Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - National Cinema, Egypt: Home

Titles available on DVD and streaming as of June 2018

National Cinema, Egypt

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2018.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentication by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library catalog.

 

 

The abominable Dr. Phibes. 2004, 1 videodisc (95, 89 min.). Abominable Dr. Phibes: "After a team of surgeons botches his beloved wife's operation, the distraught Dr. Phibes unleashes a score of Old-Testament atrocities -- from a plague of locusts to an attack of rats--on his enemies."--Container. Dr. Phibes rises again: "The eminent Dr. Phibes awakens from a decade of suspended animation and heads to Egypt with the corpse of his dead wife -- which he intends to resurrect by murdering people in strange and heinous ways to invoke a magical incantation."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6482.    

Agora. 2010, 1 videodisc (ca. 126 min.). Set at the end of the 4th century, a young slave in ancient Egypt must choose between joining the Christianity movement, which will give him freedom, and Hypatia, the woman he loves, who is his master and an atheist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11414.  

Ahlam al-zabbalin = Garbage dreams. 2009, 1 videodisc (79 min.).  "Follows three teenage boys born into the trash trade and growing up in the world's largest garbage village, on the outskirts of Cairo.  It is the home to 60,000 Zaballeen, Arabic for "garbage people". Far ahead of any modern "Green" initiatives, the Zaballeen survive by recycling 80 percent of the garbage they collect.  When their community is suddenly faced with the globalization of its trade, each of the teenage boys is forced to make choices that will impact his future and the survival of his community"-- www.garbagedreams.com. DVD 7149.  

Al abwab al moghlaka = Closed doors. 2007, 1 videodisc (109 min.).  Mohamad, a highly impressionable young man who embraces fundamentalist ideas as a way of dealing with the confusion of adolescence and sexual awakening. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 372.     

Al-mohager = The emigrant. 2005, 1 videodisc (123 min.).  KimStim collection. Ram is an intellectual who dreams of leaving his family's nomadic life to study agriculture in Egpyt, but his jealous and abusive older brothers sell him into slavery. Ram manages to overcome his hardships and win the admiration of royalty, though his change of fortune carries a high price. HOME USE COLLECTION 5623. 

Antony & Cleopatra. 89, 2 videodiscs (179 min.). A dramatization of Shakespeare's famous play, set in the days of ancient Rome, which explores the calamitous consequences of an overwhelming passion and the conflict between public duty and private desires. DVD 3192.   

Banat al-yawm. 2002, 1 videodisc (115 min.). Two sisters, Salwá and Laylá, meet two friends Fathi (Ramzi) and Khalid (Hafiz). Fathi really likes Salwá, but Salwá falls in love with Khalid. Khalid, on the other hand, respects that his friend likes Salwá and ignores his feelings for her. Believing that Laylá is similar to her sister, Khalid proposes to marry her instead. Fathi tried to forget his love for Salwá by having an affair with Laylá's divorced friend. Khalid realizes that there are too many differences between himself and Laylá, and he discovers that he truly loves Salwá. DVD 11129.

Bara no soretsu = Funeral parade of roses. 2006, 1 videodisc (105 min.). Eddie and the transvestite Leda both have sexual desires on bar manager and drug dealer Gonda. Gonda fears Leda will expose him to the police if he does not give in to his advances. When Leda commits suicide, Eddie and Gonda are free to engage in their homosexual yearnings for each other. When Gonda discovers he is Eddie's father, he kills himself with a knife. A distraught Eddie uses the same knife to cut his own eyes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2289. 

The barbarian. 2010, 1 videodisc (84 min.). How perfectly charming: a Cairo guide named Jamil has returned Diana Standing's lost Pekinese. She doesn't know that Jamil stole the dog so he could get close to the beautiful tourist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14953.  

Bikur ha-Tizmoret = The band's visit. 2008, 1 videodisc (87 min.). The Alexandria Ceremonial Police Orchestra arrives in Israel from Egypt for a cultural event. Once there, they find the expected delegation is not there to meet them. Arrangements to get to their destination of Petah Tiqva have not been taken care of either. They find their own ride and arrive instead at the remote town of Beit Hatikva. Stuck there until the next morning's bus, the band, lead by the repressed Tawfiq Zacharaya, gets help from the worldly lunch owner, Dina, who offers to put them up for the night. As the band settles in the best it can, each of the members attempts to get along with the natives in their own way. What follows is a special night of quiet happenings and confessions as the band makes its own impact on the town and the town on them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2755.   

Caesar and Cleopatra. 2010, 1 videodisc (128 min.). Experience a lavish epic about love and politics in ancient Rome and Egypt. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9871.    

Cairo: Central Station. 1 online resource (1 video file (1 hr. 16 min. 47 sec.)). Kinawi, a physically challenged peddler who makes his living selling newspapers in the central Cairo train station, is obsessed by Hannouma, an attractive young woman who sells drinks. While she treats Kinawi in a sympathetic way and jokes with him about a possible relationship, She is actually in love with Abu Sri', a strong and respected porter at the station who is struggling to unionize his fellow workers to combat their boss' exploitative and abusive treatment. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&xtid=57083     

The Cecil B. DeMille collection. 2006, 5 videodiscs (ca. 571 min.). Experience the breathtaking dangers and delights of ancient Rome in "The sign of the cross"; trek through a perilous jungle with "Four frightened people"; thrill to the passion, suspense and intrigue of "Cleopatra"; journey back in time with the glorious story of "The crusades"; and see how the West was really won in the explosive "Union Pacific." HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11264 – 11268.  

Cleopatra. 1 online resource (1 video file (4 hr., 3 min., 10 sec)). In 48 B.C., Caesar pursues Pompey from Pharsalia to Egypt. Ptolemy, now supreme ruler after deposing his older sister, Cleopatra, attempts to gain favor with Caesar by presenting the conquerer with the head of Pompey, borne by his governors, Pothinos and Achillas. To win Caesar's support from her brother, Cleopatra hides herself in a rug, which Apollodorus, her servant, presents to Caesar. The Roman is immediately infatuated; banishing Ptolemy, he declares Cleopatra Egypt's sole ruler and takes her as his mistress. A son, Caesarion, is born of their union. Caesar, however, must return to Italy. Although he is briefly reunited with Cleopatra during a magnificent reception for the queen in Rome, Caesar is assassinated shortly thereafter, and Cleopatra returns to Egypt. When Mark Antony, Caesar's protégé, beholds Cleopatra aboard her elaborate barge at Tarsus some years later, he is smitten and becomes both her lover and military ally. Their liaison notwithstanding, Antony, to consolidate his position in Rome, marries Octavia, sister of the ambitious Octavian. The marriage satisfies no one. Cleopatra is infuriated, and Antony, tiring of his Roman wife, returns to Egypt. There he flaunts his liaison by marrying Cleopatra in a public ceremony. Sensing Antony's weakness, Octavian attacks and defeats his forces at Actium. Alarmed, Cleopatra withdraws her fleet and seeks refuge in her tomb. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=https://ffusa.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&ff=1&&customID=3833   

Cleopatra. 2006, 1 videodisc (102 min.). "Claudette Colbert gives a stunning performance as the alluring Queen of the Nile in this colossal epic of passion and deception. Determined to exert her power over Julius Caesar, Cleopatra uses her beauty and wit to seduce the Roman leader into leaving his wife for her. After Caesar's downfall, Cleopatra turns her attention to the dashing Marc Antony. But as their passionate love affair threatens the peace of the empire, Cleopatra fights a desperate battle to hold onto her happiness and her throne." From container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11266.   

Cleopatra. 2006, 2 videodiscs (248 min.). Cleopatra tries to increase her power with help from the Roman Empire. Both Julius Caesar and Mark Antony fall for her. After Caesar's death Cleopatra seduces Mark Antony, but the couple soon face certain doom. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10145.  

Dardashah Nisāʾīyah = Entre femmes = Women's chitchat. 2004?, 1 videodisc (52 min.).  Women pioneers collection. This film studies the evolution of Egyptian society from the early 20th century to today, focusing on the status of women as experienced by several generations within the same family. The women discuss the intergenerational changes that have affected fashion, politics and courtship as well as society's role for women in general. DVD 7565. 

Desert victory the battle of El Alamein. 2009, 2 videodiscs (165 min.). The British Army and R.A.F. captured the Battle of El Alamein while it happened. Teams of cameramen followed the 8th Army troops into battle against Rommel's Afrika Korps, recording some of the most extraordinary footage of the war. Features rare and fascinating original film preserved in the Museum's archives. Some materials have never been released to the public before. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11615.   

Le destin = Destiny. 1 videodisc (135 min.). When a disciple of 12th-century philosopher Averroes is burned at the stake for heresy, his young son Joseph journeys to Andalusia to study with his father's mentor. There he joins Averroes' disciples uniting against an evil sheik intent upon destroying the philosopher's work. DVD 4529.  

Doa al karawan = The nightingale's prayer. 2004, 1 videdisc (126 min.). "This compelling tale of love and betrayal, set in the upper Egyptian countryside, follows the story of Amna as she plots her revenge on the engineer who destoryed her family's honor. [The Nightingale's Prayer is] a gripping portrait of a courageous young woman's rebellion against tradition and poverty"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5619.  

The English patient. 2004, 2 videodiscs (162 min.). At the end of World War II, a mysterious, horribly burned man who claims not to remember his name, known only as the "English patient," lies near death in an Italian villa.  He is cared for by a quietly desperate young nurse, Hana, herself a victim of the war.  With her at the villa are Kip, a young Sikh bomb-disposal expert, and a shadowy thief with bandaged hands named Caravaggio.  The key to the burned man's past may lie in his commonplace book, a volume of Herodotus, and its intimations of the sacred whirlwind of a great, mysterious, passionate, and tragically doomed love, which trapped two unsuspecting people, forever. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4749.  

Et maintenant, on va où? W halla' la wayn. 2012, 1 videodisc (102 min.).  A group of Lebanese women try to ease religious tensions between Christians and Muslims in their village. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7116. 

Exodus: Gods and Kings. 1 online resource (1 video file (2 hr., 30 min., 21 sec)).  Epic adventure Exodus: Gods and Kings is the story of one man's daring courage to take on the might of an empire. Using state of the art visual effects and 3D immersion, Scott brings new life to the story of the defiant leader Moses as he rises up against the Egyptian Pharaoh Ramses, setting 600,000 slaves on a monumental journey of escape from Egypt and its terrifying cycle of deadly plagues. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=https://ffusa.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103247&ff=1&&customID=3827     

Fallen angels paradise. 1 online resource (1 video file, approximately 80 min.).  A homeless man dies of an overdose in a popular Cairo neighborhood. He was once an ideal husband and represented security for his family. Then one day, everything changed. Upon his death his friends from the underworld drag the corpse around for a whole night of madness, drinking and hallucinating situations. Based on Jorge Amado novel. Streaming video.
https://www.kanopy.com/product/fallen-angels-paradise    

Five graves to Cairo. 1 videodisc (97 min.). John J. Bramble, the sole survivor of a British tank crew, makes his way to a desolate desert town where he is given refuge by a hotel owner and chambermaid who prepare to receive General Erwin Rommel and his German staff. Posing as the hotel's waiter, Bramble attempts to infiltrate Rommel's inner circle and report the general's plans to the Allies. 

Four women of Egypt. 2006, 1 videodisc (90 min.). Four Egyptian women have the same goals--human diginity and social justice--but each adopts an approach radically different from the others. Muslim, Christian, Jewish or non-religious, their visions of society range from wanting a secular or socialist state to an Islamic one. These friends, deeply committed, argue openly, without ever breaking the bond that unites them. DVD 7764.     

Four women of Egypt.  2013, 1 streaming video file (90 min.).  Four Egyptian women have the same goals--human diginity and social justice--but each adopts an approach radically different from the others. Muslim, Christian, Jewish or non-religious, their visions of society range from wanting a secular or socialist state to an Islamic one. These friends, deeply committed, argue openly, without ever breaking the bond that unites them. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://www.american.edu/customcf/catalog_video_longtail.cfm?callNum=13366917   

George Bernard Shaw on film Major Barbara, Caesar and Cleopatra, Androcles and the Lion. 2010, 3 videodiscs (347 min.). The hugely influential, Nobel Prize winning critic and playwright George Bernard Shaw was notoriously reluctant to allow his writing to be adapted for the cinema. Yet thanks to the persistence of Hungarian producer Gabriel Pascal, Shaw finally agreed to collaborate on a series of screen versions of his witty, socially minded plays. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9870 – 9872.   

Ghazal al-banat. 2004, 1 videodisc (120 min.).  Musical comedy about a frivolous young rich girl falling in and out of love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13310.   

The Gods of our fathers. 1 streaming video file (51 min.). Human nature is not fixed, nor is there anything natural or innate in male domination. Explores the evolution of patriarchy as one effective way of organizing mass societies, from evidence in ancient Egyptian villages along the Nile. As the world changes, it needs to find alternatives to patriarchy. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/5xc   

Goodbye Mubarak! 1 streaming video file (73 min.). On January 25, 2011, the world was captivated as thousands of protesters flooded Tahrir Square in Cairo, demanding an end to the regime of President Hosni Mubarak. But the ground for the protests had been laid in the weeks and months preceding the mass outpouring of opposition. Goodbye Mubarak! takes us to Egypt during the fall of 2010, in the run-up to legislative elections. What we discover is a revolution-in-waiting already simmering under the surface of Egyptian society. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/P7    

Goodbye Mubarak! 2011, 1 videodisc (72 min.).  "On January 25, 2011, the world was captivated as thousands of protesters flooded Tahrir Square in Cairo, demanding an end to the regime of President Hosni Mubarak. But the ground for the protests had been laid in the weeks and months preceding the mass outpouring of opposition. Goodbye Mubarak! takes us to Egypt during the fall of 2010, in the run-up to legislative elections. What we discover is a revolution-in-waiting already simmering under the surface of Egyptian society." -- Container. DVD 10044.   

ha-Bayit bi-Rehov Shelush. 2004, 1 videodisc (110 min.). A coming-of-age story set in pre-Israel Palestine, the plot centers on the firstborn son of a widowed wife who immigrated from Egypt with her four children. Sammy transitions from a shy 15-year old to a working man and an activist in the "Haganah", and develops a romantic attachment with a 25-year old Russian immigrant librarian. The movie is a vivid description of Egyptian-Jewish families on the eve of the declaration of the state of Israel. DVD 6705. 

Hadduta misrija = An Egyptian story. 2000, 1 videodisc (127 min.). In the middle of his own heart surgery, an Egyptian filmmaker remembers his life. In fact his old self, as a child, is accused of attempted murder of his new self. Through the metaphoric trial, we are drawn into his life in relation with the Egyptian revolution, his constant need for success, and the effect the American Dream has on him. DVD 463.   

Hidalgo. 2003, 1 videodisc (136 min.). In the 1890's Frank T. Hopkins, a former U.S. Cavalry dispatch rider who is haunted by memories of what he saw at the battle of Wounded Knee, and his mustang Hidalgo, are performing in Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show, billed as the greatest horse and rider the West has ever known. This leads them to be invited to run in the 3,000 mile endurance race across the Middle Eastern desert, the Ocean of Fire, by one of the leading Arabian Sheiks. The race soon becomes not only a matter of pride and honor for Frank, but a race for his very survival as he and his horse attempt the impossible. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1792.   

How to start a revolution. 2011, 1 videodisc (82 min.). How to start a revolution profiles Gene Sharp through interviews with his ally, Retired U.S. Army Colonel Robert Helvey, and key leaders of nonviolent revolutions around the world--all of whom testify to the power of Gene's work in practice. This film shows how one man's thinking has contributed to the liberation of millions of oppressed people living under some of the most brutal dictatorships in the world, and how his work in direct action and civil disobedience continues to be used today to topple dictators using the sheer force of nonviolent people power. DVD 10642.  

Iskanderija, kaman oue kaman = Alexandria again and forever. 2000, 1 videodisc (105 min.). In this autobiographical film, Yehia, the director's alter ego, joins a hunger strike which has rallied the Egyptian film industry. As the strike goes on, Yehia is overwhelmed by his infatuation with the young actor Amr, but this infatuation is soon overshadowed by his interest in Nadia, the young actress he wants to cast in his next feature. The last film in the director's Alexandria trilogy. DVD 464. 

Iskanderija... lih? Alexandria...why? 2000, 1 videodisc (133 min.). 18-year-old Yehia retreats from the poverty, death and suffering all around him in World War II Egypt and dreams of one day becoming a Hollywood filmmaker. But after he falls in love and discovers the harsh truths behind the European occupation of his country, Yehia reassesses his identity and allegiances. DVD 462.

Joseph and the amazing technicolor dreamcoat. 2000, 1 videodisc (78 min.). Tells the rags-to-riches story of Joseph, his eleven brothers and the coat of many colors. A filmed performance of the staged musical. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 225.   

Kippur. 2001, 1 videodisc (123 min.). Film takes place in 1973 during the Yom Kippur War in which Egypt and Syria launched attacks in Sinai and the Golan Heights. We are led on a day that begins with quiet city streets, but ends with death, destruction and devastation of both body and mind. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9038.  

Koran by heart one chance to remember. 2011, 1 videodisc (ca. 80 min.).  In this 80-minute documentary, three 10-year old children leave their native countries to participate in one of the Islamic world's most famous competitions, a test of memory and recitation known as The International Holy Koran Competition. As the competition reaches its climax, Koran By Heart offers a compelling and nuanced glimpse into some of the pressures faced by the next generation of Muslims. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11014.  

Latcho drom Bonne route. 2011, 1 videodisc (103 min.). A variety of Romany musical groups and dancers perform traditional music and dances in settings created to show traditional Romany life and culture.  Set in India, Egypt, Turkey, Romania, Hungary, Slovakia, France and Spain. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11114.  

Mawlid ya dunya = Life is a carnival. 2003, 1 videodisc (150 min.).  A theater director attempts to help a group of homeless people by forming a musical theater troupe. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11135.   

My father is on the tree. 2003, 1 videodisc (155 min.).  "Adel, a college student majoring in engineering, goes from his home in Cairo to Alexandria to spend a 2-week summer vacation with his friends. While there, he courts his sweetheart Aamal, but she refuses to yield to his requests to spend time alone together. Frustrated, he embarks on an affair with a dancer named Ferdous, and spirals downward into a world of alcohol, gambling, and deception. His friends learn of this, and distance themselves from him. When word gets back to his father Hamid who comes to bring him home, Adel realizes what he must do." --IMDB. DVD 13351.   

Omaret yakobean = Yacoubian building. 2006, 1 videodisc (162 min.).  We meet the residents of the Yacoubian building and through them learn something about the city of Cairo, albeit the more disturbing side of corruption, fundamentalism, prostitution, sexuality, and drugs. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3279.   

Pier Paolo Pasolini's trilogy of life. 2012, 4 videodiscs (352 min.). In the Canterbury tales, Pasolini's startling candor and ribald humor illuminate these classic tales of romance, deception, murder and lust. The Arabian nights follows the adventures of a slave girl as she rises to power over a great city. Around her revolve the stories of magic and lust, mystery and fantasy that derive from three cultures (Persia, Egypt and India) and range from the ninth century to the Renaissance. The Decameron, transposed to Naples from Boccaccio's Florence, is a cutting takedown of the pieties surrounding religion and sex. DVD 9641 – 9643.  

The prince of Egypt. 2006, 1 videodisc (99 min.).  A tale of two brothers, one born of royal blood, one an orphan with a secret past. Growing up the best of friends, they share a strong bond of free-spirited youth and good-natured rivalry. But the truth will ultimately set them apart, as one becomes the ruler of a powerful empire, the other is the chosen leader of his people. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8180.  

Salamah fi khayr = Everything is fine. 2006, 1 videodisc (98 min.). A comic farce about a simple worker (Salamah) at a trading company who fails to deposit the companies' money into the bank because the branch is closed for the day. He instead puts the money in his hotel safe and then takes advantage of his stay and meets a foreign prince who looks just like him. The owner of the company thought that Salamah stole the money when it is discovered missing at the bank and has Salamah arrested. The Prince who is actually Salamah because he and the Prince switch identities so that the Prince can have fun without his entourage, gets him out of jail and shows that the money is safe at the hotel. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13306.  

Six days in June the war that redefined the Middle East. 2007, 1 videodisc (108 min.). Although the fighting lasted for only six days in June of 1967, the effects of the Six Day War are still apparent today. On its 40th anniversary, the region remains trapped in conflict and is every bit as explosive as it was then. For Israel, the 1967 war was a military success. But it also redrew the map of the Middle East and mired the region in a never-ending cycle of occupation, terrorism and reprisal. The Six Day War forever changed the politics of the Middle East by helping to destroy the secular basis of Pan-Arab nationalism and transform secular Zionism. It gave rise to a Palestinian nationalist movement and helped unleash the fury of fundamentalism. Shot on location in Israel, Palestine, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Moscow and Washington, this powerful film takes us through the weeks that preceded the war, its six days of fighting and its aftermath that still lingers today. DVD 8016.  

Stargate. 1995, 2 videodiscs (119 min.). A secret military mission takes a group of men through an Egyptian artifact known as the Stargate to an ancient civilization on the other side of the universe. Once there, they must battle the astoundingly powerful Sun God, Ra, before they can find their way home. DVD 113.  

Stargate. 2009, 1 videodisc (130 min.).  An interstellar teleportation device, found in Egypt, leads to a planet with humans resembling ancient Egyptians who worship the god Ra. At stake, the freedom of an ancient civilization from slavery and any chance of ever getting home. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8858.  

Tahrir: Liberation Square. 1 streaming video file (93 min.). Soon after the first reports came about the occupation of Tahrir Square, filmmaker Stefano Savona headed for Cairo, where he stayed, amidst the ever-growing masses in the Square, for weeks. His film introduces us to young Egyptians such as Elsayed, Noha and Ahmed, spending all day and night talking, shouting, singing, finally expressing everything they were forbidden to say out loud until now. As the protests grow in intensity, the regime's repression becomes more violent, with the terrifying potential for massacre never far away. 'Tahrir' is a film written in the faces, hands, and voices of those who experienced this period in the Square. It is a day-to-day account of the Egyptian revolution, capturing the anger, fear, resolve and finally elation of those who made it happen. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/u8   

The ten commandments. 2006, 3 videodiscs (220 min.).  To escape the edict that condemned all first-born Hebrew males by Egypt's Pharoah, Rameses I, the infant Moses is set adrift on the Nile in a reed basket. Saved by the pharaoh's daughter Bithiah, he is adopted by her and brought up in the court of her brother, Pharaoh Seti. Moses gains Seti's favor and the love of the throne princess Nefertiri. He also gains the hatred of Seti's son, Rameses. When his Hebrew heritage is revealed, Moses is cast out of Egypt, and makes his way across the desert where he marries, has a son and is commanded by God to return to Egypt to free the Hebrews from slavery. In Egypt, Moses's fiercest enemy proves to be not Rameses, but someone near to him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5930.  

Thartharah fawq al-Nil = Adrift on the Nile. 1 videodisc (115 min.). A group of hedonistic middle-aged friends gather each night on a luxurious houseboat for dancing, love-making and smoking hashish. When a young news reporter visits the houseboat to write a story on the group, she is outraged to learn the tragic depths of their social alienation. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5618.    

Tickling giants. 1 videodisc (120 min.).  In the midst of the Egyptian Arab Spring, Bassem Youssef makes a decision that's every mother's worst nightmare and leaves his job as a heart surgeon to become a full-time comedian. Dubbed "The Egyptian Jon Stewart," Bassem creates the satirical show, Al Bernameg. The weekly program quickly becomes the most viewed television program in the Middle East, with 30 million viewers per episode. But, in a country where free speech is not settled law, his show becomes as controversial as it is popular. Despite increasing danger, Bassem employs comedy, not violence, to comment on hypocrisy in media, politics, and religion. Tickling Giants follows the "Al Bernameg" team as they discover democracy is not easily won. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14966.   

Veiled voices. 2009, 1 videodisc (59 min.).  "Women in the Arab world are redefining their role as leaders in Islam. Veiled voices investigates the world of Muslim women religious leaders through the eyes of three women--in Lebanon, Syria and Egypt"--Container. DVD 6907.  

La Vierge, les Coptes, et moi-- = The Virgin, the Copts, and me. 1 streaming video file (85 min.).  A filmmaker's revealing, sometimes comedic personal exploration of Egypt's Copt community. Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://docuseek2.com/v/a/XW5     

We are Egypt: the story behind the revolution. 2013, 1 videodisc (85 min.).  Going beyond the headlines, this story, filmed in the fourteen months leading to the Revolution, highlights the years of mounting resentment against a U.S. backed authoritarian government determined to stay in power. Embedded inside the turmoil, filmmaker Lillie Paquette followed key opposition figures and young democracy activists as they struggled against extraordinary odds and at great personal risk. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6356.   

William Shakespeare's Antony & Cleopatra . 2004, 1 videodisc (161 min.).  In this adaptation from the Royal Shakespeare Company, Roman nobleman Marc Antony falls in love with Egyptian queen Cleopatra to tragic ends. DVD 3765.    

Winter of Discontent = El sheita elli fat. 2014, 1 videodisc (96 min.).  Set in and around the events of January 2011 in Cairo's Tahrir Square whick led to the overthrow of the Mubarak regime. An opposition activist, a TV journalist, and a secret policeman intersect before and during the events. Flashbacks lay bare the previous treatment of opponents of Mubarek, and the film ends with a prescient (as it turns out) ambiguity for the future of the people's struggle. -- from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11223.