Subject Guides: COMM 795: Seminar in International Media (Fahy): Reports & Polls

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

(202) 885-3787

Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Film, Media, and Television, News & Newspapers

Core Resources

International media research projects require many different types of information, from scholarly and popular articles to statistics and sources of public opinion.

This portion of the guide focuses on sources of data, such as special reports and polls.

Polls & Public Data

SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Gallup Brain This link opens in a new window
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll from 1935 to 2016.
See Gallup Analytics for current content.
iPOLL and RoperExpress (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public opinion polls (iPOLL) and datasets (RoperExpress) from 1935 to present. Includes the major academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

Pew Research Center
A self-described "nonpartisan 'fact tank"' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. A key online resource for communication researchers.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.

USA.gov
The U.S. Government's official web portal. A key resource for identifying government agencies and services.

Industry/Company Background

For more database suggestions, see the Industry Research guide.

First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.
Hoover's This link opens in a new window
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**

News & Newspaper Resources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996 and Annexes This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports are U.S. government transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign countries. Annexes comprise an additional 7,000 transcripts to the Daily Reports. The modern successor to the FBIS Daily Reports is the World News Connection.

Historical Newspaper Databases List
Link to the "Historical Newspapers" section of the News & Newspapers subject guide. Lists dozens of databases for locating historical newspaper articles, including the New York Times Historical, Washington Post Historical, and Los Angeles Times Historical.