 |
Artists books - Artists' Books are works of art contained in book-form.
They are sometimes one-of-a-kind objects or published in small runs.
The bulk of the Artists' Books held in Archives and Special Collections
are from the Watkins Collection. This collection was gathered by American
University's Watkins Art Gallery and transferred to Special Collections in 1992.
Several other Artists' Books have been added over the years.
Great examples of book binding, book making, typography, and graphic design.
|
 |
Japanese woodblock prints – Selections from the Charles Nelson Spinks collection
and the Dorothy A. and Charles A. Moore Jr. Japanese Woodblock Print Collection
have been digitized and made available online. The Spinks collection is particularly
strong in Edo period travel series (Tokaido Road); however, it can be viewed as a
great survey collection which represents nearly all the major themes of ukiyo-e prints.
The Spinks collection contains prints from many masters such as Hiroshige, Hokusai,
Kunisada, Kuniyoshi, and many more.
The Moore collection contains Ukiyoe and Shin-hanga prints by a variety of artists
including Chikanobu, Konubu Hasegawa, Utagawa Hiroshige, Kaoru Kawano,
Kunichika, Kuniyoshi, Tomikichiro Tokuriki, Toyokuni, Utamaro, and Yoshitoshi. The
prints feature bathing scenes, Kabuki performances, landscapes, the Meiji
government, and samurai amongst other subjects. Many, many more print series
have not yet been digitized but are available onsite! Great examples of Japanese
book binding, calligraphy, ukiyo-e, commercial art, woodblock prints.
|
