This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
ArchiveGrid is a database of archival finding aids from libraries, museums, and archives. It helps identify archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories and where they are.
** Currently, this database can only be accessed when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).
This three part collection includes News Features & internal communications from 1848-2000, Washington, D.C. Bureau records from 1938-2009, and U.S. City Bureaus from 1931-2004).
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Samuel & Lucy Keker Endowed Library Fund. 
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.
Digital Collections include digitized materials from analog archival collections and rare books in addition to born-digital materials from our collections. Digitized materials include photographs, documents, oral histories, and audiovisial materials originally recorded in analog formats or time-based media. Born-digital materials include resources created using digital tools such as digital recorders, cameras, or word processors.
Not all of the materials from the collections that make up University Archives & Special Collections are available digitally. We provide access to many of our popular collections in order to aid users as they utilize primary sources for research and educational purposes.
Billboard has been the premier publication for music industry. It features an extensive array of searchable, playable charts, breaking music news, artist interviews and exclusives, news, video and more.
Contains more than 15 million citations covering nearly 5 million people. Contains names, birth/death dates and bibliographic references.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science, social science, and humanities books and their scholarly impact and influence. Book Citation Index has citation data from 2005 to present.
Canadian statistical data, including population, agriculture, food, business, education, and construction. Updated once a year in the summer.
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
A database of book reviews primarily used by academic librarians to buy books. A broad spectrum of subject areas are covered.
Register for an account using your @american.edu email address - click on 'Log in' and 'Create account' to be able to create and share lists, save searches, and create alerts.
Provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of major cities within select states and information about civic, social, religious, and commercial organizations. Coverage ranges from the late 18th century through 1929.
Analysis and statistics on U.S. presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
This interactive update of the standard six-volume set covering the regional vocabulary of the United States features audio and maps.
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources.
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth-century America.
Full images of over 36,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the U.S. in the early 19th century covering all aspects of American life. Based on the "American Bibliography 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund. 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
A database of streaming videos, all academic-level documentaries, across all subject areas. Transcripts of all programs provided. NOTE: This collection also includes the contents of Filmakers Library Online, volume 2.
Choose from over 7500 streaming films in the humanities and social sciences, business, science and mathematics, health, and newsreels. About 50% of content has captioning available. No transcripts are provided.
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works.
Includes:
Literature Criticism featuring Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, and more
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
** Access limited to a single concurrent user. **
Access to Oxford Music Online 3 concurrent users. Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes), The Oxford Dictionary of Music (second edition), and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
Descriptions and critical reviews of over 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence, attitude measures, aptitude measures, educational, speech and hearing, and sensory motor.
Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.
Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online, which was discontinued in August 2025.
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Over 50,000 biographies of people who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the year 2000. All the people included in this work died before 31 December 2000.
Bilingual English - foreign language dictionaries published by Oxford University Press for the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
Over 6.9 million papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium and meeting received at the British Library.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major online periodical archive that makes the back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals, providing access to over 14 million article pages - representing over 2.8 million articles.
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,400 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online was formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). As of April 2010, Periodicals Index Online indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
Provides information on over 31,000 plays from all time periods, including publication details, new editions and translations, plot summaries, scenery and technical requirements.
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts.
** Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
** There was an update made to our authentication to this resource on August 20, 2024. Existing users will be prompted to verify their accounts by inputting a code sent to their @american.edu email. **
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**
A worldwide index of conference proceedings. Covers conference proceedings, congresses, exhibitions, meetings, symposiums, and workshops received by the British Library Document Supply Centre.
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
Contains documents published by Congress including hearings, floor debates, bill text, legislative histories, and reports from the Congressional Research Service. Dates vary by publication and range from 1789-present.
This resource was made possible in part through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.
An index to 369 U.S. popular magazines and journals published from 1890 to 1982. This is the online version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online contains the full content of the ten-volume print set and a diverse range of newer material on major developments in philosophical inquiry worldwide.
A citation and abstract database for peer-reviewed research literature, primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
Coverage: 1864 to present. Updated: Monthly. An Annual summary of information on the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country of the world. Now updated more frequently. Includes brief biographies of government officials and chronology of events starting with 1999.
Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) is a uniquely comprehensive resource for the study of political violence of all kinds. In cooperation with a team of 2800 experts, TRAC gathers the best information for exploration of this topic by faculty, scholars, students, government and defense professionals, as well as the general public.
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides information on over 271,000 periodicals and serials from 80,000 publishers in over 200 countries. Titles that have ceased publication since 1974 are also included.
Social, economic, and financial statistics for over 270 countries and areas of the world.
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
For best results, use the advanced search and limit by dates.
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.