Subject Guides: CHEM 150: Lansigan: Home

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

202-885-6648

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Mathematics / Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Science

Text: (571) 248-7542

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject. An excellent starting place.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
** The new Factiva interface became the default on August 30, 2024.
Switch to the advanced search page by clicking 'Switch Factiva' on the right in the menu bar. **
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Most recent 2 months of over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, many in foreign languages. All newspapers are in their entirety and are available on the day they are published. I recommend browsing the Food and Drink category or just using the search bar.

Scientific American
A popular science magazine, it may sometimes have articles about your topic.

Food History: Printed and Manuscript Recipe Books, 1669-1990 This link opens in a new window
Social history through a collection of more than 300 printed and manuscript recipe collections from 1669-1990 with related content such as home medical remedies, etiquette guidance, and household management.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.