A-Z Databases

The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into the region during this transformative yet critical time, featuring key newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). 

The Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (approx. 40,000 pages) from 1910-1920, including issues of the newspaper’s predecessor title Russkoe Slovo (1920-2010). The archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.

The Rafu Shimpo (羅府新報, L.A. Japanese Daily News) is the longest-running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region.

SciX contains over 30 million records that cover astrophysics, heliophysics, planetary science, earth science, and other relevant biological and physical sciences.

Founded in 1995 V Novom Svete (In the New World), was the most popular weekly newspaper in the Russian-American community for 27 years. The idea of its inception was simple: new immigrants wanted to read “hot” content produced by then free press in Russia and they needed guidance to start a new life in America. V Novom Svete became the most popular Russian language weekly and the only publication that was sold nationwide.
Coverage: 1995-2022