To find out whether the Library collection incudes a specific news publication:
1. Go to the Find Journals link on the homepage.
2. Enter the title of the news resource in the "Journal Search" box.
3. Click into the resulting records to find access links & coverage dates.
 |
Library databases frequently contain news and newspaper items in addition to more scholarly offerings, such as peer-reviewed journal articles. Core news-related databases include: |
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Full text access to seven 19th century African American newspapers.
Alternative Press Index is an index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals from 1991 to present. Born of the New Left, it was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
The Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
To limit search to only one of the collections, once on the EBSCO search screen, click on the link above the search box to "Choose Databases", then deselect the other collection.
**Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**
AP Images: Over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840s through today. Also includes maps, timelines, logos and graphs. AP Interactives: A collection of multimedia content from the archives of the Associated Press. Interactives are fully-licensed for educational use.
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.
Access to the Baltimore Sun from 1837-1994. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund. 
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
This primary source collection contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Series I is based on a definitive work called the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and covers 1639-1800. Series II, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, covers 1801-1819.
Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.
** The new Factiva interface became the default on August 30, 2024.
Switch to the advanced search page by clicking 'Switch Factiva' on the right in the menu bar. **
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports are U.S. government transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign countries. Annexes comprise an additional 7,000 transcripts to the Daily Reports. The modern successor to the FBIS Daily Reports is the World News Connection.
Political, economic, security and strategic news and analysis on countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes the Latin American Weekly Report (1967 to present), the Latin American Regional Reports, and other reports. Some of the publications are also available in Spanish.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Most recent 2 months of over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, many in foreign languages. All newspapers are in their entirety and are available on the day they are published.
Transcribed text of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a prominent early American newspaper.
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
