Filmography - Advertising, Marketing and Public Relations

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.

History of advertising early tv commercials. 2005. (125 min.). The two-disc DVD set traces television advertising and its evolution. DVD 2578

How art made the world. 2006.  (290 min.). Reveals how the first big artistic discoveries were made and how they have cascaded down the centuries to define the look of the present day. Encompassing everything from cave paints to ceramics and pyramids to palaces, this film explores the global trend for unrealistic depictions of the human body; the secret powers of the feature film; how politicians manage to manipulate people so easily; visions of the afterlife; and why we use imagery at all. DVD 3674

Images in media. 1998. (28 min.). The pictures in our heads that define who we are and help us neatly categorize others are increasingly shaped by the newspaper, magazine, film, and TV images that bombard our senses. To convey a message quickly, these images often rely on stereotypes and primal reflexes that can foster in an audience an inordinate fear of violence, racial and ethnic prejudices, diminished self-worth, and even eating disorders, as young women attempt to mimic the look of high-fashion models. This program is a behind-the-scenes look at the media's image-makers, from the first photographers to today's Madison Avenue wizards, and asks some disturbing questions about the self-selected few who hold a distorted mirror up to our society. streaming online.

In brands we trust. 2003. (53 min.). Ask what a brand is-- is it a product, a company, an advertising campaign, a myth? Examines the concept of branding, its history, its impact on youth, and the convergence of brands and culture. Includes commentary by Saatchi & Saatchi Worldwides's Kevin Roberts, Chanel's Jacques Helleu, and anti-corporate crusader Naomi Klein. Looks at various brands, including Coke, Nike, Chanel, Apple, and Benetton. DVD 3169

Iraq campaign 1991 a television history in color. 1992. (28 min.). Filmmaker Phil Patiris condenses 750 hours of film into a pastiche of short clips, Desert Storm events, news reports, Super Bowl clips, advertisements, the Rodney King beating, and war and science fiction movies to show how American commercialism and sports hype influenced the public attitude toward the Gulf War. The film closes with scenes of President Bush greeting returning men at the Capitol. The film is followed by a radio interview of Patiris while a still photograph is displayed on the screen. DVD 9450

Kids under the influence. 1989. (58 min.). Looks at our number one drug problem among kids -- alcohol. It examines school problems and run-ins with the law as well as the long-term physical and psychological disorders caused by alcohol consumption and demonstrates the enormous influence of peer pressure and the seductive advertisements in the mass media. Visiting alcoholism treatment centers, it shows the devastating damage done by alcohol and the wrenching process of rehabilitation; explains why alcohol presents increased health and safety risks for children and adolescents; and clarifies why alcohol is so easily abused by youngsters, and what can be done about it. DVD 14695

Killing us softly 3 advertising's image of women. 2000. (34 min.). Discusses the manner in which women continue to be portrayed by advertising and the effects this has on their images of themselves. DVD 4810

Launching a new product internationally. 1990. (53 min.). This training session explores the benefits of integrating marketing communications disciplines. Prelaunch media coverage tied into high-visibility advertising and coordinated with direct marketing efforts can compensate for the complexities of distribution and cultural purchase preferences. This is a useful session for public relations professionals practicing a variety of disciplines and moving toward multinational clients. DVD 15468

Leading questions. 1989. (58 min.). Discusses how marketers use public opinion and the use of polls, surveys, leading questions and behavior scans in determining public opinion. Describes how this information is used in selling products, in shaping politics, and in winning presidential elections. streaming online.

Mad for ads. Canada. 1991. (27 min.). This program discusses the use of suspense in 30-second commercials to retain viewer interest until the end when the name of the sponsor is revealed and to fix the product in the viewer's memory. Successful techniques include a comic twist, parodies of familiar movie plots, and intriguing camera angles as well as melodramatic music. Examples include commercials from the United States, France, England, Australia, Colombia, Italy, Holland, Belgium, Spain, Denmark and Taiwan. DVD 15418

Marketing booze to blacks. 1990. (17 min.) ; sd., col. Beer, wine and liquor companies spend more than $2 billion each year promoting their products - and one of their main targets is Afro-Americans. Film examines the impact of alcoholism and other alcohol-related problems in the black community, looks at the messages in alcohol ads and raises questions about the industry's support of civic groups. DVD 15300

Marketing tomorrow's weapons. 1997. (29 min.). Defense contractors pour vast sums of money and advertising resources into convincing Congress to vote for new weapons. Segment looks at how Madison Avenue tactics are being used to commit the country to $300 billion in new fighter planes. DVD 9375

Merchants of cool. 2003. (60 min.). Explores the culture in which today's American teenager is growing up and how they've come to view themselves and their parents. "Frontline journeys into the world of the marketers of popular culture to teenagers. They spend their days sifting through reams of market research data. They conduct endless surveys and focus groups. They comb the streets, the schools, and the malls, hot on the trail of the 'next big thing' that will snare the attention of their prey, a market segment worth an estimated $300 billion a year. They are the merchants of cool: the creators and sellers of popular culture, who have made teens the hottest consumer demographic in America."--Http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline. DVD 5879

Money for nothing behind the bu$ine$$ of pop music. 2001. (49 min.). Examines the shrinking number of record companies, the centralization of radio station ownership, and the increasing integration of popular music into the advertising and commercial aspects of the consumer market. Also discusses independent bands and record labels. Features interviews with Chuck D, Ani DiFranco, Michael Franti, Kathleen Hanna, Reebee Garafalo, Dave Marsh, Robert W. McChesney, and Shirley Halperin. streaming online.

Money like water. 1997. (19 min.). Looks at the question "Is money the enemy of honest candidates, competitive elections, clean government and the public good?" as participants briefly discuss five basic approaches to campaign finance reform: (1) control the amount of private money collected by candidates; (2) limit the amount candidates spend on their campaign; (3) require full public financing of campaigns and forbid altogether the use of private money; (4) eliminate any restrictions on money; (5) restrict spending on television advertising and/or reform the way the media covers politics. DVD 16443-16444

New product development. 1989. (52 min.). In an interview with Robert Chesney of "Window on Wall Street," George Gruenwald outlines his seven steps to success in new product development and cites many current examples from major corporations. The seven steps are : (1) goal setting and commitment; (2) opportunity search and identification; (3) conception - improve, innovate, invent; (4) model making and working prototypes; (5) development of pragmatic marketing plans; (6) selection and monitoring of test markets; (7) introduction of new product. DVD 16333

No logo brands, globalization, resistance. 2003. (42 min.). Using hundreds of media examples, No Logo shows how the commercial takeover of public space, destruction of consumer choice, and replacement of real jobs with temporary work (the dynamics of corporate globalization) impact everyone, everywhere. It also draws attention to the democratic resistance arising globally to challenge the hegemony of brands. DVD 1565

Our brand is crisis. 2006. (87 min.). The consultants' marketing strategies shape the relationship between leaders and their people. Witness the astounding look at one group's campaign to elect the President of Bolivia and its earth-shattering outcome. DVD 2193

Pack of lies: the advertising of tobacco. 1992. (35 min.). Expose of the advertising strategies of the tobacco industry, revealing the cynical and manipulative way in which the "pack of lies" is spread, and new generations of nicotine addicts are created. DVD 13041

Painting and advertising. 1974. (30 min.). Examines the effects of surrounding people with images of alternative lifestyles, images either painted or photographed. Berger examines his view of the similarities between modern selling of products and oil paintings of the past, both relating to the principle that you are what you have. DVD 9574

Paranoia. 1996. (23 min.). Using film clips and interviews, Robert Edwards takes a humorous look at late 20th century American society's suspicion and distrust of others. Documentary presents manifestations of paranoia such as distrust of central authority, corporate media and advertising; includes interview with a proponent of hoax theory of NASA's Apollo mission. DVD 15495

Peace, propaganda & the promised land U.S. media & the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. 2003. (80 min.). Exposes how the foreign policy interests of American political elites-- working together with Israeli public relations strategies-- exercise a powerful influence over news reporting about the Middle East conflict. Combines American and British TV news clips with observations of analysts, journalists, and political activists. This video provides a historical overview, insight into the nature of the Occupation and examines factors that have distorted North American media coverage and, in turn, public opinion. Features interviews with Noam Chomsky, Hanan Ashwari, Robert Fish, Rabbi Michael Lerner and Rabbi Arik Ascherman, and others. DVD 1928

Perfectly frank. 1984. (28 min.). Examines the marketing of the chicken frankfurter, a new product by Frank Perdue. After 10 years of research and development the chicken frank is being introduced with a $2 million television campaign. DVD 12097

Persuaders. 2004. (90 min.). Examines the "persuasion industries" of advertising and public relations. Shows how marketers have developed new ways of integrating their message into the fabric of our lives. Explores how the culture of marketing has come to shape the way Americans understand the world and themselves and how the techniques of the persuasion industries have migrated to politics. DVD 1037

Prescriptions for profit. 1989. (58 min.). Goes behind the labels and hype to consider the economic, social and ethical questions that arise when big business is mixed with human suffering and a large dose of advertising. The development, approval and marketing of a new drug can take from 7 to 10 years and cost up to $125 million. To insure adequate monetary return, drug companies have turned to marketing techniques that include celebrity endorsement and promotion that sometimes avoid mention of dangerous side effects.  DVD 15257

Presidential campaign commercials  1996. (62 min.). Features more than 50 campaign ads for candidates Clinton, Dole, Perot and Harry Browne (Libertarian party), including the first-ever Free TV Coalition ads. VHS: 4540, 5389, 2487, 841, 4538 (request through Media Services)

Prime time South Africa a selection of post-Apartheid television programs aired by the South African Broadcasting Corporation. South Africa. 1997. (110 min.). Dramas, comedies, game shows and commercials were chosen to demonstrate the variety of ways South African media is now portraying its new, post-apartheid society. Includes episodes from 5 series: Soul City deals with AIDS in a clinic in a South African township. Local Voter is a game show presenting voter education. The Rhythm and Rights series explores political issues from women's rights to unemployment through a fictional community radio station. Generations is a primetime drama set in a Black-owned advertising agency while Going Up is a situation comedy set in a multiracial law firm. DVD 11544

Production notes: fast food for thought. 1986. (28 min.). As the title and subtitle imply, a collection of production notes for television commercials advertising fast foods. DVD 6400

Sell & spin a history of advertising. 1999. (100 min.). Examines the world of advertising that "has been a constant in human society ever since there's been anything to sell. From Ancient Greek marketplaces to the boardrooms of high-powered ad agencies, [film] is a fascinating journey through the history of advertising. Explore[s] the techniques that have pushed everything from patent medicines to Volkswagens, revisit[s] the slogans, jingles and catch lines that have become part of our culture, and hear[s] from some of the biggest names in the business. Examine[s] the influence of legendary figures like Rosser Reeves, the impresario of repetition, and Mary Wells, whose humor left a mark on the industry. And learn of surprising forays into advertising by people like Benjamin Franklin and Guttenberg! [Summary from History Channel website: http://www.historychannel.com] Includes a section on current political advertising. DVD 5985

Selling weapons. 1992. (29 min.). United States military contractors use sophisticated videos as effective selling tools for their weapons, relying on emotions, including job security and patriotism, rather than whether the weapons work well or are necessary, to persuade the Pentagon, Congress and public to purchase them. DVD 9372

Sexy Inc. Canada. 2007. (36 min.). "Analyzes the hypersexualization of our environment and its noxious effects on young people. Experts criticize an unhealthy culture created by advertising and the media, and the many examples shown illustrate how children are reduced to consumers bombarded with images of girls treated as purely sexual objects"--Container. DVD 5089

Slim hopes advertising and the obsession with thinness. 1995. (30 min.). Explores the manner in which women are portrayed by advertising with the focus on thinness. Discusses the impact this portrayal has on the self images of women and girls. streaming online.

Smoke screen. 1985. (12 min.). Lesley Stahl shows scenes from motion pictures, mostly recent ones, in which stars are smoking. She interviews young smokers, Califano, and people involved in movie-making about the influence movies have in encouraging young people to smoke. DVD 15251

So goes the nation a true story of how elections are won and lost. 2007. (90 min.). Examines America's electoral process through the eyes of diverse politicians, activists, and voters in Ohio during the 2004 election. Shows how the voting public is manipulated by the parties' leaders and their political marketing strategies. DVD 2467

Stash sixpack 3. 2005. A collection of over 170 animation, VFX and motion picture graphics projects for advertising and design. Includes TV and cinema commercials, broadcast design, branded content, virals, music videos, game cinematics, short films, and behind-the-scenes segments from over 140 studios. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4728

Swing state Ohio a journey to the heartland of a divided nation. 2006. (61 min.). Examines America's electoral process through the eyes of diverse politicians, activists, and voters in Ohio during the 2004 election. Looks at the diversity of population within this state of 11 million with 20 electoral votes. Shows how the voting public is manipulated by the parties' leaders and their political marketing strategies. DVD 5087

next