Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Women Directors: Home

Titles available on DVD and streaming as of Sept. 2014.

Women Directors

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2014.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings on prison topics (including VHS tapes) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

Anders, Allison
Gas, food lodging
. 1991, 1 videodisc (101 min.).  Love and sex complicate the lives of Nora Evans (Adams) and her two teenage daughters in this film about coming of age in a small New Mexico town. DVD 10752

Anders, Allison; Alexandre Rockwell; Robert Rodriguez; Quentin Tarantino
Four rooms
. 1995, 1 videodisc (98 min.).  In four episodes, a hapless hotel bellhop is placed in some outrageous predicaments by some very unusual guests. DVD 6538

Barthes, Sophie
Das Fräulein = Fraulein
. 2006, 1 videodisc (81 min.).  Film Movement series. Das Fräulein is the story of two Balkan refugees. Ruza owns a restaurant and has lived in Switzerland for 25 years. Ana is a Bosnian who breezes into Ruza's life and injects both joy and discontent. Happiness describes a Polish American woman who buys a box of happiness in a store and cannot decide what to do with it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3058

Benning, Sadie
Sadie Benning videoworks. 1992, 1 videodisc (49 min.).  Contains three videos by Sadie Benning who uses an inexpensive camera and toys, drawings, and scrawled diary entries to record the thoughts, feelings and images that reveal her emerging lesbian sexuality. DVD 8099

Bigelow, Kathryn
Near dark
. 1987, 2 videodiscs (94 min.).  Horror film about a naive young country boy who is lured into a secret clan of savage vampires who prowl the night seeking victims.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 483 

Bigelow, Kathryn
Point break. 1991, 1 videodisc (122 min.).  Young FBI agent Johnny Utah goes undercover at the suggestion of his partner to learn if a group of wild surfers is actually a gang of bank robbers. He soon comes under the dangerous spell of the surfers' charismatic leader, Bodhi, a mystical mastermind who'll do absolutely anything for a thrill-- and expects his followers to do the same.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6765

Bigelow, Kathryn
Strange days. 1995, 1 videodisc (145 min.).  A thriller set in the urban inferno of 1999 Los Angeles. Lenny Nero sells dreams and hustles nightmares available on small disks that are viewable via a compact headpiece that makes every sensation immediate. Nero replays scenes of happier days with Faith Justin, who has run off with sadistic Philo Gant. As he attempts to win Faith back, he hooks up with an old friend, Lornette "Mace" Mason, and the two of them are caught in a deadly fantasy of conspiracy, murder and betrayal. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 584

Bigelow, Kathryn
The hurt locker. 2008, 1 videodisc (131 min.).  US Army Staff Sergeant Will James, Sergeant J.T. Sanborn and Specialist Owen Eldridge comprise the Bravo Company's bomb disposal unit stationed in Baghdad. James is the tech team leader. When James arrives on the scene, Bravo Company has thirty-nine days left on its current deployment. It will be a long thirty-nine days for Sanborn and Eldridge whose styles do not mesh with their new leader.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6762 

Bigelow, Kathryn
The weight of water.  2000, 1 videodisc (114 min.).  A century old double murder haunts Jean, a photographer, who travels to the scene of the crime to investigate. The sole survivor of the murders was a woman whose unhappy marriage mirror's Jeans. Past and present collide and it suddenly becomes clear to Jean who the real killer is. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7130

Bigelow, Kathryn
Wild palms. 1993, 2 videodiscs (ca. 285 min.).  Harry Wyckoff (James Belushi) is about to become a player in a dark and terrifying battle where everything is at stake and no one is who they seem. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2035

Bigelow, Kathryn
Zero dark thirty. 2012, 1 videodisc (157 min.).  Chronicles the decade-long search for Osama bin Laden following the September 2001 attacks, and his death at the hands of Navy SEAL Team 6. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6211 

Borden, Lizzie
Born in flames
. 1983, 1 videodisc (80 min.).  A futuristic fable of feminist turmoil still brewing ten years after the Second American Revolution.  When Adelaide Norris, the black radical founder of the Woman's Army, is mysteriously killed, a diverse coalition of women - across all lines of race, class, and sexual preference - emerges to blow the System apart.  With their fury growing and all peaceful options exhausted, women overcome divisions of race, class, and sexual orientation to form a guerilla movement to take over control of the media. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3947

Borden, Lizzie
Working girls. 1986, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  "Welcome to a typical day in the life of a group of New York City prostitutes. Together these women deal with everything from the mundane to the profane while servicing men of all shapes, sizes and odd fetishes."--Www.anchorbayentertainment.com.              HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1082

Breillat, Catharine
Anatomie de l'Enfer = Anatomy of Hell
. 2004, 1 videodisc (80 min.).  "Over four nights in a house in the middle of nowhere, a woman on the verge pays a handsome stranger to watch her 'where she's unwatchable.'"--Packaging.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3834

Breillat, Catherine
À ma soeur! = Fat girl. 2001, 1 videodisc (86 min.).  Twelve-year-old Anaïs is fat. Her sister, Eléna, is a beauty. Eléna meets an Italian law student, who seduces her with promises of love, as the ever-watchful Anaïs bears witness to the corruption of her sister's innocence.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2945

Breillat, Catherine
Parfait amour! = Perfect love. 1996, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  "Follows the relationship between Frédérique and Christophe. 37 years-old and twice divorced, Frédérique meets 28 year-old Christophe at a wedding. What starts off as a happy relationship quickly turns tumultuous, as both give in to jealousy and fighting. Ultimately, their relationship goes tragically awry ending in a final crime of passion."—Container.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3832 

Breillat, Catherine
Romance. 1999, 1 videodisc (98 min.).  Claiming he loves her, but that he has lost his desire for her, Marie's boyfriend, Paul, refuses to engage in sexual relations, catapulting Marie into a desperate search for intimacy and erotic connection. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3833

Breillat, Catherine
Sex is comedy
. 2002, 1 videodisc (95 min.).  For director Jeanne, sex is no laughing matter. She doesn't find it funny that her two leading actors can't stand each other when she's about to shoot the most important moment in her film ... the sex scene. The actress objects to nudity, the actor won't take off his socks, and the only thing heating up between them is their tempers. At her wits' end, Jeanne tries everything in her power to seduce, intimidate and sweet-talk her reluctant young lovers into performing the film's sexy final scene. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8674 

Breillat, Catherine
Une vieille maitresse. 2007, 1 videodisc (114 min.).  "A penniless rogue, Ryno de Marigny, shocks 19th-century France with his engagement to the virginal gem of the aristocracy, Hermangarde.  As lurid speculations of Ryno's ten-year affair with the carnal Vellini manifest, a supremely erotic and wickedly humorous depiction of human lust is revealed--overriding the brittle facade of nobility and reverence"--Container. DVD 10376 

Brownstein, Carie, Fred Armisen and Jonathan Krisel
Portlandia. 2011, 2, 2 videodiscs (ca. 220 min.).  Includes all ten episodes of the second season of Portlandia, the hit sketch comedy series created and written by, and starring Fred Armisen of Saturday Night Live and Carrie Brownstein from the band Sleater-Kinney. This season, the two continue skewering the weird and wonderful residents of Portland, Oregon, as well as hipsters everywhere. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7572-3

Campion, Jane
Holy smoke! 1999, 1 videodisc (114 min.).  A cult deprogrammer is hired to free a young woman who has fallen under the influence of a religious guru while on a journey in India. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3884 

Campion, Jane
An angel at my table a trilogy
. 1990, 1 videodisc (158 min.). The true-life story of Janet Frame, New Zealand's most distinguished author. The film follows Frame along her inspiring journey, from a poverty-stricken childhood to a misdiagnosis of schizophrenia and electroshock therapy to, finally, literary fame. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3974

Campion, Jane
Bright star
. 2005, 1 videodisc (119 min.).  Nineteenth century poet John Keats and the girl next door, Fanny Brawne, started out as unlikely lovers who were totally at odds with each other. However, when Brawne offers to help Keats nurse his seriously ill brother, the two soon became involved in an unstoppable romance that only his untimely death at age 25 could bring to a shattering end. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7070 

Campion, Jane
In the cut. 2003, 1 videodisc [119 min.].  A lonely young woman in New York City gets tangled up in a murder investigation when a severed head is found in her garden. When she becomes involved with the homicide detective on the case, she realizes that the prime suspect may be closer than she likes to think.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9989 

Campion, Jane
Sweetie. 1989, 1 videodisc (99 min.).  Jane Campion, director of The Piano, will always be remembered for this stunning debut feature. The focus of this film is the hazardous relationship between button-down, superstitious Kay, and her rampaging sister, 'Sweetie.'. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3927 

Campion, Jane
The piano. 1993, 1 videodisc (121 min.).  Erotic passions and vengeful jealousies are aroused when two men desire the same woman. A young mute woman from Scotland and her child travel to New Zealand in the 1800s for an arranged marriage to a farmer there. After the marriage she meets another man, and the competition for her love begins. Only one of the men realizes that her affections can only be won through her beloved piano. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 63 

Campion, Jane
The portrait of a lady. 1996, 1 videodisc (144 min.).  Isabel Archer is a 19th-century young woman of daring independence and equally fierce desires. But her head-strong innocence is no match for the manipulations of her duplicitous friend Madame Merle and the devious Gilbert Osmond.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9226

Chadha, Gurinder
Bhaji on the beach
. 1993, 1 videodisc (100 min.).  A group of Indian women, living in England, are brought together by a day at the beach in Blackpool.        HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4958

Chadha, Gurinder
Bride & prejudice
. 2004, 1 videodisc (111 min.).  Based on Jane Austen's classic novel, Pride and Prejudice, with a Bollywood twist. In Ammritsar, the determined Mrs. Bakshi sets out to find matches for her four daughters. Second sister, Lalita, meets American Will Darcy - is it love? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1784

Chadha, Gurinder
Bend it like Beckham
. 2002, 1 videodisc (112 min.).  Eighteen year-old Jesminder's parents want her to be a nice, conventional Indian girl. But she just wants to play soccer like her hero, David Beckham. For Jess, that means kicking a ball around the local park with the lads until she's spotted by Jules, who invites her to join the local women's team.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 672

Chadha, Gurinder
I'm British but--
. 1989, 1 videodisc (30 min.).  Using Bhangra and Bangla music and the testimonies of young British Asians, the video uncovers a defiant popular culture--a synthesis--part Asian, part British.  DVD 9751 

Chadha, Gurinder
What's cooking? 2000, 1 videodisc (109 min.).  "What happens when families come together for Thanksgiving? Almost anything! Tale of four very different families, as they cook up some tasty holiday surprises: love, betrayal, and even a few outrageous secrets! And, ultimately, discover the astonishing power love has to reconnect us all"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 251

Cholodenko, Lisa
The kids are all right
. 2010, 1 videodisc (107 min.).  Nic and Jules are in a long term, committed, loving but by no means perfect relationship. Nic, a physician, needs to wield what she believes is control, whereas Jules, under that control, is less self-assured. They have two teen-aged children, Joni, who is Nic's biological child, and Laser, who is Jules' biological child. A big-hearted, sexy and uproariously funny movie that combines comedic surprise with poignant emotional truth.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7848 

Collyer, Laurie
Nuyorican dream
. 2000, 1 videodisc (82 min.).  Follows five years in the life of a New York Puerto Rican family struggling against poverty, drug addiction and incarceration, capturing the emotional immediacy of a family in a free-fall without a social safety net. It also celebrates elements of community life -- solidarity, sharing of resources, cultural citizenship -- which make day-to-day survival possible giving testimony to the central role played by Puerto Rican women in maintaining family and cultural ties.  DVD 9756 

Collyer, Laurie
Sherrybaby. 2006, 1 videodisc (ca. 96 min.).  A young woman with a history of drug abuse returns home after a 3-year prison sentence, to reconnect with her 5-year-old daughter while trying to adjust to the outside world once again. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2428

Coppola, Sofia
The bling ring
. 2013.1 videodisc (87 min.).  Inspired by actual events, The Bling Ring tells the story of a group of fame-obsessed teenagers living in the suburbs of Los Angeles who use the internet to track celebrities, whereabouts in order to rob their empty homes. Ringleader Rebecca leads the group of misfits including Marc, Nicki, Sam and Chloe on the ultimate heist for designer clothes and jewelry; and what starts out as teenage fun quickly spins out of control. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7641

Coppola, Sofia
Lost in translation. 2003, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  A middle-aged actor and the wife of a photographer meet while on business in Tokyo. They strike up an unusual friendship in the hotel bar that helps them both overcome boredom and loneliness.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 741 

Coppola, Sofia
Marie Antoinette. 2006, 1 videodisc (123 min.).  Tells the story of the 14-year-old ill-fated Archduchess of Austria and later Queen of France. Marie Antoinette has become one of the most misunderstood and abused woman in history, from her birth in Imperial Austria. And how the young woman must grow up in front of the entire country of France.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3830 

Coppola, Sofia
Somewhere. 2010, 1 videodisc (98 min.).  A witty, moving, and empathetic look into the orbit of actor Johnny Marco. You have probably seen him in the tabloids; Johnny is living at the legendary Chateau Marmont hotel in Hollywood. He has a Ferrari to drive around in, and a constant stream of girls and pills to stay in with. Comfortably numbed, Johnny drifts along. Then, his 11-year-old daughter Cleo from his failed marriage arrives unexpectedly at the Chateau. Their encounters encourage Johnny to face up to where he is in life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4315 

Coppola, Sofia
The virgin suicides.  2000, 1 videodisc (96 min.).  When school hunk Trip Fontain convinces the beautiful but sheltered Lisbon sisters to go to the prom, the romantic fantasies of a group of neighborhood boys threaten to come true--until all are engulfed in a stunning chain of events that will change their lives forever.  DVD 192

Dash, Julie
Daughters of the dust
. 1991, 1 videodisc (113 min.).  Story of a large African-American family as they prepare to move North from the Sea Islands off the coast of Georgia at the dawn of the 20th century. DVD 111

Deitch, Donna
Desert hearts. 1985, 2 videodiscs (94 min.).  Vivian is a repressed English professor who goes to Reno for a quickie divorce in 1959. She spends the weeks waiting for final divorce papers at a dumpy dude ranch. There she meets Cay, a beautiful young casino worker. The two develop a friendship that stirs desires in Vivian she cannot deny. Slowly their attraction deepens into bold sensuality as they develop a bond that renews their hearts--and breaks all the rules.
HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11335 

Deitch, Donna
The women of Brewster Place. 1988, 1 videodisc (180 min.).  Mattie Michael, whose life has been plagued by misfortunes, is alone in a ghetto tenement on Brewster Place. She gradually unites the other tenement women to help them struggle for a new life. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3230 

Denis, Claire
Bastards
. 2013. 1 videodisc (100 min.).  Following his brother-in-law's suicide, sea captain Marco goes AWOL to rescue his estranged sister and teenaged niece from a powerful, wealthy businessman, who just so happens to be his lover's husband. But Marco's attempt at heroism is soon thwarted as he delves further into the hellish world his sister has involved herself in, and the deception from those he trusted most.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4023

Denis, Claire
Beau travail
. 1999, 1 videodisc (90 min.).  International cinema: International cinema. Men in the French Foreign Legion, escaping some personal or legal entanglement, can leave their lives behind and take on a new identity. In an outpost in Djibouti, the men of the Legion yield to the rigid discipline and unvarying routine of life within it. When new recruit Sentain saves the life of a fellow soldier, brooding taskmaster Sgt. Galoup sets out to destroy him. The film observes how power functions among men, and considers the consequences of remaining a stranger, even as the Legionnaires must always remain strangers. DVD 6826 

Denis, Claire
Chocolat
. 1988, 1 videodisc (106 min.).  A young woman returns to Cameroon to trace her past. Soon the sights, sounds and smells sweep her back to her childhood and memories of the people who populated her youth. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1072

Denis, Claire
L'intrus = The intruder
. 2004, 1 videodisc (130 min.).  Louis lives an isolated existence on the French-Swiss border. When an ailing heart leads him to visit Geneva to pay for a replacement on the black market, he travels to his former home where he searches for his lost son.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7050 

Denis, Claire
White material. 2009, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Maria is an entitled white woman living in Africa, desperately unwilling to give up her family's crumbling coffee plantation despite the civil war closing in on her. A gripping evocation of the death throes of European colonialism and a fascinating look at a woman lost in her own mind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9682

Deren, Maya
Maya Deren experimental films. 1943, 1 videodisc (76 min.).  Examples of Maya Deren's work evoke and exemplify the American avant-garde film movement of the 1940s and 1950s.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 630 

Despentes, Virginie
Mutantes féminisme porno punk = Punk porn feminism
. 2009,  1 videodisc (92 min.) : sd., col.  Made up of about twenty interviews filmed in the United States, Paris and Barcelona, and documents from the archives about the political action of sex workers, queer activists and performances of another kind, Mutantes is a documentary that gives the floor to pro-sex activists and follows the evolution of the movement from the 80s to the present.  DVD 9799 

Dörrie, Doris
Kirschblüten - Hanami Cherry blossoms - Hanami
. 2008,  1 videodisc (124 min.).  Only Trudi knows that her husband Rudi is suffering from a terminal illness. She decides not to tell him and convinces him to visit their family in Berlin. When Trudi dies suddenly, Rudi vows to make up for her lost life and takes his last journey to Tokyo in the midst of the cherry blossom festival.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11162 

Dörrie, Doris
Männer = Men. 1985, 1 videodisc (99 min.).  "An ad executive goes off the deep-end when his wife starts seeing an unemployed artist. The husband decides that artists must be secretly alluring to women. So he moves in with the unsuspecting artist. The two become buddies, exchanging everything--including personalities."—Case.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7505 

Dunye, Cheryl
The watermelon woman. 1997, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  Cheryl, a young black woman in a video store, is making a documentary about an obscure black actress from the 1930's. When she discovers that the actress (known as "the Watermelon Woman") had a white lesbian lover, Cheryl just happens to fall in love with a very cute white woman herself!  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3603

Ephron, Nora (writer)
When Harry met Sally. 1989, 1 videodisc (95 min.).  Sex always gets in the way of friendships between men and women. At least, that's what Harry Burns believes. So when Harry meets Sally Albright and a deep friendship blossoms between them, Harry's determined not to let his attraction to Sally destroy it. But when a night of weakness ends in a morning of panic, can the pair avoid succumbing to Harry's fears by remaining friends and admitting they just might be the perfect match for each other? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4936

Ephron, Nora
Julie & Julia. 2009, 1 videodisc (123 min.).  Julie Powell is a frustrated insurance worker who wants to be a writer. Trying to find a challenge in her life, she decides to cook her way through Julia Child's 'Mastering the Art of French Cooking' in one year, and to blog about it. As Julie begins to find her groove as a cook, and her voice as a writer, the project takes on a life of its own. The project provides the struggling young woman with her life's purpose, to her very pleasant surprise. Julia Child has an amazing love affair with her dashing husband, Paul, all while embracing life and French food. Julie lovingly celebrates the life of one of American food's most influential and beloved figureheads.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7096 

Ephron, Nora
Sleepless in Seattle. 1993, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  After hearing a man confess his love for his dearly departed wife on a call-in radio show, a woman falls deeply, inexplicably in love with him. Deciding he is her destiny, she treks across country on a wildly romantic impulse to meet him.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7214

Ephron, Nora
You've got mail. 1998, 1 videodisc (120 min.).  Superstore book chain magnate and cozy children's bookshop owner are anonymous e-mail cyberpals who fall head-over-laptops in love, unaware they are combative business rivals. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10858 

Ewing, Heidi , Alex Gibney, Seth Gordon, Rachel Grady, Eugene Jarecki, Morgan Spurlock
Freakonomics
. 2010, 1 videodisc (93 min.).  The highly anticipated film version of the phenomenally bestselling book about incentives-based thinking by renowned economists Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner. Like the book, the film examines human behavior with provocative and sometimes hilarious case studies, bringing together a dream team of filmmakers responsible for some of the most acclaimed and entertaining documentaries in recent years. DVD 8318 

Ewing, Heidi and Rachel Grady
The boys of Baraka
. 2005, 1 videodisc (84 min.).  Follows a group of 12-year-old boys from the most violent ghettos of Baltimore to the Baraka School, an experimental boarding school in rural Kenya, where children live by strict guidelines, yet are given the freedom to grow.  DVD 8126

Ewing, Heidi and Rachel Grady
Detropia
. 2012, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  Detroit's story has encapsulated the iconic narrative of America over the last century: the Great Migration of African Americans escaping Jim Crow; the rise of manufacturing and the middle class; the love affair with automobiles; the flowering of the American dream; and now, the collapse of the economy and the fading American mythos. With its vivid, painterly palette and haunting score, sculpts a dreamlike collage of a grand city teetering on the brink of dissolution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5392 

Ewing, Heidi
Jesus camp. 2006, 1 videodisc (84 min.).  A first-ever look into an intense training ground that recruits born-again Christian children to become an active part of America's political future. Follow these children at summer camp in Devil's Lake, North Dakota as they hone their 'prophetic gifts'.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2440   

Gorris, Marleen
Antonia's line
. 1995, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  A remarkable portrait of a family and a community, of mothers and daughters, and of one indomitable woman. Earthy, sexy, romantic, filled with laughter and warmth, it's a joyous celebration of simple pleasures and enduring passions.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1985

Gorris, Marleen
Carolina. 2003, 1 videodisc (98 min.).  Carolina, who is named after the state for which she was born in, tries to escape from her wildly eccentric family in search of a life of love and normalcy. Her sisters, Georgia and Maine, live with her grandma in a rather unconventional fashion. Her neighbor, Albert, writes romance novels for a living and writes a book "for Carolina". Carolina, herself, has a job as the producer of a television show, but loses her job when her hysterical sister calls because grandma has locked herself in a dressing room at the local mall.
HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2671

Gorris, Marleen
Mrs. Dalloway.
1998, 1 videodisc (97 min.).  The captivating and romantic story based on the critically-acclaimed Virginia Woolf novel of the same name.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1498 

Gorris, Marleen
The Luzhin defence
. 2000, 1 videodisc (109 min.).  An eccentric chess master, whose unstable childhood rendered him incapable of relating well with others, finds that chess is his only escape and solace. At an Italian resort, where he is favored to win a prestigious chess championship, he meets and falls in love with a caring woman. When a former mentor turned jealous saboteur tries to destroy his confidence, the fragile genius may lose more than just the big game.  DVD 5256 

Granik, Debra
Winter's bone. 2010, 1 videodisc (100 min .).  Seventeen-year-old Ree Dolly sets out to track down her father who put their house up for his bail bond and then disappeared. If she fails to find him, she and her family will be turned out into the Ozark woods. Challenging her outlaw kin's code of silence and risking her life, Ree hacks through the lies, evasions, and threats offered up by her relatives and begins to piece together the truth. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7696 

Green, Denise A.
The freedom you will take
. 1999, 1 videodisc (60 min.).   episode of I'll make me a world. In reaction to the narrow depiction of African Americans, the contemporary culture landscape has been transformed by the power of African-American film, dance, rap-music and spoken-word scene. Spike Lee becomes a hero to black artists in many genres and ushers in a new chapter of American independent cinema. Choreographer Bill T. Jones stages "Last Supper at Uncle Tom's Cabin/The Promised Land," a controversial work challenging stereotypical views of race, sexuality, and fear. And in a new American style dubbed "hip-hop," young musicians, poets and other creative talents express the hopes and challenges that will carry America into the next millennium. DVD 9566 

Gusner, Iris
Das blaue licht eine Berglegende = The blue light
. 1976. 1 videodisc (79 min.).  Junta is hated by the people of the village who believe she is a witch. Only she can climb the nearby mountains to a cave high up, whence a mysterious blue light glows when the moon is full. She is driven out of town and takes to living in the mountains. Eventually when she shares the secret of the blue light with one man, he betrays it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2910

Guy, Alice; Louis Feuillade and Léonce Perret
Gaumont treasures, 1897-1913
. 2009, 3 videodiscs (625 min.).  This collection looks at three pioneering French filmmakers from the Gaumont studio, Alice Guy, Louis Feuillade and Léonce Perret, with both extensive examples of their work, and short biographies (in the cases of Feuillade and Perret). DVD 7011-7013 

Guy-Blaché, Alice and Balwin, Ruth Ann
The ocean waif directed by Alice Guy-Blaché and ’49-’17 directed by Ruth Ann Baldwin. 1916 and 1917, 1 videodisc (104 min.).  ’49-’17: A charming and suspenseful western parody about a millionaire who hires a wild west theatrical troupe to relive his past as a miner forty niner. Ocean waif: In this film parody of the Pygmalion love story an abused young woman finds safety and eventually love in the arms of a famous novelist.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4207