Subject Guides: Criminal Justice: Statistics / Data

Data Sources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
In keeping with its mission, the Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime and criminal justice. Their website offers data collections and reports by topic.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research.
Browse ICPSR's Datasets and Series by Subject
**Access to datasets requires a free user-specific login.
To create or log into your ICPSR account, click on the 'Log In' button found in the upper right corner of most ICPSR pages.**
Additional information, particularly about off-campus access, is available in the library's Accessing ICPSR datasets at AU Subject Guide.
OECD Publications
Resources from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development including statistics and factbooks.
SAGE Data
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
PolicyMap
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts.
** Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **

** There was an update made to our authentication to this resource on August 20, 2024. Existing users will be prompted to verify their accounts by inputting a code sent to their @american.edu email. **
Social Explorer
Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **

Statistical Analysis Centers (SACs)
SACs exists in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands. They collect and analyze criminal justice data at the State level. The Justice Research and Statistical Association is a nonprofit organization made up of all SACs.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - Statistical Briefing Book
The Statistical Briefing Book is an online resource describing topics related to delinquency and the juvenile justice system.

Data Assistance

Found data, but need help putting it to work? Consider one of these campus resources:

LinkedIn Learning
Online training and courses in such subjects as Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Office, digital photography, Web design, digital video, and more.
** Connecting your LinkedIn Learning account with your LinkedIn profile is OPTIONAL, however, if you want to preserve your learning history and certificates after leaving AU, you will need to connect it. **
See this FAQ for instructions to set up your account.