Academia.edu - large, for-profit social network for scholars that includes access to OA published scholarship.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - A digital collection of over 15 million items from libraries, museums, and archives.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Europeana Collections - A digital collection of over 50 million "artworks, artefacts, books, videos, and sounds from across Europe."
OAIster - a union catalog of digital resources from international contributors including American University. As of Spring 2017, OAIster provided access to over 50 million records from over 2000 repositories.
OSF Preprints - "the open preprint repository network" - hosted by Open Science Framework.
Registry of Research Data Repositories
Registry of Open Access Repositories
ResearchGate - Similar to Academia.edu. Also a large, for-profit social network for scholars that includes access to OA published scholarship.
SHARE - "a free, open, data set about research and scholarly activities across their life cycle". A joint project sponsored by Association of Research Libraries and Center for Open Science.
AGRIS - A collaborative network of 150+ institutions from 65 countries, maintained by Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN, promoting free access to agricultural information.
ArXiv - an archive of preprints in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. (Cornell University/ National Science Foundation).
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine. Holdings as of 09/23/2014: 64,310,328 documents from 3155 content sources including the American University Digital Research Archive
BioMedCentral Open Access Open Access Science, Technology and Medicine (STM) publisher, offering access to over 220 peer-reviewed journals.
BioRxiv - "The preprint server for biology"
CiteSeerX - "an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science"
engrXiv - "the open archive of engineering".
EUscreen - online access to over a million items of audiovisual heritage from across Europe.
Figshare - a general repository for scientific research outputs including data, slides, and preprints.
MLA Commons - "the sharing and collaboration network for people working in modern languages and literatures."
PeerJ Preprints - Another preprint server for biology.
Perseus Digital Library - primarily history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
PLoS: Public Library of Science
PsyArXiv - a free preprint service for the psychological sciences.
PubMed Central (PMC) - archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
RePeC - Research papers in economics
Sheet Music Consortium - an open collection of digitized sheet music from the holdings of many music library's including AU's.
SocArXiv - "open archive of the social sciences".
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - A database of working papers in accounting, economics, finance, and law.
The following texts are books unless otherwise noted. Click on the link for the WRLC library catalog record or direct access to the ebook.
Access to knowledge in the age of intellectual property / edited by Gaëlle Krikorian and Amy Kapczynski.
The data deluge [electronic resource] : can libraries cope with e-science? / Deanna B. Marcum and Gerald George, editors ; foreword by Kakugyo S. Chiku (WRLC member login required)
Digital scholarship in the tenure, promotion, and review process / edited by Deborah Lines Andersen.
Faculty Self-Archiving Behavior: Factors Affecting the Decision to Self-Archive [electronic resource] / Kim, Ji-Hyun (open access dissertation)
A guide to publishing in scholarly communication journals / by Mark L. Knapp and John A. Daly. (WRLC member login required)
Journal of librarianship and scholarly communication. (AU user login rquired)
Open access [electronic resource] / Peter Suber. (WRLC member login required)
Open access to STM information [electronic resource] : trends, models and strategies for libraries / edited by Anthi Katsirikou. (WRLC member login required)
Open access [electronic resource] : what you need to know now / by Walt Crawford. (WRLC member login required)
Planned obsolescence : publishing, technology, and the future of the academy / Kathleen Fitzpatrick. (WRLC member login required)
Research data management : practical strategies for information professionals / edited by Joyce M. Ray.
Understanding knowledge as a commons : from theory to practice / edited by Charlotte Hess and Elinor Ostrom. (WRLC member login required)
The virtues of openness : education, science, and scholarship in the digital age / Michael A. Peters and Peter Roberts.