SEE ALSO THE SEPARATE TAB IN THIS GUIDE FOR THE AFRICAN AMERICAN EXPERIENCE & AFRICAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS
Full text access to the historical American newspapers The American Hebrew (1879-1902 and 1922), The Jewish Messenger (1857 to 1902) and the combined The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903 to 1922).
Includes two collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries (APCRL), that contain digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the middle of the 20th century.
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.
The Atlanta Daily World offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. It examines major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explores everyday life.
Contains full-text and full-image articles as well as digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue in downloadable PDF files, including news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Complete issues, from 1893 to 1988, of one of the most widely-circulated African American newspapers.
Access to the Baltimore Sun from 1837-1994. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund. 
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 2010.
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
Newspaper founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund. Coverage from 1934 to 1991.
The collection presented here consists of Pearson's syndicated Washington Merry-Go-Round column published between 1932 and 1969. American University Library Special Collections Unit holds the typescript copies for the column that the syndicate sent to Pearson's office at the same time the typescripts were distributed to newspapers around the country.
Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.
Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Digital archive of facsimile editions of major trade and consumer magazines related to film, theater, music, television, and general entertainment industry.
Includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000; 10 long-running and highly influential magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture between 1905 and 2000; and 12 further major consumer and trade publications from the US and the UK on film and television, from 1907 to 2015.
Provides complete runs of magazines from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and Broadcasting & Cable, and the Hollywood Reporter to 2015.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports are U.S. government transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign countries. Annexes comprise an additional 7,000 transcripts to the Daily Reports. The modern successor to the FBIS Daily Reports is the World News Connection.
An interactive database of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era through the Gilded Age.
Coverage: 1857-1912
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S. Coverage 1934-2005.
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
Newspapers.com is a large online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 7,500+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond.
This collection of French-language newspapers comprises the British Library's holdings of newspapers and periodical titles published in France from 1848 to 1852. Includes publications from the 1848 Revolution through the coup d'etat in 1851 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852.
The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Coverage from 1922 to 1993.
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time. Coverage from 1916 to 2003.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 to 2010.
Widely read English language newspaper from India, purported to be the largest-selling English language daily in the world. The Archive includes preceding titles, the Bombay times and Journal of Commerce and The Bombay Times and Standard. Coverage from 1838 to 2010.
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
The TLS (Times Literary Supplement) Historical Archive includes over 300,000 reviews, poems, letters, and other articles - The complete run from 1902 to 2006. A major cultural resource.
This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
The is the complete French newspapers holdings of the British Library from 1939 to 1945. They were acquired through intelligence, clandestine and neutral sources. This collection constitutes the sum of the French press that reached Britain during the German Occupation of France from 1940 to 1944.
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Searchable database of The Washington Evening Star from 1852 - 1981.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Brown Fund.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation. Coverage from 1912-2001.