Digital Collections include digitized materials from analog archival collections and rare books in addition to born-digital materials from our collections. Digitized materials include photographs, documents, oral histories, and audiovisial materials originally recorded in analog formats or time-based media. Born-digital materials include resources created using digital tools such as digital recorders, cameras, or word processors.
Not all of the materials from the collections that make up University Archives & Special Collections are available digitally. We provide access to many of our popular collections in order to aid users as they utilize primary sources for research and educational purposes.
This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth-century America.
Full images of over 36,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the U.S. in the early 19th century covering all aspects of American life. Based on the "American Bibliography 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
This resource was initially purchased thanks to a donation from the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund. 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) features the digitized format of 150,000 printed works -- nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
An index of U.S. television news broadcasts beginning in 1968. NBC broadcasts from 1968 and CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available for viewing online. ABC and CBS broadcasts from 1968 and Fox News broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs. There are no transcripts or captioning provided.
For best results, use the advanced search and limit by dates.
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.