The library catalog is a basic, yet powerful resource for scholarly research here at AU. Remember that you can use this resource to request books from libraries within the consortium, too -- with only a 2-3 day estimated delivery time.
A relatively new tool offered by the AU Library, SearchBox has a Google-like interface and allows users to search AU's catalog and (most of its) databases simultaneously. Useful for highly specific searches -- but can be overwhelming if you aren't used to using multiple limits and filters.
Scholarly Publications: Journal Articles
These are just a few of the many databases that might be useful to you in researching current and historical topics in visual information. For more recommended databases, please visit the Library's databases by subject page.
Developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts, Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents.
As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.