Skip to main content

Filmography - National Cinema, Cuba: Home

Titles available on DVD as of September 2013

National Cinema, Cuba

Titles available on DVD as of September 2013

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings on prison topics (including VHS tapes) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

Amada. 1982.  The Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (105 min.). Cuenta la historia de una bella mujer atrapada en en sí misma, en constante pugna con sus sentidos y sentimientos, a la vez que nos brinda pinceladas del entorno political y social de La Habana de 1914. Drama about politics and an illicit affair in the lives of an aristocratic Cuban family in Havana during the early part of the 20th century as a young housewife falls in love with her leftwing journalist cousin.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4335

Azúcar amarga = Bitter sugar. 1996.  1 videodisc (102 min.). A love story set against the political and economic tensions of contemporary Havana. Gustavo, an idealistic young Communist, falls in love with Yolanda who is disillusioned and longs to flee to Miami. Gustavo slowly awakens to the devastation around him. His brother injects himself with AIDS virus in civil protest; his father realizes that he will earn more as a barroom pianist in a tourist hotel than as a doctor.  DVD 6347

Cecilia. 1981.  The Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (127 min.). In 1830 Cuba, the son of a rich colonial family falls in love with a proud, beautiful, but poor mulatto girl.  His father, however, wants him to marry a woman from his own social class.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4334

Confesion a Laura = Confession to Laura. 1990.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Set during a violent civil war in Columbia which occurred after the assassination of liberal leader Jorge Elieser Gaitain in 1948. Three people are trapped in Laura's house during a riot, setting the scene for an unforgettable night.  DVD 9548

Cuba feliz. 2000.  1 videodisc (93 min.). Follows Miguel del Morales, a 76 year-old troubadour known as El Gallo (The Rooster), as he wanders the countryside of Cuba. He meets people of all persuasions who, like del Morales, share the passion of music that is central to the life and dreams of the Cuban people.  DVD 9247 

The Cuban masterworks collection = Obras maestras del cine cubano. 2006.  5 videodiscs (529 min.). Amada:  Set in Havana in 1914, as World War I begins.  Amada, a young conservative bourgeois woman unhappily married to an ambitious politician, and tied to obsolete values, falls passionately in love with her cousin Marcial, a young nonconformist who tries unsuccessfully to shake her out of her traditionalism with tragic results. Aventuras de Juan Quin Quin (The adventures of Juan Quin Quin): A peasant farmer becomes a soldier in the Cuban revolution in this offbeat adventure comedy. His healthy cynicism towards the police, wealthy landlords, and the government serves him well after he joins up with a female guerilla. He rises to become a lieutenant as he waits for the signal for the rebellion to begin. Cecilia: In 1830 Cuba, the son of a rich colonial family falls in love with a proud, beautiful but poor mulatto girl.  His father, however, wants him to marry a woman from his own social class. Dolce sillas (The twelve chairs): A rich woman decides, before dying, to hide the family jewels under a chair lining. An ex-proprietor and his ex-driver find this out and undertake a desperate search for the treasure, which gives rise to amusing situations and incredible adventures. Five restored classic films from Cuba. Un hombre de éxito (A successful man): Cuba's history before the Revolution is chronicled through the story of two brothers, one a revolutionary man of action, the other an unscrupulous politician trying to steer a treacherous middle path between opposing political ideas.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4331 - 4335

La edad de la peseta = The silly age. 2006.  1 videodisc (90 min.). In 1950's Havana, before the Revolution, Samuel is brought to Havana by his mother Alicia, a newly divorced woman, to live with her long-ignored mother Violeta. At first, Violeta teases and commands Samuel. She tries to intimidate him a little and threatens him with being sent away to school. But, rather suddenly he becomes Violeta's protégé. She's a portrait photographer and Samuel becomes her assistant. Gradually a nice relationship between Violeta and Samuel develops. Alicia meets Ramon, the plump and proper owner of a shoe store. Alicia goes to work at Ramon's shop, and eventually they marry. Meanwhile, Samuel receives some advanced kissing lessons. Samuel meets a beautiful woman delivering photo portraits. She is Violeta's most beautiful model, a movie star named film star Nuria. She turns out to be the girlfriend of one of the most famous heroes of the Cuban Revolution . DVD 6882

El otro Francisco = The other Francisco. 1974.  1 videodisc (100 min.). Pseudo-documentary film that contrasts the romantic conceptions of plantation life found in SuaÌrez Romero's novel with a realistic expose of the actual historical conditions of slavery throughout the Americas. Offers a critical analysis of the novel, showing how the author's social background led to his use of particular dramatic structures to convey his liberal, humanitarian viewpoint.  DVD 9510

Fresa y chocolate = Strawberry and chocolate. 1993.  1 videodisc (104 min.). "La historia de David y Diego es la historia de dos seres humanos en busca de un ámbito en el cual ser. El primero estudiante de ciencias sociales en la Universidad de la Habana, el segundo, un homosexual que vive por y para exaltar la Cultura Cubana"--Container. David, a student at Havana University, is devastated when his girlfriend marries someone else. When he meets a gay artist, Diego, he is drawn to his cultured lifestyle and a friendship forms between them. With the help of two new friends, a young man learns everything there is to know about things not taught in school.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1163

Guantanamera. 1995.  1 videodisc (104 min.). In this romantic comedy, Yoyita, a world-famous diva, returns to her home town of Guantanamo for an elegant reception and a surprise reunion with her once beloved, Candido. Overjoyed with the rekindled memories of her first love, Yoyita's elated heart fizzles while in Candido's embrace. Joining Yoyita's funeral procession back to Havana are her sexy niece Gina, a former professor blacklisted for political nonconformity, and her husband Adolfo, a tasteless government official in charge of the funeral proceedings. As the cortege wends westward across Cuba, its path keeps crossing that of Mariano, a gallant truck driver who once had a crush on Gina and whose recurring presence crystallizes her doubts about her marriage. DVD 4809

Hasta cierto punto = Up to a point. 1983.  Cine de colección Zafra Video: Clásicos del cine Cubano1 videodisc (80 min.). This clever self-reflexive satire about the battle of the sexes in contemporary Cuba tells the story of an educated, liberal filmmaker who, in doing research for a film about the social problem of machismo in Cuban society, finds himself falling in love with the sexy, liberated Lina, a pioneering female dockworker.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3587

Juan de los muertos.  2011.  1 videodisc (96 min.). When Havana begins to fill up with zombies, Juan, a 40-year-old slacker, is forced to become a hero, defend his country and protect his own on an island that has turned into a real bloodbath.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10409 

Las Aventuras de Juan Quin Quin = The adventures of Juan Quin Quin. 1967.  Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (104 min.). Juan Quin Quin, a poor but shrewd farmer, lives on his wits in pre-revolutionary Cuba as a circus performer, bull-fighter, coffee planter, even playing the part of Christ in a traveling theatre company.  Then he joins the Revolution.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4332

Las doce sillas = The twelve chairs. 1962.  The Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (90 min.). A rich woman decides, before dying, to hide the family jewels under a chair lining. An ex-proprietor and his ex-driver find this out and undertake a desperate search for the treasure, which gives rise to amusing situations and incredible adventures. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4331

Lucia. 1968.  Clásicos del cine cubano.  1 videodisc (160 min.). Three part film covers three periods (1895, 1932, 1960s) in Cuban history as it portrays episodes in the lives of three different women named Lucia, emphasizing each Lucia's role as a woman in the social milieu of the period. Each episode is filmed in a distinctive visual style to reflect the spirit of each historical era, with the themes of love, death and war. DVD 6268 

Memorias del subdesarrollo = Memories of underdevelopment. 1968.  1 videodisc (94 min.). A bourgeois property owner decides to stay in Cuba after the revolution and must examine his life and values in a new social and policital milieu . DVD 429

La muerte de un burocrata = The death of a bureaucrat. 1966.  Cuban cinema.  1 videodisc (87 min.). A hilarious account of the tyranny of red tape in Cuba. The comedy begins with a sculptor who is buried with his union card. The widow needs his card to get her pension. A nephew is sent to get permission to exhume the body. A social satire.  DVD 9559

Retrato de Teresa = A portrait of Teresa. 1979.  Clásicos del cine cubano: Cine de colección Zafra Video.  1 videodisc (98 min.). Teresa, a union delegate, becomes a promoter of culture. In the opinion of her husband, their tasks detract time from household occupations, and accuses her of negligence. She reacts in defense of her emancipation. Drama addressing the crisis on the values of gender and sexism. It reflects the changes within a Cuban family, as a result of the changes that unleashed the revolution at all levels of contemporary life. Teresa is a Cuban housewife, mother, and employee in a textile factory whose involvement in political and cultural groups incurs the displeasure of her husband. DVD 4301

Soy Cuba = I am Cuba. 1964.  3 videodiscs (141 min.). Four vignettes in Batista's Cuba dramatize the need for revolution; long mobile shots tell almost wordless stories. DVD 331 

La Ultima Cena = The last supper. 1976.  1 videodisc (110 min.). The film is a dazzling moral tale of a pious late-eighteenth-century slaveholder who decides to improve his soul and instruct his slaves in the glories of Christianity by inviting twelve of them to participate in a reenactment of the Last Supper.  DVD 2262

Un Hombre de éxito = A successful man. 1986.  The Cuban masterworks collection.  1 videodisc (103 min.). Cuba's history before the Revolution is chronicled through the story of two brothers, one a revolutionary man of action, the other an unscrupulous politician trying to steer a treacherous middle path between opposing political ideas. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4333

La vida es silbar = Life is to whistle. 1998.  1 videodisc (106 min.). Three characters in present-day Havana must choose between clinging to their self-restricting beliefs, or getting rid of them to live more freely. Ballerina Mariana has promised God celibacy if she gets the role of "Giselle"; social-worker Julia always faints after hearing a certain word; and pot-smoking percussionist Elpidio was abandoned by his mother, coincidentally named Cuba, some time ago and has not yet gotten over the loss. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3739 

Viva Cuba. 2006.  Film Movement series.  1 videodisc (80 min.). In a tale akin to "Romeo and Juliet," the friendship between two children is threatened by their parents' differences. Malú is from an upper-class family and her single mother does not want her to play with Jorgito, as she thinks his background coarse and commonplace. Jorgito's mother a poor socialist proud of her family's social standing, places similar restrictions on her son. What neither woman recognizes is the immense strength of the bond between Malú and Jorgito. When the children learn that Malú's mother is planning to leave Cuba, they decide to travel to the other side of the island to find Malú's father and persuade him against signing the forms that would allow it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3055