This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Provides five-years of historical data on ad expenditure and a summary of U.S. advertising across print, radio and television media by companies, some of which is on the brand level.
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users.**
Winmo contains all the data formerly contained in Advertising Redbooks and provides information about advertisers and ad agencies. This database lists over 19,000 advertisers that have at least $200,000 in advertising expenditures, the media they advertise by, as well as over 12,500 ad agencies that represent them.
**Access limited to a single concurrent user.**
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science, social science, and humanities books and their scholarly impact and influence. Book Citation Index has citation data from 2005 to present.
Canadian statistical data, including population, agriculture, food, business, education, and construction. Updated once a year in the summer.
Provides comprehensive and authoritative integration of tax code analysis, explanations, annotations, headnotes and primary tax sources.
Our subscription to the Expert Tax Treatises module will expire April 5, 2025.: Bittker & Eustice – FEDERAL INCOME TAXATION OF CORPORATIONS AND SHAREHOLDERS; McKee Nelson FEDERAL TAXATION OF PARTNERSHIPS AND PARTNERS; Saltzman & Book IRS PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE; Bittler & Lokken FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME, ESTATES, AND GIFTS.
We will retain our subscription to Edge.
**Access limited to 35 concurrent users.**
Official government, social, economic, and industry statistics of the People's Republic of China. Data is available on a national, provincial, county, and city level. Is the online equivalent of the "China Statistical Yearbook" and is comprised of the China Statistical Data Online and the China Census Data Online databases.
Provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of major cities within select states and information about civic, social, religious, and commercial organizations. Coverage ranges from the late 18th century through 1929.
Provides abstracts and full text from more than 1,300 journals and magazines on computing, the Internet and software development.
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
Provides abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
You can also log in in the app or at https://www.economist.com/. Select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
** If you receive an error when logging in, please clear your browser then retry. **
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Our authentication has been updated to SSO. ** When visiting ft.com directly, click 'Sign In', and enter your @american.edu email address. Click 'Next' then 'SSO Sign In' and you will be routed through the AU Sign In page. **
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
More than 5 million IEEE documents in the areas of computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, and communication. The library includes extensive conference proceedings, as well as peer-reviewed journal articles and industry standards.
Defense and security news, intelligence, and analysis. Our subscription includes modules in the following areas:
Country Intelligence
Defence Budgets
Defence Equipment & Technology
Military Capabilities
Terrorism & Insurgency
Our subscription also includes Janes IntelTrak and the Janes Tradecraft online courses.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Images from 61,000 works of literature on economics and business published from 1450-1945.
Part I, Goldsmith-Kress Collection 1450-1850; Part II, 1851-1914; Part III, 1890-1945; Part IV, 1800-1980.
Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.
Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online, which was discontinued in August 2025.
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.
Digital library featuring thousands of up-to-date technical books. Books are full-text searchable, and book contents can be printed or emailed. Some collection content is in audiobook format.
Guests of Bender Library may access O'Reilly content on site only by following these instructions.
Browse Elsevier ScienceDirect journals. many with coverage: 1995-Present.
Note that we do not subscribe to all titles on this publisher platform.
** ScienceDirect is experiencing issues with its authentication service. You can access content while connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN) by visiting this direct link to ScienceDirect. **
An easy-to-use web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 50,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 20 million business points from Dun and Bradstreet with detailed profiles on each business, in addition to the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics providing 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status including estimates. Users also have access to the Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enabling users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
Users may create accounts to save their searches or proceed as guests.
**Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.**
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Contains media information, including publication overviews, advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for print and broadcast media. Includes Claritas 360 for analysis of customer data and markets.
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Presents, in a series of question and answer formats, financial analyst and company CEO perspectives on a range of industry sectors relative to investment outlooks and financial performance.
** Access to full content available only when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.