Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Ballet: J - R

Titles available on DVD as of June 2018

Filmography - Ballet

Titles available on DVD as of August 2018.

 

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library catalog.

See also Filmography - Dance.

 

 

 

Jewels ballet in three parts. 2006, 1 online resource (93 min.).  George Balanchine's world-famous abstract ballet. Lyric tribute to women and the capital cities of the great dance schools. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;885836

Jirí Kylián's black & white ballets. 95-97, 1 online resource (95 min.).  The ballets represented in the Black and White series are arresting examples of Jiroí Kylián's style and fully justify his reputation as one of the most inventive and daring choreographers on today's dance scene. The vitality of his work is underpinned by a musicality so innate that his dancers and the music they move to seem to spring from the same impulse. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;1918361

Jirí Kylián's Car men and other ballets. 2006, 1 online resource (49 min.).  Car Men: Exactly 20 years separate Jiri Kylian's solo Silent Cries and his black-and-white film, Car Men, made in 2006 in collaboration with the Dutch filmmaker, Boris Paval Cone. What unites the two works is the sheer expressiveness of the dance on the one hand, and the distinctive facial gestures and body language of the dancer Sabine Kupferberg on the other. Kupferberg is the one who pulls the strings in Car Men, victim and plotter in equal measure, prepared at all times to stand up to life's problems -- as well as to her three co-actors Escamillo, Don Jose and Micaela -- with humor and enigmatic wit. And so at the end of Kylian's unusual, slapstick-like tragicomedy, she simply abandons her three colleagues, self-assured and incorrigible -- just like her role model Carmen. La Cathédrale Engloutie: This video records a performance of Jiri Kylian's ballet, La Cathedrale Engloutie, danced by the Nederlands Dans Theater. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;1918335

Jiri Kylian Sinfonietta, Symphony in D, Stamping Ground. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 14 min., 42 sec.)).  This program includes three performances of Jiri Kylian's work by the Netherlands Dance Theater: Sinfonietta, Synphony in D, and Stamping Ground. Inspired by Janácek, Kylian's Sinfonietta, matches the forceful fanfares of Janácek's music by a ceaselessly energetic and exuberant display of movement, evoking the spirit of the "modern, free Czech". In Symphony in D Kylian demonstrates his remarkable ability to create a highly inventive and graceful ballet which is, at the same time, extremely funny. Set to Haydn's Symphony No.101 (The Clock) and Symphony No. 73 (The Chase), it is an affectionate send-up of classical ballet poses. Stamping Ground is a unique and original ballet, inspired by Kylian's experience of Aboriginal culture and dance, which led him to seek out the universal qualities that underlie both modern ballet and a style of dancing that has survived in Australia for over 40,000 years. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=60795

Joffrey mavericks of American dance. 2012, 1 videodisc (82 min.).  Chronicles the story of the Joffrey Ballet, from its founding in 1956 to the present. The film describes how the company repeatedly resurrected itself after devastating financial and artistic setbacks and how the company introduced cutting-edge choreographers such as Twyla Tharp, Laura Dean, and Margo Sappington to a larger audience. Featuring excerpts from Joffrey's seminal works Astarte, Trinity and Billboards and their breakthrough collaborations. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11002.

Junior class classical ballet. p1961, 1 online resource (14 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;415437

The Kirov celebrates Nijinsky firebird. 2002, 1 online resource (51 min.).  Dance in video, volume 2. Firebird, together with other works originated during the Saisons Russes, lifted ballet from an art viewed as at best inconsiderable to one that electrified people across Europe. This Kirov staging of Fokine’s Firebird recreates the scenery and costumes created for the original production. Diana Vichneva dances the title role. This live recording comes from the Théâtre du Châtelet, Paris. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;2319374

Labyrinth Within Dance Film with Wendy Whelan, Pontus Lidberg and Giovanni Bucchieri. 1 online resource (1 video file (29 min., 34 sec.)).  The Enemy Within is a short narrative film that brings together some of the most well-known and talented dancers in their respective genres. Featuring Matthew Rushing, Rehearsal Director with Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Tiler Peck, Principal Dancer with New York City Ballet, YouTube sensation Marquese 'Nonstop' Scott and Samantha Figgins, dancer with Complexions Contemporary Ballet, the film captures the beauty of human movement through a cinematic, narrative lens. In this film, Insecurity (portrayed by Figgins) stalks the three individuals as they are forced to conquer their deepest vulnerabilities. Tackling beauty, self-image, and confidence this project weaves fine art at the highest level with street dance and film to tell the story of The Enemy Withinches. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=60784

The last conversation Einstein's Carmen ballet. 98?, 1 online resource (21 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;446657

Legendary Dancer Baryshnikov Opens New York Arts Center (7/17/07). 1 online resource (1 video file (9 min., 6 sec)).  At the age of 59, ballet dancer Mikhail Baryshnikov is still dancing. He recently opened the Baryshnikov Arts Center in New York City, which provides space and support for creating art. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=142660

Light rhythms music and abstraction. 2005, 1 videodisc (168 min.).  Unseen cinema : early American avant-garde film, 1894-1941. "The rhythmic elements of cinema are explored by artists and filmmakers fascinated by the abstract qualities of light"--Container. DVD 4183.

Limelight. 2003, 2 videodiscs (132 min.).  Chaplin collection. Set in 1914 London, the film stars Chaplin as an aging music hall comic who's convinced he can no longer move people to laughter. But he gets a final opportunity to shine when he saves a young, equally desperate ballet dancer from suicide, then guides her to triumph on the stage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3798.

Magifique Malandain Ballet Biarritz. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 20 min., 23 sec.)).  Thierry Malandain pays tribute to Tchaikovsky's three great ballets: The Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake and The Nutcracker. Recorded at the Gare du Midi in 2010 and performed by the Malandain Ballet Biarritz, Malandain takes the audience back to childhood through a mixture of dreams and reality. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=60794

Male Dancer, The Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (27 min., 12 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. This program examines the development, importance, and changes in the role of the male dancer through the history of ballet with a special focus on Nijinsky and Nureyev. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81919

Man and mask Oscar Schlemmer and the Bauhaus stage. 1 online resource (1 video file, 27 min.).  Roland Visual Arts Collection: Roland Visual Arts Collection. Oskar Schlemmer did not confine his activities at the Bauhaus to painting and teaching sculpture. He also wanted to put his ideas about ballet into practice, and in 1922 he did so in public for the first time. He planned to free the stage from the trappings of tradition in order to give expression to the 'pure idea.' The central theme of his work was the relation between humankind and space, and the mediator between these two was to be the dancer, stripped of his individual identity by the use of costumes and masks. This documentary film, made with the artistic advice of Oskar Schlemmer's widow, presents an historically faithful, precise reconstruction of some of his dances. More than any other film, it gives a sense of what Bauhaus teaching was really like, and is truly important to an understanding of the origins of contemporary dance. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/58807

Man who dances. 2012, 1 videodisc (54 min.).  Enters the life of Edward Villella, one of the great male dancers in the 20th century. A primary dancer in the New York City Ballet, Villella's on-stage collapse signals the human limits of this deemingly indefatigable artist. The film features breathtaking footage from Villell's performances, both on and off the state and intimate interviews with the famed dancer as he deals with the physical mental aftermath of his collapse. Examines the true cost of a dancer losing control over his body. DVD 13483.

Mao's last dancer. 2011, 1 videodisc (117 min.).  Based on an inspiring true story, this emotionally powerful crowd-pleaser emerged as one of the year's most talked about independent films. It's the fascinating and epic tale of Li Cunxin, a peasant boy from rural China who beats impossible odds to become a world-renowned ballet dancer. Through breathtaking talent and sheer determination, Li makes his way to the United States, but when he falls in love with an American woman, he must risk everything to remain in the land of the free. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5044.

Mark Morris the hidden soul of harmony (excerpts from L'allegro, il penseroso ed il moderato). 2008, 1 online resource (50 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;490226

Markitenka. 2001, 1 online resource (13 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;891003  

Martha Graham dance on film. 2007, 2 videodiscs (93 min.).  The Criterion collection. A dancer's world: Martha Graham discusses the dancer as a creative artist, as members of her dance company illustrate her theories in a dance choreographed by Miss Graham. Woven into the movements of the dance are all the basic techniques required by the modern dancer. Appalachian spring: a ballet depicting the wedding day of a pioneer couple. Night journey: Martha Graham's interpretation of the Oedipus legend, depicting the moment of Jocasta's death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7974 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/113589

Martha Graham in performance. 2002, 1 videodisc (91 min.).  A dancer's world: Martha Graham and the Martha Graham Dance Company perform a series of short dances, interspersed with commentary by Graham and writer Leroy Leatherman. Appalachian spring: "An American folk tale of a young pioneer, his bride, and a wandering revivalist preacher with a band of followers. The dance tells of the couple's wedding, the building of their home, the preacher's dire sermon, and the woman's gentle blessing as the couple begins a life in the wilderness"--Container. Night journey: "Martha Graham's retelling of the legend of Oedipus, danced by Miss Graham as Jocasta, Paul Taylor as Tiresias, and Bertram Ross as Oedipus"--Container. DVD 5687.

Memoria. p1990, 1 online resource (85 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;386453

Merce Cunningham collection. 2003-, 1 videodisc (81 min.).  Camera space presents a challenge. It has clear limits, but it also gives opportunities of working with dance that are not available on the stage. The camera takes a fixed view, but it can be moved. There is the possibility of cutting to a second camera which can change the size of the dancer, which, to my eye, also affects the time, the rhythm of the movement. It also can show dance in a way no possible on the stage: that is, the use of detail which in the broader context of theatre does not appear. Working with video and film also gives me the opportunity to rethink certain technical elements. For example, the speed with which one catches an image on the television made me introduce into our class work different elements of movement concerned with tempos which added a new dimension to our general class work behaviour. DVD 8189.

The merry widow. 2003, 1 videodisc (188 min.).  Lotfi Mansouri's last production as General Director of the San Francisco Opera; includes new dialogue by Wendy Wasserstein and an original ballet to set the scene Chez Maxim's, bringing fresh insight into Lehár's operetta. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2724 and MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 88.

A midsummer night's dream. 2007, 1 videodisc (143 min.).  The story follows the trail of a pair of young lovers, Hermia and Lysander, who take refuge in the forest to escape the wrath of the Duke of Athens. There, their lives are intertwined with a group of actors and a wonderful collection of supernatural creatures of the night, whose own romantic problems make for great mischief. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 371.

Miss Hill Making Dance Matter. 1 online resource (1 video file, 81 min.).  Miss Hill: Making Dance Matter tells the inspiring and largely unknown story of Martha Hill, a woman whose life was defined by her love for dance, and who successfully fought against great odds to establish dance as a legitimate art form in America. Through archival footage, lively interviews with friends and intimates, and rare footage of the spirited subject, the film explores Hills's arduous path from a Bible Belt childhood in Ohio to the halls of academia at NYU and Bennington College, to a position of power and influence as Juilliard's founding director of dance (1952-1985). Peppered with anecdotal material delivered by dance notables who knew her, this revelatory story depicts her struggles and successes, the film is a celebration of dance and an examination of the passion required to keep it alive. "Illuminating... Defiance [and] tenacity, animated Hill’s life, and it drives ‘Miss Hill’ forward, too. Archival footage…distills the essence of a time when American concert dance, like never before, sought to comment on society rather than escape from it; a time when, as the choreographer Bessie Schonberg said,  (3 )4z (Beverything was new. (3 )4y  (BAnd that’s only the first half. We also get a thorough history of the Juilliard dance department, its initially groundbreaking curriculum of warring genres (ballet and modern dance) and its near-demise at the hands of George Balanchine and Lincoln Kirstein, an episode in which matters of money, power, real estate, politics and national identity collide." - The New York Times. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/139544

Music dances Balanchine choreographs Stravinsky. 2010,  1 videodisc (96 min.).  Professor Stephanie Jordan examines the extraordinary range of Balanchine's approach to Stravinsky's music across the years. The major focus is Agon, with additional selections from Apollo, Duo concertant, Divertimento from Le baiser de la fée, Movements for piano and orchestra, and Danses concertantes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5468.

Music of Ballet, The Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (28 min., 12 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. Ask any dancer what compels them to dance and they will tell you that it is first and foremost the music.  This program will highlight the great composers of ballet and examine the inseparable relationship between the music and the dance. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81920

Natalia Makarova's Swan Lake. 2000, 1 videodisc (116 min.).  Prince Siegfried sees a swan on the lake who turns into the enchanted princess Odette. She can only be saved by the true love of another. This the Prince promises her, but he is tricked by a wicked magician who disguises his daughter as the swan-maiden. Siegfried and his love leap to their deaths thus destroying the evil power of the magician. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8926.

National Ballet of Canada, The Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (27 min., 13 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. A look at the history and influence of the National Ballet Company of Canada. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81921

Nederlands Dans Theater celebrates Jirí Kylián. 98-2005, 1 online resource (93 min.).  Bella figura: In this video, the Nederlands Dans Theater performs Bella Figura by the choreographer Jiri Kylian to music by various composers such as Vivaldi, Pergolesi, and Lukas Foss. Sleepless: In this video, the Nederlands Dans Theater performs Sleepless by the choreographer Jiri Kylian to music by the composer Dirk Haubrich, who adapted passages from several pieces by Mozart. Birth-day: In this video, the Nederlands Dans Theater performs Birth-Day by the choreographer Jiri Kylian to music by Mozart. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1973 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;1919381

Never Stand Still. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 13 min., 10 sec.)).  Legendary dancers and choreographers Merce Cunningham, Paul Taylor, Suzanne Farrell, Mark Morris, Judith Jamison and Bill Irwin appear alongside new innovators to reveal the passion, discipline, and daring of the world of dance in Never Stand Still. Filmed at the iconic Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, this thrilling documentary features amazing performances by world-renowned dancers interwoven with intimate interviews, behind-the-scenes insights, and rare archival footage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6657 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=66026

New York City Ballet in Paris Balanchine, New York - Paris. 1 videodisc (106 min.).  The exceptional production, performed in Paris after eight years of absence, revolves around three great French composers who inspired NYCB founder George Balanchine: Charles Gounod, Maurice Ravel and Georges Bizet. the four ballets performed, choreographed from 1925 to 1980, perfectly encapsulate Balanchine's genius and his very own neo-classical style. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 14593.

New York City Ballet workout. ©2001, 1 videodisc (56 min.).  A workout program designed for everyone that employs elements of classical ballet, consisting of: warm-up; stretches; abdominal exercises; floor barre routines; pliés; tendu; dégagé; passé; arabesque raises; reverence; little jumps; front attitude; grand battlement front. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13411.

A night at the opera. 91, 1 online resource (55 min.).  This concert, with the Swedish virtuoso trumpeter Håkan Hardenberger and his compatriots Christian Lindberg (trombone) and Love Derwinger (piano), features a program of opera favourites by composers including Verdi, Bellini, Rossini, Mozart and Bizet. Transcribed for these three instruments, it is opera as you have never heard it before! London's Royal Academy played host for this live recording and the attractive art gallery setting, together with the musicians' brilliant playing and sense of fun, make this a unique musical entertainment. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;2385965

Les noces. 2002, 1 online resource (27 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;1597217

The Nutcracker. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 32 min., 26 sec)).  Angels and sugarplums, candy canes and mice...a magic prince, a winsome young girl, a mysterious old man and a Christmas tree that grows and grows and grows...George Balanchine's joyous and beloved holiday fantasy lights up the screen for Christmas in a dazzling feature film.  George Balanchine's "The Nutcracker", the first feature-length live-action film of the world's most beloved ballet, combines the classic beauty of the New York City Ballet stage production with the sparking talent of contemporary young film star Macaulay Culkin. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=https://ffusa.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&ff=1&&customID=4090

The nutcracker. 99, 1 online resource (119 min.).  Dance in video, volume 2. Tschaikovsky's perhaps best-loved and most famous work in an amazing production from the Berlin State Opera featuring Vladimir Malakhov, who is recognized worldwide as one of the greatest dancers of his generation. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;2087925

The nutcracker a Christmas story. 91, 1 online resource (59 min.).  Tschaikovsky's famous ballet after ""The Nutcracker an the Mouse King"" by E. T. A. Hoffmann and ""A Christmas Carol"" by Chales Dickens in an amazing production danced by the Bonn Ballet. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;2088524

Nutcracker, The Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (28 min., 50 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. Choreographed by Petipa (1892)/Music by P. Tchaikovsky.  A staple of every holiday season, the Nutcracker is by far the most popular and well-known ballet of all time. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81922

NY export Opus jazz.  2010, 1 videodisc (60 min.).  Shot on location in New York City and starring an ensemble cast of New York City Ballet dancers, NY export, opus jazz takes Jerome Robbins' 1958 "ballet in sneakers" and reimagines it for a new generation in this scripted adaptation. Along with the dance film is a documentary where dance luminaries speak to the extraordinary history of the piece. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 188.

L'oiseau de Feu. 2010, 1 online resource (29 min.).  This is a performance of The Firebird. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;2101500

Les paladins comédie-ballet en trois actes. 1 streaming video.  Opera in video. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?OPIV;593337

Paquita. 2001, 1 online resource (33 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;891004

Paris dances Diaghilev. 1 videodisc (85 min.).  Elektra nonesuch dance collection. "Four works of the Ballet Russes, recreated in their original sets, costumes and choreography, preformed by the Paris Opera Ballet as a tribute to Sergei Pavlovich Diaghilev (1872-1929)"--Original VHS container. DVD 13550.

Partnerships Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (28 min., 58 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. Great partnerships no longer exist in ballet anymore.  We will look at some of the greats (Nureyev/Fonteyn, Sibley/Dowell, Vasiliev/Maximova, Kain/Augustyn, etc...) and examine why this phenomena has ceased. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81914

Pas à pas. 82, 1 online resource (6 min.).  Dance in video, volume 2. This film by Dominique Delouche is of a performance by Patrick Dupond and Jouhn Neumeier of a duet from Petrouchka. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;2322565

Pas de deux. 1 streaming video file (13 min.).  The pas de deux is used in ballet to describe a duet and can be seen in a wide variety of unforgettable productions, including the The Nutcracker and Don Quixote. Norman McLaren takes a look at the choreography of ballet, with cinematic effects that are all you would expect from this master of improvisation in music and illustration. By exposing the same frames as many as ten times, the artist creates a multiple image of the ballerina and her partner (Margaret Mercier and Vincent Warren). A bare, black stage and back-lit figures, plus the remote, airy music of panpipes, produce a quiet detachment. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=52027

Paul Taylor's speaking in tongues. 1 videodisc (56 min.).  Elektra Nonesuch Dance Collection. The Paul Taylor Dance Company presents "Speaking in Tongues," a 1992 Emmy winner. DVD 12249.

Pearl Lang and Francisco Moncion perform dances to a reading of first century Sanskrit poetry by Chouras, music by Alan Hovhaness, 1962. 2007, 1 online resource (8 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;415533

Peter and the wolf. 2011, 1 online resource (32 min.).  A ballet about a small boy and his dealings with a wolf. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;1919008

Petrouchka journal d'une choreographie. 82, 1 online resource (53 min.).  Dance in video, volume 2. This documentary by Dominique Delouche is about John Neumeier creating new choreography for Petrouchka with Patrick Dupont. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;2326041

Petrushka. 2001, 1 online resource (39 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;890999

Picasso and dance. 2005, 1 videodisc (82 min.).  A program commemorating Pablo Picasso as an artistic collaborator with Serge Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. The first part of the program, The story of a marriage uses Picasso's portrait of his ballerina wife Olga Koklova as a departure point for discussions of his designs for the ballets Parade, Le tricorne, Pulcinella, Mercure, and Le train bleu. The second part consists of reconstructions of two ballets, recorded in performance by the Paris Opéra Ballet at the Palais Garnier. Between 1917 and 1962, Picasso was involved in creating the designs for nine ballets. Le Train Bleu (The Blue Train) dates from 1924 and Le Tricorne (The Three-Cornered Hat) from 1919. These two historic ballets, created originally by Sergei Diaghilev, have been revived by the Paris Opera Ballet. Le Train Bleu is an operetta dansé of a chic and flippant society. Jean Cocteau, who wrote the scenario, mockingly celebrates the cult of open air life, fine bodies and sport. The dances are inspired by golf, tennis, swimming and acrobatics. Le Tricorne is Spanish from start to finish. Picasso, a native of Andalusia, created sets, costumes, and a stage curtain, which evokes the atmosphere of the ballet by means of a typically Spanish scene. The story, told with humour and warmth, is of a miller's wife, her jealous husband and a senile magistrate by whom she is pursued. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12288.

Pictures at an exhibition. 2008, 1 online resource (35 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;1763320

Pied Piper of Dance Jacques D'Amboise (6/18/86). 1 online resource (1 video file (10 min., 26 sec)).  D'Amboise was a principal dancer for the New York City Ballet who altered American perceptions of male stereotypes and their roles in dance; he later became the founder of the National Dance Institute. Thisvideo highlights D'Amboise's efforts to expose public school childrento dance. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=142638

Pierre Boulez live at the Louvre Pierre Boulez introduces Stravinky's "Firebird". 2008-2010, 1 online resource (103 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;1762372

Prelinger Archives Gould Can 5484.4: Kinograms Newsreel. 1 online resource (1 video file ( min.37 sec.)).  Chicago, Illinois, nymphs (actually members of the ballet corps of the Chicago Opera). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=53961

Prince Igor. 2007, 1 videodisc (110 min.).  The story of the 12th century Russian prince who courageously fought the invading hordes from the east. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1489.

Prince Igor Polovtsian Camp. 98, 1 online resource (169 min.).  Dance in video, volume 2. This is a performance of the Polovtsian Camp scene from Borodin's Prince Igor as choreographed by Mikhail Berkut. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAV2;2735712

ProArteDanza Freedom. 1 online resource (1 video file (24 min., 4 sec)).  Freedom: Freedom. Roberto Campanella, the creative force behind ProArteDanza, has caught the eye of critics and star artists alike with his innovative works. His pieces have a super charged element of passion that elevates the art of dance to new heights. Classically trained but street smart, Campanella's blend of modern dance and ballet is winning him international acclaim. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=129933

Rama and Sita The Study and Performance of Thai Dance. 1 online resource (1 video file (53 min., 16 sec.)).  Khon ballet emerged in the 18th century with a reimagined version of the Ramayana. Watch the training and development of young dancers and musicians at the Academy of Music and Dance and performances of two stories from the Ramakien. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=114802

Rattle's rite music on two. 92, 1 online resource (50 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;1756108

Ravel (Documentary).  1 streaming video file (26 min.).  Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Ravel: Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music . The "Bolero", originally composed as a ballet, is Maurice Ravel's most successful work. The world famous melody of the "Bolero" has been featured in popular music, motion pictures and even video games. Pianist and writer Paul Roberts analyzes the music and its structure and explains why Ravel was a stringent critic of his own work. Daniel Barenboim conducts the Berlin Philharmonic. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=59088

Rebels on pointe. 1 streaming video file (90 min.).  Exploring universal themes of identity, dreams and family, this film is the first-ever documentary film celebrating the world famous Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo. The notorious all-male, drag ballet company was founded over 40 years ago in New York City on the heels of the Stonewall riots, and has a passionate cult following around the world. The film juxtaposes intimate behind-the-scenes access, rich archives and history, engaging character driven stories, and dance performances shot in North America, Europe and Japan. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/SW83

The red shoes. 99, 1 videodisc (134 min.).  Criterion collection. Centers on the dilemma of a young ballerina torn between the composer who loves her and the impresario determined to fashion her into a great dancer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 105 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://american.kanopystreaming.com/node/114714

Road to the stamping ground. 1 videodisc (58 min.).  Kylian's ballet "Stamping Ground" was inspired by the Australian aborigine dance ceremony he witnessed in 1980. This film includes footage from the Australian ceremonies, intercut with the choreographer and his own dancers working in the Hague. Includes complete performances of the finished ballet "Stamping Ground," and of a stamping dance performed by Australian tribesmen. DVD 9599 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;413938

Robert Schumann's "Davidsbündlertänze". 1 videodisc (44 min.).  Performance of Balanchine's interpretation of Robert Schumann's piano pieces. Drawing from episodes in Schumann's own life, his inner turmoil, his battle with the critics and his love for Clara, Balanchine creates a work in which four couples perform a variety of impressionistic dances. DVD 13571.

The Romantic era. 1 videodisc (88 min., 27 sec.).  Four legendary Prima Ballerinas each perform a stunning pas de deux from ballets of the Romantic Era. DVD 12434.

Romeo and Juliet ballet in three acts. 2000?, 1 videodisc (126 min.).  The famed Royal Ballet production of MacMillan's work, featuring Nureyev and Fonteyn. DVD 8548.

Romeo and Juliet Interpretations. 1 online resource (1 video file (27 min., 7 sec.)).  Inspired by William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, Hector Berlioz wrote a symphony and Antony Tudor choreographed a ballet. This episode of Camera Three showcases the three different versions. James Macandrew hosts. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=128207

Romeo and Juliet three versions, 1957. p1957, 1 online resource (28 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;420738

Romeo & Juliet Footnotes The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. 1 online resource (1 video file (27 min., 11 sec)).  Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus: Footnotes: The Classics of Ballet with Frank Augus. Choreographed by Petipa (1935)/Music by S. Prokofiev.  Shakespeare's classic love story is a 20th century ballet modeled after a 19th century concept. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=81915

La Ronde. 89, 1 online resource (49 min.). Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?DAIV;451272

The Royal Opera House Opening Celebration. 1 online resource (37 minutes).  Royal Opera House. A gala performance of opera and ballet excerpts for the re-opening of the Royal Opera House after being closed for two and a half years for renovations. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;2874202

The Royal Opera House Opening Celebration. 1 online resource (55 minutes).  Royal Opera House. A gala performance of opera and ballet excerpts for the re-opening of the Royal Opera House after being closed for two and a half years for renovations. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?CLMV;2874203

Royal Opera House Stravinsky Staged. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 43 min., 28 sec)).  Stravinsky. This exciting program presents two of his seminal works to scores commissioned by Serge Diaghilev for his Ballets Russes: The Firebird and Les Noces. Michael Berkeley and Deborah Bull discover more about the ballets and the people who created them. Deborah Bull also dances Nijinsky's version of The Rite of Spring with choreography recreated by Millicent Hodson. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=138745

Royal Opera House The Nutcracker. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr., 54 min., 55 sec)).  The Nutcracker, with its wonderful score by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, has over the years become the perfect Christmas holiday ballet. It takes place during a Christmas party where the toy maker Drossellmeyer (Sir Anthony Dowell) comes to entertain the children. He gives Clara (Alina Cojocaru) a nutcracker doll and she at once falls in love with it. When everyone has gone to bed Clara comes downstairs to find her doll and suddenly gets involved in a great adventure. She saves the Nutcracker Prince (Ivan Putrov) in the battle with the mice, is taken to the Land of Snow and on to the Land of Sweets where she meets the Sugar Plum Fairy (Miyako Yoshida) and her Prince (Jonathan Cope). When she gets home, she meets a young man in the street that she recognizes. He looks very much like the Nutcracker Prince and turns out to be Drossellmeyer's young nephew. Sir Peter Wright's production for the Royal Ballet is designed by Julia Trevelyan Oman and the orchestra of the Royal Opera House is conducted by Evgenii Svetlanov. The program is introduced by Deborah Bull. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=138747

Rubberbandance Freedom. 1 online resource (1 video file (23 min., 57 sec)).  Freedom: Freedom.  This innovative company is the brainchild of choreographer/dancer Victor Quijada, who has successfully melded his love of hip hop with classical ballet to create a dance form that is as much at home on the street as it is on stage. Raised in Los Angeles, trained in New York, and now based in Montreal, Victor has assembled a company through scouting hip hop clubs and classical troupes. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=129928

Ruslan and Lyudmila.  1 streaming video (210 min.).  Opera in video. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?OPIV;421084