Find the best library databases for your research.
Library databases are subject to institutionally negotiated terms and conditions, including restrictions on ingesting content into AI. Please contact the library if you have questions about compliant uses.
Coverage: 2004 to present. Updated: Every two years.
Multi-country, regularly conducted survey of democratic values and behaviors in the Americas. From the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) at Vanderbilt University.
The ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World is a collection of geographic information from around the world. The content is frequently updated and intended for use with ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Pro software.
The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 15 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS modern search form.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science, social science, and humanities books and their scholarly impact and influence. Book Citation Index has citation data from 2005 to present.
CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project) is a non-profit that maintains a global environmental reporting system for investors, companies, cities, states and regions to manage their environmental impacts.
AU library has access to CDP climate change data 2010 through 2023.
You will be directed to a form to request access to the data and your request will be processed within two business days. Access is restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
Analysis and statistics on U.S. presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, visit https://www.economist.com/, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Essential Science Indicators is a compilation of performance statistics and trends extrapolated from counts of articles published in scholarly, mostly science, journals. Helps discover the frequency of citation in each scientific field and the most highly cited papers in each field. Includes the citation information for top articles, which can be searched in AU Library Search.
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.
Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll from 1935 to 2016.
See Gallup Analytics for current content.
Instructions for obtaining microdata from the Gallup World Poll and the Gallup Daily US Tracking Survey.
Datasets (in SPSS format) and their codebooks (in Excel format) from the Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS). For each month, the dataset contains a common set of basic indicator variables, and different sets of topical variables, for years going back to 2001, as indicated in its codebook.
For more information on the GPSS, please see How Does the Gallup Poll Social Series Work?
** Items in this collection are labeled 'under embargo' and can be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.
Social and economic statistics of the United States from colonial times to 2000.
>** This resource has been discontinued by the publisher. **Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Data files are available for different years, in various formats and in both Spanish and English.
A visual analysis display charting the left, right, center biases of various media platforms including newspapers, television programs, podcasts, and periodicals.
Click ‘Login’, look under School User and click on ‘Go to Dashboard’.
** Currently, this database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.
Neighborhood boundaries can change from one census year to the next, making it hard for researchers to compare the same area over time. The Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) reconciles those changing boundaries in census data from 1970 to 2010. Data extracts are GIS-compatible.
**Access limited to 3 (three) concurrent users.**
Pitchbook tracks the private and public equity markets. It provides data on the venture capital, private equity and M&A landscape, including information about funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers.
* Problem logging in to PitchBook? Select Log in with SSO. *
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts.
** Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
** There was an update made to our authentication to this resource on August 20, 2024. Existing users will be prompted to verify their accounts by inputting a code sent to their @american.edu email. **
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.
ProQuest TDM Studio is a web-based tool that allows users analyze large amounts of content while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one cloud-based platform. Using content retrieved from ProQuest databases that AU Library subscribes to, including current and historical newspapers, scholarly and trade journals, magazines and theses and dissertations, you can conduct data analysis, text mining, and data visualization to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections.
Includes company financials, relationships among firms and people, biographical and contact data, transactions, events, securities data, ownership, brokerage estimates, corporate governance, regulatory filings, and news on private and public companies.
Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
** This database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
** Users must register for an individual, sponsored account by clicking on the 'New User?' link at the top right of the landing page. **
** If you receive a 'too many redirects' error message, please try accessing from a different browser or clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies? **
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Provides access to U.S. adult and teen consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. Data is pulled from the National Consumer Study (NCS) and the Simmons National Hispanic Consumer Study (NHCS). Experian Simmons OneView can be used to create customized reports and graphs.
** Access limited to 55 simultaneous users. **
** Please click on the user profile icon and select 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user. **
An easy-to-use web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 50,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 20 million business points from Dun and Bradstreet with detailed profiles on each business, in addition to the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics providing 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status including estimates. Users also have access to the Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enabling users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
Users may create accounts to save their searches or proceed as guests.
**Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.**
Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.
Canadian statistical data, including population, agriculture, food, business, education, and construction. Updated once a year in the summer.
TRAC is a data gathering, research, and distribution organization at Syracuse University, TRAC seeks to provide comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050.
WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
If you are having trouble accessing a resource, please let us know and we will work with you to resolve the issue:
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A dedicated source for news providing news analysis and reporting on the Middle East. It produces reports and analysis about the region and ongoing events in English. Each day, editors translate Arabic, Hebrew, and Turkish reporting and commentary on politics and religion, business and economics, society and culture, and the arts and sports.
Please complete this form to sign up for subscriber-only newsletters.
Document collections supporting historical research on a broad range of topics. Strengths include American history, Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, women’s and gender studies, popular culture, and literary studies.
