Subject Guides: Finding Data and Statistics: Business & Management

Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business, Economics

Attributions

The format and highlighted resources of this page were inspired in large part by the Data & Statistics for Business Guide from UNC Chapel Hill.

General Resources

ProQuest Statistical Insight
U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, access to ProQuest Statistical Insight ended June 30, 2025.
We recommend this resource as an alternative:
Statistical Abstract of the United States
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
SAGE Data
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Social Explorer
Coverage: U.S. Census and demographic data from 1790 to present. Updated: Continuously. Contains current and historical U.S. Census and demographic data that can be downloaded. One can create thematic and interactive maps as well as reports at the state, county, census tract, block group, and ZIP code level.
** You must register for a free account to use this resource. **
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users. **

WRDS Datasets

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the access platform for a number of business and econ datasets and statistics, such as COMPUTSTAT and CRSP. For a list of the datasets AU Library has access to, go here.

Company & Financial Data

Bloomberg Terminals
AU's Bloomberg terminals provide data on more than 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies, and funds. The learning curve is somewhat steep because the terminals run on Bloomberg's proprietary command system but they provide extensive and up-to-date coverage of the global financial markets and are widely used by finance professionals. AU has two Bloomberg terminals in Bender Library and 12 in the Kogod Financial Services & Information Technology Lab.

Compustat
Covers publicly-traded companies in global markets. Provides income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow in local currencies in addition to time series data. Access is provided by Wharton Research Data Services.
Finaeon
Provides historic economic and financial data for more than 200 countries, with some data sets tracked as far back as the 13th century.
Hoover's
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
Mergent Market Atlas
Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online, which was discontinued in August 2025.
PitchBook
PitchBook tracks the private and public equity markets. It provides data on the venture capital, private equity and M&A landscape, including information about funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers.
* Problem logging in to PitchBook? Select Log in with SSO. *
S&P Capital IQ
Includes company financials, relationships among firms and people, biographical and contact data, transactions, events, securities data, ownership, brokerage estimates, corporate governance, regulatory filings, and news on private and public companies.
Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
** This database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
** Users must register for an individual, sponsored account by clicking on the 'New User?' link at the top right of the landing page. **
** If you receive a 'too many redirects' error message, please try accessing from a different browser or clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies? **

International Business Data

China Data Online
Official government, social, economic, and industry statistics of the People's Republic of China. Data is available on a national, provincial, county, and city level. Is the online equivalent of the "China Statistical Yearbook" and is comprised of the China Statistical Data Online and the China Census Data Online databases.
Indiastat
Indiastat offers a comprehensive compilation of socio-economic statistical information about India and its states on various socio-economic parameters.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user.
Log in to the database by selecting the 'Through IP Login' option.
You will be logged out automatically after 20 minutes of inactivity.
Please click on 'LOGOUT' when exiting to release the session for another user. **
OECD Publications
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
UNdata
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.
Uniworld Online
This directory contains contact information for headquarters, subsidiaries, branches and executives of multinational firms. It does not include companies that solely operate domestically.

Market & Consumer Data

Euromonitor Passport
For statistics, check out the Explore Statistics boxes on the Industry pages or the data available on the Consumers and Economies pages
GlobalData Explorer
Includes company and industry profiles and country PESTLE reports, as well as alternative data, such as tenders, social media, and job analytics.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes
Mintel is most well-known for its reporting and analysis but each report has an associated databook, where users can access the underlying survey data.
Simmons Insights
Provides access to U.S. adult and teen consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. Data is pulled from the National Consumer Study (NCS) and the Simmons National Hispanic Consumer Study (NHCS). Experian Simmons OneView can be used to create customized reports and graphs.
** Access limited to 55 simultaneous users. **
** Please click on the user profile icon and select 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user. **
SimplyAnalytics
An easy-to-use web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 50,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and over 20 million business points from Dun and Bradstreet with detailed profiles on each business, in addition to the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics providing 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status including estimates. Users also have access to the Claritas PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system enabling users to understand lifestyle characteristics of places or identify target market segments. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
Users may create accounts to save their searches or proceed as guests.
**Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.**
Statista
While most of the information available in Statista is statistics and not data, the platform does have consumer profile information, including survey data, for select industries.
Vivvix
Provides five-years of historical data on ad expenditure and a summary of U.S. advertising across print, radio and television media by companies, some of which is on the brand level.
**Access limited to 3 concurrent users.**

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, access to Ad$pender / Vivvix ended July 1, 2025.
We recommend this resource as an alternative:
Winmo
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.

Sustainable Business

CDP Climate Change Data
CDP (Carbon Disclosure Project) is a non-profit that maintains a global environmental reporting system for investors, companies, cities, states and regions to manage their environmental impacts.
AU library has access to CDP climate change data 2010 through 2023.
You will be directed to a form to request access to the data and your request will be processed within two business days. Access is restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
This resource may be used only for academic research purposes. It may not be used for commercial purposes -- doing so would violate the terms of our license agreement.
MSCI ESG Direct
MSCI ESG Direct is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis and compliance tasks across the spectrum of ESG factors. The subscription is comprised of the Intangible Value Assessment (IVA) and the Impact Monitor.
MSCI ESG Ratings Time Series
Historical MSCI ESG Ratings dating back from 2007 through present. Includes top level scores in addition to underlying data.
Link will direct you to a form to request access and instructions.

Domestic & International Agency Sources for Business Data

Congressional Budget Office
CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.
Economic Census
The Economic Census is the official five-year measure of American businesses providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices
FRASER
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System
FRED
Created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. Browse by 14 different categories.
National Bureau of Economic Research
NBER is a private, nonpartisan organization that facilitates investigation and analysis of major economic issues.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
From the Urban Institute, the National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) has data on more than 2 million nonprofit organizations dating from the early 1980s. Provides a range of online tools for viewing information on individual organizations and for creating summary statistics and tables.
National Historical GIS
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product. They also provide We do state and local numbers, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the principal fact-finding agency in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as part of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.
U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics
A source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The EIA analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
United States Census Bureau
Welfare Rules Database
From the Urban Institute, the Welfare Rules Database provides a comprehensive, sophisticated resource for anyone researching cash assistance programs in the U.S.
World Bank International Debt Statistics
External debt and financial flow data for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System.
World Population Data
Produced by the United Nations Population Division. Includes population data by age, sex-ratio, birth and death rates and other categories. Includes projections out to 2100 for almost all countries and regions.