Subject Guides: COMM 589: Sustainability Communication: Reports & Polls

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

(202) 885-3787

Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Film, Media, and Television, News & Newspapers

Core Resources

Multidisciplinary research projects often require a variety of information types, from scholarly and popular articles to statistics and sources of public opinion.

This portion of the guide focuses on sources of data, such as special reports and polls.

Polls & Public Data

Data Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents.
As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas.
Gallup Brain This link opens in a new window
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935.
iPOLL and RoperExpress (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public opinion polls (iPOLL) and datasets (RoperExpress) from 1935 to present. Includes the major academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

Users should no longer use a pre-existing individual, sponsored account when accessing iPoll. Following the prompts to authenticate with AU credentials will provide full access to downloads.

Pew Research Center
A self-described "nonpartisan 'fact tank"' that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. A key online resource for communication researchers.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.

USA.gov
The U.S. Government's official web portal. A key resource for identifying government agencies and services.

Industry/Company Background

For more database suggestions, see the Industry Research guide.

First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data. The database also provides state-level (and Canadian Province) economic snapshots.
Hoover's This link opens in a new window
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
**Access limited to current AU faculty, students, and staff.**

News & Newspaper Resources

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
**If you receive an error page when attempting to access Factiva, please clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies?**
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.

Historical Newspaper Databases List
Link to the "Historical Newspapers" section of the News & Newspapers subject guide. Lists dozens of databases for locating historical newspaper articles, including the New York Times Historical, Washington Post Historical, and Los Angeles Times Historical.