global warming cause. Between lecture segments, Gore discusses his personal commitment to the environment, sharing anecdotes from his experiences.  DVD 2360

Inequality for all. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 90 min.).  Examines economics professor and Clinton Administration cabinet member Robert Reich's crusade to expose the problem of income inequality in the United States.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11078

Inside job. 2010.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Provided is an analysis of the global financial crisis of 2008, which at a cost over $20 trillion, caused millions of people to lose their jobs and homes in the worst recession since the Great Depression, and nearly resulted in a global financial collapse. Through exhaustive research, and extensive interviews with key financial insiders, politicians, journalists, and academics, traced is the rise of a rogue  industry which has corrupted politics, regulation, and academia.  DVD 8121

The Internet's own boy: The story of Aaron Swartz ; information is power. 2014. 1 videodisc (105 min.).  The Internet's Own Boy depicts the life of American computer programmer, writer, political organizer and Internet activist Aaron Swartz. It features interviews with his family and friends as well as the internet luminaries who worked with him. The film tells his story up to his eventual suicide after a legal battle, and explores the questions of access to information and civil liberties that drove his work.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11669

The interrupters. 2011.  1 videodisc (125 min.). "The Interrupters tells stories of three violence interrupters who try to protect their Chicago communities from the violence they once employed. The film's main subjects work for an innovative organization, CeaseFire. Founded by an epidemiologist who believes that the spread of violence mimics the spread of infectious diseases, and so the treatment should be similar, they go after the most infected, and stop the infection at its source. One of the cornerstones of the organization is the violence interrupters program. The Interrupters -- who have credibility on the streets because of their own personal histories -- intervene in conflicts before they explode into violence."--Container.  DVD 9200

Into the abyss: A tale of death, a tale of life. 2011,  1 videodisc (107 min.).  In his fascinating exploration of a triple homicide case iin Conroe, Texas, master filmmaker Werner Herzog probes the human psyche to explore why people kill, and why a state kills. As he's so often done before, Herzog's investigation unveils layers of humanity, making an enlightening trip out of ominous territory.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10018

Into the arms of strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport. 2000.  1 videodisc (117 min.). The life-affirming tale of 10,000 children saved from Hitler's grasp and placed with foster parents and hostels in Great Britain at the outbreak of World War II. Includes archival footage and decades-later remembrances of both the rescuers and the rescued.  DVD 305

Iraq in fragments. 2006.  2 videodiscs (225 min.). Documentary in three parts.  Offers a series of intimate, passionately-felt portraits: A fatherless 11-year-old is apprenticed to the domineering owner of a Baghdad garage; Sadr followers in two Shiite cities rally for regional elections while enforcing Islamic law at the point of a gun; a family of Kurdish farmers welcomes the U.S. presence, which has allowed them a measure of freedom previously denied.  American director James Longley spent more than two years filming in Iraq to create this stunningly photographed, poetically rendered documentary of the war-torn country as seen through the eyes of Sunnis, Shiites and Kurds.  DVD 3049

James Baldwin: The price of the ticket. 1989.  1 videodisc (87 min.). Opening with the funeral of James Baldwin, this film traces the life history and accomplishments of this great black writer.  Includes interviews with friends and colleagues, including Maya Angelou, Amiri Baraka, his brother David, his mother Berdis, Ishmael Reed, and William Styron.  DVD 5705

Jazz: A film by Ken Burns. 2001.  10 videodiscs (1230 min.). 10 episodes tracing the history of jazz from its roots in the African-American community of New Orleans to its heights and continuing presence.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 130-111

Jesus camp. 2006.  1 videodisc (84 min.). A first-ever look into an intense training ground that recruits born-again Christian children to become an active part of America's political future. Follow these children at summer camp in Devil's Lake, North Dakota as they hone their 'prophetic gifts'.  DVD 2440

A jihad for love. 2007.  1 videodisc (81 min.). First feature documentary to explore the complex global intersections between Islam and homosexuality.  The film travels a wide geographic arc, presenting lives from India, Pakistan, Iran, Turkey, Egypt, South Africa and France.  Always filming in secret and as a Muslim, Parvez makes the film from within the faith, depicting Islam with the same respect that the film's characters show for it.  DVD 5640

The jinx: The life and deaths of Robert Durst. 2015. 2 videodiscs (360 min.).  A groundbreaking documentary series sheds new light on real-estate icon, Robert Durst, while unraveling one of the most notorious unsolved crimes in New York history.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12496

Jiro dreams of sushi. 2011, 1 videodisc (83 min.).  The 85-year-old Jiro Ono is considered by many to be the world's greatest sushi chef. He is the proprietor of a 10-seat sushi-only restaurant inauspiciously located in a Tokyo subway station. Despite its humble appearances, it is the first restaurant of its kind to be awarded a prestigious 3-star Michelin review, and sushi lovers from around the globe make repeated pilgrimages, calling months in advance and shelling out top dollar for a coveted seat at Jiro's sushi bar. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3005

Jodorowsky's Dune. 2013, 2 videodiscs (ca. 90 min.).  A documentary film about Alejandro Jodorowsky's attempt to make a film adaptation of Frank Herbert's 1965 science fiction novel, Dune, starring Jodorowsky's own 12-year-old son, as well as Orson Welles, Mick Jagger, David Carradine and Salvador Dali with music by Pink Floyd; film includes interviews with Jodorowsky and others. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11465

Kate plays Christine. 2016. 1 videodisc (113 minutes).  In preparation for a film role, actor Kate Lyn Sheil conducts an investigation into the death of Christine Chubbuck, a Sarasota, Florida newscaster who in 1974 committed suicide on the the air, the event that served as inspiration for Sidney Lumet's Oscar-winning film Network. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13854

Kid stays in the picture. 2002, 1 videodisc (94 min.).  Legendary Hollywood producer Robert Evans, the man behind such films as Rosemary's baby, Love story, Chinatown, and The Godfather - tells it like it is and was in Hollywood. Includes his appeal to the Board of Directors short film that saved Paramount Pictures in 1970. Also, includes archival interviews about Evans with stars and filmmakers. Includes an Evans gag reel. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 714

Killing us softly 3: Advertising's image of women. 1999, 1 videodisc (34 min.).  Discusses the manner in which women continue to be portrayed by advertising and the effects this has on their images of themselves. DVD 4810

King corn: a film. 2007.  1 videodisc (92 min.). "In King Corn, Ian Cheney and Curt Ellis, best friends from college on the east coast, move to the heartland to learn where their food comes from. With the help of friendly neighbors, genetically modified seeds, nitrogen fertilizers, and powerful herbicides, they plant and grow a bumper crop of America's most productive, most subsidized grain on one acre of Iowa soil. But when they try to follow their pile of corn into the food system, what they find raises troubling questions about how we eat-- and how we farm."--container.  DVD 4214

King of Kong: A fistful of quarters. 2007.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Unprecedented rivalry rocks the electronic world to its core. Novice gamer Steve Wiebe on his quest to destroy the top score of gaming legend Billy Mitchell, the uncontested champion of the Donkey Kong world for over 20 years. Only one can truly claim the title King of Kong.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3781

Koko, a talking gorilla. 1978. 1 videodisc (81 min.).  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). Koko, a six-year-old gorilla, is the subject of a controversial Stanford University research project conducted by Penny Patterson. A perceptive simian who communicates with humans via sign language, Koko knows more than 300 signs and can combine them to make new hybrid descriptions. Director Schroeder and cinematographer Almendros present a visual argument exposing the contradictions that arise when scientific experiments are used to graph human behavior onto animals. DVD 2596

Koyaanisqatsi : Life out of balance. 1982.  1 videodisc (87 min.). Koyaanisqatsi is a Hopi Indian word meaning variously: crazy life, life in turmoil, life disintegrating, life out of balance (the subtitle for this film), and a state of life that calls for another way of life. This film presents a concert of visual images set to the music of Philip Glass that progesses from purely natural environments to nature as affected by man, and finally to man's own manmade environment that is devoid of nature.  DVD 8631

Kurt Cobain: Montage of heck. 2015. 1 videodisc (132 min.).  Experience Kurt Cobain like never before in the only fully authorized portrait of the famed music icon. Directed by acclaimed film maker Brett Morgen, who expertly blends Cobain's personal archive of art, music, never before seen movies, animation and revelatory interviews from his family and closest friends. This DVD format includes the two hour plus documentary plus 48 minutes of additional interview footage. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 12871

Kurt & Courtney. 1998.  1 videodisc (95 min.). A documentary on the life of Kurt Cobain and his relationship with his wife Courtney Love, featuring interviews with Kurt's aunt, Courtney's father, the couple's nanny, and a private investigator that worked with Courtney.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1009

Lake of fire. 2006.  1 videodisc (152 min.). A look at the subject of abortion where there can be no absolutes, no 'right' or 'wrong.' Equal time is given to both sides, covering arguments from either extremes of the specturm, as well as those at the center, who acknowledge that, in the end, everyone is 'right' or 'wrong.'.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4000

Land of silence and darkness. 1971.  1 videodisc (85 min.). A documentary about 56 year-old Fini, blind and deaf since her teens.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1364

The last days. 1998.  1 videodisc (87 min.). Traces the experiences of five Hungarian Holocaust survivors who fell victim to Hitler's brutal war against the Jews during the final days of World War II, and later returned from the United States to their hometowns and ghettos and the concentration camps in which they were imprisoned.  DVD 2169

Last days in Vietnam. 2014. 2 videodiscs (100 min., 120 min.).  In the final weeks of the Vietnam War, American servicemen and others begin the difficult mission of evacuating as many friends, family members and South Vietnamese collaborators as possible before Saigon falls to the North Vietnamese. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12205

Last train home. 2009.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Every spring, China's cities are plunged into chaos as an astonishing 130 million migrant workers journey to their home villages for the New Year's holiday. This mass exodus is the largest human migration on the planet, an epic spectacle that reveals a country tragically caught between its rural past and industrial future. Working over several years in classic verite, Chinese-Canadian filmmaker Lixin Fan travels with one couple who have embarked on this annual trek for almost two decades.  DVD 8117

The last waltz. 1978.  1 videodisc (117 min.). The Band, one of rock's superstar groups, decided to call it quits after sixteen grueling years on the road. The group held this farewell concert on Thanksgiving Day, 1976, at San Francisco's Winterland, the site of their first performance.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 146

Lessons of darkness.  1992.  2 videodiscs (130 min.). Lessons of darkness: A stirring documentary of 1992 post-Gulf War Kuwait, focusing on the oil well fires ignited by retreating Iraqi soldiers. What resulted is less a simple documentary about an environmental catastrophe than an apocalyptic vision of hell, a strangely beautiful portrait of a world on fire.  Fata Morgana: Herzog brings his cameras to the Sahara desert in order to film mirages. He combines the apocalyptic, often hallucinatory images of the desert with passages from the Mayan creation myth, the Popol Vuh, set to songs of Leonard Cohen.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3543

Let the fire burn. 2013. 1 videodisc (95 minutes).  Comprised of found footage and sound bites, Let the fire burn describes the conflict between the Black Power group MOVE and the people and city government of Philadelphia, culminating in the armed standoff of May 13, 1985, in which one police officer and eleven MOVE members were killed, ending when Philadelphia police dropped a bomb on the row house that served as MOVE headquarters. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11448

Let there be light. 1946.  1 videodisc (58 min.). Film looks at the treatment of World War II emotionally disturbed war veterans at the Army's Mason General Hospital on Long Island, New York, and shows how hypnosis & various other therapy methods were used to treat suppressed memory, emotional problems, and nervous disorders from severe stress caused by the combat experience.  DVD 5868

Leviathan. 2012. 1 videodisc (87 min.). 1 booklet.  "A thrilling, immersive documentary that takes viewers deep inside the dangerous world of commercial fishing. Set aboard a hulking fishing vessel as it navigates the treacherous waves off the New England coast-the very waters that once inspired Moby Dick, the film captures the harsh, unforgiving world of the fishermen in starkly haunting, yet beautiful detail"--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12259

Life and debt. 2001.  1 videodisc (86 min.). Jamaica became an independent country from Great Britain in 1962. It is the land of sea, sand and sun ... but it is also a prime example of the complexities of economic globalization on the world's developing countries. Effectively portrays the relationship between Jamaican poverty and the practices of international lending agencies while driving home the devasting consequences of globalization.  DVD 2218

The life and times of Rosie the Riveter. 1980.  1 videodisc (65 min.). Five women, who worked in the shipyards and defense plants during World War II, recount their experiences at work and offer comments on society's expectations of them during the war effort and after the war.  Their narratives are interspersed with sequences from war department films, newsreels, and Hollywood movies made during that time which concerned women working outside the home.  DVD 5425

Life itself. 2014, 1 videodisc (120 min.).  The legacy of Roger Ebert's life, recounts the inspiring and entertaining life of the world-renowned film critic and social commentator,  from his Pulitzer Prize-winning film criticism at the Chicago Sun-Times  to becoming one of the most influential cultural voices in America.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11903

The life of Reilly. 2007,  2 videodiscs (ca. 4 hr., 30 min.).  Two disc set contains the film version of actor Charles Nelson Reilly's autobiographical one-man stage show, with recollections on his childhood in the Bronx and Connecticut, studying in New York, making it to Broadway, and finally going to Hollywood.  The second disc has a 2001 performance of "Save it for the stage," a longer production on which the film is based.  DVD 7626

Listen to Britain and other films. 1942, 1 videodisc (182 mins.).  A collection of six films (and one bonus film) by one of the greatest figures in the celebrated British Documentary Film Movement. He is most remembered for the way his work reflects the concerns and conditions of World War II era in the United Kingdom. In these pictures, Jennings's impressive aesthetic arsenal helped to expand the scope and vocabulary of documentary films. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10295

Little Dieter needs to fly. 1997.  1 videodisc (74 min.). Growing up in post-WWII Germany, all Dieter Dengler, the son of a Nazi slain during the war, dreamed about was becoming a pilot. At age 18 he immigrated to the United States and worked odd jobs until he was accepted into the Navy and began pilot training. He was sent to Vietnam around 1966 and on his first mission was shot down and taken prisoner. There, the Vietcong tortured him until Dengler engineered a hair-raising escape and eventually returned to the U.S. His story is recounted here via interviews with Dengler, archival footage and new footage seamlessly spliced together.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3545

Lock-up: The prisoners of Riker's Island. 1994.  1 videodisc (75 min.). Provides an inside look at how prisoners live and how officials maintain order in America's largest jail complex. Profiles a variety of everyday activities.  DVD 4600

The long way home. 1997.  The Simon Wiesenthal Center collection.  1 videodisc (120 min.). This documentary traces the stories of courage in the years between the end of World War II and the formation of the state of Israel. Includes archival footage, original broadcasts and personal testimonies from survivors of the Holocaust.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5776

The look of silence. 2014. 1 videodisc (103 min.).  A family that survives the political anti-communist genocide in Indonesia confronts the men who killed one of their brothers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12786

Los Angeles plays itself. 2003, 2 videodiscs (169 min.).  "Voted Best Doc of 2004 by The Village Voice. A must-see for Los Angeles history buffs and cinema enthusiasts, who will marvel at the hundreds of archival and film clips revealing an almost secret history of the City of Angels. "This cinematic essay focuses on the discrepancy between the lived-in urban reality of Los Angeles and its various century-deep cinematic mythologies. The movie is about more than just what the movies get wrong. It's about the way the imaginary space of cinema intrudes upon the actual space of our lives, so that the L.A. of the movies becomes a kind of separate urban reality unto itself."--The Toronto Star."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11352

The lottery. 1996.  1 videodisc (80 min.). Four children enter a high-stakes lottery. If they win, they can attend one of the best schools in New York. A look at the crisis in public education, The Lottery makes the case than any child can succeed.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7939

Louisiana story. 1948.  1 videodisc (ca. 79 min.). Fully restored by the Library of Congress, with a Pulitzer Prize winning score, this Academy Award nominee tells the story of disruption and change through the eyes of a young Cajun boy living on the Bayou. Through the eyes of a young Cajun boy living on the Bayou. Tells the story of disruption and change when an oil rig brings industry into his pristine world.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 592

Lumumba, la mort du prophete Lumumba, the death of a prophet. 1990.  1 video file (70 min.). Reexamines the independence struggle in the Belgian Congo and its leader, Patrice Lumumba. This multi-award-winning film recounts Lumumba's tragic 200 day rule culminating with his assassination. Combines archival documentary footage of Lumumba with the memories of journalists who reported from the Congo.  Streaming video
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=534994

Mad hot ballroom. 2005.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Eleven-year-old New York City public school kids journey into the world of ballroom dancing, and from their candid and hilarious perspectives, reveal pieces of themselves along the way. This school program started in 1994 and today has over 6,000 kids from 60 schools involved.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6489

Madonna: Truth or dare. 1991.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Documentary which presents an intimate view of the rock music star, Madonna and a backstage look at her "Blond Ambition" tour.  DVD 5866

Maidentrip. 2013. 1 videodisc (81 min.).  Fourteen-year-old Laura Dekker sets out, camera in hand, on a two-year voyage in pursuit of her dream to be the youngest person ever to sail around the world alone. In the wake of a year-long battle with Dutch authorities that sparked a global storm of media scrutiny, Laura now finds herself far from land, family and unwanted attention, exploring the world in search of freedom, adventure, and distant dreams of her early youth at sea. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11850

Les maitres fous = The mad masters. 1995. 1 streaming video file (28 min.) This film documents the Haouka cult, a religious movement which was widespread in Ghana from the 1920's to the 1950's. Shows devotees living and working in Accra and participating in a primitive tribal ceremony. Streaming: http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/PKb

Man of Aran. 1934.  1 videodisc (77 min.). Documents the life of a family in a small fishing village in the Aran Islands, Ireland, as it struggles to win the daily battle against its magnificent opponent--the sea. DVD extras include "How the myth was made" - an  documentary on the making of Man of Aran. DVD 591

Man on wire. 2008.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A look at the high-wire walk made by Philippe Petit in 1974 between the World Trade Center's Twin Towers in New York City, and how it is still considered one of history's most artistic crimes.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5068

Man with the movie camera. 1929.  1 videodisc (68 min.). An experimental film which uses numerous cinematic techniques (split screens, multiple superimpositions, variable speeds, et cetera) to present a dawn to dusk view of the Soviet Union to study the relation between cinema and reality.  DVD 32

Manda bala = Send a bullet. 2007.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Brazil is known for its beautiful beaches and vibrant culture. However, in recent years, the country has developed more of a reputation for corrupt politicians, kidnapping, and plastic surgery. Artfully connects these seemingly disparate elements and conducts a dazzling, yet harrowing, examination of the tragic domino effect that has reshaped the face of the country and created an entire industry built on corruption. Illustrates how corruption and kidnapping represent two sides of the same violent crime.  DVD 4368

Manufacturing consent: Noam Chomsky and the media. 1992.  1 videodisc (DVD)(170 min.). Explores the political life and times of the controversial author, linguist, and radical philosopher Noam Chomsky. Focuses on Chomsky's analysis of the hidden use of ideological manipulation in democratic societies.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 869

March of the penguins. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 80 min.). In the Antarctic, every March since the beginning of time, the quest begins to find the perfect mate and start a family. This courtship will begin with a long journey - a journey that will take them hundreds of miles across the continent by foot, one by one in a single file. They will endure freezing temperatures, in brittle, icy winds and through deep, treacherous waters. They will risk starvation and attack by dangerous predators, under the harshest conditions on earth, all to find true love.  DVD 1622

Margaret Mead an observer observed. 1998. 1 online resource (86 min.).  Filmakers library online. This documentary is a fascinating portrait of one of the most influential women of our time. Using never- before -seen archival footage, stills, interviews and dramatic re-creations, it weaves together a story of a scientist, adventurer and international celebrity whose ideas shaped how we think about ourselves.The film tells how she first gained attention in the 1920 s and  30 s with her pioneering studies of youth and gender in Samoa and New Guinea. By age 33, the five-foot, one-hundred-pound Mead had traveled three times around the globe, explored unchartered lands where few men and no women dared to go. By age 34 she had published three bestsellers, taken the second of three husbands, and revolutionized our understanding of what it means to be male or female. When she was not doing fieldwork, most of her professional years were spent at the American Museum of Natural History. In her later years she was often seen on television as a bespectacled, sometimes outrageous advice-giver to the Vietnam War generation. This film deals with the controversies as well as the accomplishments of her life.Here is a valuable film for Women s Studies, Anthropology and History, as well as public library audiences.  Streaming: http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?ANTH;1689354

Marley. 2012, 1 videodisc (ca. 145 min.).  Bob Marley's universal appeal, impact on music history and role as a social and political prophet is both unique and unparalleled. MARLEY is the definitive life story of the musician, revolutionary, and legend, from his early days to his rise to international superstardom. Made with the support of the Marley family, the film features rare footage, incredible performances and revelatory interviews with the people that knew him best. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10331

Marwencol. 2010.  1 videodisc (84 min.). After being brutally attacked outside a bar and recovering from a coma and extensive physical injuries, Mark Hogancamp suffered brain damage and nearly total memory loss. Unable to afford therapy he spent the next few years building a scale model, World War II-era town, Marwencol, populated with dolls, where he lived out his fantasy life, and which he documented in photographs. When his photographs were discovered by an art magazine, a New York gallery invited him to show his work, forcing him to choose between his self-contained world and the larger world from which he had retreated.  DVD 8347

The mask you live in. 2015. 1 videodisc (90 min.).  "The Mask You Live In follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity. Pressured by the media, their peer group, and even the adults in their lives, our protagonists confront messages encouraging them to disconnect from their emotions, devalue authentic friendships, objectify and degrade women, and resolve conflicts through violence. These gender stereotypes interconnect with race. class and circumstance, creating a maze of identity issues boys and young men must navigate to become 'real' men. Experts in neuroscience, psychology, sociology, sports, education, and media also weigh in, offering empirical evidence of the 'boy crisis' and tactics to combat it. The Mask You Live In ultimately illustrates how we, as a society, can raise a healthier generation of boys and young men"--Representation Project website. DVD 12085 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/141117

Maya Lin: A strong clear vision. 1994.  1 videodisc (83 min.). Reveals the origins of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and tells the story of its 21 year old creator, a Yale architecture student. Lin's plan was selected from over 1,000 different designs. And what began as one of the country's most bitterly disputed monuments became one of the world's most inspirational and frequently visited memorials .  DVD 2781

Memory of the camps.  1984.  1 videodisc (60 min.). "When allied troops invaded Germany and liberated Nazi death camps at the end of World War II, they found unspeakable horrors that still haunt the world's conscience. In 1945, British and American film crews accompanying the troops liberating the camps captured these atrocities firsthand. The resulting film directed in part by Alfred Hitchcock but never finished, was discovered by Frontline in 1984 in the archives of the Imperial War Museum. Sixty years after the war ended, Frontline now re-broadcasts this powerful memorial in its entirety"--Container.  DVD 9618

Meru. 2015. 1 videodisc (90 min.).  Three renowned climbers navigate nature's harshest elements and their own complicated inner demons to ascend Mount Meru, the most technically complicated and dangerous peak in the Himalayas. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13516 

Metallica: Some kind of monster. 2004.  2 videodiscs (142 min.). An intensely intimate look at one of the biggest hard rock/heavy metal bands of all time, with over 90 million albums sold. Takes you inside the studio, the counseling sessions the band went through together and the difficult process of finding a new band member.  MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 138

Michel Brault, oeuvres 1958-1974 = Michel Brault, works 1958-1974. 2006.  5 videodisc (817 min.). La lutte: Views of some of Montreal's back-street wrestling parlors where well-muscled tyros are drilled, and then to the Montreal Forum for a view of a Carpentier-DeNucci versus Costello-Kalmikoff tag-team match. Shows the grappling, punching, squirming acrobatics of the ring, and the intense involvement of the crowd. Les raquetteurs: A candid view of participants and spectators at a rally of snowshoers held in Sherbrooke, Quebec. Pour la suite du monde: The story of the revival of a traditional whale hunt on the Ile-aux-Coudres in the St. Lawrence River. The aging participants attempt to reconstruct the tactics of their forefathers. Quebec-U.S.A. ou l'invasion pacifique: With an eye to humor, this film shows the people of Quebec taking a look at American tourists who have come to Quebec to take a look at them.  DVD 4341-4345

Middletown. 1982.  4 videodiscs (457 min.). Inspired by the studies of Robert and Helen Lynd in 1929 and 1935, this classic six-part series by Academy Award and Emmy winner Peter Davis explores both the continuity and the change embodied in the people and institutions of one Midwestern community: Muncie, Indiana. Titles in the series include: The Big Game; The Campaign; Community of Praise; Family Business; Second Time Around; Seventeen.  DVD 7711-7714

Miles of smiles, years of struggle: The untold story of the black Pullman porter. 1982. 200-83.  1 videodisc  (58 min.). This documentary discusses the struggle of Black Pullman porters to unionize, even though rebuked by white organized labor, and the eventual formation of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters under A. Philip Randolph. Explores the impact of this group on the American civil rights movement.  DVD 7920

Milking the rhino. 2008.  1 videodisc (83 min.). "A ferocious kill on the Serengeti; warnings about endangered species... These cliches of nature films ignore a key landscape feature: villagers just off-camera who endure the dangers and costs of living with wild animals. The Maasai tribe of Kenya and Namibia's Himba -- two of earth's oldest cattle cultures -- are emerging from a century of 'white man's conservation,' which threw them off their lands, banned subsistence hunting and fueled resentment. They are discovering that earnings from wildlife tourism can rival the benefits of livestock. But change is not easy. Charting the collision of ancient ways with Western expectations, [this film] offers complex, intimate stories of Africans at the forefront of community-based conservation." -- Container.  DVD 5716

Millhouse: a white comedy. 1971.  1 videodisc (93 min.). A compilation of newsreel and TV footage with interviews with various political commentators dealing with the public career of Richard M. Nixon.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2752

Miss Sharon Jones! 2015. 1 videodisc (95 minutes).  The inspirational story follows soul queen Sharon Jones during the most courageous year of her life as she battles life-threatening illness and triumphantly returns to center stage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13523

Mojados: Through the night. 2004.  1 videodisc (39 min.). Filmed over the course of ten days, this follows four men into the world of illegal border-crossing from Mexico to the United States. Guapo, Oso, Tigre, Viejo take the 120 mile cross-desert journey that has been traveled innumerable times by nameless immigrants who - like these four from Michoacan, Mexico - all had a simple dream for a better life. Fighting dehydration and exhaustion while evading the U.S. Border Patrol through sub-zero temperature darkness of night, filled with barbed wire, brutal storms and the ever-present confrontation with death, they endure unimaginable hardship that is the reality for tens of thousands of illegals  who have made this similar journey.  DVD 1545

The most dangerous man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers. 2009.  1 videodisc (94 min.). In 1971, Daniel Ellsberg, a top military strategist working for the RAND Corporation, leaked a 7,000 page document known as the Pentagon Papers to the New York Times. Disenchanted with the nation's conduct in Vietnam, Ellsberg believed the release of the top secret paper -- which outlined the "secret history" of the war -- was crucial to educating the public about the government's lies and misdeeds. This documentary chronicles the media and political frenzy that Ellsberg unleashed, and traces the effect of the leak on public perception of both the war and the White House.  DVD 6630

Mr. Death: The rise and fall of Fred A. Leuchter, Jr. 1999.  1 videodisc (92 min.). Provocative and chilling true story of Fred A. Leuchter, Jr., the son of a prison worker and a self-taught execution expert who consulted with prisons across the country to make capital punishment more humane. When Leuchter is called in as a high-profile expert in a sensationalistic Canadian trial, his ego, bravado, and absurd testimony reach national media prominence. Ironically, what Leuchter thought was going to be an apex in his career only ruins it.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 449

Mugabe and the white African. 2009.  1 videodisc (94 min.). "Family patriarch Mike Campbell is one of the few white farmers left in Zimbabwe since President Robert Mugabe began his violent land seizure program in 2000. Since then the country has descended into chaos, the economy brought to its knees by the reallocation of formerly white-owned farms to Mugabe cronies, who have no knowledge, experience or interest in farming. In 2008, after years of intimidation and threats to his family and farm, Campbell decides to take action. Unable to call upon the protection of any Zimbabwean authorities, he challenges Mugabe before an international court, [the Southern African Development Community Tribunal], charging him and his government with racial discrimination and human rights violations.."-- Publisher's website.  DVD 8095

The murder of Fred Hampton. 1971.  1 videodisc (88 min.). Mike Gray started out to make a film about the Black Panther Party, but on Dec. 4, 1969, the Chicago police raided a Panther apartment and his film became a documentary about the murder of Fred Hampton, chairman of the Illinois chapter of the Black Panther Party. The film footage of the raid directly contradicted the State Attorney's version of the raid and so filmmakers and Panthers came together to prove that Hampton had been the designated target of the violent, punitive raid. The film's inquiry pursues official spokesmen and traps them in their attempts at covering up an orchestrated assassination.  DVD 4244

Murder on a Sunday morning. 2001.  1 videodisc (111 min.). When a 15-year-old black male is arrested for the murder of Mary Ann Stephens, everyone involved in the case--from investigators to journalists--is ready to condemn him, except for his public defense lawyer, Patrick McGuiness. A true tale of murder and injustice.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4580

Murderball. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 88 min.). A film about tough, highly competitive quadriplegic rugby players. These men have been forced to live life sitting down, but in their own version of the full-contact sport, they smash each other in custom-made gladiator-like wheelchairs. Tells the story of a group of world-class athletes unlike any ever shown on screen. In addition to smashing chairs, it will smash every stereotype you ever had about the disabled.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1630

Muscle Shoals. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 111 min.).  "Located alongside the Tennessee River, Muscle Shoals, Alabama has helped create some of the most important and resonant songs of all time. Overcoming crushing poverty and staggering tragedies, Rick Hall brought black and white together to create music for the generations. He is responsible for creating the 'Muscle Shoals sound' and the Swampers, the house band at FAME Studios that eventually left to start its own successful studio known as Muscle Shoals Sound"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11831

My architect: A son's journey. 2003.  1 videodisc (116 min.). Nathaniel Kahn documents the life and works of his father, Louis Kahn. Louis Kahn had an "official" family, including his wife Esther and daughter Sue Ann. He had two other secret families: with fellow architect Anne Tyng he had a daughter, Alexandra, and with his colleague Harriet Pattison he had Nathaniel.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1221

My voyage to Italy. 1999.  2 videodiscs (ca. 246 min.). Martin Scorsese directs and narrates this remarkable in-depth look at the careers of great Italian filmmakers such as De Sica, Fellini, Visconti, and Antonioni, and their art's profound influence on him.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1023