Subject Guides: WRTG 101: Professor Zapin: Databases

Other Helpful Guides

Psychology

Religion: Brief Guide

Terrorism

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

This guide gives a short overview of the difference between primary and secondary sources.

Recommended Databases

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from scholarly journals in psychology. Also includes full text dissertations. Subject areas include behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics, and social psychology.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting to over 1800 journals in psychology, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, Atla Religion Database is a major international index for the scholarly study of religion. All major religious faiths are represented. The Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials collection contains over 2.7 million records, indexing over 2,300 journals, 276,000 essays, and 826,000 reviews. Full text is provided for more than 340 journals.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full text of over 100 journals and magazines in religious studies and theology, including religious news and commentaries.

Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) This link opens in a new window
Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) is a uniquely comprehensive resource for the study of political violence of all kinds. In cooperation with a team of 2800 experts, TRAC gathers the best information for exploration of this topic by faculty, scholars, students, government and defense professionals, as well as the general public.

RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents (RDWTI)
RDWTI is a free compilation of over 40,000 international and domestic terrorism incidents covering the years 1968 through 2009. Incidents of terrorism are coded and detailed. RAND staff conducted extensive research on candidate terrorist attacks, drawing on staff with regional expertise, relevant language skills, and in-country field work experience. The RDWTI is a fully searchable and interactive database, with the intention of providing quality and comprehensive data to users.
Global Terrorism Database (Univ. of Maryland)
An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2016 (with additional annual updates planned for the future), … the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as transnational and international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 170,000 cases.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text PDF (or text) images of major law journal articles, including back issues.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
**If you receive an error page when attempting to access Factiva, please clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies?**
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Emphasis on 20th-century historic newspapers. Coverage includes major American newspapers and prominent publications from underrepresented voices such as African American news, Jewish news, and publications covering gender issues.

Chronicling America (Historic American Newspapers 1836-1922)
Digitized images of selective issues of U.S. newspapers from 1860 to 1922. Also provides holdings information about the Library of Congress' collections of U.S. newspapers.
Historic U.S. Newspapers Online - Bowling Green State Universitiy
Guide containing links to free digitized historical newspapers from all 50 states and some U.S. territories. Newspapers included historically black publications, as well as local and academic news sources. The majority of the publications are from the 19th and 20th centuries, but some date to the 18th century and some from the 21st century.

Note: Factiva provides substantial coverage from the 1990s to the present.

Note that in addition to primary sources, some of these databases include secondary sources. Remember to look at any source critically.

AP Images Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
AP Images: Over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840s through today. Also includes maps, timelines, logos and graphs. AP Interactives: A collection of multimedia content from the archives of the Associated Press. Interactives are fully-licensed for educational use.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
A digitized microfilm collection of historical documents covering a broad range of topics. Strengths include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, gender, sexuality, and women's studies, the Holocaust, and modern history of Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East.
Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This three part collection includes News Features & internal communications from 1848-2000, Washington, D.C. Bureau records from 1938-2009, and U.S. City Bureaus from 1931-2004).
This resource was made possible through the Samuel & Lucy Keker Endowed Library Fund.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
The DDRS contains about 700,000 declassified documents from 1900 to 2008. These documents are from the U.S. presidential libraries and the National Archives, and deal with nearly every major foreign and domestic event.
This resource was purchased in part through the generous support of Ronald Hamowy and Clement Ho.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.