Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Documentaries, 500 Essential: S-T

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017

Filmography - 500 Essential Documentaries (and Mockumentaries) to Watch Before You Graduate

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2017.

See also: Films for Teaching School of Communication Topics

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentication by AUID#.

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete video holdings search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

S21: the Khmer Rouge killing machine. 2003.  1 videodisc (101 min.). This program chronicles the human rights abuses of the Khmer Rouge after they seized power in Cambodia in 1975. In this documentary, filmmaker and survivor Rithy Panh confronts his captors, some of whom were as young as 12 years old when they committed their atrocities.  DVD 2330

Salesman. 1969.  1 videodisc (91 min.). "A landmark documentary.... Captures in vivid detail the bygone era of the door-to-door salesman. While laboring to sell a gold-embossed version of the Holy Word, Paul Brennan and his colleagues target the beleaguered masses, then face the demands of quotas and the frustrations of life on the road. Following Brennan on his daily rounds, the Maysles discover a real-life Willy Loman, walking the line from hype to despair"--Promotional materials.  DVD 356

The salt of the earth. 2014. 2 videodiscs (110 min.).  For the last 40 years, the photographer Sebastião Salgado has been travelling through the continents, in the footsteps of an ever-changing humanity. He has witnessed some of the major events of our recent history; international conflicts, starvation and exodus. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 12456

Scared straight! 1999.  1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Scared straight! profiles a unique juvenile crime-prevention program at New Jersey's Rahway maximum-security prison, recounting the day seventeen teenage lawbreakers spent inside the prison with some of New Jersey's most dangerous criminals. In an attempt to scare the kids out of their criminal ways, prisoners took turns describing prison life, emphasizing it's worst features. Scared straight! 20 years later traces the subsequent lives of the teens and convicts featured in the original documentary.  DVD 1484

Scratch. 2001.  2 videodiscs (92 min.). "Here are some of the world's best DJs, those famous for solo scratching, competing in international DJ battles, playing for rap artists, or just rocking parties with the most insane records ever dug up. Check out dynamic performances and interviews with DJs Qbert, Z-Trip, Mix Master Mike (of the Beastie Boys), Rob Swift and the X-ecutioners, Cut Chemist & NuMark (of Jurassic 5), DJ Craze, DJ Shadow, The Bullet Proof Space Travelers, Babu (of Dilated Peoples), KF Krush, DJ Premier (Gang Starr), and others, along with "old-school" innovators like Afrika Bambaataa and Grand Wizard Theodore." -- container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 473

Searching for Sugar Man. 2012, 1 videodisc (ca. 87 min.).  In the early 1970s, Sixto Rodriguez was a Detroit folksinger who had a short-lived recording career. Unknown to him, his musical story continued in South Africa where he became a pop music icon. Long rumored there to be dead, two fans, record store owner Stephen Segerman and journalist Craig Bartholomew-Strydom, decided to seek out the truth of his fate. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10920

Seeing red: Stories of American communists. 1983.  1 videodisc (100 min.). A documentary about the history of the American Communist Party from the thirties onward.  DVD 4303

Senna. 2010.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Spanning his years as a Formula One racing driver from 1984 to his untimely death a decade later, Senna explores the life and work of the triple world champion, his physical and spiritual achievements on the track, his quest for perfection and the mythical status he has since attained.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9023

The seven five. 2015. 1 videodisc (104 min.).  Examines rampant corruption in the New York City Police Department's notorious 75th Precinct in the '80s and early '90s, focusing on Michael Dowd, an officer who, in 1994, received a sixteen-year prison sentence for drug-related offenses. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12712  

Sherman's march: An improbable search for love. 1986.  1 videodisc (155 min.). Ross McElwee sets out to make a documentary about the lingering effects of General Sherman's march of destruction through the South during the Civil War, but is continually sidetracked by women who come and go in his life, his recurring dreams of nuclear holocaust, and Burt Reynolds.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9472

Shoah. 1985.  4 videodiscs (566 min.). The Nazi extermination of Jews is examined through interviews of survivors, witnesses and perpetrators and through footage of the sites of the death camps and environs as they appear today. Those interviewed include Jewish survivors of the death camps and the Warsaw ghetto uprising, Polish farmers and villagers who lived near the camps and Nazis who worked in the camps and the ghettos.  DVD 275

Shock of the new. 1982. 8 parts on 4 videodiscs (416 min.) Focuses on modernism in art as a reflection of changing social history in the 20th century. Includes interviews with, among others, Matisse, Picasso, and Dali. Written and narrated by art critic Robert Hughes.  DVD 6161-6164

Shut up & sing. 2006.  1 videodisc (93 min.). Follow the Dixie chicks, the top selling female band of all-time, through the now infamous anti-Bush comment made by the groups lead singer Natalie Maines in 2003. Follow the lives and careers of the Dixie Chicks over a period of three years during which they were under political attack and received death threats, while continuing to live their lives, have children, and make country music. At a time when the United States is fighting for democracy and freedom in another country, it raises questions about our own right to freedom of speech and the negative consequences it sometimes has.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2704

Sicko. 2007.  1 videodisc (123 min.). Michael Moore interviews Americans who have been denied treatment by the United States health care insurance companies that sacrifice essential health services in order to maximize profits. Sheds light on the how complicated it can become for communities and individuals, and the sacrifices they have made when they are denied health care coverage.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5112

Silverlake life: The view from here. 1993.  1 videodisc (99 min.). An extraordinary video diary of living with AIDS. Told with guts and humor by longtime companions Tom Joslin and Mark Massi, this powerful documentary celebrates the human spirit while capturing the emotional challenges of living with a fatal illness.  DVD 2779

Sir! No sir! 2005. 1 videodisc  (84 min.). Recalls the unprecedented movement by American GI's against the Vietnam War, staged through demonstrations, underground newspapers, combat refusals and more, rocking the foundations of the American military. Includes archival material and interviews with key participants.  DVD 2230

The Song of Ceylon. 1935. 1 videodisc (40 min.).  Documentary concerning the day-to-day life of the people of Ceylon (Sri Lanka). DVD 10159

The sorrow and the pity : chronicle of a French city under the Occupation. 1969 .  2 videodiscs (251 min.). Through interviews with participants and newsreel footage, examines the occupation of France by the Germans during World War II as it occurred in the French city of Clermont-Ferrand. Concentrates on the themes of collaboration and resistance.  DVD 481

Sound and fury. 2000.  1 videodisc (80 min.). If you could make your deaf child hear, would you? Sound and fury is the intimate, heart-rending tale of the Artinians, an extended family with deaf and hearing members across three generations. Together they confront a technological device that can help the deaf to hear but may also threaten deaf culture, and their bonds with each other.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 681

Sound City. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 152 minutes).  In 2012 Dave Grohl purchased the legendary Neve 8028 recording console from Sound City Studios. The board, built in 1972, is considered to be the crown jewel of analog recording equipment, having recorded such artists as Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac, Johnny Cash, Guns and Roses, Metallica, and many other musical legends. This tells the story of real rock history, and celebrates the music, as Grohl gathers some of rock's greatest artists to collaborate on a new album using this classic console. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 78

South of the border.  2009.  1 videodisc (78 min.). Director Oliver Stone visits seven presidents in five countries in South America to gain some understanding about the political and social ideas and the revolutions, and to clear up how people view them. Includes interviews with Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez, Argentinean president Cristina Kirchner, Cuban president Raul Castro.  DVD 7790

South: Sir Ernest Shackleton's glorious epic of the Antarctic. 1919.  1 videodisc (81 min.). Chronicles one of history's greatest epics of courage and leadership: the 1914 expedition of Sir Ernest Shackleton to cross Antarctica via the South Pole.  DVD 638

Southern comfort. 2001.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Toccoa, Georgia. Robert Eads is a 52-year-old wise-cracking cowboy who was born female and transitioned into living as a man after bearing two sons. Fifteen years later, he has fallen in love with Lola Cola, a vivacious and magnetic woman who was born male. Together they are coping with Robert's terminal case of ovarian cancer.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 631

The Spanish earth / The 400 million. 1937/1939.  Joris Ivens classics.  1 videodisc (ca. 108 min.). The 400 Million. The Japanese aggression against China in 1937 forced the Chinese communists to join Chiang Kai-shek's Kwomintang to take up the battle against their common enemy. Filmed in 1938 and focusing on the battle of T'aiertshwang, this film shows all aspects of a war: the battle, the preparations, refugees, casualties and victims, the fear and distress, the human misery and the courage, and the land under fire. The Spanish Earth is a docudrama on the Civil War in Spain that dramatizes the effects of the fascist uprising and invasion on the ordinary citizen, using actual scenes of the fighting.  DVD 427

Spellbound. 2002.  1 videodisc (97 min.). Follows the lives of eight young Americans who share one goal: to win the 1999 National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. The Bee is as intense a competition as any Olympic match, for both the spellers and their families. The unbearable pressure becomes even more extraordinary when it is felt by ordinary teenagers.  DVD 706

Startup.com. 2001.  1 videodisc (103 min.). A riveting story about how friendship can be devoured in an effort to storm the e-business world. Two boyhood friends, one a gentle soul with a daughter and the other an ambitious business-school graduate, launch an internet company. It's a test between loyalty and success .  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 264

State of fear. 2005.  1 videodisc (94 min.). The Peruvian Truth and Reconciliation Commission's official report chronicles the atrocities of both sides during the twenty year war between Abimael Guzman's revolutionary "Shining path" Indian guerrilla movement and the establishment governments. The Commission presents an alternate lens through which citizens of Peru can evaluate the inequalities their Indian people sought to address and the inevitable ravages modern terrorism brings to everyone.  DVD 1523

Stevie. 2002.  1 videodisc (145 min.). Returns to rural southern Illinois to reconnect with Stevie, a troubled young boy from ten years ago. The film began as a way of discovering what forces shaped Stevie's life. Part way through the filming, Stevie is arrested for a serious crime, and tears his family apart. The modest profile turned into a chronicle of Stevie, his broken family, the justice system and the filmmaker himself.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 634

Stolen. 2004.  1 videodisc (85 min.). In 1990 thieves disguised as policemen gained access into Boston's Isabella Stewart Gardner museum and executed the largest art heist in modern history. Among the important works stolen was Vermeer's painting, "The Concert." To date, none of the works have been recovered. Features Blythe Danner as the voice of Isabella Stewart Gardner and Campbell Scott as the voice of Bernard Berenson.  DVD 3807

Stone reader. 2002.  2 videodiscs (129 min.). In 1972 Mark Moskowitz read a New York Times book review of "The stones of summer" by Dow Mossman, a title which, later in Moskowitz's life would later become an object of obsession. Though he shelved the book for 25 years, Moskowitz finally read it and was amazed at its ingenuity. He was shocked that its one-time author never penned another book. Determined to solve the mystery, Moskowitz documented his research project in finding the forgotten author and getting to the bottom of the publishing mystery of how so many great books of literature, and great authors, just disappear.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 843

Stonewall: the making of a gay and lesbian community.  2 videodiscs (175 min.). Disc 1, Before Stonewall: 1984 Chronicles through interviews and historical footage the social, political and cultural history of homosexuality in America from the 1920s through 1969. Covers many of the milestones in the fight for gay acceptance and equal rights, culminating in the 1969 riots following the police raid on the Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York City's Greenwich Village. Disc 2, After Stonewall: 1999 Traces the Gay Liberation Movement in America from the 1969 Stonewall riots through the 1990s capturing the hard work, tragic defeats and exciting victories experienced. Also explores how AIDS changed the direction of the movement.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8801-8802

Stop making sense. 1984.  1 videodisc (129 min.). A film of the Talking Heads in concert.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4779

Stories we tell. 2012, 1 videodisc (ca. 108 min.).  A "genre-twisting film by director Sarah Polley, who investigates the elusive truths of her eclectic family of storytellers as she playfully interrogates a cast of characters who each relate their version of the family mythology. Polley reveals the essence of family as she uncovers the secrets buried deep within-- "--Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4623

The story of film: An odyssey . 2011. 5 videodiscs (915 min.).  Film historian Mark Cousins takes viewers on a journey through the history of world cinema. Features a fifteen-part odyssey that begins with the invention of motion pictures at the end of the 19th century and goes all around the world, from Thomas Edison’s New Jersey lab, to Hitchcock’s London, to post-war Rome, to modern-day Mumbai, and more. The film concludes with a look at the globalized digital film industry of the 21st century. Also includes interviews with legendary filmmakers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10120 and Streaming video.
http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/203258

Stranger with a camera. 2000.  1 videodisc (61 min.). In 1967 Canadian filmmaker Hugh O'Connor came with a crew to eastern Kentucky to make a film showing people from all walks of life in the United States. They finished the day by filming coal miners and their families in rental houses. As the filmmakers were leaving, Hobart Ison, the owner of the property, drove up and fired three shots, killing Hugh O'Connor. Elizabeth Barrett, from Kentucky herself, explores why this happened by trying to understand the people and culture of eastern Kentucky.  DVD 4757

Street fight. 2005.  1 videodisc (ca. 82 min.). "Follows the bare-knuckles race for Mayor of Newark, N.J. between 32 year-old Cory Booker and four-term incumbent Sharpe James, the undisputed champion of New Jersey politics. Fought in Newark's neighborhoods and housing projects, the battle pits the young challenger against an old style political machine that uses any means necessary, including harassment and police intimidation, to crush its opponents."--Container.  DVD 1872

Style wars. 1983.  2 videodiscs (210 min.). A documentary exploration of the subculture of New York's young graffiti writers and break-dancers, showing their activities and aspirations and the social and aesthetic controversies surrounding New York graffiti. Dramatizes conflicts between graffitists and the city, as well as among the graffitists themselves.  DVD 9758

Super size me. 2004.  1 videodisc (96 min.). Filmmaker Morgan Spurlock embarks on a journey to find out if fast food is making Americans fat. For 30 days he can't eat or drink anything that isn't on McDonald's menu; he must eat three square meals a day, he must eat everything on the menu at least once and supersize his meal if asked. He treks across the country interviewing a host of experts on fast food and a number of regular folk while downing McDonald's to try and find out why 37% of American are now overweight. Spurlock's grueling diet spirals him into a metamorphosis that will make you think twice about picking up another Big Mac.  DVD 955

The sweetest sound a film. 2001, 1 videodisc  (ca. 60 min.).  Alan Berliner collection. "With the intimacy and humor of a personal essay, Berliner dives headfirst inside the American name pool in search of the treasures and dangers hidden inside his own name. A film that starts out in search of identity slowly transforms into a meditation on mortality. Along the way, he confronts his parents about the origins of his name, his sister about the names she gave her children and visits the Jim Smith Society, the National Linda Convention, the streets of New York, Holocaust name memorials, the Vietnam Memorial and the AIDS Quilt. He also stumbles upon some surprising news about name changes at Ellis Island. " -- Director's Website. DVD 827

Sweetgrass. 2009.  1 videodisc (100 min.). "An unsentimental elegy to the American West, Sweetgrass follows the last modern-day cowboys to lead their flocks of sheep up into Montana's breathtaking and often dangerous Absaroka-Beartooth mountains for summer pasture. This astonishingly beautiful film reveals a world in which nature and culture, animals and humans, and vulnerability and violence are all intimately meshed"--Container.  DVD 7999

Symbiopsychotaxiplasm two takes by William Greaves. 1968, 2 videodiscs (174 min.).  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). A fiction/documentary hybrid that blurs the line between reality and fiction, yet remains a tightly focused movie about making movies.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2391

Tabloid. 2010.  1 videodisc (88 min.). In the late 1970s, Miss Wyoming Joyce McKinney became a tabloid staple when she kidnapped her former beau, a Mormon missionary, and tied him to a bed to 'deprogram' his religious beliefs-by having nonstop sex with him. Director Errol Morris follows the salacious adventures of this beauty queen with an IQ of 168 whose single-minded devotion to the man of her dreams led her across the globe, into jail and onto the front page.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9228

The take. 2004.  1 videodisc (ca. 87 min.). In the wake of Argentina's spectacular economics collapse, Latin America's most prosperous middle class finds itself in a ghost town of abandoned factories and mass unemployment. Explores how Argentina's 2001 economic collapse, where a prosperous middle-class economy was destroyed during 10 years of IMF policies, impacted the lives of ordinary workers. Follows 30 unemployed auto-parts workers, who stage a protest against their bosses and economic globalization by occupying their closed factory and refusing to leave.  DVD 1915

Taking on the Kennedys. 1996.  1 videodisc (ca. 54 min.). The story of Republican Kevin Vigilante's unsuccessful 1996 campaign for the House of Representatives in his native Rhode Island, in which he was opposed by Democrat Patrick Kennedy (the son of long-time Massachusetts Senator Ted Kennedy).  After initially pledging to run a clean race, Vigilante soon realizes his chances are nil unless he engages in some good old-fashioned mud-slinging.  DVD 2774

Tarnation. 2003.  1 videodisc (ca. 88 min.). A multitude of family snapshots, Super-8 home movies, old answering machine messages, video diaries, early short films, snippets of '80s pop culture, and dramatic reenactments are used to create an epic portrait of an American family travesty. Begins in 2003 when Jonathan learns that his schizophrenic mother, Renee, overdoses on her lithium medication. He is shot back into his real and horrifying family legacy of rape, abandonment, promiscuity, drug addiction, child abuse, and psychosis. He grows up on camera and finds his escape in musical theater and B-horror movies. A look into the future shows Jonathan as he confronts the almost unbearable love he shares with his tragically damaged mother.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2055

Taxi to the dark side. 2007.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Investigates the torture and killing of an innocent Afghani taxi driver in a gripping probe into reckless abuses of government power. This stunningly crafted narrative demonstrates how one man's life and death symbolizes the erosion of our civil rights.  DVD 4813

That's entertainment! 1974.  1 videodisc (135 min.). The movies, the magic, the memories, the greatest moments, the brightest stars. The incomparable Golden Era of MGM musicals shines in this compilation of music and dance performances.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5671

The thin blue line. 1988.  1 videodisc (102 min.). Errol Morris sets out to prove that a convicted hitchhiker did not kill a Dallas policeman in 1976 - and that the lowlife that fingered him did. Based on a true story.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2219

This film is not yet rated. 2006.  1 videodisc (98 min.). Kirby Dick's provocative film investigates the secretive and inconsistent process by which the Motion Picture Association of America rates films. Kirby looks at some of the controversial rating decisions of the past four decades, hires a private eye to find out who these anonymous raters are and puts his own film through the rating process.  DVD 2414

This is not a film. 2011, 1 videodisc (77 min.).  This clandestine documentary, shot partially on an iPhone and smuggled into France in a cake for a last-minute submission to Cannes, depicts the day-to-day life of acclaimed director Jafar Panahi (Offside, The Circle) during his house arrest in his Tehran apartment. While appealing his sentence, six years in prison and a 20 year ban from filmmaking, Panahi is seen talking to his family and lawyer on the phone, discussing his plight with Mirtahmasb.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12011

Throw a dime = Tire dié. 1958, 1 videodisc (35 min.).  This documentary examines life in the Argentinian village of Santa Fe. Footage of the villagers' daily existence shows the effects of poverty on people's lives and explores the way the nearby train affects the village. The film culminates in a sequence where the children of Santa Fe run alongside the train as it passes by, begging for money from the passengers. DVD 10118

The times of Harvey Milk. 1984.  2 videodiscs (88 min.). Documents the life, career, and assassination of Harvey Milk, the first openly gay person elected to public office in San Francisco. Milk was shot to death, along with mayor George Moscone, by city supervisor Dan White on Nov. 22, 1978; White was convicted of voluntary manslaughter and was paroled in 1985. Examines Milk's life leading up to his assassination, his successful efforts to politically represent San Francisco's gay community, and the city's reaction to the assassinations through extensive news footage and personal   

Titicut follies. 1967.  1 videodisc (84 min.). Stark and graphic documentary of the conditions that existed at the state prison for the criminally insane at Bridgewater, Massachusetts. Shows scenes of the daily life of the men, interspersed with shots from the inmates' talent show. Documents the various ways the inmates are treated by guards, social workers and psychiatrists.  DVD 5986

To be and to have. 2002.  1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). At the center of this intimate and touching story is Georges Lopez - a remarkably devoted teacher responsible for nurturing a dozen children ages 3-11 in all their school subjects and life's lessons. Demonstrates how a teacher, if well trained, dedicated and sensitive to a child's educational and emotional needs, can hugely influence a generation of children at their most critical time of development.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1016

Tokyo Olympiad. 1965.  1 videodisc (170 mins.). An epic study of athletes struggling to excel against their own bodies and against each other. Kon Ichikawa used 164 cameramen and over 100 cameras to show the humanity of the competitors--the tears of the Japanese women volleyball champions, the bellow of the hammer throwers, the pain of the collapsed marathon runner and the solitude of the loser, finishing his lap, picking up his sweats and leaving the field.  DVD 2791

Tongues untied. 1989.  1 videodisc (55 min.). In an experimental amalgam of rap music, street poetry, documentary film, and dance, a gay African-American man expresses what it is like to be gay and black in the United States. Although he deals with social ostracism and fear of AIDS, he affirms the beauty and significance of the gay black man.  DVD 2775

Touching the void. 2003.  1 videodisc (107 min.). In 1985, two young British friends travelled to a remote corner of Peru. Ambitious mountaineers, their aim was to conquer the unclimbed west face of a notorious 21,000 ft. peak "Siula Grande". Their story has become part of mountaineering legend.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2947

Tower. 2016. 1 videodisc (82 min.).  On August first, 1966, a sniper rode the elevator to the top floor of the iconic University of Texas Tower and opened fire, holding the campus hostage for 96 minutes in what was a previously unimaginable event. This documentary combines archival footage with animated re-enactments of the dramatic day, based entirely on first person testimonies from witnesses, heroes, and survivors, in a seamless and suspenseful retelling of the unfolding tragedy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14600 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/444571

Trekkies. 1997.  1 videodisc (86 min.). Beam up to a galaxy where autograph hounds abound and the debate over "Trekkies" vs. "Trekkers" rages on. Interviews with hundreds of devoted fans and Star Trek cast members creates an entertaining and endearing portrait of the landmark series.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 744

The trials of Darryl Hunt. 2006.  1 videodisc (107 min.). Chronicling this capital case from 1984-2004, filmmakers Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg painstakingly frame the judicial and emotional responses to a chilling crime, and the implications surrounding Darryl Hunt's wrongful conviction.  DVD 3656

The trials of Henry Kissinger. 2002.  1 videodisc (80 min.). Did Henry Kissinger sabotage the 1968 Vietnam peace talks for his own personal gain? Did he orchestrate the secret bombing of Cambodia? Did he authorize covert operations to overthrow a Chilean President? This explores how a young boy who fled Nazi Germany grew up to become one of the most powerful and controversial figures in United States history.  DVD 1555

Triumph of the nerds. 1996. 1 videodisc (165 min.). Part 1 describes the early years in the Silicon Valley, including the rise of Intel, the arrival of Paul Allen and Bill Gates, and the successes of Steve Wozniak and Steve Jobs.  Part 2 discusses the competition between IBM and Microsoft and the success of Microsoft in developing personal computers and clones and Windows.  Part 3 discusses recent events including Windows 95 and the growth of the Internet.  DVD 5906

Triumph of the will. 1935.  1 videodisc (120 min.). This film, commissioned by Adolf Hitler to record the 1934 Nazi party rally in Nuremberg, is the "most powerful piece of propaganda ever produced". Included are many scenes of gatherings, marches, and parades. The viewer will also hear speeches given by Hitler, Goering, Goebbels, and Hess as well as samples of monumental architecture designed by Albert Speer.  DVD 351

Trobriand cricket: An ingenious response to colonialism. 1975.  1 videodisc (54 min.). Shows how the Trobriand Islanders have transformed the British game of cricket over the last seventy years into a unique Trobriand sport and a colorful ritual expressing their own cultural values.  DVD 5451

Trouble the water. 2008.  1 videodisc (96 min.). "This astonishing powerful documentary takes you inside Hurricane Katrina in a way never seen on screen.  Incorporating remarkable home footage shot by Kimberly Rivers Robers-an aspiring rap artist trapped with her husband in the 9th ward-directors/producers Tia Lessin and Carl Deal weave this insider's view of Katrina with a devastating portrait of the hurricane's aftermath.  Trouble the Water takes audiences on a journey that is by turns heart-stopping, infuriating, inspiring and empowering.  It's not only about the tragedy of Hurricane Katrina, but about the underlying issues that remained when the flood waters receded-failing public schools, record high levels of incarceration, poverty, structural racism and lack of government accountability"--Container.  DVD 3283

Tulia, Texas.  2007.  1 video file (54 min.). In 1999, undercover narcotics agent Thomas Coleman executed one of the biggest drug stings in Texas history.  Of forty-six people indicted for dealing cocaine, thirty-nine were black.  Thirty-eight defendants took plea bargains; eight who fought the charges were all convicted and sent to prison.  After three years, attorneys finally won a hearing before the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals.  On June 16, 2003, thirteen Tulia defendants were released from prison.  After the Governor pardoned all the convicted defendants, the settlement of a civil suit, the arrest and conviction of Coleman on a felony charge that bars him from ever working in law enforcement again, Tulia seemed to return to normal.  What is 'normal' when this is the price paid by small town Americans for the war on drugs?  Streaming video http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video.cfm?callNum=7515954

Twenty feet from stardom. 2013. 1 videodisc (91 min.).  They are the voices behind the greatest rock, pop and R&B hits of all time, but no one knows their names. Now, in this award-winning documentary, director Morgan Neville shines the spotlight on the untold stories of such legendary background (backup) singers as Darlene Love, Merry Clayton, Lisa Fischer, Judith Hill, and more. Includes behind-the-scenes footage, vintage live performances, and interviews with Bruce Springsteen, Sting, Mick Jagger, Stevie Wonder, and Bette Midler.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11199

Twist of faith. 2004.  1 videodisc (87 min.). The deeply personal story of a man who confronts the trauma of past sexual abuse by a local priest, only to find his decision shatters his relationships with his family, community, and faith.  DVD 1814

Tyson. 2008.  1 videodisc (90 min.). Mike Tyson, one of the most controversial and misunderstood boxers to ever step inside the ring, reveals insights into his life through interviews, archival footage, and photographs.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6739