Skip to main content

Scholarly Communication/Open Access at American University

This guide defines the concepts of scholarly communication and open access and describes the American University Digital Research Archive, an open access repository for AU faculty and student work.

Subject Guide

Chris Lewis's picture
Chris Lewis
Contact:
Bender Library B48
202 885 3257

AU Digital Research Archive (formerly Digital Repository)

The AU Digital Research Archive (AUDRA) is a repository for scholarly works, teaching tools and other literature produced by the AU community. It's also home to digital special collections that have been acquired by American University. Contents include articles, conference presentations, working papers, digital objects, online journals and newsletters, syllabi, and audio recordings.

Submit Your Research:

AU faculty and students are encouraged to submit their work to AUDRA for permanent archiving and easy access by researchers worldwide. The types of content that have been added to the archive include theses and dissertations, working papers, conference presentations, research reports, article preprints and reprints, book chapters, syllabi, and audio recordings. If you would like to add published works but are unsure of their copyright status, we will assist in checking publisher policies and restrictions before adding those items. If interested, please contact me, Chris Lewis, Digital Research Archive Coordinator.

Syllabus Deposit Form:

For use by AU faculty and department personnel for deposit of current and past syllabi.

Syllabus Collections  Login or account registration required.

Digital Repository Coordinator:

All Items in the Digital Repository are protected by original copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

Useful Links

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)

SHERPA RoMEO - a website that provides a summary of the copyright and self-archiving policies of publishers worldwide. As of may 2009, it listed 600 publisher policies on self-archiving.