E-books

The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities E-Book Collection contains 5,400 scholarly books from 250 publishers in the subject areas of anthropology, area studies, international history, literature, philosophy, political science, and women's studies.

Access to hundreds of electronic books, introductions to the major works and figures in the areas of literature, philosophy, religion and the classics.

Online version of over 300 volumes of the Cambridge Histories book series published since 1960. Covers the history of the ancient and modern world, literature, language and linguistics, philosophy and religion, political thought, music and theater, science, economic history, and law in America.

A collection of over 125,000 titles, from the first book published in English, through 1700. Disciplines covered include literature, history, philosophy, theology, music, and the sciences.

Access over 200,000 ebooks here on a variety of topics.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Science.

Contains the working papers as well as books, periodicals, and reports published by the International Monetary Fund.

Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that conducts economic research. Key focus areas of the papers include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.

Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

A full collection of more than 200 scholarly reference resources, including dictionaries and subject specific works.
**Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**

APA-published books and other classic psychology books and book chapters are included. New APA-published books are added monthly, but titles are added a year after initial publication. These materials are directly linked to and can be searched in PsycInfo. The APA Style Manual is NOT included in this resource.

RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution and think tank. Founded after World War II with a focus on national security, their portfolio grew starting in the 1960s to include domestic issues such as health, education, sustainability, criminal and civil justice, and development. Full text of 17,000+ books, reports, and working papers. Covers 1946-present.

Digital library featuring thousands of up-to-date technical books. Books are full-text searchable, and book contents can be printed or emailed.
The link for this collection was updated February 7, 2023. Please clear cookies and cache and restart your browser to ensure proper authentication, see the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies?

A package of more than 2,000 full-text journals, many dating from 1997, in biology, chemistry, environmental science, health sciences, and some social sciences.
Note that American University does not subscribe to all titles on this publisher platform.

TeachingBooks.net adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and non-fiction books used in the K-12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Contains over 1,700 World Bank books and reports (1968 to present; all titles from 2000 to present) and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers.