Subject Guides: ITEC 616: Managing the Digital Organization : Company Research

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Before you start researching a company, think through these three questions:

Is the company public or private?
Public companies issue stock. Public companies must divulge much more information than private companies.
What does the company say about itself?
Read a company's financial statements and annual reports, which are usually located on the company's website.
What do others say about the company?
Read news articles, investment reports, and other secondary sources to fill in the gaps.

Hoover's
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Mergent Intellect

Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.
MSCI ESG Direct
MSCI ESG Direct is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis and compliance tasks across the spectrum of ESG factors. The subscription is comprised of the Intangible Value Assessment (IVA) and the Impact Monitor.

These databases are useful for finding scholarship, trade publications, news, case studies, and more.

ABI/Inform (Business and Management)
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Business Source Premier
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.