This page presents a selective list of statistical sources of American University Library subscription databases and print collection, and free online statistical sources devoted to particular different regions of the world and to each individual country.
Note of caution: Data coming from different international sources are usually not strictly comparable since different sources apply different definitions, classifications and calculation procedures. If comparable regional and country statistics are needed, use major international statistical databases.
See other guides: Country Reports; Country Rankings.
Africa
- Africa Development Indicators from World Bank
Data: 1960 onwards. Updated: Twice a year.
Statistical database with over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.
African Development Indicators. World Bank.
(Call number: HC800.A1 A356). AU Library has print volumes from 1997, 2000-2010.
- African Development Bank: Data Portal
Country and region-level statistics.
- African Economic Outlook: Data & Statistics from African Development Bank, OECD Development Centre, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
Excel spreadsheet version of data published in the annual African Economic Outlook report.
- African Statistical Yearbook. Annuaire statistique pour l’Afrique. [Addis Ababa] Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations.
Editions online: 2009-
(Call number: HA1955 .U5). AU Library has print volumes from 1984-2004, 2006-2007.
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
(Call number: Ref HA4675 .M552 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
- Key socio-economic statistics on IDB member countries.
Asia
- Asian Development Bank (ADB)
- Key Indicators (editions 1999 to present)
Annual statistical publication providing current economic, financial and social data on ADB's regional members.
- East Asia and Pacific Economic Update from World Bank
Data: 2007 onwards plus forecast. Updated: Twice a year.
Provides forward-looking analysis of the region's economic and social well-being, and includes data on key indicators for output, employment, prices, public sector, foreign trade, BOP, external debt and financial markets.
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
(Call number: Ref HA4675 .M552 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
Europe and the European Union
- Eurostat (1946 to present)
Statistical office of the European Union.
- StatNord (mostly 2004 to present)
- Statistics on the common Nordic labor market: population, migration, gross pay, employment, and commuting.
- UNECE Statistics: United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
- (Call number: Ref HA1107 .M5 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
Latin America and the Caribbean
- Development Statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean from USAID
- Data: 1960 to most recent.
SEDLAC (Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean) from the Center for Distributional, Labor and Social Studies (CEDLAS) of the University of La Plata
- Statistics on poverty and other distributional and social variables from 25 Latin American and Caribbean countries, based on microdata from households surveys.
- International Historical Statistics: Americas, 1750-2005. 6th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
(Call number: Ref HA175 .M55 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
- Statistical Abstract of Latin America.
(Call number: Ref HA781 .S7; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print editions from 1955 to present.
Middle East
- Arab Monetary Fund: Statistics
- The Arab World, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914): A Handbook of Historical Statistics. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, c1982.
(Call number: HA4556 .M35). AU Library has print copy.
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
(Call number: Ref HA4675 .M552 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
- Key socio-economic statistics on IDB member countries.
North America
- International Historical Statistics: Americas, 1750-2005. 6th ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
(Call number: Ref HA175 .M55 2007; earlier editions in Lib Stacks). AU Library has print copy. The statistics in the different editions are not always the same; they vary with the edition.
Soviet Bloc
- The East European and Soviet Data Handbook: Political, Social, and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975. New York, N.Y.: Columbia University Press; Stanford, CA: Hoover Institution Press, 1981.
(Call number: HA1446 .S53). AU Library has print copy.
- Statisticheskiĭ ezhegodnik stran-chlenov Soveta ėkonomicheskoĭ vzaimopomoshchi.
(Call number: HA1107 .C68). AU Library has print volumes from 1971-1972, 1974-1975.
Statistical Yearbook of Member States of the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance.
(Call number: HA1107 .S723). AU Library has print volumes from 1978-1979.
