Subject Guides: Linguistics Guide: Find Articles

Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: American Studies, American Studies Primary Sources, Anthropology, Anthropology Primary Sources, Critical Race, Gender, & Culture Studies (CRGC), Gender Studies, History, United States, History, World, Jewish Studies, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Sociology

Make an Appointment

Schedule online

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

A-Z Database List

Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.

Go to A-Z List

Literature Database Best Bets - Start Here

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD contains more than 150,000 full-text reviews of children's books, multimedia, and other publication formats. Reviews are from 27 major sources such as Booklist, Horn Book Magazine, and Kirkus Reviews. In addition, the content includes over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, thousands of awards, author/title links, authoritative web resources, lesson plans, and teaching guides.
FIAF International Film Archive

The FIAF International Film Archive Database is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed, the Treasures from the Film Archives, the FIAF Affiliates Publications and the Film and TV Documentation Collections.
Gale Literature Criticism
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works.
Includes:
Literature Criticism featuring Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, and more

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography are no longer be available as of October 31, 2025.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
JSTOR
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
Play Index

Provides information on over 31,000 plays from all time periods, including publication details, new editions and translations, plot summaries, scenery and technical requirements.
ProQuest One Literature
2.5 million pages of poetry, fiction, and drama from around the world, plus criticism, reference works, and full-text literary journals.