Subject Guides: Gentrification: Downloadable Data

Downloadable Data

Social Explorer
Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **
SAGE Data
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Our subscription provides access to a suite of products from EIU, including Country Data, Country Analysis Reports, and Market Indicators and Forecasts.
Cost of living is rated at the country level on a 5-point scale.
Neighborhood Change Database (Geolytics)
Neighborhood boundaries can change from one census year to the next, making it hard for researchers to compare the same area over time. The Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) reconciles those changing boundaries in census data from 1970 to 2020. Data extracts are GIS-compatible.
See the Data Users' Guide for a description of the variables, geographies and methodologies.
**Access limited to 3 (three) concurrent users.**

SimplyAnalytics
An easy-to-use web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 50,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 20 million business points from Dun and Bradstreet with detailed profiles on each business, in addition to the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics providing 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status including estimates. Users also have access to the Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enabling users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
Users may create accounts to save their searches or proceed as guests.
**Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.**

US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. Data from the following surveys and censuses are available in American FactFinder:
The American Community Survey
The American Housing Survey covers 29 Metropolitan areas and the Nation as a whole.
Annual Survey of Manufactures
Business Patterns
Nonemployer Statistics
The Annual Surveys of Governments provide relevant, comprehensive, uniform, and quality statistics on the characteristics and key economic activities of our nation’s nearly 90,000 state and local governments. The surveys provide detailed information about these governments’ structure, organization, function, finances, and employment.
The Census of Governments, conducted every 5 years, provides periodic and comprehensive statistics about the organization, employment, and finances of all state and local governments.
The Decennial Census collects data every 10 years about age, sex, race, housing units and more for the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas.
The Economic Census profiles the U.S. economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level and by detailed industry and business classification.
The Survey of Business Owners presents statistics every 5 years at the national to local area level by industry and by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status of the business owner.
The Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Tabulation publishes estimates from the American Community Survey of the race, ethnicity, and sex composition of the workforce by occupation and geography.
The Population Estimates Program publishes estimated population totals for the previous year for cities and towns, metropolitan areas, counties, and states.
The Puerto Rico Community Survey is the equivalent of the American Community Survey for Puerto Rico.