Geographic Information Systems & Cartography

Open data portal operated by the City of Baltimore.

Open data portal operated by the state of Maryland.

VGIN facilitates the efficient use of geospatial data and technologies across commonwealth stakeholder communities. Data available include orthoimagery, transportation, elevation, governmental boundaries, hydrography, geodetic control, and cadastral data.

A wide array of interactive mapping applications focused on a variety of Fairfax County data and services are available. Dozens of map layers, aerial imagery, and other data are available to view and download from the data page. The FAQ page has detailed information on many topics, including parcel information, finding maps, and basic GIS explanations.

The GIS Clearinghouse is a repository of geospatial data produced and used by state agencies in Virginia, localities in Virginia, our Federal partners, non-profits, and colleges and universities in Virginia.

County and geological downloads for the State of Illinois.

Strategic resource providing a collection of authoritative data and web services. Maintained for the Indiana GIS Community by the Indiana Geographic Information Officer (GIO) in partnership with geoConvergence and the Indiana Geographic Information Council (IGIC).

Public geospatial data, tools, and resources from the State of Iowa. Available datasets include data on agriculture, climate, transportation, and boundaries.

NDGIS Hub Data Portal can be used to find downloadable GIS data, GIS web services, and GIS applications using geographic extents, searching by keywords, browsing or searching within categories, or some combination of all.

Resource for geospatial data from the State of Kansas

Oklahoma's GIS data warehouse.

The state of South Dakota's public platform for GIS data.

The purpose of this Data Catalog is to provide the public with access to the digital geographic data produced by the State of Maine. Users may use this site to download geographic data and the associated metadata.

The official public access geospatial
information clearinghouse for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Massachusetts data holdings from Federal, State and Local government agencies, non-profits and from the private sector

Connecticut GIS datasets from the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection, MAGIC, US Census, Trinity College, and other sources.

GIS data for the State of New Hampshire

The Rhode Island Geographic Information System (RIGIS) distributes open geographically-referenced datasets that represent a wide range of topics, including transportation, infrastructure, and the environment.

Originally developed as part of the Center for Technology in Government's GIS Cooperative Project, the repository was created to provide one central location where State agencies and local governments can list the GIS data sets that they have. GIS users can browse the list, or search for specific keywords, to find out what data is available, who holds it, and how it can be obtained. In some cases, users will be able to go one step further, and download the actual data set.

Provides free and open access to geospatial data for New York State, as well as worldwide geospatial data created by researchers at Cornell.

Search, filter, and download Delaware's publicly available spatial data in a variety of formats

Open data portal operated by the state of Maryland.

Environmental and political data downloads for the state of New Jersey

The GIS Clearinghouse is a repository of geospatial data produced and used by state agencies in Virginia, localities in Virginia, our Federal partners, non-profits, and colleges and universities in Virginia.

West Virginia state data

Alabama's Open Data Portal (ODP) is the state's public platform for exploring and downloading open data, discovering and building apps, and engaging the public through geospatial data. Inside Alabama's ODP, you can browse, search, preview, and download a variety of both Alabama and national geospatial datasets that are driven by data feeds from a variety of local, state, and national governments.

Geospatial data hub for the state of Arkansas including political boundaries as well as transportation and environmental data.

GIS data for the State of Georgia. Requires log-in/account.

Data distribution system hosting a variety of publicly available GIS datasets for the state of Louisiana.

Download boundary files for Congressional, House, and Senate Districts.

This server distributes spatial data layers that are shared among Federal, State, and local GIS facilities in Tennessee.

The official City of Austin, Texas open data portal.

EROS is home to the world's largest collection of remotely sensed images of the Earth’s land surface and the primary source of Landsat satellite images and data products. NASA’s Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC) is also located at EROS. Satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover datasets, and digitized maps are available.

All data available in The National Map Small-Scale website can be downloaded at no cost. Includes: land cover, elevation, water, transportation, and more.

Cartographic boundary files are available in shapefile format for the 2010 Census, Census 2000, and non-decennial years.

On the Bureau of Transportation Statistics Open Data site, browse geospatial data that is part of the BTS National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD) product. NTAD is a set of nationwide geographic databases of public spatial information for transportation facilities and networks; flows of people, goods, vehicles, and craft over the transportation networks; and social, economic, and environmental conditions that affect or are affected by the transportation networks.

Transportation shapefiles for the lower 48 states, 1776-1911 (includes: canals, steam boat nagivated rivers, and railroads)