Government Documents - U.S.

General collections

• American Presidency Project from University of California, Santa Barbara
  Collection of presidential documents, data on presidents and presidential elections, and videos of president.
• U.S. Presidential Library via HeinOnline (AU Community only)
  Collection of published presidential papers.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929 onwards)

The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States is the official publication of United States Presidents' public writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. More about the Public Papers.
Issued: Volumes are published approximately twice a year, and each volume covers approximately a 6-month period.

• FDsys 1991 (George H.W. Bush) to Barack Obama
• HeinOnline (AU Community only) 1929 (Herbert Hoover) to Barack Obama
• Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (Herbert Hoover to George W. Bush)
  (Call number: J80 .A283) AU Library has print copies.

Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965 to present)
The Compilation of Presidential Documents is the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. A companion to the Public Papers, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents was started in 1965 to provide a broader range of Presidential materials on a more timely basis. From 1977 onward, all material appearing in the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents is incorporated into the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. More about the Compilation of Presidential Documents from FDsys.

Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (January 20, 2009 to present)

The Daily Compilation replaced the Weekly Compilation on January 20, 2009 (Obama).
Issued: Daily
Citation: Daily Comp. Pres. Docs., 2009 DCPD No. 00001, p.3 means the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents in the year 2009, in the first document, on page three.

• FDsys January 20, 2009 (Barack Obama) to present
  Most up to date source.
• HeinOnline (AU Community only) January 20, 2009 (Barack Obama) to present  

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965 to January 29, 2009)

Official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Replaced by the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents on January 20, 2009.
Issued: Weekly (Monday)

 

• FDsys 1993 (George H.W. Bush) to January 29, 2009 (George W. Bush)
• HeinOnline (AU Community only) 1965 (vol. 1) Lyndon B. Johnson to January 29, 2009 George W. Bush

Inaugural Addresses
The inaugural addresses of the presidents can also be found in presidental papers.

• American Presidency Project
• Avalon Project
• HeinOnline (AU Community only)
• Inaugural addresses of the Presidents of the United States from George Washington, 1789, to Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1965. Washington, U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1965. (Call number: J81.C61 A1 1965) 

• ROTUNDA Founders Early Access,
  Selective free documents from Rotunda, a commercial database.

 

• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1897. Pub., by authority of Congress. By James D. Richardson. 10 vols. (Call number: J81 .B96)
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1915]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson. (Call number: J81 .B962)

Presidential Papers Program

Public Law 85-147 gave the Library of Congress authority for the Presidential Papers Program, a program to preserve and make presidential papers accessible. The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress houses the original papers of 23 presidents. The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress indexed and filmed over two million manuscripts as part of this program. The indexes and microfilm reels are housed in many research libraries across the country.

The presidential papers collections are mainly composed of letters to and from the President. Also included are diaries, financial papers, applications for office, and other miscellaneous items. The collections are generally divided into series according to the types of papers (legal, financial, military, etc.).

The Library of Congress has begun to make the complete presidential papers available on the American Memory site. Documents include correspondence, letterbooks, diaries, journals, books, military records, reports and notes.

Presidential Libraries

Beginning with Herbert Hoover, each president has a "presidential library" which contains the papers and files of the respective president as well as correspondence of the presidents and their associates.

Many of these collections are not government documents because they include private as well as public papers of presidents. Moreover, many of these collections are collected and published privately. Many papers are published in more than one publication, in which case, only larger or more authoritative publications are included. The following titles are mostly based on the bibliographies from the excellent Public and Private Papers by the Scripps Library, University of Virginia's Miller Center of Public Affairs.

Search tip: In the American University library catalog, search for the president's name as AUTHOR, e.g. Washington George.

1. George Washington, 1789-1797

The Papers of George Washington at the University of Virginia is a project to publish a comprehensive edition of Washington's correspondence. Letters written to Washington as well as letters and documents written by him are included. When complete, it will comprise approximately ninety volumes. A few documents are free online. American University Library will have a complete copy of the print edition. George Washington University and George Mason University have the online version.

• The Diaries of George Washington. Donald Jackson, editor, Dorothy Twohig, associate editor. 6 vols.
  (Call number: E312.8 1976). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of George Washington, Colonial Series. 10 vols.
  (Call number: E312.72 1982). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of George Washington, Revolutionary War Series. 20 vols. 
  (Call number: E312.72 1985). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of George Washington, Confederation Series. 6 vols.
  (Call number: E312.7 1992). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of George Washington, Presidential Series. 16 vols.
  (Call number: E312.72 1987). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of George Washington, Retirement Series. 4 vols.
  (on order)

George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress 1741-1799 (Manuscript Division, Library of Congress)
The Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress has the largest collection of original George Washington papers. The collection has been digitized from the microfilm version and is available in its entirety online. There are no annotations, just images of the original documents.

Earlier editions of Washington's papers.

• The Writings of George Washington from the Original Manuscript Sources, 1745-1799. John C. Fitzpatrick, editor. 40 vols.
  Includes Washington's outgoing correspondence and does not include letters received by Washington.
  (Call number: E312.7 1931). AU Library has print copy.
• The Writings of George Washington: Being His Correspondence, Addresses, Messages, and Other Papers, Official and Private: Selected and Published from the Original Manuscripts: With a Life of the Author, Notes, and Illustrations. Jared Sparks. Boston, 1834-1837. 12 vols.
  AU Library has online copy via Making of Modern Law (AU Community only).
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1929]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson.
  Official papers (proclamations, addresses, and messages) of the president during his presidency. This title was published in several different editions.
  (Call number: J81 .B962). AU Library has print copy of several editions.
  HeinOnline (AU Community only) has all editions online.

2. John Adams, 1797-1801

Adams Papers Digital Editions (Massachusetts Historical Society)
The Massachusetts Historical Society's Adams Papers project seeks to publish a comprehensive collection of the papers of the Adams family from 1753-1889. This massive project is divided into four series. Material related to John Adams can be found in each of the four series. The Adams Papers Digital Editions is the online version of the following print publications:

• Diary and Autobiography of John Adams. L. H. Butterfield, editor, Leonard C. Faber and Wendell D. Garrett, assistant editors. 4 vols.
  The complete diary of John Adams, which he kept primarily from the 1750s into the 1780s, and his unfinished autobiography.
  (Call number: E322 .A3). AU Library has print copy.
• The Earliest Diary of John Adams. L. H. Butterfield, editor. Wendell D. Garrett and Marc Friedlaender, associate editors.
  A supplement to the above diary discovered in the 20th century.
  (Call number: E322 .A34). AU Library has print copy.
• Adams Family Correspondence. L.H. Butterfield, editor; Wendell D. Garrett, associate editor; Marjorie E. Sprague, assistant editor. Projected 24 vols.
  While these volumes include family correspondence from the entire Adams family, John Adams is featured prominently.
  (Call number: E322.1 .A27). AU Library has print copy.
• Legal Papers of John Adams. L. Kinvin Wroth and Hiller B. Zobel, editors. 3 vols.
  These volumes include material from Adams's years as a law student and from legal cases in which he was involved. The third volume is dedicated exclusively to his participation in the “Boston Massacre” case.
  (Call number: E321 .A3). AU Library has print copy.
• Papers of John Adams. Robert J. Taylor, editor ; Mary-Jo Kline, associate editor ; Gregg L. Lint, assistant editor. Projected 40 vols.
  (Call number: E302 .A27). AU Library has print copy.
• Portraits of John and Abigail Adams.
  An illustrated volume including all known life portraits, busts, and silhouettes of John and Abigail Adams. This volume is not yet available free online from the Adams Papers Digital Editions.
  (Call number: E322 .O55). AU Library has print copy.
• The best source for the unpublished material is the 608 reels microfilm set of all published and unpublished Adams family material housed at the Massachusetts Historical Society. Within D.C. the Library of Congress has two copies of the microfilm set.

Earlier editions of Adams' papers.

• The Works of John Adams, Second President of the United States. Charles Francis Adams. 1856. 10 vols.
  Edited by John Adams' grandson.
  (Call number: E302 .A26). AU Library has print copy of the 1971 reprint of the 1856 edition and online copy via Making of Modern Law I (AU Community only).
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1929]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson.
  Official papers (proclamations, addresses, and messages) of the president during his presidency. This title was published in several different editions.
  (Call number: J81 .B962). AU Library has print copy of several editions.
  HeinOnline (AU Community only) has all editions online.

3. Thomas Jefferson, 1801-1809

• Papers of Thomas Jefferson.
  (Call number: E302 .J463). AU Library has print copy.
• Jefferson's Extracts From the Gospels. Dickinson W. Adams, editor ; Ruth W. Lester, assistant editor ; introduction by Eugene R. Sheridan.
  (Call number: BS2549.J5 J43). AU Library has print copy.
• Jefferson's Parliamentary Writings.
• Jefferson's Literary Commonplace Book.
• Jefferson's Memorandum Books: Accounts, with Legal Records and Miscellany.
• Papers of Thomas Jefferson. J. Jefferson Looney, editor. 6 vols.
  (Call number: E302 .J463). AU Library has print copy.

Earlier editions of Jefferson's writings.

• The Works of Thomas Jefferson. Collected and ed. by Paul Leicester Ford. 12 vols.
  (Call number: E302 .J49w). AU Library has print copy.
• The Writings of Thomas Jefferson. Collected and edited by Paul Leicester Ford
  AU Library has online copy.
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1915]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson.
  Official papers of the president during his presidency.
  (Call number: J81 .B962). AU Library has print copy. 

4. James Madison, 1809-1817

• The Papers of James Madison, Congressional Series.
• The Papers of James Madison, Secretary of State Series. Edited by Robert J. Brugger. 8 vols.
  (Call number: JK111 .M2423). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of James Madison, Presidential Series. Edited by Robert A. Rutland. 6 vols.
  (Call number: JK111 .M242). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of James Madison, Retirement Series. Edited by David B. Mattern
  (Call number: E302 .M19). AU Library has print copy.
• Writings of James Madison. Edited by Gaillard Hunt.
  AU Library has online copy
• The Mind of the Founder: Sources of the Political Thought of James Madison. Edited, with an introduction and commentary, by Marvin Meyers.
  (Call number: E302 .M185). AU Library has print copy.

5. James Monroe, 1817-1825

The James Monroe Papers Project at Mary Washington College is putting forth an authoritiative edition of his writings.

• A Comprehensive Catalogue of the Correspondence and Papers of James Monroe.
  (Call number: E302.M74 Z997 2001). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of James Monroe. Project 8 vols.
  (Call number: E302 .M74). AU Library has print copy.

Earlier editions of Monroe's writings.

• The Writings of James Monroe.
  (Call number: E302 .M74). AU Library has 6 of 7 volumes of print copy.
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1915]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson.
  Official papers of the president during his presidency.
  (Call number: J81 .B962). AU Library has print copy.

Unpublished collections of Monroe papers.

• Papers of James Monroe. Microfilm of Library of Congress manuscript collection, 11 reels.
  Georgetown University Library has microfilm copy.
• James Monroe papers, 1772-1836. Microfilm of New York Public Library manuscript collection, 8 reels.
• James Monroe Papers in Virginia Repositories. Microfilm, 13 reels.
  Georgetown University Library has microfilm copy.

6. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829

• Diary of John Quincy Adams.
  (Call number: E377 .A185). AU Library has print copy.
• Adams Family Correspondence.
  (Call number: E322.1 .A27). AU Library has print copy.
• Portraits of John Quincy Adams and his Wife.
  (Call number: E377 .O5) AU Library has print copy.
• Writings of John Quincy Adams.
  (Call number: E337.8 .A21). AU Library has print copy.
• The Memoirs of John Quincy Adams. Comprising Portions of his Diary from 1795-1848.
• Writings of John Quincy Adams. Edited by Worthington Chauncey Ford. 7 vols.
  (Call number: E337.8 .A21) AU Library has print copy.

7. Andrew Jackson, 1829-1837
The original papers of Andrew Jackson are in hundreds of libraries, museums, and private collections. The Library of Congress in Washington, DC owns the largest single collection with over 20,000 items.

 

The University of Tennessee Press is publishing a selective edition of Andrew Jackson papers.

 

• Legal Papers of Andrew Jackson.
  (Call number: KF213.J29 E59). AU Library has print copy.
• The Papers of Andrew Jackson. Projected 16 vols.
  (Call number: E302 .J35). AU Library has print copy.

Earlier editions of Jackson's writings.

• Correspondence of Andrew Jackson. 7 vols.
  (Call number: E382 .J115). AU Library has print copy.
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents [1789-1915]. Prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States (With additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise). 20 vols. By James D. Richardson.
  Official papers of the president during his presidency.
  (Call number: J81 .B962). AU Library has print copy.

Unpublished collections of Jackson papers.

• Papers. Microfilm of Library of Congress manuscript collection, 78 reels.
• National Archives Microfilm Series????
• The Papers of Andrew Jackson, 1770-1845: A Microfilm Supplement. 39 reels.
  Georgetown University Library has microfilm copy.

8. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841

• Guide and Index to the Papers of Martin van Buren.
• The Papers of Martin Van Buren. (Microfilm, 55 reels).
• Papers. (Microfilm 35 reels).

9. William Henry Harrison, 1841

• William Henry Harrison Papers. (Microfilm, 3 reels).
• Messages and Letters of William Henry Harrison.

10. John Tyler, 1841-1845

• The Letters and Times of the Tylers.
• Papers. (Microfilm, 3 reels).

11. James Knox Polk, 1845-1849

• Correspondence of James K. Polk.
  (Call number: E337.8 .P63). AU Library has print copy.
• Diary of James K. Polk during His Presidency, 1845 to 1849.
  (Call number: E416 .P76). AU Library has print copy.
• Polk: The Diary of a President, 1845-1849.
  (Call number: E416 .P77). AU Library has print copy.
• Papers. (microfilm, 67 reels).

12. Zachary Taylor, 1849-1850

• Letters of Zachary Taylor from the Battlefields of the Mexican War.
  (Call number: E415 .T24). AU Library has print copy.
• Zachary Talyor Papers. (Microfilm, 2 reels).

13. Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853

• Millard Fillmore Papers.
  (Call number: F129.B8 B88 v.10-11). AU Library has print copy.
• Microfilm edition of the Millard Fillmore Papers. (Microfilm, 68 reels).

14. Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857

• Papers. (Microfilm, 7 reels).

15. James Buchanan, 1857-1861

• The Works of James Buchanan.
• James Buchanan Papers. (Microfilm, 60 reels).

16. Abraham Lincoln, 1861-1865

• The Law Practice of Abraham Lincoln.
• Illinois Papers.
• The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln.
• Papers of President Abraham Lincoln. (Microfilm, 97 reels).

17. Andrew Johnson, 1865-1869

 

18. Ulysses Simpson Grant, 1869-1877

• The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant.
  (Call number: E660 .G74). AU Library has print copy.
• Papers, 1844-1885. (Microfilm, 32 reels).

19. Rutherford Birchard Hayes, 1877-1881

• Hayes: The Diary of a President.
• Papers of Rutherford Birchard Hayes. (Microfilm, 301 reels).
• Diary and Letters of Rutherford Birchard Hayes.
  (Call number: E682 .H418W). AU Library has print copy.
• Hayes: The Diary of a President 1875-1881.

20. James Abram Garfield, 1881

• The Diary of James A. Garfield.
  (Call number: E660 .G223). AU Library has print copy.
• Politics and Patronage in the Gilded Age: The Correspondence of James A. Garfield and Charles E. Henry.
  (Call number: E671 .G3). AU Library has print copy.
• The Wild Life of the Army: Civil War Letters of James A. Garfield.
  (Call number: E470 .G2). AU Library has print copy.
• Crete and James: Personal Letters of Lucretia and James Garfield.
  (Call number: E687 .A4 1994). AU Library has print copy.
• James A. Garfield Papers. (Microfilm, 177 reels).

21. Chester Alan Arthur, 1881-1885

• Papers. (Microfilm, 3 reels).

22. Grover Cleveland, 1885-1889

• The Letters of Grover Cleveland, 1850-1908.
• The Writings and Speeches of Grover Cleveland
  (Call number: E696 .C61). AU Library has print copy.
• Letters and Addresses of Grover Cleveland. 
• Grover Cleveland Papers. (Microfilm 164 reels).

23. Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893

• The Correspondence Between Benjamin Harrison and James G. Blaine, 1882-1893.
  (Call number: Q11 .P612 v.14). AU Library has print edition.
• Through the South and the West with the President, April 14-May 16, 1891.
• Papers. (Microfilm 151 reels).

24. Grover Cleveland, 1893-1897

 

25. William McKinley, 1897-1901

 

26. Theodore Roosevelt, 1901-1909

• The Works of Theodore Roosevelt (Memorial edition).
• The Works of Theodore Roosevelt (National edition).
• Social Justice and Popular Rule.
• The Letters of Theodore Roosevelt.
  (Call number: E757 .R7958). AU Library has print copy.
• Addresses and Presidential Messages of Theodore Roosevelt, 1902-1904.
  (Call number: E660 .R853). AU Library has print copy.
• Selections from the Correspondence of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Cabot Lodge, 1884-1918.
  (Call number: E757 .R799). AU Library has print copy.
• Theodore Roosevelt: Letters from a Young Coal Miner.
• Theodore Roosevelt's Letters to His Children.
• Theodore Roosevelt Papers. (Microfilm, 485 reels).

27. William Howard Taft, 1909-1913

• The Collected Works of William Howard Taft.
• Papers of William H. Taft. (Microfilm, 658 reels).

28. Woodrow Wilson, 1913-1921

• The Papers of Woodrow Wilson.
  (Call number: E660 .W717). AU Library has print copy.
• A President in Love: The Courtship Letters of Woodrow Wilson and Edith Bolling Galt.
  (Call number: E767 .W837). AU Library has print copy.
• The Hoover-Wilson Wartime Correspondence: September 24, 1914, to November 11, 1918.
• Two peacemakers in Paris: The Hoover-Wilson Post-Armistice Letters, 1918-1920.
  (Call number: E802 .A4 1978). AU Library has print copy.

29. Warren Gamaliel Harding, 1921-1923

• Rededicating America: Life and Recent Speeches of Warren G. Harding.
• Our Common Country: Mutual Good Will in America.
• Warren G. Harding Papers. (Microfilm, 263 reels).

30. Calvin Coolidge, 1923-1929

• The Talkative President: The Off-the-Record Press Conferences of Calvin Coolidge.
  (Call number: J82 .D4 1964). AU Library has print copy
• Campaign speeches of 1932, by President Hoover [and] ex-President Coolidge.
• The Price of Freedom: Speeches and Addresses.
• Have Faith in Massachusetts: A Collection of Speeches and Messages by Calvin Coolidge.
• America’s Need for Education and other Educational Addresses.
• America’s Need for Education and other Educational Addresses. (Microfilm, 190 reels).
• The Personal Presidential Files of President Calvin Coolidge. (Microfilm, 12 reels).

31. Herbert Clark Hoover, 1929-1933

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Herbert Hoover.
• Proclamations and Executive Orders: Herbert Hoover, March 4, 1929 to March 4, 1933.
• Press Conferences, March 5, 1929-March 3, 1933.
• The New Day: Campaign Speeches of Herbert Hoover, 1928.
• Campaign speeches of 1932, by President Hoover [and] ex-President Coolidge.
• The Hoover-Wilson Wartime Correspondence: September 24, 1914, to November 11, 1918.
• Two Peacemakers in Paris: The Hoover-Wilson Post-Armistice Letters, 1918-1920.
  (Call number: E802 .A4 1978). AU Library has print copy.
• State Papers and Other Public Writings of Herbert Hoover.
  (Call number: E801 .U5). AU Library has print copy.
• Addresses Upon the American Road.
• Further Addresses Upon the American Road.
• Addresses Upon the American Road: 1940-1941.
• Addresses Upon the American Road: 1941-1945.
• Addresses Upon the American Road: 1945-1948.
• Addresses Upon the American Road: 1948-1950.
• The Hoover-Wilson Wartime Correspondence: September 24, 1914, to November 11, 1918.
• Two Peacemakers in Paris: The Hoover-Wilson Post-Armistice Letters, 1918-1920.
  (Call number: E802 .A4 1978). AU Library has print copy. 

32. Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1933-1945

• Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt.
  (Call number: E806 .R749). AU Library has print copy.
• The Complete Presidential Press Conferences of Franklin D. Roosevelt.
• Franklin D. Roosevelt and Foreign Affairs.
  (Call number: E806 .R746). AU Library has print copy. 
• Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Administration.
• FDR, His Personal Letters.
• FDR's Fireside Chats.
  (Call number: E742.5 .R65 1993). AU Library has print copy.
• Franklin D. Roosevelt and Conservation, 1911-1945.
• Churchill and Roosevelt: The Complete Correspondence.
  (Call number: DA566.9.C5 A4 1984). AU Library has print copy.
• President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files, 1933-1945. (Microfilm, 167 reels).
• Map Room Files of President Roosevelt, 1939-1945. (Microfilm, 105 reels).
• Franklin D. Roosevelt: Diary and Itineraries/Usher Books. (78 Microfiche).

33. Harry S. Truman, 1945-1953

• The Documentary History of the Truman Presidency.
• Off the Record: The Private Papers of Harry S. Truman.
  (Call number: E742.5 .T6). AU Library has print copy.
• Dear Bess: The Letters from Harry to Bess Truman, 1910-1959.
  (Call number: E814 .A4 1983). AU Library has print copy.
• Letters from Father: The Truman Family's Personal Correspondence
  (Call number: E814.1 .L47). AU Library has print copy.
• Strictly Personal and Confidential: The Letters that Harry Truman Never Mailed
• President Harry S. Truman's Office Files, 1945–1953. (Microfilm, 84 reels).
• Map Room Messages of President Truman, 1945–1946.

34. Dwight David Eisenhower, 1953-1961

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Dwight D. Eisenhower.
• Papers of Dwight D. Eisenhower.
  (Call number: E742.5 .E37). AU Library has print copy.
• Eisenhower: The Prewar Diaries and Selected Papers.
  (Call number: E742.5 .E372 1998). AU Library has print copy.
• Dear General: Eisenhower's Wartime Letters to Marshall.
  (Call number: E836 .A42). AU Library has print copy.
• The Churchill-Eisenhower Correspondence, 1953-1955.
  (Call number: DA566.9.C5 A4 1990). AU Library has print copy.
• Ike's Letters to a Friend, 1941-1958.
  (Call number: E836 .A43). AU Library has print copy.
• Letters to Mamie.
• The Eisenhower Diaries.
  (Call number: E836 .A3155). AU Library has print copy.
• The Diaries of Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1953-1961. (Microfilm, 28 reels).
• President Dwight D. Eisenhower's Office Files, 1953-1961. (Microfilm, 64 reels).
• Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Eisenhower, 1953-1961. (Microfilm, 10 reels).
• President Eisenhower's Meetings with Legislative Leaders, 1953-1961.  (Microfilm, 2 reels).

35. John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 1961-1963

• Public Papers of the Presidents: John F. Kennedy.
• JFK Wants to Know: Memos From the President's Office, 1961-1963.
  (Call number: E838.5 .K418). AU Library has print copy.
• “Let the Word Go Forth:” The Speeches, Statements, and Writings of John F. Kennedy.
  (Call number: E838.5 .K42). AU Library has print copy.
• Kennedy and the Press: The News Conferences.
• The Speeches, Remarks, Press Conferences, and Statements of Senator John F. Kennedy, August 1 through November 7, 1960.
• Appointment Book of President Kennedy, 1961–1963. (Microfilm, 3 reels).
• The John F. Kennedy 1960 Campaign. (Microfilm, 22 reels).
• President John F. Kennedy's Office Files, 1961–1963. (Microfilm, 103 reels).
• Civil Rights During the Kennedy Administration. (Microfilm, 47 reels).

36. Lyndon Baines Johnson, 1963-1969

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Lyndon B. Johnson.
• Lyndon B. Johnson's Vietnam Papers: A Documentary Collection.
• Daily Diary of President Johnson (1963–1969). (Microfilm, 14 reels).
• The Confidential File of the Johnson White House, 1963–1969. (Microfilm, 103 reels).
• Political Activities of the Johnson White House, 1963–1969. (Microfilm, 67 reels).
• Minutes and Documents of the Cabinet Meetings of President Johnson (1963–1969).  (Microfilm, 17 reels).
• Vietnam, the Media, and Public Support for the War. (Microfilm, 11 reels).
• The War on Poverty, 1964–1968. (Microfilm, 41 reels).
• Civil Rights During the Johnson Administration, 1963–1969. (Microfilm, 69 reels).

37. Richard Milhous Nixon, 1969-1974

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Richard M. Nixon.
• Papers of the Nixon White House. (Microfilm, 1701 reels).
• Civil Rights During the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974 Part 1: White House Central Files and Aides Files. (Microflim, 46 reels).

38. Gerald Rudolph Ford, 1974-1977

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Gerald R. Ford

39. James Earl Carter, Jr., 1977-1981

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Jimmy Carter

40. Ronald Wilson Reagan, 1981-1989

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Ronald Reagan

41. George Herbert Walker Bush, 1989-1993

• Public Papers of the Presidents: George Bush

42. William Jefferson Clinton, 1993-2001

• Public Papers of the Presidents: William J. Clinton

43. George Walker Bush, 2001-2009

• Public Papers of the Presidents: George Bush

44. Barack Hussein Obama, 2009-

• Public Papers of the Presidents: Barack Obama

 

Speeches of the American Presidents. Edited by Janet Podell and Steven Anzovin. 2nd ed. Bronx, NY : H.W. Wilson, 2001.
(Call number: J81.4 .S64 2001). AU Library has print copy.