Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Film Studies Genre, American Political Movies: Home

Titles available on DVD as of January 2017

Filmography - Film Studies Genre, American Political Movies

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of January 2017.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

 

Advise & consent. 2005. 1 videodisc (138 min.). "A Senate subcommittee meets to confirm the President's controversial nominee for Secretary of State." HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1450

All the king's men. 2006. 1 videodisc (128 min.). Willie Stark is an uncorrupted small-town mayor in 1950s Louisiana. He gets picked by the political machine to run as a wild card candidate in the upcoming gubernatorial race. But, when Willie realizes that he is being manipulated, he veers off on his own to become the darling of the electorate's downtrodden and forgotten hicks. Covering the campaign for a local paper is Jack Burden, whose editorial pieces become so admiring of Willie that he's fired. But, when Stark wins, Burden hires onto the new governor's team as a personal aide. Once in office, Governor Stark antagonizes the state legislature, the oil companies, and the moneyed classes with his share-the-wealth promises to the sweaty masses. Legislators become so outraged that they start serious impeachment talk, a move supported by the admired and retired Judge Irwin, who also happens to be Jack's godfather. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3662

All the president’s men. 2006. 2 videodiscs (138 min.). The true story of how Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein uncovered the White House involvement in the Watergate break in. DVD 1789

The American president. 2008. 1 videodisc (115 min.). Widower Andrew Shepherd decides it's time to get back into the dating game, but there is one slight problem, he is the President of the United States. He falls for an environmental lobbyist and is lofted even more into the public eye. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7800

American sniper. 2014. 2 videodiscs (132 min.). U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle is sent to Iraq with only one mission: to protect his brothers-in-arms. His pinpoint accuracy saves countless lives on the battlefield. However, his reputation is also growing behind enemy lines, putting a price on his head and making him a prime target of insurgents. He is also facing a different kind of battle on the home front: striving to be a good husband and father from halfway around the world. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12252

Amistad. 2004. 1 videodisc (155 min.). Chronicles the 1839 revolt on board the slave ship Amistad bound for America. Much of the story involves the court-room drama about the slave who led the revolt. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1730

Argo. 2013. 1 videodisc (120 min.). On November 4, 1979, Iranian militants stormed the American embassy in Tehran and captured dozens of American hostages, sparking a 444-day ordeal and a quake in global politics still felt today. But there's a little-known footnote to the crisis: six Americans escaped. And a mid-level agent named Antonio Mendez devised an ingenious yet incredibly risky plan to rescue them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5555

Being there. 2001. 1 videodisc (130 min.). Circumstances propel a feeble-minded gardener, whose entire knowledge of life comes from watching television, into becoming adviser to the president of the United States and a powerful but dying tycoon. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 655

The best man. 2010. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Two candidates, one a conscience-ridden intellectual (Henry Fonda), the other a ruthless opportunist (Cliff Robertson),are vying for their party's nomination for the presidency of the United States. Finally, it all hinges on who will win the endorsement of the ex-President (Lee Tracy), a snapish, self-styled "political hick" who thrives on infighting and deplores indescision. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3519

Bob Roberts. 2000. 1 videodisc (102 min.). A satirical comedy in which a British documentary crew follows a radical folksinger (and self-made millionaire) turned senatorial candidate as he blends singing, music videos and scandal on the campaign trail. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8082

Body of lies. 2009. 1 videodisc (128 min.). CIA operative Roger Ferris is on a covert mission. He is working in Jordan and searching for terrorists who have been bombing civilian targets. Ferris uncovers information on the Islamist mastermind Al-Saleem. He devises a plan to infiltrate Al-Saleem's terrorist network with the help of his Langley boss, Ed Hoffman. Ferris enlists the help of the Chief of Jordanian Intelligence, Hani Salaam on this operation, but what he is not certain of is how far he can trust him without putting his life in danger. The uneasy alliance leads to a cultural and moral clash between the men. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5395

The Bourne identity. 2002. 1 videodisc (118 min.). Bourne, is pulled from the sea suffering from amnesia with a pair of bullet wounds in his back. His only clue to his own identity is a bank account number etched on a capsule implanted in his body. He finds the Zurich bank where money, a gun, and several passports with different names await. He quickly realizes he can trust no one and offers a German gypsy named Maria ten thousand dollars for a ride to Paris. With Maria's reluctant help, Bourne edges closer to the truth, something CIA officials want concealed at all costs. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4951

Broadcast news. 1999. 1 videodisc (132 min.). Romantic triangle set in the world of television news. Tom Grunick is the perfect modern anchorman. He's got the smooth charm and handsome good looks that America loves. Jane Craig is the brilliant hot-shot producer, committed to fighting the trend toward flashy, style-over-substance "personality" news, whose job it now is to make Tom look like a newsman. Aaron Altman is the dedicated reporter, utterly devoid of on-camera charisma, who's jealous and resentful of Tom's instant success both on camera with the public and off camera with Jane. HONE USE COLLECTION DVD 3504

Broadcast news. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2010. 2 videodiscs (132 min.). A caustic inside look at the Washington news media, stars Holly Hunter in her breakout role, as a feisty television producer torn between an ambitious yet dim anchorman and her closest confidant, a cynical veteran reporter. James L. Brooks' witty, gently prophetic entertainment is a captivating transmission from an era in which ideas on love and media were rapidly changing. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3504

Bulworth. 1999. 1 videodisc (108 min.). Believing his career is over, Senator Jay Bulworth takes out an enormous insurance policy and a contract on his own life. His impending death fills him with an outrageous desire to break the rules and tell it like it is. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1448

Burn after reading. Focus Features spotlight series. 2008. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Osbourne Cox is a CIA analyst who quits his job after being demoted. He decides to write a memoir about his life in the CIA. His wife, Katie, wants a divorce and, based on the advice of her divorce lawyer, she downloads many of his personal and financial files onto a disc. Katie's lover is Treasury agent Harry Pfarrer. The disc eventually finds its way to Hardbodies, a workout gym. An employee of the gym, Chad Feldheimer obtains the disc and ascertains that it contains classified government information. Along with his fellow employee, Linda Litzke, he intends to use the disc to blackmail Osbourne. When blackmailing him fails, Linda decides to take the information to the Russian embassy. At the embassy, she hands the disc over to the Russians, promising that she will give them more information. Linda and Chad don't have any more information, so they decide to break into Cox's house. This brings about a series of events that no one forsees. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5377

C.S.A The Confederate States of America. 2006. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Satirically humorous, and sometimes frightening, look at the history of an America where the South won the Civil War. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2417

The campaign. 2012. 1 videodisc (85 min.). In order to gain influence over their North Carolina district, two CEOs seize an opportunity to oust long-term congressman Cam Brady by putting up a rival candidate. Their man, naive Marty Huggins, is director of the local Tourism Center. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10723

Canadian bacon. 2001. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Beset by falling approval ratings, a desperate U.S. president and his closest advisors launch a rally-round-the-flag campaign against the country's newest enemy--Canada. HOME USE COLLECTION  DVD 867

The candidate. 1998. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Bill McKay is enlisted by campaign maestro Marvin Lucas to run for U.S. Senator. McKay agrees, but only if he can say exactly what he thinks. That approach is all well and good when McKay does not seem to have a chance, but things change when his honesty unexpectedly captivates the electorate. As McKay inches up in the polls, Lucas and company start to do what it takes to win, leaving McKay to ponder the consequences of his political seduction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3086

Charlie Wilson's war. 2008. 1 videodisc (102 min.). In the early 1980s, Charlie Wilson was best known as a womanizing US congressional representative from Texas. He seemed to be in the minor leagues, except for the fact that he was a member of two major foreign policy and covert-ops committees. However, once Charlie is prodded by his major conservative supporter, Joanne Herring, Wilson learns about the plight of the people who are suffering from the effects of the brutal Soviet occupation of Afghanistan. With the help of the maverick CIA agent, Gust Avrakotos, Wilson dedicates his canny political efforts to supply the Afghan mujahideen with the weapons and support needed to defeat the Soviet Union. Ultimately, Charlie learns that while military victory can be obtained, there are other consequences and prices to that fight that are ignored to everyone's sorrow. Based on a true story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4309

Citizen Kane. 2001. 2 videodiscs (119 min.). An all-powerful press magnate, Kane, dies in his fabulous castle Xanadu, his last word being "Rosebud", which leads a reporter to seek the meaning behind the word and find the meaning of Kane. Prominent publisher, William Randolph Hearst, saw the film as a thinly disguised version of his career and attempted to suppress it. DVD 434

Clear and present danger. 2003. 1 videodisc (141 min.). CIA Agent Jack Ryan is appointed acting CIA Deputy Director of Intelligence when his mentor, Admiral James Greer becomes gravely ill. His first assignment is to investigate the murder of one of the president's friends, a prominent U.S. businessman with secret ties to Colombian drug cartels. Caught in the crossfire, Ryan takes matters into his own hands. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13170

Dave. 1998. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Kevin Kline stars as an off-the-wall, temporary replacement for the missing president. His unusual style of governing and decision making tip off the opposition that something is definitely "out-of-order" in Washington. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10394

The day the earth stood still. Studio classics: Studio classic. 2002. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A spaceship lands in Washington, D.C., capturing the attention of the world. But the alien emissary (Michael Rennie) it brings refuses to reveal his mission to any single government, leaving the military, the politicians, and millions of ordinary people to wait in fear. Soon their distrust turns to calls for violence. But one young woman and her son befriend him and soon realize that they may be all that stands between the human race and total destruction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3849

Dick. 1999. 1 videodisc (94 min.). When, during a class field trip to the White House, two high school girls wander into a top-secret shredding session, the President appoints them "Official White House Dog Walkers" to find out how much they discovered. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4094

Dr. Strangelove or, How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb. Criterion collection. 1992. 2 videodiscs (93 min.). A satire in which the President and his military advisers struggle ineptly to avert a holocaust after a psychotic Air Force general launches a nuclear attack on the Soviet Union because he fears the Russians are poisoning the water supply in the United States.  DVD 37

Dr. Strangelove or, How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb. 2001. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A satire in which the U.S. president and his military advisors struggle ineptly to avert a holocaust after a psychotic Air Force general launches a nuclear attack on the Soviet Union because he fears that the Russians are poisoning the water supply in the United States. The DVD also contains two shorts, "The Art of Stanley Kubrick from short films to Strangelove" and "Inside the making of Dr. Strangelove.". HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 37

Earth vs. the flying saucers. 2007. 2 videodiscs (83 min.). Aliens are everywhere and they're attacking planet Earth. Dr. Russell Marvin works for Operation Skyhook, a government task force sending rockets into space to probe for future space flights. But when the rockets begin mysteriously disappearing, Dr. Marvin investigates along with his wife Carol, only to find the rockets are being intercepted by an army of space aliens who give humanity an ultimatum: loyalty or death. As the aliens begin attacking cities and landmarks across the Earth--including an unforgettable assault on Washington, D.C.--it's up to Dr. Marvin and his wife to figure out how to stop these diabolical creatures before it's too late. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4163

A face in the crowd. 2005. 1 videodisc (126 min.). Larry Rhodes is a hobo with a powerful personality and a mean streak as wide as the Mississippi River. He is 'discovered' by Marcia Jeffries, who christens him "Lonesome" Rhodes, and makes him the star of her morning radio show, "A Face in the Crowd." Listeners are enthralled by his down-home, folksy charm, and after developing a large following, Rhodes begins a journey to national fame and TV stardom. A powerful business tycoon realizes that he can use Rhodes's popularity to change the course of a national election in his favor--provided that he can keep the star from self-destructing under the weight of his own megalomania, narcissism, and contempt for his audience. Marcia's journey, by contrast, is a long and painful one. From a rather innocent young woman to betrayed loyal ally who recognizes the monster she has helped to create and knows she must destroy, she finally reaches her limit and rejects his emotional blackmail. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7753

Fail-safe. 2000. 1 videodisc (112 min.). A computer malfunction causes nuclear-equipped American bombers to destroy Moscow and the president of the United States has to take terrible measures to appease the Soviets and prevent all-out nuclear war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4009

Fail_safe. 2007. 1 videodisc (84 min.). The retelling of the classic Cold War doomsday thriller. A computer malfunction triggers the transmission of nuclear-attack codes to a U.S. bomber squadron. The orders are irreversible, the primary target is Moscow, and the President, his advisors and military leaders race time to head off global catastrophe. Recalling the adrenaline-rush of early TV drama, this movie was staged and telecast live in black-and-white, establishing an immediate sense of history unfolding. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11220

The falcon and the snowman. 1999. 1 videodisc (132 min.). A disillusioned young man and his drug dealing friend, under the code names "Falcon" and "Snowman" commit a brazen act of espionage, by selling some of America's most sensitive secrets to the KGB. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4800

A few good men. 2001. 1 videodisc (138 min.). Cruise stars as a brash Navy lawyer who's teamed with a gung-ho litigator in a politically-explosive murder case. Charged with defending two Marines accused of killing a fellow soldier, they are confronted with complex issues of loyalty and honor - including its most sacred code and its most formidable warrior. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3171

Frost/Nixon. 2009. 1 videodisc (123 min.). Richard Nixon is the disgraced president with a legacy to save. David Frost is a jet-setting television personality with a name to make. This is the legendary battle between the two men and the historic encounter that changed both their lives. For three years after resigning from office, Nixon remained silent. But in the summer of 1977, the steely, cunning former commander-in-chief agreed to sit for one all-inclusive interview to confront the questions of his time in office and the Watergate scandal that ended his presidency. Everyone is surprised that Nixon would select Frost as his televised confessor, intending to easily outfox the breezy British showman and secure a place in the hearts and minds of Americans (as well as a $600,000 fee). Likewise, Frost's team harbors doubts that their boss with be able to hold his own. But as cameras roll, a charged battle of wits results. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5638

Get on the bus. 2000. 1 videodisc (121 min.). Follows a group of different men traveling from Los Angeles to the Million Man March in Washington, D.C. They board the bus as strangers but emerge three days and thousands of miles later as brothers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1680

Good night, and good luck. 2006. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Takes place in the 1950's America, during the early days of broadcast journalism. It chronicles the real-life conflict between television newsman Edward R. Murrow and Senator Joseph McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee. With a desire to report the facts and enlighten the public, Murrow, and his dedicated staff - headed by his producer Fred Friendly and Joe Wershba in the CBS newsroom - defy corporate and sponsorship pressures to examine the lies and scaremongering tactics perpetrated by McCarthy during his communist 'witch-hunts'. A very public feud develops when the Senator responds by accusing the anchor of being a communist. In this climate of fear and reprisal, the CBS crew carries on and their tenacity will prove historic and monumental. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1870*

The great McGinty. Preston Sturges, the filmmaker collection. 2006. 1 videodisc (82 min.). Told in flashback, Depression-era bum Dan McGinty is recruited by the city's political machine to help with vote fraud. His great aptitude for this brings rapid promotion from "the boss," who finally decides he'd be ideal as a new, nominally "reform" mayor; but this candidacy requires marriage. His in-name-only marriage to honest Catherine proves the beginning of the end for dishonest Dan. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2501

Head of state. 2003. 1 videodisc (95 min.). When a presidential candidate is needed just a few weeks before the election, Washington picks Mays Gilliam, a powerless politician they plan to use as their puppet, certain that he will lose. Buy Mays won't go down that easy. If he is going to run, he is going to do it his way and have fun doing it that way as well. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11728

The ides of March. 2012. 1 videodisc (101 min.). During the frantic last days before a heavily contested Ohio presidential primary, an up-and-coming campaign press secretary finds himself involved in a political scandal that threatens to upend his candidate's shot at the presidency. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2884

Idiocracy. 2006. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Joe Bowers is an average Joe. He is not the sharpest tool in the shed. He becomes part of a government experiment to go into hibernation. The experiment goes awry and Bowers awakens in the year 2505 to find a society so dumbed-dowm by mass commercialism and mindless TV programming that he's become the smartest guy on the planet. Now it's up to this average Joe to get human evolution back on the right track. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2494

In the line of fire. 2000. 1 videodisc (127 min.). Frank Horrigan, a veteran Secret Service agent haunted by his failure to protect JFK from assassination gets a chance to redeem himself when a brilliant psychopath threatens to kill the current president and take Horrigan with him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10679

In the loop. 2010. 1 videodisc (106 min.). The US President and UK Prime Minister fancy a war. But not everyone agrees that war is a good thing. The US General Miller doesn't think so and neither does the British Secretary of State for International Development, Simon Foster. But, after Simon accidentally backs military action on TV, he suddenly has a lot of friends in Washington, DC. If Simon can get in with the right DC people, if his entourage of one can sleep with the right intern, and if they can both stop the Prime Minister's chief spin-doctor Malcolm Tucker rigging the vote at the UN, they can halt the war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7060

JFK. 2003. 2 videodiscs (205 min.). The story of New Orleans District Attorney Jim Garrison whose investigation into the assassination of John F. Kennedy became an obsession. DVD 1687

K street. 2004. 2 videodiscs (300 min.). An entertaining fusion of reality and fiction; a fly-on-the wall look at government. Produced on location in Washington, D.C., the largely improvised ten-episode series combines fictional characters with appearances by real-life political figures. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4700

Lincoln. 2013. 1 videodisc (150 min.). A revealing drama that focuses on the 16th President's tumultuous final months in office. In a nation divided by war and the strong winds of change, Lincoln pursues a course of action designed to end the war, unite the country and abolish slavery. With the moral courage and fierce determination to succeed, his choices during this critical moment will change the fate of generations to come. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6210

Lorenzo's oil. 2004. 1 videodisc (136 min.). A boy develops a disease so rare that nobody is working on a cure, so his father decides to learn about it and tackle the problem himself. Based on the actual case of a child living in northern Virginia. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3324

The Manchurian candidate. 2004. 1 videodisc (130 min.). When his army unit is ambushed during the first Gulf War, Sergeant Raymond Shaw saves his fellow soldiers just as his commanding officer, Major Ben Marco, is knocked unconscious. Using the incident for political gain, Shaw eventually becomes a vice-presidential nominee, but Marco is haunted by dreams of what really happened in Iraq. As Marco investigates, the story begins to unravel. He begins to figure that the entire unit was kidnapped and brainwashed as part of a plot to get Shaw into the White House. Now the Manchurian Global corporation appears desperate to stop him from finding out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2885

The Manchurian candidate. 2004. 1 videodisc (127 min.). A U.S. Army platoon, captured in the Korean conflict, is whisked to Manchuria for three nightmarish days of experimental drug-and-hypnosis-induced conditioning to carry out the orders of the enemy upon release. When a decorated Korean War veteran who has been brainwashed starts to commit political assassinations, his old military commander begins to suspect and must stop him. DVD 11908

Medium cool. 2001. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Set in 1968 in Chicago at the time of the Democratic National Convention, this is the story of a TV cameraman and his involvement with the realities of hate and hypocrisy he finds in his filming. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6134

Meet John Doe. 1 video file (117 min.).  Directed by Frank Capra. A man needing money agrees to impersonate a nonexistent person who said he'd be committing suicide as a protest, and a political movement begins. Featuring Gary Cooper, Barbara Stanwyck, Edward Harnold. Country of production : USA. Streaming video.
 http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=57132

Milk. 2009. 1 videodisc (129 min.). His life changed history. His courage changed lives. Harvey Milk is a middle-aged New Yorker who, after moving to San Francisco, became a Gay Rights activist and city politician. On his third attempt, he was elected to San Francisco's Board of Supervisors in 1977. His election makes him the first openly gay man to be elected to public office in the United States. The following year, both he and the city's mayor, George Moscone, were shot to death by former city supervisor, Dan White, who blamed his former colleagues for denying White's attempt to rescind his resignation from the board. Based on the inspiring true story of Harvey Milk. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5460

The missiles of October. 2001. 1 videodisc (150 min.). A dramatic reenactment of the Cuban missile crisis of October 16, 1962. Follows the tensions and decisions faced by President John F. Kennedy during the twelve day period when the United States and the Soviet Union confronted each other with nuclear destruction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5165

The more the merrier. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). To help the war effort, a patriotic young woman rents half of her apartment to a well-to-do, retired millionaire, who decides to play cupid by renting half of his half to a high-type, clean-cut nice young man. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2133

Frank Capra's Mr. Smith goes to Washington. Columbia classics. 1999. 1 videodisc (ca. 130 min.). Washington's youngest senator exposes corruption in high places, almost at the cost of his career. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 102

Network. 1998. 1 videodisc (242 min.). A satirical look at the politics and power struggles of television executives as a network news anchorman turns the tables on the "ratings." When longtime news anchor Howard Beale (Finch) is fired, he suffers a violent, on-air breakdown. But when his sagging ratings are boosted by his angry ranting, he's subsequently rehired and reinvented as the "mad prophet of the airwaves." Of course, when the "prophet" ceases to be profitable, something has to be done -- preferably on camera, before a live studio audience. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 26

Nixon. 1996. 1 videodisc (191 min.). Drama about the fall of Richard Nixon based on the view that a dark, murderous conspiracy controls the world. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 28 and HOME USE COLLECTION BLU-RAY DVD 28

The parallax view. 1999. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Warren Beatty is a news reporter who, along with seven others, witnesses the assassination of a political candidate. When the other seven die in "accidents", the newsman begins to doubt the official position: that a lone madman was responsible for the crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1362

The pelican brief. 2009. 1 videodisc (141 min.). Two Supreme Court Justices have been murdered. A lone law student turns her suspicions about the deaths into a speculative brief that sends shock waves into the highest levels of government. She finds herself embroiled in a terrifying web of intrigue extending to the highest levels of government. She writes a speculative legal brief exposing the activities of a powerful oil magnate. With the help of Gray Grantham, an investigative reporter, they suspect a good friend of the president is trying to manipulate the outcome of a trial that is now before the Supreme Court. HOMWE USE COLLECTION DVD 7936

The president's analyst. 2004. 1 videodisc (102 min.). When the President's top-secret psychiatrist quits, he has to go on the run when spies from all sides want to know his secrets. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4820

Primary colors. 1998. 1 videodisc (144 min.). Jack Stanton is a virtually unknown Southern governor on a quest for the White House with his strong, savvy and equally ambitious wife, Susan. Running against the odds, the Stantons need all the help they can get from their extremely colorful political team. Together, they take off on a hilarious, heart-wrenching and ultimately history-making roller coaster ride to the top. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3606

Punishment park. 2005. 1 videodisc (88 min.). In a desert zone in California, a civilian tribunal sentences groups of dissidents and gives them the option of participating in law enforcement exercises in the Bear Montain National Punishment Park. Now these prisoners have to fight for their lives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1714

Secret honor : a political myth. The Criterion collection. 2004. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Portrays a disgraced President Richard Nixon recording memoirs in an attempt to defend himself and his political legacy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4645

Seven days in May. 2000. 1 videodisc (118 min.). John Frankenheimer's follow-up to The Manchurian Candidate is as intimate and subdued as its predecessor is flamboyant and energetic. Burt Lancaster is calm and calculating as the steely-eyed military hawk General Scott, who opposes the president's (Fredric March) plan to end the cold war with a bold nuclear disarmament plan. Kirk Douglas is the general's smiling, joking right-hand man, Colonel "Jiggs" Casey, whose easygoing manner is jolted by evidence of a possible plot to overthrow the American government. The drama arises from conversations and confrontations and the action is largely limited to scenes within the Pentagon and the White House. An ominous undercurrent of danger seeps through the realistic (and often real) settings of the film, conveyed chiefly through the intensity of the excellent ensemble performances. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 326

Shattered Glass. 2004. 1 videodisc (94 min.). Stephen Glass is a staff writer for the well respected current events and policy magazine 'The new republic'. He was also a freelance writer featured in 'Rolling Stone', 'Harper's Bazaar' and 'George'. By the mid 1990's, Glass' articles had turned him into one of the most sought-after young journalists in Washington. That is until a bizarre chain of events suddenly stopped his career right in its tracks. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 755

The Simpsons. 2003. 1 videodisc (139 min.). Season three. Disc one. The second episode on the disc involves Lisa Simpson winning an essay contest and a family trip to Washington D.C. Originally broadcast in 1991. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6588

Slam. 1998. 1 videodisc (103 min.). Trapped in Dodge City, a drug-infested war zone in southeast Washington D.C., Ray Joshua gets caught up in a drug deal gone bad and is sucked into the criminal justice system. In jail he finds truth in himself and his craft through Lauren Bell, a beautiful and charismatic writing teacher who leads him to the path of salvation. Using his talent for poetic rap, Ray learns to survive and rise above the pain of his lost generation. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 158

State of play. 2009. 1 videodisc (127 min.). "When D.C. reporter Cal McCaffrey is assigned to investigate the murder of an assistant to an up-and-coming politician, he uncovers a conspiracy that threatens to bring down the nation's power structures. In a town of spin-doctors and wealthy power brokers, he will discover one truth: when fortunes are at stake, no one's integrity, love, or life is safe." -- Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7450

State of the union. 2006. 1 videodisc (123 min.). An idealistic industrialist is drafted to run for the presidency and is caught between the ambition of a newspaper owner and his wife's belief in him as a man. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5360

Talk to me. Focus Features spotlight series. 2007. 1 videodisc (118 min.). A look at the life and career of charismatic Washington D.C.-area radio personality Ralph "Petey" Green, who was renowned for his "tell it like it is" approach to politics and race. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4954

Team America: World Police. Widescreen DVD collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (98 min.). A group of heroic figures span the globe protecting democracy and freedom against terrorism. Learning that power hungry North Korea dictator Kim Jong Il is out to destroy the world, the team recuits Broadway star Gary Johnston to go undercover as a terrorist. With the help of Team America, Gary manages to slip into an arms dealer's hideout to uncover the plan to destroy the world. Will Team America be able to stop the dictator's peace conference, which is a ruse to allow him to attack the world with his weapons of mass destruction.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2086

Thank you for smoking. 2006. 1 videodisc (91 min.). A charismatic spin-doctor for Big Tobacco struggles with the twin demands of being successful at his job and acting as a good role model for his son. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3250

Thirteen days. 2001. 1 videodisc (147 min.). Oct. 1962, for thirteen extraordinary days the world stood on the brink of destruction. Krushchev wouldn't back down, President Kennedy wouldn't give in. Inspired by the real-life events that took place in the Kennedy White House.  HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 222

Traffic. Criterion Collection. 2002. 2 videodiscs (147 min.). Presents a mix of interrelated stories: a Mexican policeman finds himself and his partner caught in an often deadly web of corruption; a pair of DEA agents work undercover in a sordid and dangerous part of San Diego; a wealthy drug baron living in upscale, suburban America is arrested and learns how quickly his unknowing and pampered wife takes over his business; and the U.S. President's new drug czar must deal with his increasingly drug-addicted teenage daughter. HOMEUSE COLLECTION DVD 432

Three days of the Condor. 2006. 1 videodisc (117 min.). A CIA agent who is on the run from a mass slaughter in his research office suddenly finds himself the target of both his employers and the unknown killers of his associates. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9003

Uncle Tom's cabin. 1999. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Film version of Harriet Beecher Stowe's influential 19th century story of the pre-Civil war South was considered groundbreaking for its purely sympathetic treatment of African-Americans caught in the nightmare of slavery. Peace-loving slave Tom is forced to submit to his sadistic master, the evil Simon Legree. Helpless slaves -- raped, tortured and humiliated -- are eventually driven to rebel against their wicked oppressors. The novel was inspired by the story of Josiah Henson, an enslaved black man who lived on a tobacco farm in North Bethesda, MD. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 104

W. 2008. 1 videodisc (129 min.). A look at the life of the 43rd president of the United States, from his beginnings as a privileged alcoholic to his becoming a born-again Christian whose belief in religious destiny helped move him to the top ranks of political power. How Christianity turned his life around, how he met and married his wife, and the days before his decision to declare war on Iraq are featured. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5829

Wag the dog. New Line platinum series. 1998. 1 videodisc (97 min.). When the President is caught in a sex scandal less than 2 weeks before the election, "Mr. Fix-it" decides they need a war to distract the public's attention and he calls on Hollywood's top producer to create it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1652

Walker. Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs). 2007. 1 videodisc (94 min.). The story of the real-life American soldier of fortune who declared himself president of Nicaragua in 1855 and ruled that country for two years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5915

Watch on the Rhine. 2008. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Sara and Kurt Muller and their three children are returning to her mother's home in Washington D.C. after 18 years in Europe. A Romanian Count living there discovers Kurt's attache case full of money. He also finds out from friends at the German Embassy that Kurt is working with an anti-Nazi underground group in Germany. He tries to blackmail Kurt. Kurt shoots him and must flee. When Sara hears no more of Kurt, she knows that her oldest son Joshua will soon leave to work in the underground. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4945

The West Wing the complete series. 2006. 45 videodiscs (6468 min.). Ensemble drama about the inner workings of the White House. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3561-3605

William Peter Blatty's The exorcist. 2000. 1 videodisc (132 min.). A young girl becomes possessed by the devil and causes several violent deaths before she can be cured. Added footage includes a "nervous disorder" diagnosis, expansion of Father Merrin's arrival before the ritual, priestly doubts during the ritual, an epilogue with Lt. Kinderman and Father Dyer, and a shattering staircase descent by Regan. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2002

Yankee Doodle Dandy. 2003. 2 videodiscs (126 min.). A rousing musical depicting the life of George M. Cohan--playwright, entertainer, and composer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4797

Young Mr. Lincoln. The Ford at Fox collection. 2006. 2 videodiscs (100 min.). Classic biographical telling of the life of Abraham Lincoln, from his youth to his death. DVD 3484

Zero dark thirty. 2013. 1 videodisc (157 min.). Chronicles the decade-long search for Osama bin Laden following the September 2001 attacks, and his death at the hands of Navy SEAL Team 6. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6211